Free fuel for Putrajaya bikers twice monthly – Ku Nan

If you are a Putrajaya resident and you ride a motorcycle of 150 cc and below, you may enjoy free petrol in the administrative capital twice a month, according to a Bernama report.

Intended for implementation on the second and third week of each month, the programme was aimed at reducing the financial burden of its residents, especially the younger generation, said federal territories minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Mansor.

“This programme was held twice in Labuan, followed by Bandar Tun Razak, Segambut, Bukit Bintang, Setiawangsa and Lembah Pantai in Kuala Lumpur. The initiative will be extended to other areas in phases after this, depending on the economic situation,” said Adnan.

The programmes had received encouraging response from the public, he added, following the Jom Isi Minyak programme held at the Precinct 9 Petronas station yesterday. The programme which started at 6pm yesterday saw 200 motorcycles filled with petrol, with motorcyclists reported to be waiting at the station from 5pm for free fuel.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 166
    • Burong on Feb 15, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Well, it is a right way to help the poor, Bravo Kunan.

Please continue the scheme to whole Malaysia. Terengganu, Kelantan, Sabah and Sarawak contribute big portion of the oil income, but Putrajaya low income group is getting them for free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 62
      • Hot dog on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:29 am

Young motorbiker …Asking yourself ” Do I really need this free petrol sikit ! ? . ” jikalau saya rajin dan naik kan ilmu dan kemahiran seterusnya , apa akan terjadi saya ? ” …

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Feb 15, 2017 at 7:41 pm

This is crazy. Are you saying only Putrajaya only got people who need help?

Are you saying PJ, Shah Alam, Subang Jaya, Bangsar got no poor people?

If you help people in Putrajaya, you must help people all over Malaysia who are low income and the needy.

This is akin to giving BRIM to just Putrajaya residents and saying all other areas the poor people cannot get BRIM.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
      • ducatiscrambler on Feb 15, 2017 at 8:30 pm

If certain privileges can be given to a specific segment of the population with total disregard to said person’s socio-economic background, no question asked, what makes you think that this plan is not “feasible”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • lilytan on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:37 am

Why not ask your current MP? No?

• Kapcai Nan on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Larangan kapcai masuki KL bila nak mula?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Feb 15, 2017 at 7:54 pm

Gomen say got no money for healthcare, hospitals and schools. Some hospitals are even saying got no money for blood test. Some send patients home. Some hospitals tell patients they have run out of medicine.

Universities have no aircon. Cannot repair the aircon cause duit sudah habis.

Yet, we got money to fill petrol in Putrajaya

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 5
      • Can you elaborate more on which are the hospitals are doing that with proper proof. Don’t just simply post something than say that you heard from your friends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
        • 1st person view on Feb 16, 2017 at 1:24 pm

What he says is true, operations have been postponed (elective cases) because no medications for the after operation…this is in a hospital in the klang valley btw…just in case you says it’s due to logistics because my hospital is located deep in the rural area!!!

• ducatiscrambler on Feb 16, 2017 at 7:01 am

no money for healthcare – 30 million allocated to build a race track. What’s the percentage population of mat rempits in Malaysia? It’s a fair bit *gulp maybe like (1-2% MAX) What’s the percentage population of Malaysians that actually require healthcare? (100%) Perhaps if Malaysians aren’t extorted by the government to pay sky high prices for cars, just perhaps, JUST perhaps, the buying power of the rakyat would increase. With the increase in buying power, money can be spent not just on our necessities (needs), but on our wants. You know how we have the *GASP GST? When you buy goods and services, you pay GST which is responsible for the provision of extra goods and services (infrastructures, healthcare etc). It’s hitting two birds with one, you can always fund your racetrack LATER. Speaking of embracing bad habits like “Mat-Rempitism”, why don’t the government refer to the Dutch/Swiss/Portugal model when it comes to drug addiction? They decriminalised drugs, setup centres that provide high quality drugs (Malaysia is kinda doing this with – Metadone for heroine addiction but only if you’re “CHOSEN” – whatever that means), provide free health care for drug addicts, help them in housing and employment so they can all focus on rehabilitating. It has a 70% success rate. But hey, drug addicts life don’t matter, mat rempit’s matter more. My point is – Money is paid by the taxpayers, and the idea is that, there are other sectors (healthcare, infrastructures) that require immediate attention and funding – NOT : Free tire replacement for taxi drivers, free petrol for motorbike riders, construction of race track for mat rempits. They are people of similar socioeconomic background. This is turning political for that i apologise, but it seems to be a trend, like every x amount of years, like right before an “event” it happens. Anyone, care to correct me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • Bash Basher on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:55 am

Maybe Faiz Roslan can explain about the “transparency” on why and how govt is able to give out free petrol to these area while on the other hand they say they have no money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Y U Fuk on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:25 pm

This seems to be another ‘hair brain’ scheme which will be a bonanza for the ‘Mat Rampits’ !!!! What ridiculous rationale ! Residents of Putra Jaya can commute by public transport. So why not offer this to the motorcycles from the rural areas ??? The tax you pay on the fuel you buy, will go into the Mat Rampits motor cycles !!!! Or perhaps…..this is a cheap marketing gimmick for Petronas ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
  • KenJi on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Tak sanggup bg subsidi tp boleh bg free. Wow

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
  • SkullJuJu on Feb 15, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish however…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • bring a big tank to buy fuel twice monthly

• Ahmad Muhazza Mustapha on Feb 15, 2017 at 6:49 pm

This is very weird. Whose money they use for free petrol? Government’s? Where the money came from when they say no money for subsidy, no money for education, no money for health? Very weird to implement this policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • Another hare brain idea from the now infamous Kuku Nan..wasting taxpapers monies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • BeemerFreak on Feb 15, 2017 at 8:56 pm

Why should the tax payers be paying for these crap. We should be helping them earn a better living, teaching them how to save more etc rather than giving for free. Otherwise the poor will always be poor and never get a chance to fight for the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Gomorrah on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:35 pm

So the taxpayers have to fund your thinly veiled attempt at buying votes in your own constituency? Ridiculous. Allow the price of petrol to rise so high then give “discount”. To quote Abraham Lincoln – You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.

• MeToo on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Lincoln was wrong, our country managed to fool all the people for the last 59 years

• MenteriMangkukHayun on Feb 16, 2017 at 6:30 am

lol.. raja lawak ni.. luka dah semakin parah xpi doktor bagi plaster saje..

• Another fella on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:16 am

The poor will continue to be poor when they have the mentality that everything will be ok since i got free stuff. While the poor who works hard and move out of the poor category, they enjoy a nice ride in the comfort of a car. That’s the difference in mindset.

• Ah Kow on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:18 am

What is wrong with out ministers!???
    First a useless race track, now free petrol limited to Putrajaya residence only?

Is that how you help the rakyat dear Gomen?
    I don’t think that is how you help the rakyat….

• Mig29 on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:40 am

Should promote and subsidize electric bike owner. Green, Quite and safe ride.

• superdriver on Feb 16, 2017 at 9:05 am

Now give free petrol…later free makan, just take coupon go to your favorite mamak and makan. Then later fill petrol and go for your mat rempit activities at night , any accident go to GH paid by all hardworking blue color workers in taxes. Semuanya beres while the rest of the people break their backs try to make ends meet.

• thepolygonal on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:55 am

That’s it. Buy motor, park in putrajaya area. Pay friend resident pump to bike, transfer petrol to kontenna.. store until I feel like driving my car there to refuel… kerajaan amat prihatin terhadap rakyat…

• Dedak in the house on Feb 16, 2017 at 1:02 pm

Kapcai full tank just few ltr only.. how many trip you have to refuel and transfer to cntr? By the end of the day, u kene tangkap cangkung masuk itu lori.. duduk dalam diam2..

• FaizalMisman on Feb 16, 2017 at 1:48 pm

DS KuNan, how if i give u free petrol everyday with condition u need to ride a kapchai 1st in every single day? Agree?

• Ben Yap on Feb 16, 2017 at 4:17 pm

kapchai full tank how much only? like that also want to queue. so cheapskate….

• Deadpool on Feb 16, 2017 at 7:50 pm

the worst is no money for healthcare, but got money for stupid motor race track. 30m somemore for useless purpose and encouraging illegal racing. and this again? please develope something useful to the country and malaysian la

• James Si on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:26 am

Why should those lazy buggers be subsidized by the tax payers’ money???