Honda to partner Grab on motorcycle sharing services

Honda has signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with ride-sharing company Grab, to begin discussions towards a collaboration on motorcycle sharing services, specifically in Southeast Asia. It’s understood that the collaboration will first involve Honda’s motorcycle arm and GrabBike.

Honda is the largest motorcycle manufacturer in the world, while GrabBike is Grab’s motorcycle ride sharing app, now active in cities with very heavy traffic jams, where motorcycles is likely to be a quicker mode of transport than cars. It’s currently operational in Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi, Vietnam, Bangkok, Thailand and Jakarta, Indonesia.

Little is known just yet, with Honda’s official release giving very little info on the partnership. It’s said that “Honda and Grab will work together and strive to realise new mobility services in the area of sharing by conducting experimental initiatives in Southeast Asia while utilising resources of the two companies.”

Honda’s motorcycle lineup, sales network and services are at the core of this new partnership with Malaysian-owned, Singapore-based Grab. Beyond that, Honda will work on the mitigation of traffic congestion in urban areas through the utilisation of telematics and other technologies, together with efforts to reduce CO2 emissions.

“Multiple areas [of collaboration] are in discussion, and that will include the sale of bikes to drivers,” a Grab spokesperson told TechCrunch. It’s suggested that the collaboration may also expand to Honda and Grab’s four-wheeled divisions at a later date.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Uncle Dave on Dec 12, 2016 at 3:39 pm

We already have DegoRide in KL, so the more the merrier and the rates can be lower down more.

• Ollie on Dec 12, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Good idea but safety is key. I’m not sure how Gojek operates in Indonesia, but that’s more for deliveries. Uber drivers have to look at their phones a lot while driving, as requests come in non stop, taking their eyes off the road and very difficult in heavy traffic. Even worse if you’re on a motorcycle.

• Raja Chulan Longkorn on Dec 12, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Who will lets his wife/girlfriend/daughter/mom rides/hugs the biker?

• Why book for the Grab Bike in the 1st place? It is customer choice.

• What if someone hits you and you fall down? who’s gonna pay?

• Do we need grab bike in Malaysia where mat rempit & snatch thief use as their transport ?? Its very dangerous …. motocyclist in malaysia break lots of laws… like running red light, kicking peoples car & riding dangerously in between traffic lights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Fakegrab on Dec 13, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Join my fakegrab soon

• old pencen taksee driver on Dec 13, 2016 at 1:29 pm

E bike with three tyer.. future job for youngster malaysian. Can create 100000 job .

• tax c on Dec 13, 2016 at 7:05 pm

To be ridder grabbike your leg leigth more 1.5 meter. Eazy to stop at traffic light. I think sure kj najib can.

• Add A Comment on Dec 14, 2016 at 8:43 am

GrabWalk anyone? I can walk you home…

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• lembu jinni on Dec 14, 2016 at 10:10 am

Any surcharge for 100kgs customer? Can the kapchai move? Safety complaint helmet provided to customer?