McLaren BP23 three-seater hyper-GT teased – all sold

Woking supercar manufacturer McLaren has released a teaser image of its upcoming, three-seater hyper-GT model, for now known as the BP23. From this rear three-quarter perspective, the BP23 appears to flaunt classic mid-engined proportions, with the suggestion of a distinct cabin-forward posture which should allow its occupants (primarily the driver) a clear forward view, bookended by the tops of the front fenders.

Its rear window slopes down towards the rear end in a manner similar to that of the 720S, with a hint of 458 Italia in the rear haunches as the lines sweep over the rear wheels. Meanwhile, the rear fascia features a much slimmer pair of tail lights, even compared to the slender items on current McLarens.

Just 106 units of the BP23 will be produced, and all have been sold, according to McLaren. Further details are still scarce, but the three-seater hyper-GT is expected to pair electric drive with the M840T 4.0 litre V8 which currently powers the 720S, for a ballpark output figure somewhere between the Super Series car’s 720 PS/770 Nm and the 913 PS/900 Nm of the P1, which is part of the Ultimate Series range.

As suggested by the hyper-GT inclinations, the BP23 will take on more of the 570GT‘s flavour rather than the 720S, in being more road-biased for longer range touring comfort, instead of a single-minded focus on performance and lap times. Certain things haven’t changed though: the BP23 stays true to McLaren’s carbon-fibre construction ethos with its Monocage II monocoque tub and structure.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mikey on Mar 23, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Who cares if its a 3-seater hyper-GT ?!
    Who cares if its a classic mid-engined proportions ?!
    Who if the rear end look like the 720S ?!
    Who cares if the rear fascia features a much slimmer pair of tail lights ?!

I hope someone cared enough to bash me for trying to start a boring subject here instead of commenting on our bread & butter cars that we M’sian are so “proud” of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • sold out even before a test mule is caught in d wild….

Recession be damned….

• How come our Proton cannot sell when we tease here, tease there? I thought we tease longer than the McLaren BP23?

• Holofanboi on Mar 24, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Bloody hell! I gave em a rang to book one and they insisted that my bank account have the required money before they could accept my order!

What the hell are banks for? All I needed was several billion dollars loan. Sigh.