Toyota and Daihatsu setting up new company to develop compact vehicles for emerging markets

toyota-and-daihatsu-logo

Toyota has announced plans to establish an internal company – together with its fully-owned subsidiary Daihatsu – to develop compact vehicles for emerging markets. It said that the new entity, which will comprise elements from both Toyota and Daihatsu, will be established in January next year.

The division will develop and launch competitive compact vehicles based on Daihatsu’s approach to manufacturing affordable, high-quality products for emerging markets, in which the potential for growth is high but in which competition is intensifying.

In terms of outline, Daihatsu will take the lead in the new company, and will be responsible for unified development, procurement and production preparation for compact vehicles for emerging markets based on “DNGA,” a Daihatsu vehicle architecture now being defined.

Toyota, meanwhile, will support these efforts by providing knowledge and resources. Both companies will jointly formulate and share product and business plans. The new company, which essentially provides a bridge between both automakers, will be positioned differently from the so-called “companies” of the product-based, in-house company system Toyota introduced to innovate its work processes in April this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mrt101 on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:26 am

Daihatsu Charade^^

• lilytan on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:53 pm

There is a reason on why they wanted to set up a new company. T brand is well known for its quality, while D brand is known for its compact cars. But producing cheap quality compact cars is not possible. They have to skimp on the quality to produce cheap compacts. The way to do this is by purchasing cheap parts from china. Putting the T or D logo on this new cheap car will damage their reputation. So, to maintain the T and D reputation, they have to set up new company.

• Same L0rr on Oct 05, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Toyota + Daihatsu = Perodua!

• thepolygonal on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:28 am

It’s called Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Kura2 on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Recycle 15yr old Vios car + enjin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • donno on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Yes, Toyota. Just use the Perodua brand. VW is using the Czech Skoda brsnd for its low cost cars, Renault is using the Romanian Dacia brand. Why not toyota use the Perodua brand?

• driver on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:29 am

is it Perodua?

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:52 am

#Toyota and Daihatsu setting up new company to develop compact vehicles for emerging markets#.

Since M’sia is an emerging market, is P2 sharing the same technologies/development with this new company !?

• normal_user on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:32 pm

The definitions of emerging market may vary according to contexts. According to FTSE economy indices, Malaysia is categorized as Advanced Emerging Markets alongside Turkey. That puts us far ahead of other emerging economies like Indonesia and UAE (seconday emerging markets). But come to think of it, the average Turkish and Emiratis are driving Fiat Tipo, Renault Fluence or Nissan Maxima(Teana) [top cars sold over there], but average Malaysians still afford to drive Saga or Bezza. *cough cough….

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 10:32 pm

U are absolutely right normal_user. We are indeed a “Advance” emerging market. Like Tun Ahmad Badawi said, we may have a first class infrastructure but a third world mentality.

I also like your batuk batuk … to tell us M’sian just how far behind we are. Thanks bro for penning here. We do indeed need someone like U to enlighten us. Cheers …

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Where have u been?

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Mr LKK, I have been diving & enjoyed my life seeing half the world. U should take up diving bcos it will enhance your thinking other than your nonsensical comments.

Do U know that there are more living things in the Sea than on land ? Where have U been !!! Are U sleeping just like Bud-dawi !?

• Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Japanese will never share their latest tech to us. Malaysians only syiok sendiri thinking we have got the Ertiga from Suzuki and the Pondana from Honda.

Mind you, Proton has to pay few hundred million royalty to each Suzuki and Honda. At least RM300 million each.

Japanese don’t give anything free. Everything has a price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • pxp154 on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:06 pm

few hundred millions ???

mana ceduk info ni ??? LOL
        main tarammm & tikam jerrr…

• karam singh on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Daihatsu New Global Architecture? Just sell them under Perodua. Market the brand worldwide. Smart.

• Compact electric vehicles would be good.

• Silthice on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:08 pm

I thought Daihatsu is the company that develops compact vehicles? This looks like a redundancy. Maybe a company like Perodua that planted inside the country and make the people believing that it’s their national car . Although it’s more like Japanese working ⚒ inside at top management while the locals become their low ☟ tier Labour.

• nice icon on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Nice icons there. Can someone tell how to use icons in comments?

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 10:48 pm

nice icon, U can use your smart phone to comment. It has all the icons/emoji U are looking for. Just sharing bro.

• Pedro on Oct 05, 2016 at 1:38 am

I have a feeling that Toyota must be yearning for the new Perodua Bezza (which is essentially a Toyota Wigo/Agya/Daihatsu Ayla with a trunk much like the current and previous Vios were with the Yaris) 4 Door Sedan since the Vios now had grown in size near the compact territory formerly the Corolla’s size range. The original 1G 2004-07 Vios was roughly within the Bezza’s subcompact size range. I hope that Toyota will revive the Echo name for this small sedan.