Hyundai Ioniq gets a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating

Hot on the heels of the Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid‘s Malaysian launch, Euro NCAP has released its full report plus footages of the Ioniq’s crash test, in which the hybrid vehicle scored the full five stars.

The Ioniq’s autonomous emergency braking (AEB) system was tested against dummy vehicles and pedestrians; it managed to avoid crashing in the 50 km/h city and inter-urban tests. The Ioniq also managed to avoid a crash in the AEB pedestrian test at 45 km/h, and although the dummy was hit in the 50 km/h AEB test, the speed at impact was reduced to 25 km/h.

In Malaysia, the Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid gets the full safety suite, including AEB, Lane Keep Assist, Blind Spot Monitor as well as Smart Cruise Control in its top-spec RM111k HEV Plus guise. However, even the base RM100k HEV model gets seven airbags and electronic stability control as standard.

Browse the full specifications and equipment of the Hyundai Ioniq on CarBase.my.

Hyundai Ioniq HEV Plus

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:52 pm

So shocking Hyundai has done it. A brilliant Hybrid. All car manufacturers are moving towards Hybrid and EEV. Except one company. That is our famous Proton, who takes billions our Ringgit to keep itself alive but no innovation or inventions.

Malaysians have been waiting 8 years now for the Proton Hybrid that Proton promised then. 8 tahun tunggu. Where lah Proton is this Hybrid you are talking about?

Then you took hundreds of million of our LHDN money telling gomen you need to do Hybrid research.

Then 3 years ago u paraded the Iriz EV. Again you told gomen you needed billions to reseach on EV. 3 years have passed and no EV all

Where is all the money going to?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 22
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:13 pm

pipu who hate p1 so much. the first one to comment n still hoping p1 produce hybrid. lol.. That is not ur job that p1 fanboi job. Ur job is to ask them to close not give hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
      • Hilio on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Need no manipulate false arrow back to rakyat. how country goes everyone eye is witness expect B_ trooper.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:19 pm

poor kzm, always been blind and lazy

• Go back to ur toyota showroom cuz nobodys coming.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 04, 2016 at 1:34 am

I don’t know why u call me blind n lazy since i help u not to steer away from ur main objective. At least gip me credit lor.

• Yeah, bro. Do ur job properly like what KZM said. Thats my job to hound P1 to improve. Urs to bash them to kolos shop. Do ur job properly or u wun get ur peanuts chap RBA.

• Nabill Babill on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:37 am

Korean car got no RV. Better buy Proton. Highest RV and stabil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • hamas on Dec 01, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Come here to read about Ioniq, some stup*d people talk about Proton.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Wow 5 stars, no wonder people are buying Hyundai. But Proton now also 5 stars, why are sales so bad? Preve and Iriz also 5 stars but both crs are big failures. Why?

Hyundai just started 10 years before Proton. And yet, Hyundai got their perfect Hybrids and sells 9 million cars globally.

Proton, just sells 57,000 cars anuually and that also, bulk of it is ordered by the Malaysian Government and Ministries as a “sedekah” to help Proton out

57,000 cars vs 9 million cars. Something must be wrong in Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 16
    • Proton is so lame on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:31 pm

So true..proton launch 4 cars this year alone but the sad thing is they are all so outdated..just cosmetic change..no wonder rakyat have no interest to buy proton anymore..

• Cho Keng Kuat on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Not again..why must all people here talk about proton,Hyundai as we all know the only good brand is Toyota! Only Toyota deserves the talk of the town than losses and potential explosive brand.Toyota is the best! Remember that.Want be the best forget about the rest!

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:33 am

I have no doubt on Proton safety especially model from Preve onward. The only thing makes P1 reverse is the “management” of P1 where they spent billions of ringgit to support crony companies in the past. As I know nowadays P1 had removed a lot of crony companies and appoint quality suppliers. One of my friend work in a steel company who supply steel part to P1, it is none crony company since the steel was imported from Korea.

Though the safety and rigidity has improved a lot over the years, but the powertrain was so much disappointed. The engine and transmission was way behind other automakers. Other than this the after sales service MUST improve and skilled workers and advisors must be in place. Nowadays consumers are not only look at the product but also the service quality from after sales services.

Without improve on these 2 elements P1 will still struggling for their future.

• Peace on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:47 pm

No 5 star bash…have 5 star also bash….what sastisfied you then???bash without giving any constructive comment like bash in longkang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • Bravo Hyundai! toyota can godai. Albert & Sammy now crying inside their showroom cars. But nobody cares, cuz nobody comes to toyota showrooms anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Make it Mandatory on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Would love to see ASEAN NCAP doing all those tests on all new cars here in Malaysia, especially Proton and Perodua. Hoepfully AEB and Lane Keeping Assist will be enforce soon too, not just ESC. Malaysians drivers and passengers deserve to be on par with the Euros and Americos. We pipu are not dummies.

• Mikey on Dec 01, 2016 at 8:57 am

Just for the record, how many RM 100k car gets 7 airbags & VSC.

For RM 111k, U will get the full safety suite, including AEB, Lane Keep Assist, Blind Spot Monitor as well as Smart Cruise Control.

On top of that, this Ioniq gets a 5-star Euro NCAP safety rating. Now that’s what I call Value for $$$.

• passion on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:28 am

nice car but the rims must go forthwith. horrendous.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Dec 02, 2016 at 11:12 am

EURO NCAP 5 stars. AOP 91%, COP 90%. That’s Volvo Level already. In Malaysia Selling RM114k. In UK selling GBP21k. Virtually TAX Free.