2016 Proton Persona details – variants, specs, pics!

2016 Proton Persona Spoiler_02

The 2016 Proton Persona will soon make its debut in Malaysia, after the national carmaker teased the model’s arrival yesterday. The new model will be open for booking from August 15, before its official launch on August 23. Before all that, we have some initial specifications and details on the upcoming model.

Four variants will be offered to Malaysians at launch – Standard, Executive, Premium and Premium SE. Under the hood, all variants are fitted with a 1.6 litre VVT petrol engine lifted from the Iriz, with updated three-point engine mounts (instead of four) for better refinement – it’s said to be up to six decibels quieter than the equivalent Iriz.

The engine is mechanically identical to that on the Iriz 1.6, with 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm, but it has been calibrated for the sedan, with a new ECU. Transmission options include a five-speed manual (Standard only) and a CVT (all variants). According to the carmaker, the CVT has been tuned to offer a more linear power delivery than before.

In terms of performance, the Persona will make the 0-100 km/h sprint in 10.9 seconds, and use 5.6 litres per 100 km for the manual, or 6.1 l/100 km for the CVT – both at 90 km/h. With VVT, Proton added that CVT models are 10% more fuel efficient than before, while the manual version is up to 13% better.

2016 Proton Persona Front Red

Aside from the improved fuel economy, the new Persona also gets better braking performance. With the use of front discs and rear drums setup (as opposed to all-round discs in the outgoing Persona), it will need just 41.4 metres to come to a stop from 100 km/h rather than 44.6 metres previously.

The new Persona is up to 20 kg lighter than its predecessor, but up to 30 kg heavier when compared to the Iriz. The latter is to be expected given the different body styles of both models (hatchback vs sedan).

Now comes the important bit – the equipment each variant will receive. We’ll start with the entry-level Standard, which is offered with both transmission choices. The big ticket item here is Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), which comes as standard, Isofix child seat anchors, dual airbags, a single-DIN head unit, rear fog lamps and grey-finished 15-inch wheels (wrapped in 185/55R15 Silverstone Kruizer tyres). It also gets unpainted wing mirrors and door handles, fabric seats and no front fog lamps.

Next up, the Executive, which only comes with a CVT, adds on a double-DIN radio head unit (with gloss grey centre console housing), body-coloured wing mirrors and door handles, front fog lamps, rear bootlid spoiler and twin USB charging ports. A 60:40 split-folding feature for the rear seats is also added here.

The Premium on the other hand, gets a lot more goodies – leather seats and steering wheel, colour touchscreen head unit with reverse camera, keyless entry, power-retractable wing mirrors, silver-finished 15-inch wheels (wrapped in 185/55R15 Goodyear Assurance tyres) and six airbags. The Premium SE is identical to the Premium, but with the addition of an all-around two-tone bodykit.

On the outside, all models get reflector headlamps with no DRLs, and the tail lights use conventional bulbs rather than LEDs. Both front and rear light clusters, though, feature prominent Proton letterings, as seen on the Iriz (front only) and Perdana (both).

Inside, CVT variants get a new-design gear lever with a thumb button, while all models get a two-tone black and beige (lower half) interior, which Proton claims gives a better sense of space like the previous model. The Persona has a 510-litre boot (up from 430 from before) and a space-saver spare tyre.

Here’s the variant breakdown in detail:

2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Standard MT/CVT

1.6 litre VVT engine
107 hp at 5,750 rpm, 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm
5.6 l/100 km for 5MT (at 90 km/h)
6.1 l/100 km for CVT (at 90 km/h)
Ecodrive Assist
Reflector halogen headlamps (height adjustable)
Rear fog lamps
Front and rear parking sensors
15-inch wheels in grey (with 185/55R15 Silverstone Kruizer tyres)
Unpainted side mirrors and door handles
Power adjustable wing mirrors
Body-coloured B-pillars
Remote key fob and manual key start
Single-DIN head unit with Bluetooth
Fabric seats
Height adjustable driver’s seat
510-litre boot with space saver spare tyre
Isofix child seat anchors with top tether
2 airbags
ABS with EBD and BA
Vehicle Stability Control (VSC)
Hill-hold assist
Front disc brakes, rear drums

2016 Proton Persona Trunk Boot empty

2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Executive CVT

Adds on:
Front fog lamps
Body-coloured side mirrors and door handles
Rear bootlid spoiler
Double-DIN head unit with Bluetooth
Gloss grey centre console housing
USB charging ports
60:40 split-folding rear seats
Fabric door trim

2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium CVT

Adds on:
15-inch wheels in silver (with 185/55R15 Goodyear Assurance tyres)
Black B-pillars
Keyless entry with push start button
Touchscreen head unit (Android-based) with Bluetooth and reverse camera
Leather seats and steering wheel
Leather door trim
Power retractable wing mirrors
6 airbags

2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium SE CVT

Adds on:
All-around dual-tone bodykit

The Persona will be the second model to be introduced this year after the Perdana, and the company is hoping to shift about 3,000 units per month. That’s about all the info we have on the new Persona so far. What are your thoughts on what the new model has to offer? Will you be interested to get one for yourself? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

We’ve already driven the 2016 Proton Persona – read our first impression of the new model here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Interesting they are comparing the Old Persona with the new one. Which are in 2 different segments. Would be interesting to see how that translate to interior space.

Why does Proton still use their 90km/h fuel numbers in this day an age? Burning through 6L/km going steady at 90 is actually quite bad if you look at it..especially for a B segment sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 32
    • 90kmph is optimum speed for best FC in a internal combustion engined car. Others like in EU does mixed cycles but nobody does it here, especially not from the best selling local brand right now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 10
      • Durian Kuntak Katak Story on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:53 pm

This looks great. Well done proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
        • Wow Height Adjustable headlamps… Not bad.. can retro Hid now into Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • Why the sat nav icon shows Iriz instead of Persona? No budget ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Proton Staff on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Yes, this car is very good, much better than contis. Thumbs up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Sat Nav show Iriz? ha Ha Ha Ha. This sound like the Rm500k Lotus cars having side mirrors with the logo of Proton on it and the words, “Made by Proton” on it.

Imagine buying a RM500k Lotus car and having Proton side mirrors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
          • Same L00 on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Better save money now. You can buy the 2016 stock in 2018 with RM20k discount. Don’t syok sendiri go buy the car. No one will look up to you as long as you are in a Proton.
            No need syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Yeah but even my old 407 could do 6-7l/100km at the speed. and that had a 2.0 engine & only a 4 speed box.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
        • Naza Sux on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:14 am

Yeah.. but nobody wants PEUGEOOOT … not even second hand dealers. You just gotta keep PEUGEOOT until scrap

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
      • Tak laku on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:40 am

Another failure just like Iriz. Big hoo ha but 3 months from now rakyat will ignore it and Bezza still taking big sales even Saga also failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 98
        • come in laa.. P2 just speculate je. klu order 16k, knp baru 6k delivered. kilang skit ubya besar. takkan 6k je capacity.. they just pick the number from call in , to show off..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
          • Autodriver on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:37 pm

You are a joke man. Do you know holding 6k units consume how big space, it takes up a lot of space. it is not usual practice to ready such high numbers of units for single market (Malaysia). Perodua is managed by Japanese and they are more honest than us, unless you think you are more superior than those Japanese who sitting at high position of Perodua.

The one wanted to show off is actually YOU, such a joker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
        • Proton Staff on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:27 pm

How can you say tak laku? We have been selling Saga for 30 years and nobody complain of the handling and safety features of our cars. You can see the rakyat happily driving our cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
          • Pls la… I used to own new saga in 2008 (harga 40k) n less than 1 year, I sold it @ 30k only… reason… driving at 100km/h like on a boat… don’t feel safe to drive it at all… normal drive in town ok la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
          • Proto Staff , sorry if i’m wrong , if you go to proton staff parking lot,s of staff proton drive non proton car , can you explain about this

• been to proton shah alam…so many proton in their parking lot. can say 85-90%. But many old gen protons…not from the new crop

• Solskjaer on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Hai, its that new persona is relevant to register as a uber car?

• Operation Manager on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Iriz 1.6CVT (60K), IrizSedan 1.6CVT confirm > 60k… even milo tin Beza 1.3 4AT (51k)… oh sohai P1/P2 How to sell…??? Polo/Vento(69k), Vios(71k), City(65k), Almera(65k)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 69
      • Theres a reason why persona 2.0 is lower spec than Iriz, but I guess ur brain stopped working after 5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
      • Poton on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Are you sure? Normally sedan will be cheaper than hatchback. Not normally, mostly all manufacturer. I dont know if p2 sell their bezza sedan more expensive then compact hatchback axia sibling. Maybe because they normally sell compact hatchback? If then p1 and p2, wellcome to competition!

• manusia biasa on Aug 14, 2016 at 1:01 am

my sister 87k full spec almeera just bought few months ago also having quality problem such as ratling sound from the dashboard n it is not solved till now…n the handling?…far far behind preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • malaysian on Aug 14, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Because Proton top range price is more or less equal to those manufacturers basic offerings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • U have to thank Dr. M for creating this awesome brand called Proton

• Not 6L/km but 6L/100km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:03 am

Don’t be fooled by looks. Every Proton that came out since 1985 looked great! I was the first one to admire their beauty. But sadly, Proton got bad reputation. 30 years of bad reputation. Something that Perodua does not have and that is why Perodua is doing so well.

My first saga was in 1985. It was a beauty. I bought the 1.5 Istimewa. Looked great but after few months, all the problems started. Things malfunctioned and when I sent to the SC, they said, “Ini Proton lah, what do you expect!” Yes, the attitude was the same then in 1985. SC personnel gave the same answer to you that padan muka, you bought a crap car, you deserve this!

But I was patriotic. Few years later, I upgraded to the Proton Iswara. Same problems arose and SC again treated me like a dog. SC attitude was exactly the same….Padan muka, you pay small money, what do you expect”

Nevermind, I still believed in supporting my country’s products. Few years later, I bought a Wira. Looked great but few months later, problem after problem happened. Everytime I sent to the SC, they will treat me like dirt and tell me, if I had bought a Proton, what did I expect?

Nevermind, in 2004, again I said, I love my country, I will buy a Waja. Same story again. The car fell apart. Even door handles fell apart. All four broke into pieces. My car had no door handles from outside after a while. Whenever I sent to Glenmarie SC, they laugh at me. Indirectly, the Proton staff there said “Padan Muka beli Proton”

Every launch of each car from 1985, they give the same story that Proton sudah bertaubat and now the current newly launched car is of higher quality than the previous car and so on. They told us rakyat to trust Proton and don’t trust all the Budaya Barat who was trying to condemn Proton.

Every 5 years and every launch of every model, the story is the same. The same story that Proton has changed. They changed all their vendors. Quality is going to be perfect this time and so on. The Waja was the ultimate. Proton said it was the BMW of Asia and was to beat BMW in terms of quality.

But every year since 1985, the car breaksdown and parts fall off despite I sending for regular service.

In 2016, the story is the same. That Proton sudah bertaubat and now quality is higher and better and SC has improved, Proton kononnya changed all their vendors.

Trust me, I have heard this story about 10 times. Those old enough will know, stay away from a company that lies that their quality has improved. 10 times lah I heard this in 30 years (since 1985)

I ask you this simple question, if the crony vendors are still the same since 1985, how can the quality of the car be the same?

Many young buyers don’t know the history of Proton cheating. So, they say, nevermind, I will give them a chance. Go and speak to an elder. Someone about 60 years old. Ask them their advice.

Like myself, I have bought so many Protons. Each one looked great. Look so sexy. Each car, Proton said they changed management and sudah bertaubat. But each time, since 1985 to 2004, I got cheated badly.

This is not small money. If you bought some lousy handphone for RM500, you can buang it into the tong sampah and buy another good one. This time, you are spending RM60k. You are stuck with it for 7 years. Think wisely and carefully.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 264 Thumb down 51
      • PityKunta on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:08 am

Pity you never work hard enough and for last 30 years till now, you can only afford proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 92
        • Same L0rrrr on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Work hard kinte, buy a recond vios from me, i give u high RV for your proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Jimmy on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:30 pm

I don’t know if Kunta Kinte can only afford Proton, maybe you know.

To those buyers out there: the strongest point of Proton’s cars perhaps is still its Lotus ride and handling. We wished any current Toyotas, Subaru 86 excluded, can drive as good as a Proton with Lotus ride and handling, with current Perdana excluded as it is an Accord.
          Has anybody compared the ride and handling of a Persona/Waja with that of a, say, Passat which is a segment higher?

• Kinte ex colleague on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:09 am

As ex proton operator together, Kunta still own a recond troublesom persona. May be you shall consider recond sushi.

• malaysian on Aug 14, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Passat is a segment higher and more than twice the price of a Persona/Waja. It can be a reference but not apple to apple comparison I think.

• Proton is a deathtrap for Malaysians money since 1985

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 20
        • P1 deathtrap until Preve. Now crown of deathtrap king is ur godkompeni toyota/P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • azrai on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Shut up lah john. People are bored of your same lame tactics and stories

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Dr. Esperto on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:46 am

u stopped buying at 2004. its already 12 years later. move on dude. a lot of things can happen in a decade. its like saying Tun Mahathir is a bad PM but he’s no longer a PM. dont talk about things that happened a decade ago please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 79
        • Einstein on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Those who don’t learn from the past are doomed to repeat it. Let’s keep supporting Proton for our children’s future. They will thank us for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 60
        • Thomas on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Kuntak stop buying 12 years ago but I just bought my Iriz last year and I am facing same issues. My gearbox is always kaputting. I send for repair, the Service Adviser always give me bull and say it is my fault the gearbox is kaputting. Always say warranty will not cover and scare me until I got to call the big boss to settle

• Dumas on Aug 20, 2016 at 7:49 pm

Central lock got problem, people at SC told me it’s because I change my remote to after market remote and I didnt change any after market parts on my saga. Now im driving my new cx5 the service centre is much more better compared to prodon SC

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Dr Esperto, jib is still continuing Dr M’s legacy. So how?

• So i jilat morr lah

Support P1 = Support BN = Support Party Hard = Support Najib = Support my income :)

• Rizal on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:48 am

Eh How come I don’t have any problem with my Wira Aeroback 1.5 Gli 1999- 2001. Proton Putra 1.8 (M) 2001- 2004, Current Waja 1.6 (M) since 2006 and Exora Cps since 2011

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 36
      • Narrow minded.
        people changed from time to time.
        This kind of people will always keep complaining and do nothing to save our own products.
        I’m not saying Proton is in a good shape right now, but at least what we can do is give our support.
        Fell sorry that we have this kind of person in our country.
        Sad
        Sad
        Sad
        Tragic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 34
      • Cinchow on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:26 pm

somehow,just realized you pasted the same comment on every proton related post..wonder why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
        • Cuz he RBA paid by… cannot be persoaled

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:23 pm

I have search everywhere but can’t find the same comment above? Where lah bang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Boring Samy on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Bang, you lupa makan ubat lagi kah?

• dont worry sammy, this guy brain already leaking. too much brain wash by his master. what he know in life is blaming Proton. even he cannot eat.. also P1 problems.
            even.medication cannot cure him. he got pay well..
            that why 24:7 he is on the keyboard. i wonder who pay him..P tu ?

• Come on dude on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Lol.. i think u never maintain ur car properly.. my iswara 2003 still running in good condition.. u cant maintain ur car properly but here to complain about the brand.. only ur car having too many probs since 1985 is it..weird.. go get a life..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • FahmiBDent on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:25 pm

I thinkProton has a quite good quality.

The first Proton my family (my uncle bought it) had was the first generation Satria. I always rode it with pride. Never stranded on the side road. I never remember any power window problem for at least the first 5 years of usage.

The second Proton my family had was a hatchback Iswara (my aunt). It is not as good as my uncle’s Satria, but it never failed my aunt. It served my aunt for about 10 years or so.

Then my mom bought a Wira in 2002. It was well loved at least by me. For the first time my parents are able to drive a first hand problem free car. Our previous car a second hand Daihatsu Charment, air cond was not working properly always causing the engine to overheat, a couple of time we were stranded because of the alternator broke, and when it was raining water drips from the door. Bocor, because it always rusted. The new Wira was great. The aircond is cold. It run smoothly. Way much better than my dad’s old Daihatsu Charment. The first problem we had with the Wira came after 5 years of usage; fan failure. Our Wira got overheated, luckily we noticed it and were able to replace the fan unit in time. Now after 14 YEARS of usage, our Wira has problem with its altenator, aircond compressor unit, and problematic meter cluster.

My other uncle had a Gen.2. Never had a problem as well besides its weird torque curve. Now he drive a Civic. No problem as well, he just had to replace a bearing recently which cost him about RM1.5k.

My aunt who drove an Iswara hatchback bought an Almera. It has only been 2years or so, but the aircond is now malfunction.

My uncle who drove a Satria bought a Ranger for business purpose. He never look after his Ranger carefully, power window has failed after 5 or 6 years or so.

My mom now owns a City and an Accord. The City which is the second generation City has a lousy AC prob since we took it home from the showroom. No prob with the 8th gen Accord we have so for. And we stil keep our Wira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • proton manager on Aug 14, 2016 at 4:40 pm

PROTON SUDAH BERTAUBAT

• abuya on Aug 14, 2016 at 5:53 pm

whay do u meant with taubat?
          u.do something sin? Proton works as in SOP. if the wotks is not satisfying, there is because a negligent from someone. if you are true Prpton Managet, go home. let someone replace you. ypu are responsible to malaysian.

• Stupid car for low class and no taste people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
    • Cheap brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
    • LOL its 6L/100km not 6L/km. 6L/km more like Apollo Space Shuttle rocket fuel consumption :p

Anyway i think 6l/100km @90km/h quite good if its TRUE in real world. And its quite normal for 1.6l n.a vvt engine. 6L/100km = 16.67km/l, wow if its true.

But, i think Manufacturer should come with more dynamic fc figure for their new cars nowadays. combine cycyle fc, fc@60kmh, fc@90kmh, fc@110kmh, urban fc, extra urban fc, rural fc. They spent a lot of time to make a new car, of cause they got all that figure.

proton fc not quite good compare to others, i don’t know why. can take a look at fuelly, even latest model iriz 1.6 vvt only slightly better than preve 1.6turbo. More like 10km/l – 11km/l for combine cycle.

• I got nothing to say till I drive it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • Burong on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:03 pm

Drive it to try the omph but u cant try out the reliability. Has Proton clear its name from quality scandal? I have never want to put my money on proton after 2 purchase n bad experience. But that was 6 years back. If i m going to get a malaysia car, perodua for sure is my choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 70
      • Eneos on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:39 pm

Then just go buy perodua, no need to tell people levy buying perodua. Your choice

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 15
        • Burong not happy with P1, Burong cannot gives comment on P1. Eneos not happy with Burong, but Eneos can comments on Burong, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • I have a Gen2 CPS for 8 years now and so far so gud. Not perfect but not disastrous, so what is this quality scandal ur talking about?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 12
      • Camrysai on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:38 am

6 years ago bought the rubbish, ya…bad luck. This is a new PRODUCT carry the old name.

The car is not like human; a stupid human after 6 years change still act like bodoh.

But a CAR/PRODUCT after 6 years change can be totally different from previos.

Can u differentiate or not???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Andas on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Aiyoo.. bashers cant sleep tonight for sure..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 7
  • gipems on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:32 pm

previous persona far more better…this one like ikan paus body….getting more sphere..haiz..why they cant design like SS camaro or something like that with small HP….more futuristic more ugly…better go back like the old school….car nowadays getting uglier….peace no war…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 96
    • what a narrow mindset. future ia about more space , fuel economy and.comfort

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Wow ESC as standard. Well that is to be expected as Iriz also equip with ESC on all variant. Good job Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 5
    • Bashers says why gip MY pipu ESC when all they want is tissue box holder, teh tarik hook, superior FC & higher RV. ESC is useless thats new persona will fail just like others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
  • Rakyat on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 143
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:00 pm

The car does not come out yet? How can u judge like that?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
      • Pfft, a basher no need to see or drive the real car before making conclusion. That is basically bashing 101.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
    • I heard other manufacturer keep recalling their car as well?good enough to be recalled?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • i think Rakyat doesnt know how to read and compare specs. he simply bashed. if you are comparing other brands like Nissan, Honda City, Toyota Vios and Volks Vento. its clear winner Proton Persona equip with more innovation and technologies. Fuel savings city is at 5.7l/km and while this car is at 6l/km. not that much difference! try to compare Almera or Vento or Vios!! Toyota Vios also 6l/km. Nissan Almera 4 Gear and more fuel thrist u said better than Proton? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • lolpanda on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:33 am

on your point of innovation, I’m not sure how this Persona outperforms the Vento..i think the word “innovation” is used a bit loosely here…

although compared to the other models you mentioned, I can honestly see the Persona besting them (based on the spec sheet) and the Iriz was sure as heck better to drive than the Vios and City so hopefully the Persona won’t be far behind (given it’s sedan setup, driving dynamics may be different, but that’s no excuse because the Vento drives unmistakeably like a VW; and it’s good)

on your point of fuel economy, you should know that Proton tests the fuel figures at a 90km/h constant (i.e. most optimal/most ideal scenario) and not a combined cycle (city start stop + highway) like pretty much everyone else. Yes I agree the Persona’s fuel figures aren’t the worst, but it’s nothing to shout home about.

unfortunately we seem to be in a situation where we sing high praises when Proton manages to (finally) achieve something everyone else in the market has already been doing/already achieved.

it’s like praising a 7-year old because he can sing his ABCs…Proton should have been doing a lot better than this by now with all the help it’s been getting. it’s like they’ve been running on cheat-mode just to be on par with the other players in the game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:40 pm

Need to factor in price point as well

• Thing on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:53 pm

VW handling is nothing good like Proton/Lotus and Iriz FC 1.6l engine is ady better than Vios. Go figure.

• Yes, Proton is ‘BMW of Asia’ and ‘Volvo of Asia’ combined. Who can topkek us?

• I agree with you that Persona at its top spec has all the goodies and its cheaper than the base variant of other brands(not to mention safer with VSC as standard) but regarding the fuel consumption Proton states that its tested at constant speeds of 90km/h to achieve that 6L/100km result. One of the main drawbacks about Proton engines is the high fuel consumption. Jonathan tested the car and it needs to maintain at 3000rpm at 110km/h while City is at 2000rpm at 120km/h

• Boleh lah, the difference a bit only mah. Proton boleh, Malaysia boleh. Don’t compare with jepunis overlord, ye?

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:53 am

can we believe the data provided by Proton said 6l/100km? It must be done in very extreme way to save fuel. I have never heard people say proton is fuel saving car neither my current Korean car too. But it is fuel saving for many of Japanese model, especially Vios. I am not to bash but it is fact. If we have such good technology why dont we export our model and compete with foreigner cars in overseas market.

The safety features are extremely well equipped by Proton in latest model. What we hope is they improve their POWERTRAIN, QUALITY, SERVICE CENTRE. So far they only focus on SAFETY, other elements are too slow to improve.

• Rizal on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:05 am

Go and make your own car than

• you are too poor
      to evaluate all the.innovative feature Persona have

• Latuk on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:11 pm

It don’t have the ‘innovative’ exhaust like Perdana for instance

• Ainon on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:50 pm

Sell the Persona a couple of thousand RM less than the Bezza across all variants then P1 might have a winner here. But then based on experience once a P1 model sells like hot cakes, the sales guys become arrogant and start to treat potential customers like sxit, remember what happened with the Wira at one time? If that happens then those customers now have another choice and will run back to Bezza. So P1 this is a good opportunity, please learn from your past mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 11
    • Driver on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:10 am

Bezza is A segment, thats where Saga will fit in next month. Not Persona which is B segment.

• Dr. Esperto on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:56 am

Wira is a model from the 90s. Now its already two decades later. Your experience is no longer relevant.

• too narrow mindset. just never changed even car have.changed

• Engku Shah on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Welll… not bad. kinda impressive. Goodjob Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • Chingu on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Better than Mazda 3 for braking distance… Mazda 3 manage at 42.9m only…

http://www.guideautoweb.com/en/specifications/mazda/mazda3/sedan-g/2017/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Bangsa on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:42 am

Orang Malaysian tak tahu itu penting that’s y itu BEZA kena langgar kereta dan pagar

• Mazda 3 is C segment sedan and heavier than this Persona Sedan. So are you still comparing logics vs rubbish ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Pickoo on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Mazda3 handling is rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • fanofthisite on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:02 pm

by that logic an evora will stop faster than a ferrari and mercedes S class needs more runway to stop compared to a kancil

• Toyota lover on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:23 pm

Well….proton is for loser…good nite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 84
    • orang biasa on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:52 pm

Toyota vios also the same!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
    • And toyota/P2 are for those who wan early afterlife.
      U see how slippery this slope gets once ur on it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • im punch man on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:40 am

come.. i let you test drive my Putra 1.8… for free… plus with ron100..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Rizal on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:08 am

Go ditch ur wife/ girlfriend and sleep with your toybota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Hahaha , only stupid buy vios dugong , old engine , old technology

• sport toto on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:55 pm

hahahahaha ,toyota dugong owner suda bunyi , only stupid buy old technology car at high price

• Mr Fakta on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Omg the gear level… Proton please learn something from perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
  • Alex (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:39 pm

Can’t tahan proton ady… drum brakes… wth… come on how much more does it cost to fit a disc brake nowadays?

And it is confusing why proton decide to make the saga and persona as different models with different lone engine choice. they essentially competes in the same (some might argue not) segment, and the same audience.

Target to sell 3k persona each months. How to recoup the development cost? Just kill the persona name which has been taken over by preve and make the new saga with 2 engine choices. Sure they can make better profit selling cheaper by axing one model development cost.

They can even further cut development cost by sharing by just making the iriz sedan, just like that preve hatch (they decide to call suprima s for some reason). hatch and sedan buyer don’t usually cross shop anyway.

And come on. proton has dohc, give us vvt on exhaust already… proton already skip cam profiling (which later renamed CPS) in the original ‘CamPro’ which debut in the gen2 (effectively persona hatch). Till when proton wants to keep churn out half baked technology? If cost cutting is the game, why not save a camshaft altogether and make a cheaper sohc?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
    • malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:17 am

Even with drum brakes, it performed better than previous Persona, and maybe even better than Mazda3? http://www.guideautoweb.com/en/specifications/mazda/mazda3/sedan-g/2017/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
      • Professor on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Stop copy&paste the same link and being stupid to realize that Mazda 3 is a heavier vehicle. You don’t learn Physics kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Mazda 3 all round disc brake should perform better than a rear drum brake car. Can’t find Mazda 2 braking performance (if you know pls share). Suprima S can make it 36m only. C’mon give Proton engineers a break. https://youtu.be/EQWXLeErKME

• unicorn on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Can’t blame them. Most are from UiTM/Mara. Their professors never teach them but they just want to syok sendiri and talk like a car expert

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • Mazda3 is rubbish car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • Pikaboo on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Your Proton is rubbish like your comment. Nothing to defend your Proton but say other car is rubbish. Typical P1 supporters

• malaysian on Aug 14, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Suprima S can make it 36m. Mazda 3 should be near that figure right if you are comparing same class cars? Mazda 3 have all round disc brake summore.

• Andas on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:46 am

Last time in driven series comparing city’s drum break and vios’s disc break, it doesnt make too much different after the car cruising around 70km/hr and both break instantly at the same time.. so?

• Cantona on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:52 am

Last time when City was launched with rear ever drum brakes so many people made a fuss about it and bashed like crazy so this is gonna be the same case i guess.

• Drum brakes has more surface area than a disc brake…. The disadvantage that drums have is heat build up as there is almost no way to clear the heat as fast as a disc.
      Unless u r a track/hard driver, the drums will do fine

• Rizal on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:27 am

They why all the trucks use drums instead of disc brakes if disc brakes have better stoppage? Please consult automative engineer.

• lolpanda on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:48 am

I’ve got to say I share your sentiments on the model line up…Proton has way to many models it’s cannibalising themselves.

About the brakes tough… rear discs don’t prove to be more efficient in emergency braking vs. drums on modern car setups. (unless you’re constantly under heavy braking like on track days. then yes drums start to lose it’s hold sooner than discs)

• Alex (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:53 pm

See the thing is while drum brakes do hold advantages over disc brake, none of it is safety related. Some might say drum brake has larger surface area, but stopping power of disc brake can be specify as required so it is null.

In engineering, human factor should be placed last in hazard prevention because we can’t really control human. Even if one write clearly in the manual and with all terms and condition sign not to be racy with the car, not many will actually read it.

Engineering should be about making everything as simple as possible but not simpler. Disc brakes should be cost optimized but not reverting to drum brakes. And yes, shame on Honda for giving us city with drum brakes. They should had know better!

Same goes for VVT. If one VVT is the engineering target, go for a sohc with reduced complexity and cost and not a dohc with single VVT.

And model line up should be optimized to widen appeal, not increase model line up. Hatchback vs sedan of the same car when done right could have wider appeal than hatchback and sedan of the same car. Just ask the cult following of civic or mazda hatch vs sedan. You don’t see as much enthusiasm in say Jetta vs Golf.

The car could have shared items such as headlamps, interior trim, bonnet cover, front bumpers. All would have been development cost saving, instead of different headlamp for each body style. And cheaper replacement parts too after accident! Heck if money spend wisely, development of Iriz Wagon could be well in the picture. And again, wagon appeals to a much different set of customer.

• atifjeelan on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:06 am

Please referr with Honda City 2016, the car also using rear drum brake. Why dont you bash honda for that?

• Lazada on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:14 am

Last generation persona got discs brake bro…. proton must shows they care for Malaysian lol~ Malaysian want affortable price, everything must have…. 6 airbags, vsc, full led headlamps, light bars rear lights… must affortable n looks good, full safety spec
        …. ha ha ha…. then, baru worth buying….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • KingzOfSpeedz on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:02 am

Can we get a sport version with 2 liter engine, big wang,turbocharger? Pretty please? :3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Big wang? As in Wheel of Fortune?

• Alson P on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:37 am

Hahaha LOL..
      Just send your Proton car to the nearest R3 workshop.. R3 can tune up your Iriz/Persona 1.6L up to 180ps.. Just need prepare myr10k around.. Better handling, better performance, better control, better power, but slightly less comfort..

• Rizal on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:29 am

Get yourself a Godzilla or Buggati than

• Lazada on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:05 am

One 1 buyer like u? Pls just go kedai potong put Evo engine by ur self…. can’t spent 1.5B just to design n build fullfill market only 1 buyer like u…

• Henry Yee on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:32 am

C’mon Proton, no DRL, no LED taillight, only halogen lamp…
    Are we deserve to be in this way? What’s the selling point to attract people to buy your car in terms of the cosmetic of the car? NO!
    Proton? No no. No for Perdana, (listen to the name will makes me angry, coz thinking of that Malaysia Official 1).
    At least you put all that great stuff to the top spec!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • Mitchel on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:05 am

If you’re buying a car just for the LED DRL and Tailights… then you’re pretty much naive in buying vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Lazada on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:10 am

Now a days most ppl want looks good only lol~ if not got Ah Beng shop need spent few K $$$$ lagi…. better is original build in….

• Unknown on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:44 am

Kagum dgn semua tukang komen
    1. tak minat proton bash teruk2 but deep down still nak ambil kisah. nak komen positif bagus, kalo negatif please give some constructive comments.
    2. kalo dah tau xnak beli, xpayah kepoh nk beli kereta itu ini lah. cuma kalau ada masa, pi test drive senang baru bole tau.time tu hang tau lah okay ke idok.
    3. hang suka brand toyota, honda, nissan, pi page paultan utk brand tu, hang komen la apa pun, puji habis pun xpa. suka sgt naaaaa. drpd duk komen haram kt proton.
    4. memang hak hampa nk komen, tp perasan dak. hang kata proton x berkualiti, komen hang pun mcm sembang kedai kopi. deserved each other, buang masa. x move on lah proton kalo lagu tu.
    5. apa2 pun nk beli kereta, cuba ja semua, toyota,honda proton, perodua. jgn hang tu pakai takat kereta x sbrpa, pung pang mcm hang mampu sgt.

pilihan di tangan anda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
    • Mohd ilias ishak on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:36 am

Salesman perodua dan toyota yg rajin menyamar masuk dlm thread proton utk bash…perang psikologi…taktik lapuk..org dah tahu dah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Tu la. Kalau Proton ja komen berpuluh2. Means people still care about Proton, just love or hate.

• proton manager on Aug 14, 2016 at 4:44 pm

kalau takut dilambung ombak jangan berumah di tepi ombak

• en ahmad on Aug 14, 2016 at 9:55 pm

unknown , pakcik nak habaq mai kat hang , toksah duk marah marah tak baguih , matang sikit cek oi , suka hati depa la nak kutuk apa pun , yang penting cek kena ambik komen ni positif side , pakcik pun pakai proton jer , tapi pakcik anggap semua ni komen membina nak bagi produk proton tak kecewakan rakyat , nak bagi semua jurutera proton bangun dari mimpi indah , selama ni buat kereta syok sendiri , lepaih ni unknown bawak bersabaq byk byk , hehehehe

• Unknown on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:45 am

Kagum dgn semua tukang komen
    1. tak minat proton bash teruk2 but deep down still nak ambil kisah. nak komen positif bagus, kalo negatif please give some constructive comments.
    2. kalo dah tau xnak beli, xpayah kepoh nk beli kereta itu ini lah. cuma kalau ada masa, pi test drive senang baru bole tau.time tu hang tau lah okay ke idok.
    3. hang suka brand toyota, honda, nissan, pi page paultan utk brand tu, hang komen la apa pun, puji habis pun xpa. suka sgt naaaaa. drpd duk komen haram kt proton.
    4. memang hak hampa nk komen, tp perasan dak. hang kata proton x berkualiti, komen hang pun mcm sembang kedai kopi. deserved each other, buang masa. x move on lah proton kalo lagu tu.
    5. apa2 pun nk beli kereta, cuba ja semua, toyota,honda proton, perodua. jgn hang tu pakai takat kereta x sbrpa, pung pang mcm hang mampu sgt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Abg Ajis on Aug 13, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Chill bro , no need to get angry , be positive , all the bashers love proton that’s why they all komplen kaw kaw , to wake up all proton engineer from long sleeping & work more harder to win back customer thrusty , hehehe

• Bernard on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:11 pm

What is this unknown guy saying?

• Hidra Proton on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:49 am

I was waiting for the manual trans with premium spec, but it seems to be dropped off from the line up, unlike Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Probaly because a lot of Malaysian prefer Auto especially the high end variant.

• Knight E on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:07 am

so nice view overall and more nice feature….at least this person can more features than over price Vios,City…hope price still same current persona price …

• Very good tried, and good luck.

• Wait a minute?
    There’s no cruise control?
    Where is the cruise control?
    NooooooooooOOoOooOOoOOO!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Lazada on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:07 am

Come on lah… it just a budget family car…. if price from 45k to 60k… is already quite good equipped..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Malaysians are lazy. Use your third leg to cruise control lah

• Proton Supporter on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:36 am

All features looks promising. I am little bit dissappointed with the absence of DRL but its understandable for affordable car model.

But to my biggest surprise, NO ARMREST? (as per photo above). Even the previous gen Persona got one. Cmon Proton, If you want to compete with other B-segment marques, please think globally.

• Siti Jamilah Binte Ismail on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:27 am

Specs looks good but the engine is still it’s downfall. If this new persona can drive and perform as good as the Vios or City I don’t see any reason why the sales won’t rocket. The engine in the Preve and Iriz are the worst engines in the market. Extremely noisy and loud and transmission is extremely jerky. The nvh for both Preve and Iriz is really bad as compared to Jazz, City, Almera or Vios. The Japanese are at least twice as better. Another thing as important is the price. Bezza is pretty good to drive and you get that similar Toyota kinda feel. Responsive engine, smooth transmission, enough power to ferry 5 adults and very quiet – both engine and cabin. Is the engine of this persona quiet enough and the overall nvh too? Does this persona has enuf power to ferry 5 adults with enuf pulling power with good nvh? Is the engine as responsive as Japanese and Korean car manufacturers? Is the transmission as good as them? Malaysians are extremely particular about nvh, engine responsiveness and smooth transmission. If Proton cannot iron out these 3 important check boxes Malaysians want, this persona and it’s many new more models to come will fail like it’s existing models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • As long as it is Proton, i will support. Our Gov gives the biggest support in the form of billions. We should be patriotic and support local makes

• ismet ulam raja on Aug 14, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Siti Jamilah , ask your husband or bf , you are cute than another women . after that you can complain kaw kaw about proton car , hahahaha my persona standard kedai easily can reach 200km senang senag tapow Jazz , City . Almera & Vios

• Nonbasher on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:39 am

For those who doesnt look, let alone know how to compare under the hood specs, the absence of DRL and LED lights are major turn-offs… I think people nowdays buy new cars because of these loh hahaha

• honda city doesn’t have those and it’s hot selling.

• Thomas Tan on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Oh, you mean people actually buy car just because of some led that comes i on in the day? Get real bro..

• DIG imaqtpie on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:47 am

Is the new Persona using Electronic Power Steering(EPS) or the hydraulic one? Cause the old Persona used the hydraulic steering and it feels hard compared to EPS. If this new Persona is using EPS then it will be better.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:09 am

The new Persona comes with electric power steering, just like the Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Krish on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:14 am

The car looks good. But i noticed something lack, They dont have MIDDLE ARM REST.

• I noticed that the steering is still using the old logo?
    But anyhow, Protons are looking better and trendy with each new car. Well done Proton! (Y)

• Close shop already plz! Without p1 other cars will be cheaper and lessen rakyat burden.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • Akmal on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:18 am

Saya pakai wira 1.5 okey je.. Xde masalah ngn proton.. Klu pkai ganas.. Lori volvo pon rosak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • das Auto on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Next is to facelift Iriz front and back and inside like this one.And reengine with this one too. Its a good car but make it better!

• Car Enthusiasts on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Somehow I’m impress with Proton. Can’t wait to get behind the wheels! Whatever it is, go and test drive it. If it’s in your interest, go for it. If not, then there’s a lot of car brands here in Malaysia to choose. It’s all from your own decision.

• Das Auto on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Am concern that the back seat as thin as Bezza. Its becoming a trend becoming thinner like those in the airline aircraft.

• Sky Siew on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:58 pm

After knowing the new persona powertrain I don’t even find myself a reason to drop by showroom to see the real car. Iriz curb weight is already more than 1100kg and this persona should weight not less than 1200kg with extended boot. The car performance can be expected as so so or might be under power with its only 107hp and the lame CVT will further drag down the performance since this new car emphasize low fuel consumption. Those who keep optimistic on this new car, do dream it will sell well. Look at the Preve, Suprima S and Iriz as example, are these models doing well? New persona is game changer for Proton? it is just an extended model of Iriz with similar look, components etc. No wow factor at all for this new persona, perhaps it is more “oh” factor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Tarakbaca on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:31 am

Obviously you dun read the article!

• lazada on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:43 am

Persona & Saga is P1 best selling models, If price still remain same as previous Persona or cheaper. Confirm it will sell well, this Persona spec looks good overall, if can just add on projector head lamps, arm rest, Light bar tail light (last persona already using led), 0r offer as R3 Accessories like P2 Gear Up as option. Personally, I prefer the overall design of the new Persona over coming new Saga (from Spy shoot on internet) and Bezza.

• Prem Chandran on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Why does Proton still have a 240km/h speedometer when the car can barely touch 190km/h? This is a question left unanswered for many years..

• Pikachu on Aug 14, 2016 at 2:00 am

I will buy this car…i like proton :)

• zainal abidin on Aug 14, 2016 at 9:51 am

Even better if comes with rear discs and front and rear tube type LED lights.

• I rather play with my bird than catching Pokemon

• Why not, since ur not selling any of ur toyota junks, Albert. Better than coming here and posting bollocks

• steering wheel using old logo same iriz as well?

• John L on Aug 14, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Almost a year ago my sister almost bought either a Myvi or Saga. I had to explain to her what ABS was. I believe at that time only the top range Myvi had ABS? We went to test drive the Saga and then noticed the Iriz was on promotion. The salesman said, “if you test drive the Iriz, you won’t want to buy the Saga.” Damn right. It was only about RM2k more than the Saga for the manual, but my sister wanted the automatic so it was RM4k more. But safety wise, it was a lot better than the Saga and thank God the seat is foldable unlike the Saga. I think even now the Myvi doesn’t have ESC?
    Almost a year later, the car is still almost like new. Nothing major has broken. There’s an issue with the driver side window. In the car manual it says that it should automatically wind down with 1 press of the button but sometimes it takes 2 presses. I’ve told my sister to complain about this when she takes the car for service but she hasn’t done that yet. There was also a manufacturing defect with the aircond hose but the service people quickly took care of that.
    If it wasn’t for Proton pushing ESC as standard in their new models (except for that blunder Perdana) would Perodua have included ESC in their Boxza? Even then, only the top range Boxza has ESC.
    And now Proton is about to launch a sedan that could possibly compete with the Boxza’s pricing but with ESC as standard in all variants.
    I don’t get Malaysian car buyers. Which is more important? A power window that never breaks down or your life?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Whats more important to MY pipu? The celup jepunisness with perceived higher RV and quality. Some pipu even rather proudly die in their moving deathtraps than shamefully survive in a P1. Thats why safety doesnt sell in MY, otherwise P1 wud grow in leaps and bounds.

Nirvana on the other hand however….

• john otak nirvana on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Another syok sendiri statement from the infamous john. If you say MY people don’t support Proton, what about the world? How many Proton has been sold worldwide? For instance, our neighbour country, Sg?

Please answer…

• kumar on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:37 am

i had a terrible experience with my 2008 persona but deep down i really want P1 to succeed. hoping and praying.

• Thomas Tan on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:15 pm

A good effort from proton, car genuinely looks handsome for its range and the cabin layout, fitout and colour all looks well in place. Now only to test drive this fellow. If power is nice and drove is not harsh, coupled with the free service, they will have a winner here.

The willingness byb proton to embrace industry safety standards (airbags, esp, abs) is much lauded. I notice the instrument panel have cruise control icon, hopefully that feature can be in the premium range. AV unit looks nice and uncomplicated. Perhaps they can throw in the cool right sized water bottle (as oic) free too.

Only observation is the very old school gear change lever and still traditional hand brake lever… Time to change this.

• I’m surprised that this model with 2 front disc and 2 rear drums is claimed to have better braking performance than the previous model with 4 disc brakes

• Malaysian on Aug 17, 2016 at 1:09 pm

nice car, please Proton be more aggressive on customer support as VW and Honda are at the brink of snapping their wire on customer’s support. ref. frm both brand owner fb twt complaints

• Kumar on Aug 19, 2016 at 1:50 am

New persona boleh pasang ngv

• clement lee on Aug 19, 2016 at 4:06 pm

WOW …i and my friends, 10 people, just placing for booking.
    this new persona seen value for money than that bezza, with 1.6 VVt engine and other features, no way we wan buy bezza …haha ..luckily i pull stop to buy bezza .

• Did proton fix the persona back space problem? my friend’s persona is too narrow at behind seat..so uncomfortable..hopefully proton can recitify it….A lot of poeple regret to buy the persona elegance

• Annoynimouse on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:22 am

Overall, it does look very good! However, I’d like to point out a few things that IMO are minus points based on the picture.
    1) The gear knob looks outdated, ugly and cheap. At some angle, it looks like a badly designed dildo.
    2) The parking brake lever also looks cheap. Even the old Savvy had leather (well, actually PVC) gaiters. I think it just gives it a bit more quality feel. Don’t worry, the next Persona is probably not going to have traditional parking brakes anymore.
    3) I still can’t get over the disproportionate size of the wheels compared to the tall body (the humpty dumpty look). This is primarily down to reducing FC as much as possible, but the designers can always do something to the side-profile to make the car look lower. Low, ground-hugging car always give that sporty look, even though the car itself is actually tall.

Looking forward for a test drive. “Bagus saya beli, tak bagus saya lari”.

• Pengguna on Sep 16, 2016 at 9:00 am

No lah kunta.. u are talking bullshit la.. No staff from proton SC would say such thing “Padan kuka padan muka”…bodoh la u.. hidup u asyik mau tipu orang saje… Kalau u sendiri tak tau jaga kereta u, walaupun u pakai kereta mercedes atau BMW, pls stop talking bullshit la…

Proton semakin bertambah baik.. quality juga semakin bagus.. ‘Dalam setandan pisang, belum tentu semuanya baik’

Begitu juga, pengilang kereta lain.. bukan semua unit kereta Mecedes or BMW or Toyota or Honda adalah bagus.. Pasti ada yang bermasalah..