Bentley Continental Supersports unveiled; 710 PS, 1,017 Nm, 0-100 km/h in 3.5 seconds, 336 km/h!

The new Bentley Continental Supersports has been officially unveiled, and it’s a riot of numbers. The 6.0 litre, twin-turbocharged W12 engine now produces 710 PS at 6,000 rpm and 1,017 Nm of torque between 2,050 rpm and 4,500 rpm, propelling the 2,280 kg four-seater coupe from a standstill to 100 km/h in 3.5 seconds and a top speed of 336 km/h.

These numbers improve upon the 2009 Supersports‘ own set of figures by 79 PS, 217 Nm, 0.3 of a second and 7 km/h respectively. Incidentally, the new Supersports is also available as a convertible, with the same engine outputs driving the 2,455 kg soft-top to 100 km/h from a standstill in 3.9 seconds, onwards to a top speed of 330 km/h.

The revisions over the standard W12 Continental which give rise to the increased figures include higher capacity turbochargers of a new design, a revised charge-air cooling system, together netting an increase in boost and therefore, power and torque. The increased output calls for strengthened engine internals, which here includes new main bearings and connecting rod bearings.

The Supersports moniker indicates there’s more to the big British two-door than just brute force, and so measures have been taken to improve agility: carbon-ceramic brakes are housed behind 21-inch, lightweight alloy wheels, which together save 20 kg in unsprung mass, according to Bentley.

Handling improvements also come courtesy of an updated version of Bentley’s torque vectoring system first seen on the GT3-R, which can brake individual front and rear wheels when accelerating out of corners for improved performance. The all-wheel driveline in the Supersports retains the rear-biased 60:40 torque split albeit with lower and stiffer dynamic suspension; Bentley says “there is no compromise in the refined nature of the Continental’s ride quality.”

A front splitter and rear spoiler pairing is optional on the Coupe, along with a bright-machined finish for the 21-inch wheels and side decals, while under the hood, an optional, gloss-finished, Supersports-branded carbon-fibre engine cover can also be specified.

In typical Bentley fashion, creature comforts haven’t been forgotten in the pursuit of greater performance. The Continental Supersports Convertible has a multi-layer hood which “ensures high levels of refinement and acoustic insulation.” The included neck warmer should ease the cold when driving with the top down in more temperate weather.

Inside, the first tri-tone colour scheme offered on a Continental GT makes it into the Supersports, with diamond-quilted leather applied to the seats and door interior panels matched with a list of ten veneers and technical finishes available for specifying. A titanium exhaust system is optional, for those after a fuller exhaust sound.

The ‘X Specification’ pack is available for those who want to customise their Continental Supersports further, which includes the titanium exhaust and carbon-fibre engine cover as part of the pack. Eight unique duo-tone paint treatments and carbon-fibre door mirrors and heel plates can be specified, along with carbon-fibre-finished interior side panels, in addition to gloss black finish on the 21-inch wheels.

For the ultimate in Bentley customisation, the Mulliner coachbuilding department can be commissioned to fulfil bespoke requirements.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bentley with GT wing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 06, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Even if I struck the lottery, I rather by an Ertiga. I feel it is better than this Bentley as it has 4 doors and 6 seats.

This Bentley only got 2 doors and 2+2 seats. Ertiga is far better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • If you struck a lottery and judging cars based on how much seats that it has, why don’t you just buy a bus instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Kancil Hybrid on Jan 06, 2017 at 8:31 pm

If I win lottery I buy Airbus A319 or Equanimity yacht.

• Sonyman1 on Jan 07, 2017 at 8:42 am

If you all strike lottery. I don’t think so you will be able to buy any of these. 25 mil ringgit is peanuts in usd. Just live normal life la. Bentley pun tak jadi.

• Confuser on Jan 06, 2017 at 3:07 pm

Well, well..never thought the rear diffuser of Perdana would end up on a Bentley.

• Petronas on Jan 06, 2017 at 3:56 pm

It is advisable to build a petrol station next to your house if you own this car.

• Clean Slate on Jan 06, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Oh well, need to sell some more gold bars to buy one.

• Mikey on Jan 06, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Frankly speaking, if U are driving This Bentley, would U speed like a mad man ??!

Surely U should/would drive it slowly so that your neighbors will see what a Gentleman U are right !

After all, U bought it 2 show that U have made it ma. Anyway, this Bentley is 4 people with Deep pocket.

• Bernard on Jan 07, 2017 at 12:52 am

Suitable for USA or Scandinavian countries , definitely not here…