Toyota and Daihatsu announces plans to establish ‘Emerging-market Compact Car Company’ on Jan 1

Toyota together with its fully-owned subsidiary Daihatsu has announced that it will officially establish an internal company responsible for developing compact vehicles for emerging markets on January 1, 2017. The new internal company will be called the ‘Emerging-market Compact Car Company’.

Daihatsu president Masanori Mitsui will assume the role of chairman, while Toyota managing officer Shinya Kotera is to be appointed president of the new internal company.

According to a press statement, the company will develop compact cars specifically for developing countries, leveraging on Daihatsu’s expertise of producing quality and affordable products, and remaining “untethered by conventional practices and rules.”

The internal company will consist of three divisions – the Emerging-market Compact Car Product and Business Planning, the Emerging-market Compact Car Product Planning and the Emerging-market Compact Car Quality Planning.

The former spans both Toyota and Daihatsu, and will conduct overall planning for products and business operations, including proposing a Toyota-brand vehicle product line-up for emerging markets, as well as overall strategy.

The company also stated that Daihatsu will be largely responsible for product development, with the internal company’s product planning and quality planning divisions being responsible for final product development and quality for Toyota-brand vehicles.

Aside from the formation of the internal company, Toyota Motor Asia Pacific Engineering and Manufacturing (TMAP-EM) will be renamed to Toyota Daihatsu Engineering and Manufacturing (TDEM), and become an entity under the new internal company.

TMAP-EM’s previous duties of providing Toyota development, logistics and production preparation support for locally produced vehicle models, will not be extended to support the production of Daihatsu-centered compact vehicles for emerging markets as TDEM.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tokmoh. on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:49 pm

aka 3rd world tin milo, mostly no airbag, no ABS, no ESC etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Somemore 3 more years it is 2020. According to our fantastic leaders, we are 1st world.

According to our fantastic leaders also, our GDP Per Capita in 2020 also will be US$48k. That means, everyone in Malaysia will be earning US$4000 per month (RM18,000).

Yes, don’t believe me, go look into archives, our fantastic leaders have said our GDP Per Capita will be US$48k in 2020. 3 more years.

So we are no more merging market. Most Malaysians can buy European cars in 2020. Syukur!

• Hot dog on Dec 16, 2016 at 9:47 am

2020 , fantastic leader will say …. pasal Donald Trump so kito org tak jadi lah !! LOL

• karam singh on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Where P2?
    P2 just replicating .. lol
    yet so many bash P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • SOMEONE on Dec 15, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Emerging Compact Car Company aka…deathboxes and cheap A$$ car company for third world countries with lax safety and manufacturing legislations…

they know they cant do it under the current brands..Perodua is too regional and already being pressured to up their ante for basic safety and is largely irrelevant outside of Malaysia..so..a new company it is!

I know they want to make the next billion people mobile..but carmaking has reached a point where u can build a competent car with decent safety for affordable prices..infact it’s one of the few industries that has consistently given more for less money over the decades…. but i guess it’s all about maximising profit margins…

• Papa G on Dec 15, 2016 at 3:17 pm

…and its called Perodua!

*badum tsst!*

• dont worry, malaysia is safe. not emerging market anymore but a fully developed nation by 2020 (not i say, but Mahathir did some 30 yrs ago). this car wont reach here.

• Leonardo on Dec 15, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Emerging markets = Minimum safety standards?

• donno on Dec 15, 2016 at 5:00 pm

As minimum safety standards as possible (not like malaysia pushing for UNECE equivalents) and as much profit as possible.

• Mikey on Dec 15, 2016 at 5:21 pm

When Toyota & Daihatsu announces plans to establish ‘Emerging-market Compact Car Company’, they are saying the JV car are meant for “Emerging Market(EM)”. The question many are asking – “Is M’sia still an EM for this JV company ??!

According to some experts, M’sia should be a Developed Country(DC) by 2020. To many, that’s debatable bcos if we take KL/Sel as a benchmark, we should be a DC now hence, this Compact car project is NOT for KL/Sel.

If you read between the line, they are telling this Compact car is meant for Poorer countries meaning countries in SEA just like previously they make City/Vios for EM.

In other word, the JV car is/was made for SUCKERS, meaning most if not all the goodies(ABS/Airbags/ESC) will not be available as a ‘standard’ equipment’s.

• Plan to setup – 2017
      Come out with car – 2018 (very optimistic)
      MY new cars need have ESC – 2018

Does this answer ur question?

• this will work like nissan renault alliance….to reduce cost but ‘built for developing country’ something double std and we dont this kind of car

• normal_user on Dec 15, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Not all cars developed for emerging market sucks. Really. Look at Nissan Kicks (brazil), Peugeot 301, Fiat Tipo (turkey), Suzuki Ciaz (india). These cars are quite competitive; albeit being low costs they never felt like low rent.

Of course i dont refer to super duper basic cars like Datsun & Lada etc..

• Peter on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Pero-Tiga ?

• As you can see here..the target is obviously Malaysia. The reason is we Malaysian worship Japans brand no matter what they trow us. Good quality,bad quality,good safety,bad safety..we still gonna buy it. Yet u blame the company or the gov for stripping the safety features. As long as it sell like hot cakes, do u think the business man will care about your safety?Why would they?Because they can maximize their revenue. So please..go ahead..be a brainless buyer. Those kind of people are the reason why we Malaysian receive the lower spec of vehicles in Malaysia. At the same time, when P1 introduce a good safety features vehicle, people still complain. Crazy people.