2016 Proton Saga 1.3L launched – RM37k to RM46k

2016-proton-saga-launch-1

We’ve seen the spyshots and teasers, and we’ve even driven it, but now it’s finally time for the new 2016 Proton Saga to face the world. The budget sedan has officially been launched at the Setia City Convention Centre today, and while it’s the last of Proton’s three sedans to be introduced this year, it’s arguably the most important, as it represents the national carmaker’s bestselling model.

Sitting at the entry level of the company’s range, the new Saga is priced at RM36,800 for the Standard manual variant and RM39,800 for the CVT. Moving up, the Executive CVT retails at RM42,800, while the Premium tops out at RM45,800. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year/150,000 km warranty, up from the old model’s three-year/100,000 km coverage.

The new car is built on the bones of the outgoing Saga, but don’t let anyone tell you that it’s just a facelift. There’s a lot that’s changed since the second-generation BLM model was originally introduced way back in 2008, so let’s get to it.

protonsaga_premium_ext-4

Based on outgoing Saga, but heavily revised

The measuring tape alone indicates that there’s been a significant rework – at 4,331 mm long, 1,689 mm wide and 1,491 mm tall, the Saga is not only 74 mm longer than before, but also 9 mm wider and 11 mm lower. Only the wheelbase remains the same, at 2,465 mm. The longer overhangs are likely the reason why the boot is now seven litres larger, at 420 litres.

Also getting a revamp is the design – the front gets more organic reflector halogen headlights (with Proton script on both the head- and tail lights), a new dual-bar grille reminiscent of the Perdana (and the original 1985 Saga) and a massive Persona-esque lower grille that flows under the front fog light surrounds.

Moving back, the surfacing has been made less angular than before, with a rising shoulder line that carries the Iriz-derived door handles and terminates at the tail lights – providing a more dynamic appearance. The C-pillar also gains a new BMW-style kink.

2016-proton-saga-dimensions

At the rear, there are new trapezoidal two-piece tail lights (now using regular bulbs instead of the previous LEDs, unfortunately) joined together by a horizontal bar; a more aggressive rear bumper with a diffuser-style black insert completes the look.

A considerably revised cabin features inside. Up front is a redesigned centre console incorporating the centre air vents, the head unit, a wider row of buttons (needed to control additional functions, such as central locking, front parking sensors and front and rear fog lights) and the carryover air-con controls.

Other details to note are the rectangular air vents with increased slats (no longer able to be closed), Iriz-style faux dashboard stitching, a new gearlever (also derived from the Iriz) for the CVT, revised instrument cluster graphics and a new three-spoke steering wheel from the Exora, Prevé and Suprima S. The door cards have also been restyled, while a new folding rear bench adds an extra dimension of practicality.

New VVT engine, 1.3 litre only, improved chassis

All models are powered by the 1.3 litre VVT four-cylinder engine, and only that engine. The removal of the 1.6 litre option offered on the previous model is part of a range-wide restructuring, providing some breathing space for the Persona that’s only available with the larger mill. Despite being a new engine, outputs remain identical at 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

Transmission options have also been streamlined, with the five-speed manual gearbox only available on the base Standard variant; by contrast, all models get a CVT. The latter is a CVT2+ unit, and is said to be significantly improved over the one in the Iriz.

Other refinements to the powertrain include drop in engine mount count – which themselves have been redesigned – from four to three, in order reduce the transmission of vibrations into the cabin. The ECU has also been retuned for a more linear throttle response.

protonsaga_premium_ext-29

Despite similar outputs, the Saga is now quicker than before, with the manual clocking a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 12.2 seconds (0.8 seconds faster), and the CVT model doing the deed in 13.1 seconds (1.4 seconds faster). It’s also more fuel efficient – Proton quotes consumption figures at 90 km/h of 5.4 litres per 100 km with the manual (down from 6.0 l/100 km) and 5.6 litres per 100 km with the CVT (from 6.3 l/100 km).

The body is now 20% stiffer, and the doors require less effort to close. Underneath, the chassis has been revised with new springs, dampers and engine bay strut bar to ensure better handling and control, while the steering has been made quicker and lighter; the steeper steering rack angle also tightens the turning circle.

More equipment, improved safety

Kicking off the new Saga range, the Standard variant gets taxi-style 13-inch steel wheels with plastic covers, a rear fog lights, black plastic exterior trim, front and rear parking sensors, plain black upholstery, a single-DIN head unit with Bluetooth connectivity, USB rear charging ports and an ECO Drive Assist indicator from the Persona.

protonsaga_premium_int-1

The mid-range Executive variant adds front fog lights, 14-inch snowflake-pattern alloy wheels, body-coloured exterior trim, black B-pillar trim, a rear bootlid spoiler, gloss grey interior trim and mesh-pattern upholstery.

Stepping up to the range-topping Premium model nets you intricate 15-inch alloy wheels, a chrome rear horizontal bar, wave-pattern upholstery, multifunction steering wheel controls, a gloss grey gearlever, a double-DIN head unit from the Exora and a reverse camera that feeds the view to a small display on the rear-view mirror (also from the Exora).

Dual airbags are standard on the new Saga, along with ISOFIX child seat mounts with top tethers – putting the whole tethergate saga (hah!) to bed. Impressively, the Premium model also adds stability control and hill-start assist; however, ABS with EBD and brake assist is only available on the Executive variant upwards, which is a right shame. All models get a four-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating, up from three.

Here’s the variant breakdown in detail:

Proton Saga 1.3L Standard – RM36,800 (MT), RM39,800 (CVT)

• 1.3 litre VVT engine
  • 94 hp at 5,750 rpm, 120 Nm at 4,000 rpm
  • ECO Drive Assist
  • Reflector halogen headlamps
  • Rear fog lamp
  • Front and rear parking sensors
  • 13-inch steel wheels (with 175/70R13 Silverstone Synergy M3 tyres)
  • Unpainted side mirrors, door handles and rear garnish
  • Manually-adjustable side mirrors
  • Body-coloured B-pillars
  • Black interior
  • Tilt-adjustable steering wheel
  • Single-DIN headunit with Bluetooth, USB and AUX input, two speakers
  • USB charging ports
  • Fabric seats – plain black upholstery
  • Height-adjustable driver’s seat
  • 420-litre boot with space saver spare tyre
  • Folding rear bench seat
  • ISOFIX child seat anchors with top tether
  • Two airbags
  • Front disc brakes, rear drums

Proton Saga 1.3L Executive CVT – RM42,800

Adds on:
  • Front fog lamps
  • 14-inch snowflake Y-spoke alloy wheels (with 185/60R14 Silverstone Kruizer1 NS800 tyres)
  • Body-coloured side mirrors, door handles and rear garnish
  • Power-adjustable side mirrors
  • Black B-pillars
  • Rear bootlid spoiler
  • Gloss grey trim on outer air-con vents and steering wheel
  • Single-DIN headunit with Bluetooth, USB and AUX input, four speakers
  • Fabric seats – mesh pattern upholstery
  • Front seat back pockets
  • ABS with EBD and BA

2016 Proton Saga 1.3L Premium CVT – RM45,800

Adds on:
  • 15-inch turbine split-spoke alloy wheels (with 185/55R15 Silverstone Kruizer1 NS800 tyres)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Hill-hold assist
  • Double-DIN headunit with Bluetooth, USB and AUX input, four speakers
  • Reverse camera (with integrated rear-view mirror display)
  • Steering wheel audio controls
  • Gloss grey trim on gear lever and surrounds
  • Fabric seats – wavy pattern upholstery

protonsaga_bm_premium_int-28

All models get these improvements:

• 1.3 VVT engine (replaces IAFM+)
  • Manual performance – 0-100 km/h in 12.2 seconds (from 13.0 secs)
  • Manual economy – 5.4 l/100 km at 90 km/h (from 6.0 l/100 km)
  • CVT performance – 0-100 km/h in 13.1 seconds (from 14.5 secs)
  • CVT economy – 5.6 l/100 km at 90 km/h (from 6.3 l/100 km)
  • Three-point engine mounts for better refinement
  • Retuned ECU for better CVT throttle response
  • Improved ride and handling package
  • Tyres with lower rolling resistance, better wet grip (quieter by 2 dB)
  • Four-star ASEAN NCAP crash safety rating (from three-star)
  • Quicker, more direct steering rack (16:1 ratio, from 20:1)
  • Tighter turning radius (5.1 m, from 5.3 m)
  • Lighter door closing effort (15 kgf, from 25 kgf)
  • Lighter steering effort (2.75 kgf, from 3.0 kgf)
  • Improved torsional stiffness (12,000 Nm/deg, from 10,000 Nm/deg)

Proton is hoping to sell around 5,000 Sagas per month following the model’s launch, with plans to export to right-hand drive ASEAN markets (export production to start four months after Malaysian launch). Colours available are Topaz Blue, Metal Grey, Fire Red, Sterling Silver, Cotton White and Midnight Black. We’ve already driven the 2016 Proton Saga – read our first impression of the new model here.

Browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga 1.3L Premium

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga 1.3L Executive

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga 1.3L Standard

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga official images

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Here comes the Honda fanboys and Proton Haters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 27
    • Dr Mamak on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Power window boleh pakai x?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 76
      • Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Khairy so excited, please buy one to support proton. Don’t be like most of the proton saliva supporters here, talk a lot, excited a lot but still driving old iswara. Support proton by action. I am sick of donating another RM 1.5 bil again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
        • Encik Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Does Khairy own a single Proton? The answer is NO. Go to Damansara Heights and see his Ferrari and Porsche. He has no Proton at home.

So excited to show support to the media for Proton but sendiri got no Proton at home.

By the way, Minister gaji only RM15k but yet, can buy Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
          • You sure ka he have ferrari and porche..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Kj sure buy proton.. mahadet no more there

• eh ho on Oct 28, 2016 at 3:26 am

That moment, when you didn’t watch/listen to his speech during proton launching ceremony, about a proton car that he bought, yet you love to said a bad thing. It’s your choice to choose to live with hatred. You’re the one that suffer, not us. Pity life.

• Dingle on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Exactly, many Proton fan boys can only talk. Some do buy them but the majority will only talk. Monthly sales figures still shows that Honda and Perodua make more sales. Say whatever you want but sales figures says a lot about a company’s success. No point talking cock if can’t make sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Same L00 on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Proton 5S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Selalu Sales
            5. Siapapun tak beli!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
        • In all these, i sincerely think the quiet cabin and quicker response drive is the most impressive improvement in this new saga and persona. Please highlight more on that..

Btw.. Feels like its been long since i watched your “driven” series..when will the new episode come out?

• Betol Tak?? on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Look again. Saga buntut tonggek juga! Ha ha ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 45
      • Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Like it? Buy it! Proton won’t survive by your syok sendiri!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • Encik Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Can Proton give us some statistics. How many in the Cabinet ie Ministers and Deputy own Proton?

From what I know….NONE. Most of them got no Proton at home. If got also, it is their bodyguards paid by our money ie LHDN money,

If Proton can parade a Minister during their launch, it is our right to know how many Ministers actually own a Proton and if they do, how many do drive a Proton.

As far as I can see, most Menteri use Merc, BMW, Jaguar, Porsche and Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Oct 02, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Clever. If your official car is a proton (albeit a rebadged honda), would u buy another proton for private use?

• Wooottt on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Vote Vote !!!
      Thumbs up -> Saga.
      Thumbs down -> Bezza.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 39
    • Encik Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:12 pm

A very sad day indeed. Proton is so ungrateful. Why never call Tun Mahathir? Even though he resigned, it is a matter of respect to call him. After all, he is Bapa Proton. He founded you guys. He made you guys happen. Because of Mahathir, Proton managed to live until today, otherwise, by year 2000 already bungkus.

Already Perdana, Persona launches, Proton has thrown dirt on Mahathir’s face by purposely not inviting him.

Poor Mahathir, the man who supported you guys all the way. The man who gave you billions every year. Now just throw him into the tong sampah.

This is a fine example of how Proton will treat its customers. Kalau Tun Mahathir, the founding father also can kena buang, just imagine the customer?

When Steve Balmer was CEO and President of Microsoft, all launches he called the founder Bill Gates to officiate and bless the function. It is a matter of respect for our founding fathers.

By the way, is small boy Khairy more important than Tun Mahathir? Another big slap to a frail 90 year old man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 21
      • Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:09 pm

You are damn right. If proton doesn’t even respect its founding father, what you expect for a customer?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 14
        • Maxim on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:42 pm

I’m fedup, poor new model, hardly innovative. Somemore treated badly in customer service, now no respect for Dr M. Won’t buy Proton anymore!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Encik Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Proton has no respect for its founding father. To hurt Mahathir further, they put a small boy who became a billionaire by the time he was 29.

Hello Proton, don’t forget, who built Malaysia up. Tun may not be an angel but you should respect him as your founding father. He took billions of Petronas money quietly just to keep Proton alive all these years. All done quietly and unaudited.

Show some gratitude to your founding father.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Mr. X on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:44 pm

Politics, man. Politics.

• Narutofan on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:47 am

Ungrateful people will never be successful. This company is just waiting to bungkus. No hope !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Naluri on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Ini Barulah Game Changer.. bukan Tonggek Bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 20
    • Pinky on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:44 pm

I was anticipating this car for quite some time but the pricing of the car is a little let down tbh. The base model is almost identical to the current SV other than the head unit and steering, yet it costs 4k more than the current SV.

On the other hand, the price of the executive and premium are too close to each other but the gadgets on the premium are significantly more than the executive.

Went to test drive the car just now, and the first impression of the car is really great. Overall, it is much more refined compared to the current car regardless of the exterior or the interior. And it is certainly a looker!

At the end of the day, I’ve decided to place my order on the base Persona manual (manual fanboy here) for 46k after much consideration albeit the awkward look of the Persona.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
      • Good choice. I saw one on the road recently. Not a bad looking. The saga doesn’t look as good. Am not driving a proton but I pray that it doesn’t dissapoint you. Took a ride in an Iriz and I was impressed with the ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • 33k ALSO NO GUARANTEE CAN SURVIVE on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:15 pm

UNLESS PUT IN SUZUKI ENGINE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • Looks like the BMW E46 especially the rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
    • Return of Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:44 pm

When you go to a village and you are about to cross a river, some villagers tell you there are many crocodiles. Infact few months ago a boy was killed in the river eaten by a crocodiles(s) (Power window issue still there).

But some villagers on the other hand tell you, that was the past, now the river is free from crocodiles. No more crocodiles (Power window has been cured)

Would you dare to cross the river now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
      • Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Soon you will see people mod the front to full mini E46. Proton… The power of day dreaming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • weird lah you on Oct 28, 2016 at 3:21 am

Now the river got a bridge la mangkuk. Got a modern technology. Just cross it with no worries. That’s so yesterday. LOL. This “Return of Kunta” guy always said a bad thing about proton. You can see his/her other comment. Who is this guy? A salesman from another car company? What a pity life you choose to bashing others. Good luck.

• Encik Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Although I am not a Proton fan, I can only hope for this Saga to do well. Looks like Persona sales have been quite bad despite Proton claiming 8000 have been sold so far. (yeah sold to Sparco maybe)

Personaly, I don’t see any Perdana nor Persona on the road. I drive about 150KM withink Klang Valley and I have seen ZERO Perdana and one or two personas. So, we can assume the PERSONA and PERDANA have failed miserably. We also can assume the Ertiga also will fail for it is under powered, some 90hp to carry a 7 seater.

So, Proton’s only hope is the Saga. I really hope it does well. At least, Proton will stop taking the rakyats money to keep the company alive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 45
      • Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Who care about the sales? You think proton care? I am sure their supporters don’t care. Official request to beg RM 2bil soft loan is coming soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
      • PROTON FAN on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:07 pm

I see at least 1 Perdana every day. I work nearby a Proton showroom.

On a separate note. The Civic was launched at roughly around the same time…I’ve seen too many on the road. I also see too many of the new 3 series on the road. People keep saying that our economy is down the drain but if you look on the road, you’ll see that it isn’t true.

• Abang KJ Stokin Merah on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Looks & drives like the BMW E46.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Strutbar on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:40 pm

More like facelifted E90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • superbird #43 on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:22 pm

more like e90 than e46..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Kerja kuat on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Work hard and buy actual BMW 3-series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Or relax je to look for BMW 3 series front mod.

• Or work smart and buy a P1, while investing the rest.

• Sama L00 on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Buy a P1, you need to invest into garage repair too. Proton quality man, no joking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • vwfan on Oct 07, 2016 at 5:02 pm

better buy a bicycle and invest the money. after sometimes you will have enough money to migrate so you dont have to be in malaysia anymore. malaysia will become more peaceful without your comment.

• jongos on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:57 pm

which is a good thing.

• FzZzM on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Lawa giler! Good job proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 25
    • Satria on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:14 pm

X tongek..lawa sakan tu. Kihkikih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Lawa giler? Belilah! A pa ni Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
        • Lu sembang on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:39 pm

You dah beli belum? You bole tengok sini you paling banyak cakap maa. You sudah beli sama banyak macam you cakap ka?

• Narutofan on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:52 am

Good job, esok drb boss belanja makan kuih. Cakap je, beli idak. Ptuihhhhh!!!

• No doubt this Saga will sell well for proton. Nevermind the weirdly designed-rear ends of the pondana and overall ugliness of the persona, the saga looks decently well designed. The cheap pricing and the longevity of the nameplate will help its cause.

Speaking about design, if they said they designed the pondana, persona and saga at the same time, then how come the persona is ugly as sh*t, while the pondana ended up looking like a hunchback?

• lilytan on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Inb4 P2 salesman is shaking. ohwai..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
  • sub_zero on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:49 pm

the irony is high spec and feature packed new saga cheaper than high spec bezza

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 12
    • Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:16 pm

For RM 5k you save here, you will pay back RM 15k to the garage. Mark my words. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 55
      • Macam la maintain P2 murah.. puii..

• volvo850 on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:16 pm

The ones that spent 15k repairing these are the ones who are dumb enough to do normal services, like oil refill etc

• Same L00 on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:38 pm

You obviously never own a Proton before, I don’t blame you for that.

• Mikey on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:51 pm

A five-year/150,000 km warranty will be THE Key selling factors. It also mean P1 is confidence in this car. Now, that’s what I call confidence.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 13
    • Bah! Not as confident as my un-roadtested Biza. But actually it was tested in toyota’s secret underground SHIELD test track.

• joshua on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:51 pm

The front and rear lights like it had been stung by bee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Who will buy the Executive version when all you need is to top up 3k to get VSC and many many other stuff? The pricing scheme seems off. Maybe they do it purposely to get more people buy the full spec one?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 1
    • Mr. Loba Loba on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:03 pm

you don’t say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • taboogen on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:06 pm

easy to answer your dilemma.. saga created for broader buyer.. they might company buying this car for office fleet and they need not want to pay extra 3k.. easy as that

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
      • Ok, tomorrow can start give ertiga teaser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • agree, even all those big player in construction / utilities etc definitely used saga as pool car.

• azrai on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:16 pm

A 3k difference is just +RM30 per month for 9 years installment payment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • johnana on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Inb4 bashing starts again in 3…2…1 !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Mikey on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:25 pm

I must say U are right here. The 3 k is for Reverse Camera, 15 inch rims, ESC, Steering wheel audio controls Double-DIN head-unit with Bluetooth, USB and AUX input & Hill-hold assist Factory fitted & with warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Depend. Salesman will say Premium model have to wait 2 months, but Executive got ready stock. Depend how urgent you need the car.

• Ootai on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Beli skrg!! Last P1 model b4 VW takeover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • Passion on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:54 pm

The rear looks like it too high up like the bezza. Oops

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 39
  • ben yap on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:56 pm

why not 1.3 CFE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Olympian on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Trade in free Perdana for Saga Premium^^

• SOON CHONG HWE on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Why this day still got such ugly car have been build !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 86
  • Jaybob on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Good attempt. Car looks handsome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
  • How is this new Saga an A-Segment where it is longer, wider than its predecessor, which is already a B Segment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Malaysian on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:09 pm

This new saga still in b segment. Proton said at A segment value (probably as direct rival to bezza which is A segment car)

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:47 pm

No, persona is proton’s B segment.

• Pipu alredi said its A segment. Pipu alredi price it at A segment. U still wanna say its B segment. Up to u lor!

• muthu on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:59 pm

bezza win again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 105
  • SOON CHONG HWE on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:00 pm

Why this day still got such ugly car design&build on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 74
  • Not bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Good effort but I was expecting the price to be less than RM30k. With the high spec only gets the VSC, it is better to get the more powerful and better engineered VSC equipped Persona for the same price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 59
    • Dedak in the house on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Axia g spec also more than 30k, u want this saga less than 30k.. crazy la u..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Base Axia only RM24k. It has ABS, Twin airbags. What else you need? Others are just accessories. Seriously this is supposed to be a car for the rakyat. Not everyone can afford a new car or want to take long term loans. Think about real Malaysians that wants simple daily car.

• Dedak in the house on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:58 am

I did say axia G spec.. its 31k.. base spec yes less than 30k but.. u want cheap car but later want a good quality full spec car.. get real la brader..

• Dedak in the house on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:01 am

G spec la dei.. base axia yes less than 30k.. but its a compact car.. saga is sedan..

• Lawson on Oct 02, 2016 at 7:45 am

I bought a 1.3 wira manual in 1998 for 46k. No Abs and vsa. So this car for less than 48k after 18 years of inflation it is therefore in relative term is much more cheaper than the old wira. Now get back to serious & productive work so that your boss is willing you pay more for you to purchase this car. No curi tulang, poteng, mc palsu etc etc.!. Then the working rakyat will not be caught in lower middle income trap!

• joholan on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Tahniah! Luaskan KuasaMu Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
  • azmin on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:02 pm

it sort of looks like cut and paste, under the front and rear bumpers are from new Persona and rest are just our of place and badly designed. sorry very disappointing as the outgoing model is far more better looking. it shows proton still has not learned anything yet. also why they are dressed like street thugs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 115
    • for other car company, mostly people will call them as “family face”
      but for proton or perodua, people likely to call it ” copy anda paste”.
      persona –> copy perdana
      alza –> myvi on steroid

can’t you understand how a car that share its parents’ dna (same mother) can have a similar face?
      don’t your sibling look identical to you in some way?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 1
    • Dedak in the house on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Front bumper copy from big taiko, ok what.. see mazda.. same front some more, all segment.. like a father who just got 7 twin childrens with different weight.. all copied from kizashi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • rewqq on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Saga nicer design than Bezza tongek la. \o/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 28
    • Oh my. U better live in mars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Though not as bad as what u describe, i do agree that it looks out of place, being the fact the it’s carried over from the old saga, and the shape and design shows, including the interior. And although the bezza is critisized for it’s high butt (boot), it looks more cohesive and fresher than the saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 24
      • Err no. Biza is way waayyy too high until can see rear wheel springs. Some say it look like psyduck rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Hafriz on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:28 pm

The new 3rd gen Saga definitely looks better in the flesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • simpan sikit bodo tu bole tak

• Adam amore on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:47 pm

You cannot even design a wheelbarrow some more want to complain. Topkek.

• Safety Car LLover on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Making safety as a choice…ABS also dont want to give…..crazy….umw learn the hard way…..proton want to attack perodua…..almost similar pricing than bezza….but they forget…after 9 years of ownership…..bezza with dual vvti and timing chain will save cost of fuel & Maintanence over the long run…..Stay away from this Saga….Chose Bezza and Persona only….Idiots carmaker never learn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 129
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Many people may not like what u say here, but u have the point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
    • timing chain lagi? lu goyang ka Perodua salesman HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Timing Chain Nut on Nov 27, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Timing Chain BEST TAK Putus, make ‘irritating’ NOISE onli!…hahaha!

• pak atan on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:46 pm

U still have no brain. Think that idle start stop can improve you life?In colder country ots effective, but not in tropical country. Your weather always hot. No time for start stop idle function at its best, rapid start stop cause your battery,alternator and starter to work harder lastly you have to pay thousands to repair in 6 months. P2 not doing study good enough. Selling tech may cause money to customer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • hopefully proton will consider to make the abs, ebd and ba as standard equipment across range in future, better be next year and even better without increase the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • dear proton or perodua, if you are reading this,
      you have the chance to be the first national car company that offer abs,ebd,ba on all current model (even better to include hha,esc,tcs)
      in shorts, you are writing a new page on corporate history
      (and national automotive history)

• Iriz

• i mean all ongoing selling car models..

it might be hard to include the esc (hha as well) on all model
          but i at least try to make the abs,ebd,ba as standard before it’s written on the law,to show how proton and perodua values the safety and lives of people without sacrificing their profit..

i think even with price increase though, people wont mind to pay for another rm12 per month to make sure the safety of driver itself and driver’s family…

(assume that price hike rm1k, rm 37800 for saga standard(m),d/p rm 4000,[email protected], monthly rm391.72 compared to rm403.66)

i believe that all live is precious

• yawnnnnn, one of the deadliest car in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 81
    • palehotak on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Basher bangang/Perodua salesman spotted!!!
      Saga 4-star NCAP…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • Just launch alredi deadly?
      Which cristel u use to see future? Meth or hero-in?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • pak atan on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:48 pm

This is no brain p2 salesman. Tortured by Japanese master to not using his nuts brain.

• offisial wan on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Looks more like a normal car than si tonggek. Nevertheless, Msians are getting better options in entry level family sedans. Best of luck to both P1 & P2. Let the battle begin!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Albert on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Bodopiang.. Semua potential P1 & P2 customer lama2 sudah lari. Oredi upgrade to new Vios, happy owner now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Mikey on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Looks like Proton have managed to balance the engine when they redesigned the mounting from four to three, in order to reduce the transmission of vibrations into the cabin. That is improvement to me. Bravo P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Better body proportions than Biza & Persona2. Less boot room than the 2 but they have to tonggek the butt to achieve this (same like Almari). Aircon stack cud have been better designed but its acceptable for a budget car. At least have twin cup holders in front gear shifter compared to one for Biza. Front seats r scalloped for more leg space but rear seats alredi looks comfy compared to shorter bench in Biza. The curve at bootlid looks very gud. Pitiful bottom spec has lousy safety, but pipu shud really for Premium with ESC instead. Its alredi the cheapest sedan with ESC in MY. What more to ask for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • OtomotifLover on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Bravo and good job Proton! Better value than the new Vios although it came from different segment. The price of B Segment B City, Vios, Almera and Vento should be now between RM 70-85k. Rm95k++ just not worth it for a B segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Go to hell with your lousy unsafe Proton!!
      We use 80k to buy those more nice and higher quality Japanese car.
      This Sage is the most ugly and no quality car beside Beza and Posona

• Unsafe Proton? Atleast they told you this Saga got 4*. Some buyer did not want 80k Japs car even they can. Those Japs expecially the eev one should less then 80k. Thank You for donating your hard earn money to these greedy Japs. Hutang 9 tahun lagi.. hahahah

• belangR on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:15 pm

lucky student that get free saga during launch….

• Well I supposed you get what you get, I know the article reminded us that this is no mere facelift, but it sort of feel it is. It’s Proton most important model and yet it’s the least impressive of the 3, and I don’t think that’s should be the case even it’s the cheapest.

Spec is so-so, I’m not that fond of the look and the interior seems a step backwards from the outgoing car. The deletion Silver trim around the speedo and rounded air vents makes it feel like a step back and I understand now that Proton has a more impressive Persona in its lineup which probably justify such backleap in my books.

The Persona, which I have had many close encounter, is a great car if you look pass the woefully disproportional pusheen like wheels. But is a great little thing. Th saga could’ve more impressive if launched 5-7months ago , but now, next to the new (more impressive in my books)Bezza, which almost literally came out of nowhere, it looks as if it’s cast in the corner under the shadow, and that’s not what Proton needs; they need to keep getting saga new homes as much and fast as they could to survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • I disagree. If the indicative price above sticks, Id say P1 has out-valued Biza with tag-team Saga3/Persona2 bar the most basic spec variant (which has ABS & EBD).
      Below 46k, Saga3 is a bigger & more comfy car. The bigger engine will not be slouch for hiway travels.
      Above 46k, Persona2 hands Biza a beating. Nuff said.

Only Biza basic spec has chance to compete cuz have better safety, but no ESC & onli 2 airbags. Thats why I offering this spec to unkers, aunties & ah bengs with my special package. Peace of mind when rest in peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Jonn Dol on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:23 pm

As people always says looks is subjective , but definitely exterior-wise the so-called New Saga has a much better design with non of those awkward front & rear-end design features you see on the Bezza.The interior, while it is not what you call luxurious, it’s nicely designed and those square aircon vents is a fresh breath of air compared to the round vents we’ve seen all these years on the last Satria Neo & Saga. It’s an excellent Budget@People’s Car. Good job Proton!

• azrai on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:17 pm

#asalbukantonggek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Panjang on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:18 pm

So, back then i can afford the persona but now i can only afford the saga?

Proton is helping me move up in life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Dedak in the house on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Owned persona se for 60k b4.. full spec persona still priced around 60k.. no different price for full spec persona right???

• inb4 bash start.

• SOON CHONG HWE on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:19 pm

more worst then the LADA design 30 years ago !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
    • Adam amore on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Waaa so long already oohhh. Spectacles use magnifying lenses worrr.

• Great looking car overall, but what on earth is up with that centre console?!

• Proton wants to sell 51 pct. Better wait until the deal is done if you want to buy one. Wait until their foreign partner fixed all their problems in this new saga before buying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • pak atan on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Hahaha… P2 crazy limbo salesman spotted.

• Dedak in the house on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Heard from kedai kopi is it? If sell 49%, i still can belip la.. its a national car company.. if sell majo share, then it wont be call as national company..

• Admin, could you show standard spec car? I just see premium spec car.

• Launch is using Premium spec as demo car. Please call P1 Edar to find out which showroom have Std spec, then pay a visit.

• Good job on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Looks good, both interior and exterior. Well done proton! Just wish that the advance safety features can come in as standard for the base variant, than it would be a very good package.

• dirtyriderella on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:38 pm

design cue is way better than P2 Bezza!

• another tall car with small wheels

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:22 am

sddd, U are observant bro. The car is designed tall to cater for some taller human & the wheels are standard(13/14 inches) while the top spec get 15 inches for this segment.

• I don’t see any design effort put in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Now Malaysian only realise Saga compare to Bezza not Persona.
    Compare by segment only knew which one is cheaper.

• Bukapintubayartol on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:52 pm

This car would be impressive if this was 2014. (PS: I miss the purple color from the first generation Persona and previous Saga)

• Martin on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:55 pm

It looks so dated!

• Silthice on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:55 pm

For the standard should remove the all round sensors (maybe just retain the rear), usb charging ports, rear fog lights and other cosmetic accessories. If still not enough, don’t use power ⛮ windows for rear windows and just use manual. They should prioritize safety package (ABS, EBD, BA & ESC) first before the things I mentioned above cause this safety package might help to avoid accidents or reduce the severity of the accident. They’re going 180 degrees from what they have promised before. Really sad to see Proton management unable to determine which things should have come as standard and optional.

• one question. timing belt or timing chain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Proton Baguih on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:19 pm

When this Proton kena langgar from the back during high speed, and heavy braking), confirm the car bontot terangkat….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:03 am

At least the Saga have a ‘bontot’ to ABSOLVE/soften some impact. Any bontot is better than no bontot.

• PSA; don’t drive this saga around an airplane that’s going to take off unless you have infinite length of air strip, and don’t wave your revolver with one hand.

• wonderman on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:25 pm

wondering this is facelift or new saga?

• RusdiSuparman on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Yea Khairy I’m glad he likes the car(as shown in the photo above). The next thing I hope is he buys one and uses it daily. I hope to see more msian ministers living a simple and humble life. It’s also would prove them really walking the talk of buying msian made products!

• i think it look nicer than the persona in all angle, persona side look really cacat…the design of the persona make the car look thin and tall…the saga design is more balance.

• Kenneth on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:47 pm

That rear look beautiful. But the front doesn’t have much change compared with previous gen.

• pomen on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:59 pm

i think saga got much more good looking compare to persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Saga Premium with no ABS, EBD and BA. What the nonsense?

• rasya on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Saga Premium with all ABS with EBD and BA, plus ESC, Hill Hold Assist, Reverse Camera. But Standard get only ABS without EBD and BA.

• TheDean on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:43 pm

80s BMW 8 series rear (taillights way too big), VW Vento front (too old and familiar), and jacked-up stance (too odd, like on borrowed tyres). Identity is still incoherent (not consistent).

• Gk yoyo on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Best car!

• One attempt Proton has not tried i.e. to give a replacement car if its car break down under warranty. That will give people the confidence to buy Proton again. So why not do this if they are confidence that they are building good cars now?

• Sure or not on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Impressive n murah.Already booked. Using for beli sayur, banking, minum teh lewat malam (expensive car Biar kat Rumah), pegi tesco, angkat barang.

• Already test drive both car Bezza & Saga…
    Bezza:
    Pros: lnterior (modern console, updated) , Fuel consumption, safety feature.
    Cons: exterior (rear, body width ~thin), handling.
    Rear seat not comfortable for long journey.

Saga:
    Pros: safety feature, Exterior (design..rear, front, Side), CVT gearbox ( smooth acceleration), Handling (espcially cornering), Quiet cabin, looks more spacious inside cabin & cockpit.
    Cons: Interior (outdated..like old saga, no wow factor), FC compared to Bezza.

Overall… I choose saga bcoz of price & design for my 2nd car. Just booked premium spec –midnight black color..

• isawonlymehh on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:53 pm

From the crash video, i saw the A pillar bend and boot opened after the crash. Looks like not ok to me.

• Jaywant on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:12 am

I can purchase in India..

• Narutofan on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:04 am

Dear Jonathan, just curious why standard without ESC & ABS gets 4 stars ncap same as premium spec with all the safety features. And why premium only get 4 stars instead of 5 stars ?

• Amelia on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:05 am

This car would look superb with matte-grey vinyl wrap, JPJ-max tinting + groovy shades and maybe black wheels

• dutarte on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:45 am

seriously, the exterior and interior designs stinks! are those overstock products which are reused to cheat the consumers ??? proton, please shutdown if you think the consumers in malaysia are stupid!

• what? no smart key/push start button????even in executive version?? shame on you…it’s 2016, not 1996..

• Great job Proton! if there was only one thing i would change, it would be the audio head unit. A touch screen unit for the premium model would have given it a more premium look. but other than that, all looks good

• azhar on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:59 am

lawa camana pun sales tetap kalah dgn perodua..sedih tul proton ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • sani saad on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:05 am

I like the day light lamp….LG technology.

• They went for bigger space (except booth), more equipment, safety BUT still lost out in overall looks to Bezza. These people just do not get it. AND their choice of future partner does not include Honda. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • azhar on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:51 am

side mirror tak leh auto flip…demmm!

• think smart on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:56 pm

pls hold the purchase until the new GDI engine paired with JATCO CVT combo came out 1st…then juz can buy…

• Gobuk on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:39 pm

#janjibukantonggek

• mason on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Front view: No much changes.
    Rear view: Good looking.
    Internal: Nice.

Just hope that the actual car butt dont be so “high” because it will look weird. Example like Bezza the butt is high and weird.

• Proton Proton on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Aiya, Proton sula insap

• Okay Oklay! on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Overall dsgn ok ok BUT question in mind:- Which is BETTER, a Belt-Driven engine or a Chain-Driven Engine??! Also which is better BU, a Punch or a Getrag Transmission??!!

• cikgu on Oct 11, 2016 at 1:10 am

U are so outdated. I guess you think the cost of engine repairing if the belt snapped into pieces. Those who dunno yet, if the belt tear into 2 or 3 or million pieces, it will not effect the engine. Just buy the new one, install it and roll back

• suthagana on Dec 18, 2016 at 2:18 am

Belt putus tengah jalan , memang menyusahkan. Timing chain more reliable in that sense.

• Kepala Pusing! on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Which is a Better BUY a belt or a chain driven engine? And which is a Better Transmission, a Punch or a Getrag Transmission?

• good job proton, there is no more cheap size on the headlight and rear lights or etc…proton are trying to get back the thrust and i think you are really doing it now.

• cikgu on Oct 11, 2016 at 1:38 am

That is correct. Proton will getting bigger and many people will use more proton car oncoming future. And all the negative comment here is a true LIAR. Why? Becoz they dunno what is the definition of ERGONOMIC. Bezza? Have u try the backseat? Vios? Quite small, beside not too safety if u are heavy right footed. New honda city? All features go in tie with new persona but different price, can buy pprt house also if u want. Nissan almari is the closest competitor, but lose again in term of price. For me, those people who always bashing proton about the unfair price, always whining, that is the long long long story ago. They may dunno about tax, afta, mou, tot or the word of ‘sabotage’ by other vendor in proton. Some of the strategy held in proton cannot be declared to public, and that is why our government, always want, malaysian to support proton, i think from both model (new saga and new persona). Yes i know, there are corruption happening in previous management but as i said before, it was a long time ago. The evidence of good proton start from both model, u can look at the warranty given. Just to tell u who i am, my job is a teacher in govmt school, my background is ex student car designer and my car is a mitsubishi lancer which is in stage two modified, and..manual too

• credits to new proton saga….. and no more SAT button :D

• melati on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:36 am

Proton oil change service very expensive differ than perodua.. why proton?

• Pretty Boy on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Ugly..saw it on the road.. Looks like polished Datsun 120Y

• Hoyhoysum on Jun 05, 2017 at 8:34 pm

I prefer the old BLM look than the new one. The new look, look “SAD”. It curve too much and out of proportion. If they just change to newer engine, increase cabin and boot space, maybe it will be a winner…

• Hoy hoy Sum on Jul 29, 2017 at 5:59 pm

I still prefer the Saga previous look. They should have improve on the cabin size to make it more roomier and drop in the new engine and new transmission. No need to spend so much money on the new “SAD” look car This car not tonggek but got a “SAD” look from the rear. The previous car got the looks but inferior engine and now they got a new “SAD” look car with a better engine… . For me budget of RM40K have to shun away and now looking forward to the new myvi….Hooray!!!!

• Dora Luis on Aug 07, 2017 at 5:24 pm

I just hope those negative comments has better car, Thank you.