Proton Preve, Exora to get 1.6 Turbo engines only; CPS and IAFM+ replaced by VVT in new Persona, Saga

Aside from introducing new models this year, Proton will also be making some adjustments to its engine line-up of its models, according to the national carmaker’s chief technical officer, Abdul Rashid Musa. “We are aligning our models and engines to avoid overlapping and cross cannibalisation,” he told paultan.org.

The imminent introduction of the 2016 Persona heralds the end of the CamPro IAFM (Intake Air-Fuel Module) engine on the B-segment model. That’s because the new model will employ the 1.6 litre VVT (Variable Valve Timing) engine from the Iriz.

The IAFM mill also looks set to be discontinued from other models including the Saga and Preve. The former will follow in the new Persona’s footsteps of dropping the IAFM unit, and will adopt the 1.3 litre VVT engine from the Iriz. As the new Saga will only debut after the 2016 Persona, the current Saga FLX is offered exclusively with the IAFM mill for both CVT and manual variants.

2016 Proton Persona Spoiler_02

Both the new Persona and Saga will make the switch to the VVT mills in the interest of fuel efficiency (10-13% better fuel consumption compared to the Persona IAFM) and longer service intervals (every 10,000 km). In terms of power, the 1.3 litre unit on the Iriz makes the same amount as the 1.3 IAFM+ in the Saga FLX (95 PS, 120 Nm), while the 1.6 litre VVT is pretty similar to the 1.6 litre IAFM+ (109 PS, 150 Nm). The Iriz is the only Proton model offered with both VVT engines for now.

As for the Preve, the IAFM engine offered on the Executive manual and CVT variants will be dropped in the future, leaving just the 1.6 litre turbocharged CFE engine (CVT). The Preve will then join the Exora, which is offered with just the CFE engine on all three variants – Executive, Premium and Super Premium – on sale.

Meanwhile, the CamPro CPS (Cam Profile Switching) engine will no longer be in production, and is not offered on any current Proton model. The engine first debuted on the facelifted Gen 2 in 2008, before making its way to other models like the Waja, Satria Neo and Exora.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• policeman on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:16 pm

So Preve no more manual? Or manual with CFE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Smart Germans Buy Skoda on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Proton better get engines and transmissions from Toyota Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 52
      • Same L0rr on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:41 pm

This statement i’ve mention on 2014! Better get DVVT/dual DVVT engine and E-AT 4speed gearbox from perodua! Put it on Saga, Persona & Iriz. CFE 1.6 turbocharged put at Preve, Suprima/Satria & Exora!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • Same L00 on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Come on, this is 2016 and Proton still using belt? This is what John mentioned so much of dinosaur technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
        • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:29 pm

CamPro without CPS is rubbish engine, not that it is way better with CPS. Both my Neo and Waja caused me so much pain. Keluar masuk workshop beribu habis year 9 settle loan dealer angkat RM8500 je harga besi buruk timbang kati. So VVT will be upgraded to VVT CPS then VVT CPS IAFM+ whatever lah Proton, orang sudah meluat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
          • Nope. Campro w/o CPS IS RUBBISH! Test drove 1 b4 bought my Gen2CPS and the torque dip and slow low speed response was crazy.
            The CPS/VIM increases torque at low speeds, improving acceleration, a more linear torque buildup as speed goes up, and of course, CPS just kicked in yo feeling when it kicked in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • Timing chain is dinosar. World Engine of the Year uses belt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
          • Same L00 on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:40 pm

again Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Soon he will say Proton use jet engine. poor john

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:22 pm

No point bashing cause last week and this week got so many BN cybertroopers have come out from nowhere to paint a good image for Proton. We will see when end of the year sales figures.

Like all the hype Iriz got, then the truth finally came out, sales of Iriz was so bad, it was officially declared a failure by Proton themselves.

Before that Proton hype so much about Iriz. Said sales and demand too strong for Proton to handle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 33
        • RBA buthurt much for late to party?
          lololololololololololol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • RoadRage (Member) on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:49 pm

We all love to paint. Do you have kids? i think they love to paint too.

• Same L0rr on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Positive movement! But still campro engine & CVT bising gearbox! Bad RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
      • always same story… bla bla bla..
        even p2 got untung, all profit will bring.back to your big brother country. nothing left for you.
        u barking for just RM10 for every comment you make. at the end, they left with bothing ..soo pity

• where is 6 speed manual turbo? already 3 years since launching of suprima.

• Annoynimouse on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Yeah. I remembered the same guy here promised a sports version of the suprima S when quizzed about the strangely high speedometer limits. Still waiting…

• OMG... on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:13 pm

OMG…still a rubbish engine…puihhhhh

• Silthice on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Can’t wait for the all new preve tuah and Exora wave with 1.5 TGDi engine, lighter weight and better packaging (8 seater exora)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • really? on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:47 pm

What is the point of releasing 3 new models with none of the new engines proton promised? I just like many Malaysians would love to see proton make cars that we can be proud of. The whole point of all those taxes was to help proton right? Yet we still see cars with tiny wheels, recycled engines and rebadged. Come on proton. I think Malaysians deserve better. Please make better cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
      • Fairul on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:33 pm

They too scared to release cos it will be a disaster with soooo much problems. You dare to buy new Proton car with new Proton engine? It’s like suicide. Like burning your hard-earned $80k down the drain!

• oh mak lu cina on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:37 pm

No, none of you all burn hard-earned 80k down the drain. None of you proton buyers have hard-earned 80k cash to buy a car. If you did, you wouldn’t buy a proton!

• panjang on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Proton, if u guys have any CPS engine lying around in your warehouse,please send one complete set with gearbox to my home.BTW i want the Neo CPS version.

• I think u quickly ask PPC (P1 Parts Center), they might have spares still around. Gudbye to P1 most powerful NA engine, too bad due to emission stds it go dodo like B16A and 4AGE. Nothing beats the thrill when CPS kicked in yo!

I guess I will continue enjoice my 1.6L CPS Manual Gen2 until I find a worthy replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rr on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Worthy replacement is Proton Suprima S..

• nabill (Member) on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Lighten ur crank pulley n liberate the horses… U wont regret… Best mod ever to CPS

• Thought of that many moons ago, with forged pistons, conrods and tebo intercooled. But no budget then. Both car and engine were well used/abused and nowadays looking to gip a slow retirement life before I replace it.

• Psyduck on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:26 pm

It doesn’t matter CVT, DVVT, TVVT or whatever TV P1 uses, the sales will remain pathetic forever no matter how as most rakyat have lost confidence and faith in this brand a long time ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 63
  • gaviny on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:29 pm

i think they really should try and jump ahead with direct injection also, VVT with lift

• Das Auto on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Only time will tell……………if hati masih sakit mendengar bunyi enjin lebih mengaum berbanding kelajuan yang entah ke mana!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Fanta Strawberry on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:11 pm

The very familiar campro vvt engine sound … Kluk kluk kluklukukuk

• rosdi on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:56 pm

THE SOLE reason why Proton sales are declining and nobody ever seems to be buying Proton anymore, CPS and Campro.

The engine is so stupid whoever decided to commercialize this engine should be put in jail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 21
    • If CPS n IAFM engine models debut around year 2000 is acceptable.. The tech approach is lag 10years behind compare to other competitors

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Saya sebagai bekas pemilik Waja dan Neo Campro bersetuju. Pasukan jurutera enjin Campro wajar dipenjarakan kerana membebankan rakyat.

• Saya sebagaui current pemilik Gen2CPS tidak bersetuju, kerana CPS says just kicked ur ass yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Lee Kum Kee on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Saya sebagai pemili juga tiada setuju. Mana itu enjin baru Proton kata mau show-off. ini sudah kira melampaui.

• Saya sebagai pemilik juga kata, sabar dulu. Sabar adalah separuh dari iman. Nanti yg best akan keluar

• Mechanic on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Biasalah bang, ini kereta Proton. Pasukan jurutera Proton mungkin berasal dari UiTM/Mara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • doktor gigi on Aug 16, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Menghina orang, jaga-jaga. Nanti terhina. What u give u get back. Pergi gosok gigi tuh.

• Alyaniff on Jan 28, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Hahaha, you tell Proton engine is rubbish but in the end of the day, why so many Vios and Myvi butthurt with Proton car sampai nak cucuk2? Hahaha

• Albert on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:11 pm

I heard from the radio while driving that usain Bolt retained his Olympic 100m title.
    Protong,if you run like a kura kura….even Nissan,Mazda,Kia will overtake you in terms of sales volume.
    Stop all the POLITICS.IT stinks.Just get the job done.
    If you need to roll out the newer engines ….you have to FAST FORWARD them.
    And for rakyat’s sake…please throw the PUNCH cvt MADE IN CHINA gearbox into Klang River.Get a Aisin gearbox from mighty Japan.
    Time is running out.P2 already smashed 20,000 units a month sales record.Half of that is actually yours if you roll out the persona and saga earlier.
    You already lost rm 650juta last year.Want to lose somemore,kah?
    Maybe the rm 1.5Billion bailout is a STUMBLING BLOCK.IT brought a TIDAK APA attitude instead.
    DRB will be staring at RED,RED,RED INK again come April 1,2017.
    Proton,you are beyond comprehension ,at the rate you are moving in this internet age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 20
    • Same L0rr on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Buy proton = bad RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • camtakpro on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:21 pm

DRB finding exits for Proton to china overloards.

Even Lotus prefer Toyota engine as a base.
      Peugeot take Aisin.

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:15 pm

The reason lotus chose Toyota engines because they met the strict emission requirement in cities like California. The deal is made easier since lotus did help Toyota developed the first Supra 2.8 suspension and cylinder head (also known as celica supra)

• camtakpro on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:07 am

Neh. 2ZZGE failed at emissions. Lotus tuned it and put it into Exige, and even supercharge it in ExigeS, and still meet emissions.

More like Toyota engines are reliable and easier to work with, and came in abundance.

• Nobody wants a Lotus if it has Proton’s engines. Gwai Loh will say: “Apa cheapalek enjin is this?”

• Meanwhile nobody comes to ur toyota showroom. How saddings…NOT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • Albert on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Insaf John
        I have a Rolls Royce(2nd hand) and 3 units Of Toyotas at home.
        I have never sold Toyotas.
        Last month,I sold 3 units of top range Specs Royce.To match that,you might have to sell 20 units P2.Get this straight in your head!!

• Yeah yeah. I seen ur rolls royce and toyota collection. I have to say, matchbox & hotwheels r way too small to appreciate, u shud upgrade ur collection to 1:43 scale at least.
          I dun need to strain my eyes to spot that superior quality ur talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • John is otak batu on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:20 pm

1:43 is not really an upgrade and seriously too small. Do u really know how the ratio measurement works john? 1:24 is something nicer. Or 1:16

• Same L00 on Aug 16, 2016 at 3:09 pm

You better be quiet and work properly in P2, john. P1 relax + minum teh culture will get you no where. Or soon I will see you back in P1 show room again.

• Samantha on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Proton already technically bankrupt as it has no money to pay its vendors. You think it has money to dare ask the vendors to make the new engine? Hahahahaha!!! Perodua shud donate it’s 1.3 and 1.5l engines to Proton. At least people will buy cos it’s Toyota !! Bodoh Proton!!

• Ricardo engines r on track for release in 2017/8.

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Actually, this is the real scenario happening now in proton camp that many youngsters here do not know. Proton is facing issues with its vendors and supplies and not being able to assemble enough cars in stock.

• ahmad on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:39 am

Actually Proton has settled some of the payments with the vendors, but people don’t know this cause what they can do is just speak3. They are too lazy to read.

• mr1031 on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:22 pm

good. now bring that CFE priced exora and preve to the price of the once IAFM model..

• Mechanic on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Models with CPS and IAFM+ engines practically have no resale value with this strategy. Parts will be difficult to get few years down the road. However, well maintained units will be car thieves favorite, looking parts to be cannibalized.

• Preve on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:06 pm

I really hope Preve / Suprima will get the Manual for those turbo engines! Well unless the CvT is from jatco which can handle huge torque then i wont have issues with having fun with them cars

• immafanbuoi on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:07 pm

dear proton, i am your biggest fan..therefore i will only say this.. as long as your GDI engine dont come out, all basher will use this same sheit to bash you..so throw away any other special move you want to do, and get going to that NE01 or TGDI/GDI engine (+ jatco transmission)..asap. thats it..or else..

• Those engines year 2018 only available…sad to tell u

• Ootai on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:15 pm

2018…which one come first. The national election or the anticipated engine??

• immafanbuoi on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:39 pm

therefore, goodluck my dear proton for another two year..mehh

• immafanbuoi on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:08 pm

dear proton, i am your biggest fan..therefore i will only say this.. as long as your GDI engine dont come out, all basher will use this same sheit to bash you..so throw away any other special move you want to do, and get going to that NE01 or TGDI/GDI engine (+ jatco transmission)..asap. thats it.

• Firdaus on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:00 pm

For the first time in 13 years I don’t own a Proton in my family anymore.After the ‘ngauman harimau lebih dari acceleration’ on my cps exora, im now a proud owner of a T6 ranger and a myvi.

I intend not to buy a proton within the family from now till hell freezes over!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Lockhart on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:27 pm

ada VVT ada amoi.

• kamal on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Vvt just the valve technology but the base still campro or cps engine..

• Hentamjela on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Dah tak suka proton buat apa pakai proton bodo…ke kau org ni salesman perutdua,toyolta…

• Hentamjela on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:21 pm

Tak suka proton tapi duk komen kat website proton buat apa kan bodo namanya,,mcm mana la malaysia nak maju ada rakyat bodo mcm ni..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Firdaus on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:50 pm

itulah constructive criticism….sebab ada org macam hanglah malaysia tak maju lagi!!

kalau kereta import lain semua dikenakan import tax/duty sama banyak dgn proton, kita pun tak nak comment lah tentang proton sebab proton consider last option!

btw, kat website proton boleh komen ke??
      lu pikir sendiri lah BRO!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • klau sekadar nak bash buta tuli aje, it bukan constructive critism! Itu destructive bashing! Kalau org dah ubah jadi lebih baik, akui je lah. Ini pulak tak, mashi mau kata wira quality, waja power window, campro kosong xde power!

Memang dulu ada ini isu dan P1 memang akui semua tu, tapi diorang dah berubah. Lu pulak belum, masih complen benda 20 tahun lalu.
        Lu pikir sendri lah BRO!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Betul… Constructive criticism mereka tak mau dengar, mau dengar pujiaan syok sendiri macam Madani baru puas hati. Semua yang critic Proton itu dinamakan Basher. Malaysia macam mana nak maju?

• Ootai on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Lotus is a burning hole for P1. P1 is burning DRB bottom line. After 30 years, P1 is still stuggling with engineering capability. DRB must dispose P1. You don’t need BCG to knock on your knuckle.

• Good decision, the current 1.6 NA is rubbish.

• Think smart on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:23 pm

I owned waja CPS and I feel the engine quite powerful when the CPS kicks in at 3800 rpm. CPS tech oso improved the low torque power delivery but this engine not really friendly in fuel consumption.

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:23 pm

What engine does the non-turbo Exora use?

• Dodo 908 on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:00 am

What??? No manual variants on Exora and Preve later?? Ayo, even the base Toyota Vios and Avanza has the option for manual transmission… Unlike Suprima S and Preve either Exora, all CVT….at least provide one manual variant lh…