GALLERY: Honda BR-V 1.5L V – 7-seat SUV in detail

Honda’s first introduction for 2017 came in early January, with the official launch of the BR-V. Offered in two variants – E and V – we now bring you a detailed gallery of the latter, so you can see almost every aspect of the high-riding, seven-seat SUV (or crossover according to Honda folk).

The “Bold Runabout Vehicle” is built on a stretched version of the Brio platform, which is also used by the Mobilio MPV. In terms of dimensions, the BR-V measures 4,456 mm long, 1,735 mm wide and 1,666 mm tall, with a 2,662 mm wheelbase. The vehicle also features a ground clearance of 201 mm to reflect its more rugged persona when compared to the Mobilio.

At the front, Honda’s Solid Wing Face grille is flanked by a pair of halogen projector headlamps that come with LED DRLs, which we were told are unique to the Malaysian market, according to the BR-V’s large project leader, Atsushi Arisaka. Fog lamps with chrome surrounds and a faux skid plate are exclusive items on the V.

Down the sides, the BR-V comes with black plastic cladding on the wheel arches and near the door sills, roof rails, as well as 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels (with Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 195/60 section tyres). The V variant gets additional chrome elements compared to the E, as seen on the door handles and near the door sills.

At the rear, the taillights are linked by a red trim piece that runs across the liftgate, while just below it, a large chrome trim piece hosts the V-only reverse camera. Much like the front, the lower section of the BR-V’s rear features a skid plate, finished in silver as well. The full-size spare tyre is located under the car, where you need to undo a screw or two to extract.

Inside, there’s leather on the seats and door armrests, along with a water print matte dashboard trim piece. Elsewhere, there’s a 6.1-inch touchscreen display audio system that is linked to a four-speaker system, and offers a myriad of connectivity options – Bluetooth, AUX, USB and HDMI.

Just below that, you’ll find the switchgear for the car’s automatic air-conditioning system, which also feeds air to passengers at the rear via ceiling-mounted vents (with a manual fan speed adjuster) in the second row.

As you can see, the BR-V’s second row 60:40 split seats can be configured into various positions either via sliding them, folding them or tumbling them. The latter can be done via a one-touch process and helps to provide easier access to the third row.

Speaking of the third row, the 50:50 split seats back there can be folded down or tumbled before being hooked to the second row’s headrests. In doing so, the 223 litres of base cargo-carrying capacity will be further expanded to 539 litres.

For motivation, the BR-V gets a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC petrol engine with 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm with drive being directed to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT that features an expanded ratio range for better usability.

Safety-wise, the five-star ASEAN NCAP safety-rated BR-V comes with dual front airbags, three-point seatbelts for all seven seats, Isofix child seat mounts in the second row, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), ABS, EBD, Hill Start Assist (HSA), reverse sensors and a reverse camera.

The top-spec V variant of the BR-V retails at RM92,800 (RM90,013 without insurance), and comes inclusive of a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty, plus a free service interval package. Five exterior body colours are offered here – Taffeta White, Golden Brown Metallic (new addition), Lunar Silver Metallic, Modern Steel Metallic and Dark Ruby Red Pearl.

Those looking for our thoughts on the BR-V can refer to our first drive impressions of the seven-seat SUV, here, as well as our recent excursion to Thailand where we had the chance to spend a bit more time in the BR-V. As always, you can find full details on all BR-V variants on CarBase.my. You can also get the best offers on the Honda BR-V on CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mikey on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:13 pm

There are many vehicle wheel arches/doors sill get scratch by misjudgment parking by drivers. The black plastic cladding on the wheel arches & near the door sills are certainly good addition to any car.

• jinggo on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:13 pm

Only 2 airbags? Come on la Honda… try to plotek city V spec sale kah? Hahaha..

• We want Langkawi car prices on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:52 pm

RM90k? Rear DRUM BRAKES? TWO AIRBAGS? SOHC?

The true rival for the Toyota Sienta is the B-segment Honda Freed, and NOT the BRV!

This car is based on a Honda Brio hatchback and Brio Amaze sedan, which is an A segment low cost car that competes with Proton Saga, Perodua Axia and Bezza, Hyundai i10, Kia Picanto.

And now we are being fooled thinking it is a B segment MPV. It is not based on the Jazz, City platform. It should be less than RM70k!

Greedy Honda Malaysia wants a fast profit. At this rate, I rather have the Toyota Sienta, as it is a proper B segment car.

Don’t get blinded with the Honda badge. This is the old Honda Mobilio, facelifted with 1.5 SOHC and a new fancy posh name, BRV.

If you are not in the rush to but a new car, wait for 2018 for new Alza. By then, all new cars will be required to have VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 20
    • Lobangman on Jan 18, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Why judge a car from which platform it is based on? Yes the brv is based from a small car platform but in its current state does the size, look and function of brv similar to brio, saga or bezza? No – for a start it has 7 seats now. Future Freeds can be based on a hybrid platform of NSX, odyssey and accord if Honda wants to, but if the end product only has 6 seats, it might not cater to what buyers want and in the wrong market it wont sell.. hint hint. Dang..people dont enjoy fish & chips because the fish came from a smelly wet market from outskirts of town, they enjoy it because the end product is crispy, tender and yummy all at the same time.

• Also the same cases with the Alza, used a Myvi/Sirion/Passo platform, which is below a B-Segment Toyota Yaris. And they claimed to be a B-Segment MPV.

• karam singh on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:18 pm

its a nice car, but white makes the car look cheap.

• matt farrel on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:22 pm

i so envy u guys in Malaysia…here in Indonesia, our BR-Vs are not equipped as well as yours…

here are the features we don’t get:
    -rear window defogger
    -VSA and HSA are available in the fugly prestige model
    -leather seats
    -Auto A/C
    -Smart Key
    -leather Civic FD steering wheel (we get the ugly and cheap brio steering wheel)
    -Reverse sensor (if u want them..ur haggling skills with the salesman are tested)
    -extra sound insulation

and yet we pay more or less the same price as you guys do….and get less features…no wonder people in Indonesia are screaming at Honda for having sh*t value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • there he is on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:43 pm

what a lousy car. low quality in and out as usual from honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Honda now has many models in their lineup. That’s great indeed. No wonder Honda cars are selling so well as there are so many choices for Malaysians to choose. Sorry Toyota, no one is buying a Toyota these days because you have very limited models, and all of them are over priced and outdated technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Guys, a question; why is the BRV less expensive than the HRV?

• HRV designed for jepunis & 1st world markets.
      BRV is designed for markets they dun care less whether pipu live or die.

• clutch_plate on Jan 19, 2017 at 11:20 am

Do u think before u wrote? your statement just show the way u think & how u use your brain..

As a global automaker, I believe they (Honda) always think further & do some research before make a decision to launch this car. This is important to fulfill customer’s need & reduce the risk of failure. Its all about their good image & reputation dude..

• BRV is built on Brio A segment platform, whereas HRV is built on Jazz B segment platform. Or u just compare 1.5l vs 1.8l, u shd know. furthermore, Brv is product only available country like M’sia, Thai, Indo, India.

• 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Tim, the answer to your question is :-
      a) You pay more for Horse Power.
      b) HRV is a B-segment car while BRV is an A-segment car(to me, room wise is debatable which one is roomier)
      c) You pay more for a slightly higher quality interior wise
      I hope this is helpful bro.

• Welinkar on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:20 pm

The BRV is classed as an MPV, the HRV is classed as an SUV. Therefore in terms of the pecking order, the HRV is a ‘premium’ vehicle compared to the BRV. It’s like the Civic & City, or Altis & Vios.

• thomas on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:01 pm

aku lebih suka mobilio facelift daripada brv. Lagian harga mobilio lebih murah

• Nasi ayam bapak dara on Jan 19, 2017 at 7:43 am

Tested dua dua brv and exora on the same day. Exora 2nd row seats win. But was told only super premium is adjustable to move front and back and no longer sold. What? Brv 3rd row seats win because you are sitting in more relaxed position. Boot space brv win because it has more depth than exora. Pickup almost the same. I think because of the setup and brv is more than 200kg lighter. Features exora wins such as more airbag, cruise & dvd player. Overall price and features exora win. For daily usable practicality, brv wins. Livina alza avanza all not comparable in terms of space. For those who are currently in search of 7 seater, test them out and decide which one is important. Fb and paul tan comments will never be valid input to make ur decisions hahah

• Confused on Jan 19, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Hello people, I’m seeking for everyone’s kind opinion. I’m looking to buy a new car to drive around KL. I’m torn between Honda Jazz and Honda BR-V. Which one should I consider and why? Thank you!

• clutch_plate on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Proceed with Honda Jazz…or Honda EX5 for peace of mind (traffic jam free)..