ASEAN NCAP says Proton Saga tethergate resolved

saga-flx+

According to the secretary-general of the ASEAN NCAP (New Car Assessment Programme) Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim, the tethergate issue involving the Proton Saga has been resolved after recent negotiations with the national carmaker, The Sun Daily reports. The top tether would be fitted by the automaker from this month onwards, ASEAN NCAP understands.

“Proton has promised to reinstall the top tether starting November, after we highlighted to them that the particular model underwent ASEAN NCAP test in January 2013 and received 58% marks for the child occupant protection (COP) for that particular top tether fitment,” the secretary-general said.

Kassim noted however, that ASEAN NCAP would continue to monitor the situation in the coming months. This, to ensure that the top tether would become a permanent fixture in the Saga. “We were also informed that Proton had received calls from 30 customers who already purchased the said model, for Proton to install the top tether as soon as possible in their cars,” he stated.

Top tether

top tether attachment

To recap, consumer complaints regarding the removal of the top tether fitment was relayed to ASEAN NCAP back in October. This prompted the safety body to issue a show cause letter to a Malaysian automaker.

Perodua was the first to respond to the issue, assuring that all of its vehicles complied to safety requirements and conformed to the safety ratings awarded by ASEAN NCAP. Proton’s response however, came shortly after, noting that while its cars complied to the regulatory safety standards, it could not confirm nor deny the statement issued by the ASEAN NCAP.

Only days later did Proton admit to being the Malaysian automaker in question. The reason given behind the omission, “the top tether was not a regulatory requirement for OEMs to fit in their cars at the point when the car was tested. Although we had complied with safety regulations and other required conditions in the country, we had overlooked in updating ASEAN NCAP on the omission of the top tether from the current Saga models.”

Screen Shot 2015-10-19 at 9.42.46 PM

Proton explained that the lack of a top tether did not affect the safety of Adult Occupancy Protection (AOP), as it is meant for the installation of child seats that are fitted with a top tether mechanism. In this case, child seats can still be fitted in the car through normal rear seat belt installation.

The Saga was given a one-star rating back in 2012. After having fitted an enhanced safety package, the car was crash tested again in 2013, gaining it a three-star rating, which has stayed in place until now. The issue was that the Proton Saga which scored a 58% result, had a top tether available at that time.

Proton is now rectifying this situation by offering current Saga owners free installations of top tethers. Customers are advised to call Proton Customer Care Hotline (1 800 88 8398) or email [email protected] to schedule an appointment to do so.

The top tether is used as an additional anchorage point that limits the rotation of the seat in the case of a frontal impact. If you are using a child seat that doesn’t have a top tether anchorage in the first place, this doesn’t affect you.

Top tether (left) and support leg.

There are benefits to having some kind of additional anchorage like a top tether available, as it can improve crash performance. An alternative to top tether is a support leg, which is far more common in Malaysia compared to top tether. If you cannot find a child seat with top tether which suits you, or if your car doesn’t have a top tether point, look for a child seat with a support leg. A support leg doesn’t require any point on the vehicle to attach to. Instead, it rests against the floor.

However, this requires the floor it is resting on to be solid. For example, the middle second row seat of the Volkswagen Sharan has an underfloor storage area below it, and requires an accessory to be installed in the storage box for a child seat with a support leg to be used on that seat. So please check your car’s manual to be sure.

A Child Safety Day was recently held by the ASEAN NCAP. Aimed at educating motorists and parents on the importance of child safety on the road. A wide variety of affordable child seats from manufacturers such as Britax, Koopers, Safe ‘n Sound and Sweet Cherry were also on display, with promo prices starting from as low as RM299.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:36 am

ASEAN NCAP resolved after recent negotiations with Proton? Duit kopi is it? How about the modification Proton did to the strengthen Saga’s body structure? Go and pick a random at an assembly line and do a crash test. Don’t wait for the manufacturer to send the car. It is so obvious Proton cheats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
    • UMNO Style Settle on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 134
      • whre govt support? dont u know that our present govt and Tun dont see eye to eye on things??

• Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Hahahaha..damn fool la you “UMNO Style Settle”..Kuok and Tiong Lay also said the same thing when he offering the jobs to his cronies and kiasus. Their opening only for Chinese speaker..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrrr on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:21 pm

See the difference between Germany/US and Malaysia?

In Germany/US, VW need to fix the damn thing and compensate the government and car owners up to billions.

In Malaysia, Proton just need to NEGO their way out. Drivers got problem their own problem. Superb!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • George Abdul on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Working in Proton sure easy life… After “NCAP scandal” still taking his “high monthly salary” as Nothing Happen… Cronies company sure is easy !!! Proton motive “Biasa lah bang Proton mah is normal” !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Don’t twist the story George Bendul. I think you drink a lot that why you mabuk. Do you need me to pee on to your face to wake you up?
        It’s already circulated in the news that Proton already offering current Saga owners free installations of top tethers and they can schedule an appointment to do so.

• Ginseng on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:40 am

If I understand correctly, the negotiations involved having proton to rectify by offering current Saga owners free installations of top tethers. The customers are advised to call Proton Customer Care Hotline (1 800 88 8398) or email [email protected] to schedule an appointment to do so. So where is this accusation of “Duit Kopi” come about?

• Kiedis on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:53 am

Please. This is no ‘gate’. Proton was just being third world that’s all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Tangkap basah on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Next time don’t cheat again okay, Proton.

• imposibruuu on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Proton is the world class global car maker!!!

Must be someone sabo TDM pets project!

• Aero (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Wow, only 30 Proton Saga owners called for an appointment ? Only 30 !?! Proton sells around 3,000 to 4,000 Sagas every month, so just imagine, of those thousands of non-top tether units sold recently, only 30 have read the news, realized the problem and care enough about their kids to call Proton and request a FREE install. By right, Proton should have received hundreds if not thousands of calls by now from angry and worried customers ! Yet, they’ve only got only 30 ? If customers had to pay for it, then how ? Zero calls ?

I think this proves it, Malaysians only have ourselves to blame for poor safety standards. Even when there are companies who are trying to push for higher safety standards, only a small percentage of us seem to notice or care. I don’t blame Proton for trying to ‘reduce’ their safety equipment in the Saga and Suprima, because frankly, only 0.x% of Malaysians seem to genuinely appreciate them and Proton’s efforts. What made me very upset is how Proton removed the ABS earlier and more recently the top tether from the Saga without proper and clear announcements. In other words, lack of integrity, as some of the other commenters put it previously. In the Suprima S Standard, Proton did not try to cover up the lack of ESC and airbags, but Proton did try to cover up the lack of top tether and to an extent, ABS (by not acknowledging its absence) on the Saga Plus. My point being, if Proton wants to make milo tin spec models again, go ahead, we’re not stopping you, just tell us next time what we’re missing, and be prepared for severe backlashes from your ‘so-called supporters’. Anyone with a brain will realize that Proton is just giving Malaysians what they want… cheap, milo tin spec cars (as opposed to more expensive, 5-star safety cars). And can you blame Proton for meeting the demands of their buying demographic ? They are a business, at the end of the day, ‘moral achievements’ won’t save them from bankruptcy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Kiedis on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:42 pm

This just demonstrates their buyer profile. Most probably they worry more about making ends meet rather than meeting safety compliance. Likely that this crowd is a poor consumer of information. And they didn’t buy the car because of desirability factors but because of a lack of choice.

• The sad truth of “all-new” VIOS, and 55K over-priced MyVis can sell and roaming the streets everyday is enough to prove that Malaysians don’t give a dem care about safety.

• justice on Nov 13, 2015 at 9:38 am

obviously malaysian prefer vios kosong and myvi kosong as long it is cheap and RV high (as per used car dealer, they offer same depreciation rate to owner).

Most Malaysian cannot differentiate liter and CC, segment and price.

• This is a cheating case. They intentionally remove the device quietly.
    We can forgive honest mistake but not cheating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • DonkeyKong on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Proton omits top tether – gets bashed. Proton solves top tether issue – gets bashed. What more do kiasu uneducated third-worlders want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • camtakpro on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Proton quietly remove top tether – confirmed get bashed.

Proton quietly put back top tether upon customer request – confirmed get bashed.

Proton noob customer relations and greedy top management combined.

Let me tell you how to do customer relation in kindergarten level:
      Issue letter to FOC refit missing tether. And then phone call to owner as well. Also offer FOC labour and 50% discount on all parts for the next service for affected Saga. Priority line for all walk-in customers (no need booking) on this issue.

• Just imagine, if this happened in US, NHTSA will fine Proton 200million for neglecting safety. They need to recall all the owner to replace the top tether. It is in Malaysia. Nothing happen. Proton just admit and replace if only owner call proton to proton

• i can bet on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:56 pm

i bet those who are making noise here don’t really bother to use top tether..or they even don’t know how its works !