ETCM introduces new driving video recorder for Nissan models, now offered for RM1 with new vehicles

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has introduced a new driving video recorder (DVR), which is now available for all models in the Nissan line-up. The DVR is priced at RM999 (inclusive of GST and installation), and comes with a warranty of three years, or 100,000 km, whichever comes first.

The DVR features a 150-degree viewing angle, an advanced six-layer coating filter lens and a low light image sensor capable of capturing HD-quality video.

In addition, the DVR can also be connected wirelessly to smartphones (iOS or Android) via the TCAT DVR app, allowing users to configure, stream, download and share their videos.

The DVR is mounted to the vehicle’s rear view mirror, and automatically turns on and starts recording when engine starts up. In the event of an impact, like a collision, sharp turning or emergency braking, the DVR triggers the record mode to prevent crucial information from being overwritten.

“We recognise that many car owners are moving into installing a video recorder as an accessory to help rapidly identify any incidence along their journey, especially the cause of an accident,” said Tan Keng Meng, director of marketing and product planning.

For new Nissan Almera customers, ETCM is currently offering the DVR at an additional RM1 on top of the current “RM1 Promotion” campaign, which entitles either the optional Nismo Aerokit or 6.5-inch multimedia system.

The October campaign period will also see attractive rebates and savings of up to RM 10,000 offered for selected Nissan models. There is also a newly-added easy down payment with 0% interest free financing plan available for all models.

Aside from the DVR, ETCM also launched its “Millionaire Drive” campaign, where customers who purchase and register any Nissan model in October will stand to win from a total of two million AirAsia BIG points.

The grand prize will see one lucky individual walk away with 300,000 AirAsia BIG points, while second and third prizes winners get 200,000 and 150,000 points, respectively. Consolation prize winners will receive 50,000 BIG points each.

ETCM will also be holding test drive carnivals from October 14 to 16, where the entire Nissan line-up will be available for customers to try out. More details can be obtained from Nissan Malaysia’s website.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Eternalgl0ry on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Lol this is already offered in other countries like Singapore, Thailand, Taiwan and etc. Only ours did not offer it till now

• Albert on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Besides recording accidents,it should record dudes saying” macam mana ? nak settle? “

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Wrong. People with the silly camera don’t get pulled over. Rather they are the busy bodies who hog roads and want to take emergency lane users to court. People doing 160kmh don’t bother them, just sakit hati at emergency lane users.

• Jimmy on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Good device.
      Now if a motocyclist tries to be stunt and play snake in front of your S-class and he scratches it, hits a bump and the next thing he becomes a superman, you don’t have to answer many questions already, just show your video recording.
      A Kancil shoots out from T junction and you hit it and the driver mati, your S-class can still claim his insurance for repair because you have proof that the deceased was wrong in the first place.
      Do not always think that the smaller ones are always right and the bigger ones are always wrong, ya, judges in USA.

• Mikey on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:23 pm

October have arrived & so is Big discounts & freebies. Most car companies will offer all & sundry their old/older models with goodies.

Happy shopping folks as you will want to make sure your hard earned $$$ are well spent.

Lastly, buy what U ‘Need’ & not what U ‘Want’ bcos U need to keep some $$$ for rainy days ahead. Buy wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • hailthepurist on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:28 pm

sales down, wise strategy..

• does paultan ever done any car dvr reviews, recommendations or top 5/10?
    that’ll be interested things to read when there isn’t any car news to post.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Aero (Member) on Oct 10, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Agreed 101%. This is uncharted territory, I don’t think lowyat has covered this topic either. As far as I know, the G1W dashcam is quite popular here, but I’m just a noob. haha

We would love to hear what the experts think !

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Clearing stocks before Renault buys Proton and rebadge Nissans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Did anyone from ETCM bother to surf Lazada before pricing their DVR? Lawak betul lah these ETCM guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • shere khan on Oct 11, 2016 at 12:53 am

True. Even accs shop have some for rm300 incl. workmanship. Cn do full hd recording sumore.

• horrayooi on Oct 10, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Upgrade the Almera to Jatco Xtronic CVT with paddle shifers rather than giving these toys. Or maybe Nissan have newer model with CVT coming soon. Your car prices are reasonable to be honest not like the other two brands. These toys can fixed with aftermarket type very much cheaper.

• alldisc on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:46 pm

Yes, the almera is long in the tooth. Replacement is just around the corner

• horrayooi on Oct 11, 2016 at 7:51 pm

This is the only Japanese brand with 4 speed conventional auto. It includes Almera, Latio and Livina. Time to upgrade the transmissions.

• because almera is the last not to have esc.

• Because people still buy. Toyota was threatened by Honda sales (they control the high-end entry level sedans along with Honda), and was shown-up by their own subsidiary company, who put all sorts of gadgets along with VSC into a low end entry level. Have to go VSC la, otherwise where to put face? Nissan controls the low end entry level sedans, for non-local cars. No competitor, no need to add VSC.

• orang biasa on Oct 10, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Can this dvr install at rear side?

• Aero (Member) on Oct 10, 2016 at 9:31 pm

Good job ETCM. I give you guys dua tangan thumbs up for this initiative.

Dashcam / DVR should be mandatory in all cars. Back in the day, it was mostly (US and EU) police cars which had dashcams, but now, the technology has become affordable and widely available, there is no excuse not to buy one.

Insurance companies in Malaysia should reduce insurance costs for cars fitted with dashcams. This is how it is in many countries. If you have a dashcam, you pay less for insurance. There is no room for fraudulence when you have video evidence. Win-win situation for both.

In some places, like Russia, I was told it is indeed mandatory, and you cannot get your car insured if you don’t have a dashcam. Yes, even if you drive a 1980s Lada, you still have to get a dashcam. And for good reason; just go on YouTube and you’ll see why.

Nowadays, all kinds of nonsense is happening on our roads. I strongly believe that dashcam usage will expose and punish offenders, and benefit the average road user.

Just like airbags, ABS and ESC, a good dashcam can make all the difference. Do you remember that VW Polo driver who crashed into the PDRM car not long back ? That video wouldn’t have existed if the car at the back didn’t have a dashcam. CCTV and dashcams are not much different either.

The good news is that many Malaysians are buying dashcams now. You can buy a basic G1W dashcam for around RM200 or so, even the best models are fairly priced. Help spread the word guys !

• I thought dashcam in russia is to record alien landings and meteor showers?

• nabill (Member) on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:52 pm

incidentally , thats how much im willing to pay for the Almera,rm1…!

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Oct 11, 2016 at 5:42 am

If all those items can be offered at RM1 each, they can be included into the car as a standard kit.

• Agree. RM1. Better give free rather then topup that stupid Nismo so call performance kits.

• transformer on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:32 am

ETCM please tabulate and announce how many Takata Inflator has been fixed out of 60K L10 Grand Livina? try learn from Honda how they do it…. alot affected Nissan’s owner still day dreaming with a time bomb waiting to detonate shrapnel that can kill them…. Takata Inflator has claimed 6th death in Malaysia recently…

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 11, 2016 at 10:40 am

RM1 kind of marketing? Seriously?
    What kind of marketing department do they have?
    Do they think they’re marketing KFC value meal?

• ZackOng on Oct 12, 2016 at 9:38 am

ETCM, hope you can offer a more attractive price to existing owner. The price way too expensive

• Steve on Oct 21, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Almera is no longer competitive.
    Upgrade is needed for new gear box with 7 speed with VSC then only it become competitive. Else it loose market very fast. Even Bezza, New Proton are getting better than this old junk Almera.