BR1M aid for Uber vehicle purchase – discussions on

The government says that its plan to encourage 1Malaysia People’s Aid (BR1M) recipients in the B40 group to use the financial aid to purchase a Proton Iriz and join ride-sharing services such as Uber is being finalised.

According to a report by The Sun published last week, the government is currently negotiating with Proton, Uber and Bank Simpanan Nasional (BSN) to finalise details for the scheme, which was announced by prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak during the tabling of Budget 2017 in October last year.

Treasury secretary-general Tan Sri Dr Mohd Irwan Serigar Abdullah (pix) said discussions had already begun. “We are already negotiating. I’m not sure of the status yet, but it will be implemented by this year. Recipients will be able to utilise BR1M, and it will help those from the B40 group to achieve income that would put them in the M40 group,” he said.

Under the plan, those in the B40 group (those with a household income of up to RM3,855) will be able to make a downpayment for a vehicle using BR1M money, and a rebate of RM4,000 will be provided for the purchase of a Proton Iriz.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• They all have car license?license not cheap nowadays u know…

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 4:41 pm

So malu. So many years also, Proton needs help. Is this fair to Nissan, Honda and Toyota?

Why they cannot get BRIM help also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • nosushi on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:02 pm

So malu if jepunis overlord persoal. This is not jepunis land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:58 pm

What abt Perodua? Why they don’t get special treatment? Why Proton always need tongkat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
          • Becoz P2 is not a true national car maker but only an assembler in disguise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:05 am

But P1 is worse. They are only a rebadger now. Ertiga, Perdana…..

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 6:03 pm

How long we must support a company that is bleeding RM4 million per day?

Whilst their directors are still enjoying 6 figure salary per month and fat bonusses, now they ask BRIM help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
          • If still on discussion. But, it is on individual interest, if want to buy, buy. If not don’t, buy. So?

• So stupid if local products are horrible for the price, but still support. Only Malaysians forced to buy crappy “local” product. It is NOT COMPETITIVE globally after so many years.

“Local”? Or Cronies product? Who actually benefits?

• plotekplotek on Jan 12, 2017 at 12:31 am

Plotektion is everywhere. Read more pls

• Cranky Nuts on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:47 pm

All you know is bash, bash and bash. Have you even drove a Iriz before? If you have than you will know that is one fine car compared with other cars at the same price range.

The only cons about the iriz is the fuel consumption. If you do not own an Iriz than don’t lah be a hero and bash.

PS: I own a Iriz, Forte and HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Same L0rr on Jan 10, 2017 at 4:14 pm

BR1M for buy a junk from Proton.. Come on! CamPro VVT engine & CVT clutch Punch Powertrain gearbox is junk. Proton with the new GDI engine & Torque converter CVT Jatco gearbox i can accept this BR1M for Uber Iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • topkek on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Yeah yeah after GDI comes out you say that junk also pulak
      Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Mikey on Jan 10, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Brilliant idea Dr Irwan Serigala. At one go, U manage to kill 2 birds with one stone ie push out old stock(Iriz) & a plan 2 improve those B40 people.

My question is, “How long will U support, give BR1M 2 these B40 recipient”??!

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 4:32 pm

A big disgrace. Another way to help dying Proton and their Iriz which cannot sell.

I thought ex CEO of Proton told press that Iriz was such a good seller, they had orders up to 1 year back. And that Proton could not keep up with demand. Looks like a big lie.

By the way, Gomen always say Proton is private in DRB hands. But always seem to be helping Proton out with loans and favourtism.

If Honda or Nissan want RM1.5 billion loan can?

If Nissan use for Uber with BRIM can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • dunno on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:05 pm

We must help jepunis than local producers?
      Oh wai.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:59 pm

oh wai oh wai why Perodua never get special treatment?

We should give them support for they work hard and make money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • notakata on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Enough with jepunis death traps sold here

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 6:00 pm

then give Perodua. They make money. They deserve this contract. Why give to a company for 30 yrs given tongkat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Pentium 4 on Jan 10, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Iriz is certified 5 star asean ncap.. the chassis is very strong.. langgar tiang lampu, tiang lampu pun patah..

• err…becoz P2 also one of the Jepunis death traps?

• C. P. MOHAN on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:26 pm

I thought BR1M handouts was to alleviate hardship.

• brubers drybing on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:59 pm

I tin man my weight 46 kilometer. If i uber driver with this iris i afraid karam sin go inside my car. We below 4 T want artiga or pesona and RM 10000 plus BRIM 1400 . Mati la kau taksee driver.

• lilytan on Jan 10, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Why only uber n not grabcar too? Unlike uber, grabcar started in Msia.

• The part to become Uber or Grab driver is on the car owner. You can be both driver if you want.

• Ben Yap on Jan 10, 2017 at 6:13 pm

habislah taxi drivers now….

• oranglama on Jan 10, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Iriz at stock yard ready to disposed off using brim. After 6 month the car at workshop macam macam rosak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Nobody forces the BRIM receiver to buy Iriz. You want? then go, you don’t want? then just use the money for something else. This is about teaching them how to fish instead of giving them one-off fish to eat. I don’t see why this has to be politicized and mocked.

Yes, it’s true, Proton benefits a lot from this. Because it owed Gomen 1.5 billion of loan. This is one of the ways to pay back.

But, positive side. I do think this is a good idea. Uber ecosystem is very good for our people. I had terrible experience with the taxis and will avoid them at all cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • 12yrsold on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:11 am

Like lilytan said, Why only uber, should include grabcar too?

• Hot dog on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:16 am

Proton is national car manufaturer , of corse involve everyone one of us ( rakyat & gov ) ..politized ? Definately !!!

• Gov did study and found that 99% of pipu only wanna be boss, even low level despatch boi. So this way is to gip them what they want, be ur own boss.

• Welinkar on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:16 pm

It’s meaningful that the government are keen for people to ‘own’ their UBER taxi, because jobs may not easily be available. However is the IRIZ the right vehicle ??? Perhaps they should consider the New SAGA or ERTIGA ??? IRIZ is a small hatch back kereta with limited space and egress for many elderly persons or persons on the large side. One needs to be practical. In my humble opinion, IRIZ is not the right (sized) kereta for a taxi.

• Leonardo on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:09 am

The Iriz would be an ideal car for Uber passengers. In a congested city like KL it is easy to manouver and park the Iriz. And the 1.3L version is the most fuel efficient.
      If you want to go to the airport with your luggage, then you can book a bigger car with a boot space, not the Iriz.

• Welinkar J on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:18 pm

It’s meaningful that the government are keen for people to ‘own’ their UBER taxi, because jobs may not easily be available. However is the IRIZ the right vehicle ??? Perhaps they should consider the New SAGA or ERTIGA ??? IRIZ is a small hatch back kereta with limited space and egress for many elderly persons or persons on the large side. One needs to be practical. In my humble opinion, IRIZ is not the right (sized) kereta for a taxi.

• Actman on Jan 11, 2017 at 1:31 am

For those who are interested on this s*it, well I sincerely wishing you good ‘lick’. Rebate RM4000 + BR1M RM1200 = RM 5200 as d/p. Let’s assume you take 9 years loan to settle this s*it. One month your loan’s instalment would more ‘kau’ than kopi ‘kau kau!’

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:43 am

news like these makes me proud of malaysia, and makes me proud that we have one of the most caring leaders in the government

despite being a rich nation, there are pockets of poverty everywhere. this is the same as any country you visit anywhere else in the world. the gov is doing their best to alleviate poverty and helping people to earn money. there is a parable where it is better to teach them to fish than giving them the fish.

this initiative will help the gov propel the lower income group to a higher income bracket which will drive the nation to its developed country target

syabas again government, time and time again you have made us proud in the eyes of the world!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

• raptor951007 on Jan 11, 2017 at 1:06 pm

Hmmm, my sarcasm detector is confused…

• Hot dog on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Really… ? This years many car salesman income….emmmm , susah janji didapati !
      Watever who care !! Everyday rajin call prospects, working hard get more sales . Next year contribute personel tax help country debts
      . Syabas rakyat !! ..

• Ootai on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:53 am

Should also include persona. If a family of 3 wanted to go airport with 3 luggage + hand carries, bye bye Iriz.

• Uberian on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:12 pm

bodoh betul.. asking low income earners to take up more loans, more burdens, more commitments to benefit Proton, banks and Uber. In the end, those poor suckers don’t even know why they’re getting poorer. Their lives don’t improve by owning more material items. Their lives only improve when they have more disposable income. And that’s by increasing income and reducing expenditures. Oh you think Ubering is going to increase their income? They are making Uber richer with their 25% cut. Those poor suckers are funding Uber for their autonomous cars. Human drivers will be replaced by autonomous cars.

Country ran by thieves, voted in by idiots.