VIDEO: What not to do with a CVT-equipped vehicle

Different types of transmission have different characteristics because of their different designs, and therefore require different ways of handling. For the continuously variable transmission (CVT) in particular, it has its own quirks too, and this video by Engineering Explained describes what’s fine by the stepless transmission, as well as what isn’t.

First up, you shouldn’t hill-hold on the throttle. This applies to the clutch-equipped type of CVTs in particular, as the transmission is only partially engaging the clutch to hold the vehicle on throttle, and the clutch is slipping for the balance between moving forward or rolling back. Like on a manual transmission or dual-clutch transmission, this is bad because it can cause the clutch to overheat and sustain premature wear.

Coasting in neutral is a no-no too. This isn’t so much as case of drawbacks, rather than what it can do better if it is left to its one devices. Depending on the type of CVT, it will either regenerate the vehicle’s momentum into electrical energy if it is a hybrid, or it will disengage itself without driver input.

Next, do not neutral-drop the transmission. The same applies here as it does for conventional automatics; revving the engine in neutral for high rpm and then immediately engaging drive will damage the transmission. Even high-performance applications of a dual-clutch transmission with launch control will have a limit to how often this can be done before it calls up a form of safe mode to cool the transmission.

Just like in conventional automatics, it is best to stop completely before changing direction of travel (forwards or backwards), as engaging gear for a different direction before doing so puts undue strain on the transmission and can result in damage. Put simply, do not go from forwards to reverse – or vice-versa – before coming to a complete stop.

For clutch-based CVTs, constant inching forward in traffic over a prolonged period may also cause issues. The partial engagement of the clutch results in slipping and therefore possible overheating and premature wear. In more modern types of CVTs, those that employ electric motors (e-CVTs) or a torque convertor as part of its system, however, this is no issue at all.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Same L00 on Aug 15, 2016 at 3:58 pm

Be extra careful when you come to Proton’s CVT. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 53
    • pak atan on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:16 pm

its not on the quality lah bro. its about gain knowledge on cvt first before u buy cvt transmission car. if u are too blind to learnt then ask uncle google.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • Same L00 on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:39 pm

When you don’t admit Proton CVT sucks due to your nasi lemak ego, you call ppl blind. Why don’t you buy more Proton and support them? Hypocrite!
        Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
        • Sanzo on Mar 20, 2019 at 11:17 pm

Unlike u who will sell your own kidney and keep complaining on everyone is against you… Go fly kite la

• Redidiot on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:53 am

Proton does not manufacture its own transmissions. You want to complain about engine or chassis go right ahead but please dont openly lie about the transmission they use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Same L00 on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Transmission got problem? Not made by Proton.
        Airbag got problem? Not made by Proton.
        Radiator got problem? Not made by Proton.
        ECU got problem? Not made by Proton.

Proton only make the brochure and price list. Yet they call it a 100% Malaysian made car.

Sendiri cakap sendiri syok to the max!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
        • lanjiao sameloo on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Proton cvt is from Punch and this cvt is made in Uk
          sohai kia Proton got airbag problem? the airbag is made in US. Autoliv sohai kia

• Yoour Mom on Apr 18, 2019 at 4:09 pm

Yeah. OEM never produce anything. They just assemble. They purchase all the parts from tier 2 automotive company (IATF certified). This is how the automotive industry works. for example, Jatco, Akashi kikai, SanyCo Grand. Proton or other OEM just can monitor with quality and assemble. (Except for Perodua, They have massive production by their own at Rawang).

• Same L0rr on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:00 pm

CVT bising Punch Powertrain? Hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 42
    • tokok on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:21 pm

The channel also have (1) what you should not do with turbocharged cars and (2) what you should not do with multi-clutches car. Hope our sales guys can get more educated before bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • John Smith on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Do us all a favour and please do not breed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • The only thing bising is u and Albert wailing cuz nobody comes to ur toyota showroom anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • pak atan on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:17 pm

your mouth bising , P2 slave

• spongewai on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:02 pm

to fix the CVT, it is very costlier than normal auto just like my old Honda City i-DSI

• Diverting channel instead of reviewing yourself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • tokmoh. on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:12 pm

So much subliminal message to do away with clutch-based Punch CVT.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:12 pm

The best thing not to do with a CVT vehicle is to NOT buy one, especially if it is a Proton.

Cause, when you go to the Service Centre to complain, the SC Technician will tell you, “Hello brader, this is a Proton lah, what do you expect. You want better car, you buy a BMW or a Mercedes, then you got lesser problems”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 43
    • Ur Altis comes with CVT. So apa topkek lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
      • Autotech on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Toyota CVT and Punch CVT performance very different lah. Toyota has much less lag and no jerking like Punch. Read the review of Paul Tan on Altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • pak atan on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:19 pm

no lah, that just u who said that. just be good slave for a while k.

• For a manual transmission, all those mentioned is not a problem. or maybe manual transmission are more durable

• Slipping the clutch will oso wear out manual clutch plate prematurely. I know cuz replaced it b4. It depends on how u drive.

• ex-VGM staff on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:18 pm

believe me – all the people who work in automotive industry (especially at the service centres) do not stop fully between forward and reverse.

it can be in nissan, or toyota. or proton. or VW. or BMW. or lexus. or honda. they just dont bother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • What not to do with a CVT car: Buying it in the first place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Cvt gearbox include alllllll this car brand include honda jazz,nissan xtrail,proton irizAudi A4 2.0/1.8T/2.4/3.0/1.9 TDI/2.0 TDI/2.7 TDI
      Audi A5 2.0 TDI
      Audi A6 2.0/1.8T/2.4/3.0/2.5 TDI
      Chevrolet Spark 1.2 L
      Chery Tiggo 5 2.0 L
      Chery Tiggo FL 2.0 L
      Daihatsu Mira Custom 0.66 L 3 cyl
      Dodge Caliber 2.0 L, 2.4 L
      Fiat Punto 1.2 L
      Ford Escape Hybrid 2.3 L 4 cyl
      Ford Five Hundred 3.0 L 6 cyl
      Ford Focus C-Max 1.6 L TDCi 110 PS
      Ford Freestyle 3.0 L 6 cyl
      Ford Fusion Hybrid 2.5 L 4 cyl
      Honda Accord option on all 4 cylinder models 2013 on
      Honda Activa Scooter 0.109 L
      Honda Airwave 1.5 L
      Honda City 1.5 L
      Honda Civic HX 1.6 L 4 cyl
      Honda Civic Hybrid 1.3 L 4 cyl
      Honda HR-V 1.6 L
      Honda Insight 1.3 L 4 cyl
      Honda Jazz 1.2L/1.3L/1.4L/1.5L / Honda Fit 1.3 L/1.5 L
      Honda Odyssey (JDM)
      Honda Stepwgn
      Honda Stream
      Infiniti JX/QX60
      Jeep Compass 2.0L,2.4 L
      Jeep Patriot 2.0L,2.4 L
      Lexus CT200h
      Lexus ES 300h
      Lexus GS450h 3.5 L 6 cyl
      Lexus LS600h 5.0 L 8 cyl
      Lexus RX400h 3.3 L 6 cyl
      Mercedes-Benz A-Class
      Mercedes-Benz B-Class
      Mercury Montego 3.0 L 6 cyl
      Microcar MC1/MC2 505cc 2 cyl diesel or petrol
      Microcar Virgo 505cc 2 cyl diesel or petrol
      Mini One and Cooper.
      Mitsubishi Colt 1.5 L MIVEC 4 cyl with INVECS-III CVT (Asian-Oceanian version only, 72 kW)
      Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 L/1.8 L MIVEC 4 cyl with INVECS-III CVT (Asian version only) the 2008 version also
      Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 L/2.4 L MIVEC 4 cyl with INVECS-III CVT 2008 (North America)
      Mitsubishi Outlander 2.4 L MIVEC 4 cyl with INVECS-III CVT (from 2007)
      Mitsubishi RVR/ASX/Outlander Sport 1.6 L /1.8 L /2.0 L MIVEC 4 cyl with INVECS-III CVT 2011
      MG F/MG TF 1.8L
      Nissan Altima (from 2007, Model S and SE)
      Nissan Bluebird Sylphy 2.0 L
      Nissan Cedric 300VIP-Z and 300LX-Z S [1]
      Nissan Cube
      Nissan Gloria 300 Ultima-Z and 300 Ultima-Z V [1]
      Nissan Juke
      Nissan Maxima (from 2007, Model SE)
      Nissan Micra 1.0 L/1.3 L
      Nissan Murano 3.5 L
      Nissan Pathfinder (from 2013 and on)
      Nissan Primera 2.0 L
      Nissan Qashqai 2.0 L
      Nissan Rogue 2.5 L, Model SL
      Nissan Sentra (from 2007 and on)
      Nissan Serena 2.0 L
      Nissan Skyline 350GT-8
      Nissan Teana 3.5 L
      Nissan Tiida / Versa
      Nissan X-Trail
      Opel Vectra 1.8 L
      Peugeot 4007 2.4 16V
      Proton Exora Bold 1.6 L CFE (2011–present)
      Proton Inspira 2.0 L 4 cyl
      Proton Prevé 1.6 L (CFE Turbo / IAFM+ NA) (2012–present)
      Proton Saga FLX 1.3 L 4 cyl (2011–present)
      Renault Koleos
      Rover 25
      Rover 45
      Rover Streetwise
      Saturn Ion Quad Coupe (2003-2004)
      Saturn Vue 2.2 L AWD (2002-2005), 2.2 FWD (2002-2004)
      Scion iQ
      SEAT Exeo
      Subaru Forester (Lineartronic)
      Subaru Impreza
      Subaru Legacy (Lineartronic)
      Subaru Outback (Lineartronic)
      Subaru R1
      Subaru R2
      Subaru Stella
      Subaru WRX
      Suzuki SX4 (2010 onwards)
      Toyota Aurion Hybrid
      Toyota Avalon Hybrid
      Toyota Avensis
      Toyota Camry Hybrid
      Toyota Corolla Fielder
      Toyota Highlander Hybrid 3.3 L 6 cyl
      Toyota Ist
      Toyota Passo 1.0 L 3 cyl
      Toyota Passo 1.3 L 4 cyl
      Toyota Prius 1.5 L 4 cyl (–2009)/1.8L 4 cyl (2010–)
      Toyota Prius c 1.5 L 4 cyl (2012–)
      Toyota Ractis
      Toyota Verso 1.8 L
      Toyota Wish 2.0 L 4 cyl
      Toyota Yaris 1.33 VVT-i CVT
      Toyota Yaris Hybrid 1.5 VVT-i CVT
      So how to say cvt is completely uselesssssss?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • When Albert sees toyota in the list, he quietly goes back into his cave

• camtakpro on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:00 am

Toyota Hybrid eCVT is not belt-driven CVT. It is normal auto box in disguise.

• Redidiot on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:04 am

It is, thats why manufacturers have to shove it down our throats through all the models you just listed. If they didnt nobody in their right full petrol blooded mind would ever touch a vehicle with cvt with a 1 mile pole.

• Redidiot on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:06 am

And another thing, the only good cvt is a dead cvt.

• Hill hold and neutral drop.doesn’t it applies to all type of transmissions?

• Do we need cvt transmission cooler? When do we need it and what does it do?

• Same as Auto on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Whatever he said basically applies to conventional automatic cars too…

• Petrodollar on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Watched the video long time ago..

• subaru cvt are the best..

• Suggestion for an article on paultan.org…….a simplified (in everyday language) comparison, in the Malaysian context, on the major differences and the relative merits of various types of different automatic transmissions like torque converter, CVT, DSG, etc, together with ‘care instructions’, possibly in a table format.

This would be much appreciated. Or has paultan.org done this already?

• FAFAU80 on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:20 am

I always advise my wife not to drive my Toyota Wish ZGE20 1.8 like she’s driving her Subaru Impreza. It just a family cars…Enjoy a lot with CVT Transmission..I’ll still support Proton. Anyway “Roman wasn’t built in a day”.

• Norman on Oct 01, 2018 at 8:32 am

The problem with Proton Punch Powertrain is that they’re using the VT3 which is limited to 220nm only..If they go for other brands or wait for the VT5(250nm max) they can extract the torque to 240nm and more horsepower..I have seen Exora CFE changing Mitsubishi conventional 4 speeder for the exora..A good ecu reflash and piping get 160hp/230nm on crank