2017 Honda CR-V – Thailand to get 1.6 i-DTEC diesel?

First details of the Thai-spec 2017 Honda CR-V have surfaced on the forums of automotive website Headlight Magazine. If the information is correct, the fifth-generation of the popular family-oriented SUV – which was spotted testing in Thailand – will debut in the Land of Smiles as early as the end of March, ahead of the 2017 Bangkok International Motor Show.

What’s more, the new CR-V is rumoured be offered there for the first time with a turbodiesel – a 1.6 litre i-DTEC four-cylinder engine introduced on the previous generation’s facelift, developing 160 PS at 4,000 rpm and 350 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. Unlike the CR-V’s other engines, which make use of a CVT, the diesel will likely soldier on with the same nine-speed automatic transmission as before.

Aside from the diesel, the new CR-V should also be offered in Thailand with the same petrol engines as the United States. These include a 2.4 litre naturally-aspirated mill that churns out 184 hp at 6,400 rpm and 244 Nm of torque at 3,900 rpm, along with a 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo unit producing 190 hp at 5,600 rpm and 243 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm, slightly higher than the one in the Civic.

Completely redesigned inside and out, the new CR-V is even more practical than before, with a longer wheelbase – 2,660 mm vs 2,620 mm – providing the car with a more spacious cabin. New features include LED head- and tail lights, an Active Grille Shutter, an optional powered tailgate with handsfree opening and a new seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility.

The new CR-V also adds the option of Honda Sensing driver assists, including Collision Mitigation Braking System, Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation, Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC). However, it is unclear if all these features will be offered in ASEAN markets.

Closer to home, the new Honda CR-V is likely one of the four cars that Honda Malaysia plans to launch this year. Do you think there will be a market for a diesel model over here?

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• aloha on Feb 23, 2017 at 7:50 pm

nasib baik tak beli brv or hrv lagi … crv baru sudah mari….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • Wanfumi on Feb 24, 2017 at 7:32 am

Hrv…Brv…Crv…totally on different segments. Clearly you just talk garbage about want to buy a new car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Melissa on Feb 27, 2017 at 11:35 pm

Some people dont really look at the segments as you do when buying cars but more to what they like the most, design, practicality, money in the pockets, gas usage, maintenance. And why dont you buy a ferrari when you like to race on the highway?

• I am proud of my foreign car...... on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:31 pm

I like to buy honda car because it have a recall package for airbag escpcially at petronas station. no need go to service center mehhhh…

• honda diesel engine not good, kimchi diesel much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Kimchi diesel no 1.6L . Minimum also 2.0L . RM90 roadtax only for 1.6L.

• Proton Supporter on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Sure will cut spec n wont come cheap

• Tease here tease there. Unlike superior Virtual Reality tease P2

• DPCraft on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:30 pm

Wow current Gen CR-V lived a short live in Malaysia. 2013-2017 Compared to 3rd gen 2007-2013. So this means the next new CR-V after this 5th gen will be launched here in 2023 ?!?

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:54 pm

Fuh means got chance for them to bring in the diesel model here

• Not so sure about our flip flop government and its biodiesel policy. Can this take b10?

• In the market for a midsized SUV/crossover. Whether I get the full-spec HRV or this CRV would depend on the price difference. Plus a larger CRV may not be as practical as the currently equipment and looks-improved HRV. The new CRV is definitely a better looker than the current one but again if priced too much over 140k and too big and unwieldy…. the HRV may get my money instead.

• idealtech on Feb 27, 2017 at 12:40 am

HRV is not a proper SUV is you had to ask. I’ve sampled the machine and it was a let down. The ride sensation is somewhat like sitting in a Myvi with firmer setup. In the end of the day the ride was very disturbing for me. Go for CRV. Am sure it’ll soak up potholes and uneven surfaces much better.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:51 am

it’s a very good urban crossover. Looks great, lots of luggage space and interior space, lots of places to put stuff (bottles of the water, coffee), lots of USB ports (including fast charging capability) to charge your mobile devices and keep the kids happy. And it’s got a failrly efficient turbo engine. Only downside is that it’s got a CVT. If Europe can get a 9 speed auto on the old CRV diesel, why can’t we?

• horrayooi on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:13 am

I noticed there is temperature gauge on the CRV. Why do you (Honda) treat City,Jazz and other B segment like low cost models, not equip with the temperature gauge. Just 2 blue and red idiot lights. How much can you save? Very annoying. Perodua Axia also get this disease, no gauge.Toyota also the same. Some kind of Japanese cartel
    mentality.

I noticed Korean cars not affected with this disease.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • civicx on Feb 24, 2017 at 10:06 am

great job honda, many new models this year

• farghmee on Feb 24, 2017 at 10:12 am

aku rasa hyundai getz 1.4L tu pon cmtu.

• Harry on Feb 24, 2017 at 10:16 am

Oh yes! With cleaner diesel availability and better mileage, please bring it here. Minus the higher price and tax please.

• “Soldier on with nine speed automatic”? You make nine speed sound ancient, or is there a typo

• Ravindra Kumar Singaram on Feb 24, 2017 at 1:39 pm

For Malaysia, I think they will stick to a 2.0 and a 1.5liter turbo

• Honda should bring the diesel engine here since so many people complain the CRV no power. So the existing 2.0L and 2.4L NA petrol variants should be replaced. 1.5L turbo petrol and 1.6L turbo diesel. Roadtax for anything 1.6L and below is cheap. The frugal diesel engine is good for company car use.

• Boboy on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:28 pm

What will be the fourth honda car? Jazz or Jazz hybrid?

• Top Gear on Feb 25, 2017 at 10:46 pm

i actually prefer the Toyota RAV4, too bad …UMW didn’t bring
    in the RAV4 … and ride on the SUV/cross-over trend… i think they can boost their sales with CHR, RAV4 and Harrier !

• Rev counter on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:44 am

Bring the diesel…very good fc & torquey too