2017 KTM 390 and 250 Duke launched in India – priced at RM15,001 for 390 Duke and RM11,534 for 250 Duke

Updated to Euro 4 and now sporting a TFT LCD dashboard, the 2017 KTM 390 Duke has been launched in India at a price of INR 225,000 (RM15,001). Launched alongside the revamped 390 Duke was the 250 Duke, at a price of INR 173,000 (RM11,534).

Both single-cylinder machines in the previous generation Duke have proven to be very popular in the Indian market, and deliveries of the new generation models begin in March. Notable difference for the updated Dukes is the exhaust exiting on the right side, replacing the the previous model’s under-belly can.

The KTM 390 Duke has a single-cylinder, liquid-cooled 373.2 cc engine fed by EFI. There is no change in the engine for 2016, with power remaining at 44 hp, and dry weight at 147 kg. Ride-by-wire is now standard, along with a multi-function TFT LCD.

As for the KTM 250 Duke – which made it to our top five list of motorcycles in 2016 – the power plant is the same, but the exhaust, like the 390 Duke, exits on the right. An LCD screen and ride-by-wire is also standard equipment.

The middle-weight and quarter-litre Dukes still use a trellis frame, with the rear sub-frame now a bolt-on unit. The somewhat lacking fuel tank of the previous generation Dukes, at 11-litres, has now been replaced with a more useful 13.4-litre unit.

A bisected LED headlight now adorns the front of the 390 Duke, complete with LED DRLs, while the 250 Duke makes do with the previous generation headlight for the Indian market, for cost reasons. Also for cost reasons, the 390 Duke gets Bosch ABS, while the 250 goes without.

Revised graphics and colours are also much in evidence for the 2017 KTM 390 Duke and 250 Duke, which are rather more “aggressive” than previously. A chat with our source in KTM Malaysia revealed that the 2017 KTM 390 Duke and 250 Duke will not arrive in Malaysia “anytime soon.”

GALLERY: 2017 KTM 390 Duke

GALLERY: 2017 KTM 250 Duke

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ben Yap on Feb 24, 2017 at 1:13 pm

i dunno why naked bikes don’t look very good except for ducati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Naked is nice to look or not, is on the eyes of who are looking. Get it? Oh..I mean naked bike..

• Sub_zero on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Simply say you want ducati but at yamaha fz price? Even the italian maker laugh at you

• While in Malaysia, still having troubles to sell the older version. Priced at RM21k, who would want to buy it? Can already get a car for that price.

• alex chan on Feb 24, 2017 at 4:50 pm

A lot people buy it, not only price RM21k, the bike costing above 100K rm oso a lot people buy, msian are rich.r

• AndreZar on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:47 pm

I don’t understand why Malaysia market always have to wait for nice bike!!! i.e Yamaha XSR 900 (actually maybe we will never have this one here) or this new duke!!!

• Need to wait KTM prepare the local assembly 1st. This takes some time

• Sub_zero on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:53 pm

Dear malaysian, this thing Just launched today, at india some more. you expect tomorrow got supplied ready at your nearest motorcycle dealership? Topkek

• Saiful Hamdan on Feb 24, 2017 at 4:43 pm

Not anytime soon? Oh my… I’ll hold on my 200 Duke for now.

• Sub_zero on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:54 pm

Your old 200 problem crumbling from all the previous issue, heck probably have no resale value either

• Ootai on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:39 pm

If ktm 250 duke sells for rm11,500 in mesia, then boon siew honda, kawa & binelli can forget about selling their 250 cc bikes in this bolehland.

• 11k in India turn to 20k in Malaysia..

• How do u know 20k when its not even being considered to sell here? Hole from the rear kah?

• you are not kaki motor!!!
        duke 250 old model… oledi selling here… almost 20k!!!

• Markus sarawak biker on Jun 30, 2017 at 9:39 pm

That old version, new version is 11k u not kaki moto la noob dont talk much

• jerung on Mar 25, 2017 at 10:30 am

why went people hire they pay the same amount as world standard. but when come to bikes/cars/things they ask us to pay the currency converted amount and not the same amount but in our currency.

• Hafiz on Apr 20, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Duke 390 2017 new bila masuk malaysia tak sabar nak beli ..

• Anonymous on May 17, 2017 at 4:35 pm

When is the duke coming to malaysia?

• Simon on Jun 26, 2017 at 10:48 am

Do we get the same price???

• ezuanescence on Aug 24, 2017 at 9:59 am

something fishy in our system, all the good ones we can only see but cant buy.. if can buy oso price went up the hill.