Service hubs for Takata airbag inflator replacement – Honda Malaysia announces extension to Dec 31

honda-malaysia-mh

Honda Malaysia has announced that the operations of its temporary Service Central Hubs (SCH) for Takata airbag inflator replacement activities have been extended until December 31. The three temporary SCH (northern, central and southern), which were announced in August, were originally slated to open until September 30.

The company said it was also expanding its Mobile Hubs (MH) to shopping malls in the central region. The hubs will be operational on Saturdays and Sundays from 10 am to 7 pm and will be located at selected shopping malls in the Klang Valley area. See the accompanying graphics below for details.

honda-airbag-sch-listing-to-dec

During the period from August 1 to the end of September, the central hub completed 4,200 replacements, while the northern and southern hubs completed 3,200 units and 3,800 units of Takata front airbag replacement respectively. In total, the company managed to replace more than 62,200 Takata front airbag inflators during the two-month period.

Based on Honda Malaysia’s record on affected Honda vehicles, the central region has the highest number of affected vehicles that have not had their Takata front airbag inflators replaced. The percentage is at 23% compared to the northern and southern regions, which stand at nine and eight percent respectively.

honda-airbag-mh-listing-oct

Honda Malaysia also apologised for not being able to secure 100% availability of Takata passenger front airbag inflators due to a global shortage of these units. It said that stocks of the front passenger airbag inflators are gradually arriving and are expected to be at 55% by end of December.

Honda Malaysia continues to urge owners of Honda vehicles affected by the Takata front airbag inflator product recall to get their vehicles repaired at any authorized Honda dealers, SCH or MH as soon as possible.

Vehicle owners can check their vehicles’ product recall status at www.productrecall.honda.com.my or call Honda Malaysia’s toll free number at 1-800-88-2020 or visit any Honda authorised dealers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Siapa brani kata jepunis no “quality”, Albert akan potong kepla dia. kasi up talibarutness dia

• Sama L00 on Oct 09, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Responsible car maker will replace your faulty airbags, no matter how old your car is, how long it will take and how expensive it will cost.
      Proton cars in 2000s have no airbag, you die you own problem but they claim no recall = good quality. I just can’t stop laugh.

• transformer on Oct 08, 2016 at 2:53 am

There’s are still alot of Nissan vehicle owner never heard of their vehicle also affected by recall although already announced through paultan.org…. Today I just informed another 2 Grand Livina L10 owner. Newspaper reported that 2 weeks ago, faulty Takata Airbags claimed the 6th fatalities in Msia, a Johor Honda City driver. Honda Msia has done much better job than ETCM Nissan in announcing/informing vehicle owner! I hope all blogger here can help to inform everyone(driver), anyone, whenever you saw any affected Honda’s or Nissan’s. It safe life……

• Why bother, when MY pipu wud rather proudly die in their jepunis milo tins than shamefully survive in a P1. But if this problem happened in a P1, then….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Albert on Oct 10, 2016 at 8:43 am

But if this problem happened in a P1, then…juz change power windows.

• there he is on Oct 09, 2016 at 9:58 am

honda salesman damage control
      all deaths in malaysia = honda

• nonono on Oct 08, 2016 at 7:46 am

Where is hub for toyota?

• Honda is actively doing the airbag replacement partly due to pressure from deaths in several cases. What about other brands like Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi and so on which are also affected by Takata airbags?? Just because there are no deaths from these brands does not mean they can close an eye on it and wait for casualty to happen.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 08, 2016 at 9:46 am

Received a rather urgent looking letter from Honda a few weeks back.

Just to inform us that the Passenger airbag stocks are backordered..

I fail to see the point of it all. What should we do? Not drive the car?

The front driver was replaced after months of waiting and haggling Honda. We asked Honda to check the recall on our car sometime mid 2015. Filled a service request with our local 3S in January and placed on the waiting list. Finally Honda finally replaced the front airbag in March.

Got the letter for the passenger airbag last month (to inform us there are no stocks and we are on the waiting list). So how long more should we wait?

Hello Honda, so much PR exercise here in PT. But where are the airbags???????

The airbag issue cropped up in end of 2014, when NHTSA already issued an advisory for USDM cars. Why is Honda Malaysia taking their own sweet time?

• I have the same letter received weeks before on the passenger replacement airbags. My driver-side airbag was replaced during my weeks long oversea trip and was done after a month waiting period. I have not have the same hassle as you for I reserve a service two weeks prior to the replacement and was done on a Monday(when there are less people). I am expected to get my passenger airbag replaced on my next service once my service is up

• KenJi on Oct 08, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Aku pun dah naik letih telefon. Balik2 x ada stok… hampeh. Lepas tu, kalau ada pun hanya utk pemandu. Takkan nk dtg sampai 2, 3 kali.

• Proton baguih on Oct 08, 2016 at 10:00 am

proton cars need no airbag…..so no problem here

• Yaloh! Why P1 no problem?
      Cuz it uses better quality Autoliv airbags from sweden instead of cheapo jepunis overlords takata killerbags.

• engdau on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:22 am

I have been waiting for the airbag replacement of front passenger airbag since June 2016. Despite weekly check on the website of [email protected], still no news and it always show “0” stock for all Honda service centers.

Honda Malaysia has stated that front passenger is not advisable to sit in for all affected models. Until when? When can it be replaced? Can not always blame/ give excuses due to global shortage.

Now, we are having dilemma whether to fetch front passenger.

• passion on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:49 am

no wonder very bad jam at tesco mutiara yesterday afternoon.