2016 Toyota Corolla Altis facelift – UMW Toyota opens order books, priced from RM121k to RM139k

Shenzhen Skyline

The order books have opened for the 2016 Toyota Corolla Altis facelift, with UMW Toyota also releasing a summary of the confirmed on-the-road pricing (inclusive of GST and insurance) for the new line-up.

No changes to the existing model range, with the refreshed Altis continuing to be available in three variant forms – a baseline 1.8E (RM120,900), a 1.8G (RM123,900) and a range-topping 2.0V (RM138,900). The pricing is identical to that presently for the current 11th-gen car, which was introduced here in 2014.

The Corolla Altis facelift features a mildly reworked exterior, which now follows the brand’s “Keen Look” and “Under Priority” design language. This introduces a softer, more contemporary front fascia, with a new, slimmer headlamp design that is underlined by a strip of LED daytime running lights.

The car also gets a redesigned front bumper, with a wider radiator grille and vertical slits on the edges for a bolder, more aggressive look. At the rear, there is now a thinner chrome trim piece that links the LED tail lamps featuring new graphics.

toyota-corolla-altis-facelift-pricing

The facelift brings about a few, minor changes to the interior – the centre stack has been redesigned, and there’s new switchgear for the air-conditioning system, followed by a revised centre console and some tweaks to the instrument cluster.

Equipment levels for the MY-spec car haven’t been revealed, but notably, there’s a brief mention that additional safety features are now made standard across the range, with seven airbags and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) being available on all variants.

Currently, the 2.0V is the only Altis model equipped with VSC, and all three variants come as standard with two airbags. An optional “Additional Safety Package” bumps the airbag count to seven, but that’s only available for the 2.0V.

There shouldn’t be any changes with the running gear. In Malaysia, the Corolla Altis is currently offered with a 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre engine with 139 PS and 173 Nm of torque, and a 3ZR-FE 2.0 litre unit with 145 PS and 187 Nm. Both mills are paired with a CVT transmission with seven virtual ratios.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Buy Toyota and you can drive it for 10 years, worry free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 53
    • vincent on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:34 pm

These days most of the car can drive more than 10 years without any problem, just need to change those wear and tear parts that’s all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 6
      • blizzard on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:51 pm

173Nm torque for 120k

Lol what a shame, better go for civic or preve, much more powerful and relaxing drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
        • Civic Turbo on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:45 pm

139K for a Toyota?

• Operation Manager on Nov 10, 2016 at 9:30 pm

If u dun mind kosong, Mazda3 kosong… the only problem is space that cramping your balls –> its sohai Hobbit design for Hobbit only… do we only 1inch long Hobbit…?

• Sama L00 on Nov 11, 2016 at 10:46 am

A Vios can easily be problem free for 10 years now. This Altis will get you 20 years problem free.

Our Toyota problem is…
            You can’t find an excuse to tell your wife you wanna change car with a Toyota.

• Kunta Durian Story on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Ex proton operator will come here to say proton fault later

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Oh my Oh my. What ridiculous price. Last time tipu Malaysians with no VSC and overpriced car at RM139k.

Now, they put VSC but think Malaysians will fall for it?
      UMW is so greedy. Now your can get a brand new Nissan Teana for RM123k OTR. Comes standard with VSC, 6 airbags, leather etc etc. And this a proper D segment. It is so spacious.

Which fool would pay ver RM121k for a small C segment car? Isn’t that dumb?

This is the problem with UMW. They think they can sell anything to the rakyat and get away with it at any price. MITI also cannot tell them to lower their price cause UMW is fully Government owned. So, if UMW earns less, Government also earns less.

By the way, in the US, a 10 airbag Corolla (Altis) cost about US$15,000. That is RM60k. How it jump to RM139k is beyond me. CKD somemore should be cheaper.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 8
      • Max Max on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Come on. UMW is not a wholly government owned company. It is publicly listed so if you think it is making exceptional profits and want a share of that, buy the stock.

• Albert on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:09 pm

The problem with malaysians is this…they think
        PREMIUM PRICING = QUALITY AND VALUE FOR MONEY.
        They just commit to 7-9 year bondage loans without thinking.
        Even a donkey knows this is a MYTH.
        Are we far superior than donkeys?

• Hey mofo on Nov 11, 2016 at 11:11 am

It came with VSC at 139K before. Check your facts please.

• Yong Tau Fu on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Bollock… UMW is not goverment owned company la..

• Welinkar on Nov 20, 2016 at 9:16 pm

I used to have an Altis 1.8v. A wonderful car coupled with the famed Toyota reputation. But this car in Malaysia is way too expensive. Supposedly it a CKD, so how cum LAH ?! Your better off with a great vehicle like the HRV by Honda, that’s really ‘bang for your buck’ !

• With Civic10 and Perdana2 bracketing it, Altis facelift is DoA b4 launch.

• Anything but P1, greedy P2 on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Is it cbu Thailand or ckd?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 11, 2016 at 12:08 am

Wira Tom Yam already 22 years on the road. No problem if you visit kedai abang every weekend.

• Which to get? on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Which to get? This or 2016 Civic better?

• waters on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Civic, without a doubt. The civic is newer so it’ll look fresher for longer. It’s also priced cheaper.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 11
    • Patrick on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:36 pm

For performance…Go for civic, more horse power (civic TC-Premium) vs Altis 2.0V.

• eVaz88 on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Prepare to park at honda service center for overheating issue. Malaysia boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Encik Hailux Loo on Nov 10, 2016 at 8:03 pm

While current 10th gen Civic looks impressive, there’s higher chance of overheating (more towards 1.5 TC/TC-P) since there’s only one fan in engine bay that doing 3 jobs simultaneously (to cool down engine heat, aircond and also turbocharger), sometimes the aircond compressor cut off intermittently for nearly 1 minute (passengers will feel hot and discomfort) if stuck in bad traffic jam to reduce chances of overheating.

• VINCENT on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Bro, turn off the econ mode, my civic 1.5 TCP doesnot have this problem

• viosfan on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:23 am

Of course it is prone to break, later owners can claim that it is like conti cars, always kaput and not reliable.

• Pls help verify this if possible. Could be a case against honda.

• OMG…no issue lah…Civic is damn good car to drive. U dun make ppl confuse here.

• Madeyy on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Inspira > all

• Musa Putih on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Nothing special.As always UMW greediness shows.While Honda can price their basic Civic at 112k this Altis play a suicidal games by demanding extra 12k from your pocket.What a pathetic business model these UMW clowns play with now.Boycott.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 34
    • No wonder car manufacturers rule in Malaysia with people like you who directly compare base model to base model without thinking of specs and trims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Unknown on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Math fail….base spec civic compared to mid spec altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Anonymous on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Nevertheless, lets put base civic compare with the what you called mid spec altis. Civic still able to hold its position nicely. Slightly better engine output, lots better driveability with its newer platform, more precise steerling, flatter cornering, rear multilink suspension, feel very planted even at 200++km/h, LCD in car entertainment with 8 speakers, cool sporty LCD speedometer, even rear door panel trim are soft touch, rear aircon vent and etc…
        What i can think of this mid 123k altis got over base 113k civic is leather seat and the only good thing is extra 1 airbag. BTW new Civic managed to pass world most challenging crash test with flying colors which even some conti will fail in certain area. Go google about American IIHS.

• Keep talking mofo on Nov 11, 2016 at 11:14 am

IF thats how you check facts, no wonder you are frus.

The Corolla is so much better deal.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Finally UMW is starting to follow what the other competitors are offering and surprise surprise no price hike!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • sick&tired on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:46 pm

RM40k tax! thumbs up!

• Civic 1.8 less than Rm110k with discount. Period.

• Altis owner on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:03 pm

It’s about time greedy UMW put 7 airbags and VSC across the range.

• DPCraft on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:25 pm

The headlights looks very Accord facelift

• Why buy an aged design car with a premium price tag.

Honda Civic will be the winner in term of design and price.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:48 pm

I’m curious why UMW doesn’t offer a hybrid corolla variant? Not what they did with the Camry range though (Striped it off most of the advanced Toyota Safety Sense equipment and gadgets). They could have taken advantage of the CKD tax exemption and offer us Full Spec JDM hybrids (minus snow related features of cause, nobody here needs a seat warmer but a seat cooler??).

Yes, I’m all in for cheaper vehicles but looking at their price vs models offering, I can understand why they cant just sell the top range hybrid at a price lower than the base spec car but if UMW could offer a JDM Spec Hybrid Corolla which gives us much more gadgets and safety tinkering… At the very least it will make a customer much happier because there’s a perceived value there.

The same could be done with the Vios (Belta/Yaris Sedan -in Japan) P.S. I’ve driven the AWD Belta(Vios) in Japan before, it was ridiculously quick! The grip that Belta(Vios) has was amazing!! Having said that, I wouldn’t say I’ll be happy to purchase a hybrid JDM Vios for RM97k but I’m much more willing to purchase it from UMW than from the grey market.

Putting my sensibility aside and to vent a bit of frustration with UMW.
    Your Vellfire engine is meant for a hybrid arrangement!! The bloody thing’s engine-stop annoys the daylight out of me every time I stop at the traffic light, it never stay stopped and jerks back on almost immediately! The accelerator goes on and off like it was expecting a hybrid motor to kick in at lower rpm, jerking the car while driving and cornering!! Another thing is how in the world could you have figured the rear doesn’t need any speakers? Why doesn’t it have the 360 degrees camera? Your infotainment system is bad and you should feel bad!! Completely regretted buying from UMW, should have stayed to grey imports instead! It’s true that it’s slower to get parts but with similar price and far better specs, and after I’ve found a reliable shops to maintain my older Vellfire (2013 V6 @ RM280k), I’ve to honestly say that I’ve learned my mistake, goodbye UMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:56 pm

TakNak Toyota !!!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 10, 2016 at 8:55 pm

The Japanese don’t trust others to manufacture their cars. Look at Lexus, they are only available in CBU Japan form. Toyota Chiefs had said that many countries do not understand quality and do not know how to execute quality control, countries including China and Thailand. Hence they have domestic models to fit these markets. Since they don’t trust us, why the hell are we still supporting their cause. I definitely will not bow to someone who looks down at me.

• On one hand u say better buy from UMW.
      On the other hand, u say gudbai UMW.

Mana u pilih ni?

• applegreen on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:58 pm

UMW should sell current altis at rm89k

• Good luck, UMW.

Pity those one just bought their new altis. Especially, those without VSC and 7 airbags.

Market will make a good decision on your product.

• civic has 1 airbag less…
    but all variants gets a touchscreen and electric driver seat

worth mentioning that the turbo combo powertrain is new and u pay less roadtax on it …

but if u must hv a toyota badge, then its ur choice….

• Jimmy on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Trump, expected, from me.

7 airbags + VSC, good move, thumb up from me.

• stupid M'sian cars on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:36 pm

M’sian are funny lot. just buy what you like. bash here bash there talk 3 talk 4 for what purpose?syiok sendiri ar.

I always encourage buying seconds….but M’sian malu nak beli seconds. lose face.

• torsion beam? on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:47 pm

can’t accept torsion beam for more than rm100k…

• AntiToyol on Nov 10, 2016 at 10:34 pm

OMG! Facelift looks more Ah Beng… RM140 for c segment – anyone? You have many choices, accord, civic turbo, x trail, crv, etc…

• Accord Is Here on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Damn overpriced. Money sucker…
    Rather go for Accord or Teana..

• Megane on Nov 11, 2016 at 1:46 am

The Tapir DNA is still there . Civic is a better package .

• Bluey on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:40 am

Good but can be better. It’s good to have standardised safety spec on all trim levels finally. Better if come with standardised AVN+reverse camera too to justify the higher pricing against civic.

• altis design is lasting, not like civic, design is like injected steroids

• Victure Johan on Nov 11, 2016 at 12:04 pm

If Malaysian Petrol is Based on International Oil Price, then should it not be time that the automobile price in Malaysia also follow International Automobile Price?

• Anonymous on Nov 11, 2016 at 12:22 pm

139k for this tin kosong. Better get Mazda 3 high spec for 14k less. Even though 139k I doubt it will have anything special sure stripped down like nobody’s business to rip off innocent malaysians who dont know much about cars

• camtakpro on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:42 pm

It is not tin kosong. But already too late to catch C seg buyer that already bought/booked Civic.

And now Ioniq coming. Seems like Altis is the oldest C seg on sale.

Those who wanted Toyota, should hold on longer and wait for even more stripped off stuff re-added back.

• Ah seng ex altis owner on Nov 12, 2016 at 10:02 am

Agree ! But civic still makes more sense ! The fact that honda able to provide added tech values shows honda appreciate the buyers

• Ben Yap on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:57 pm

starting from 120K is ridiculous…. no one is going to buy it when civic is a newer model and cost less.

• I prefer the current facelift …with the new facelift toyota seems to be desperate chemo flushing like honda to get people”s attention….this will bring them out of business soon..