VIDEO: Jaguar F-Type lets its Ingenium four-pot sing

Jaguar recently unveiled a new variant of the F-Type, powered by a 2.0 litre Ingenium four-cylinder turbo petrol engine that develops 300 PS and 400 Nm of torque. If such a combination has you puzzled, don’t worry because the British carmaker has released this video to hopefully win you over.

At the beginning, we are introduced to Ian Hoban, who is the F-Type vehicle line director at the company’s manufacturing centre in the United Kingdom. He then shows us around the plant, while explaining some of the interesting details about the F-Type, including it being the lightest variant it has ever made.

However, in the background, the growl of the four-pot-powered F-Type can be heard clearly, so calling it a “tamed cat” which lacks the excitement of its V6 siblings isn’t exactly fair, wouldn’t you say? If you need a second hearing, jump back to the 52-second mark and plug in your headphones.

The new F-Type variant is available as both a coupe and a convertible, but the only transmission choice for the Ingenium mill is an eight-speed automatic. It is also comes with retuned spring rates to compensate for the reduction in weight as well as new valving for the monotube dampers. Would you choose a four-cylinder F-Type over a V6- or even a V8-powered one?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tokmoh. on Apr 18, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Volvo Drive-E sudah brapa tahun kasi 306 hp, rilek je.

Volvo > all

• Redidiot on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:56 pm

Volvo sudah brapa lama kasi wooden chassis and lifeless steering,mandom je.
      All> Volvo.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:57 pm

this jaguar will breakdown…volvo wouldnt

• tokmoh. on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:59 am

Betul.

The Volvo use Aisin gearbox, that supplies to Toyota and Lexus. Every year they’re top in reliability.

• Redidiot on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Yup, just like the Titanic won’t sink.

• K Kinte on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Amazing how a 2.0 four pot can produce 300PS and 400NM of power. This is what you call research and development. All the engineers work hard and brainstorm ideas and implement them.

Unlike some companies where the designers and engineers just minum teh makan kuih lapis 8x a day. Nothing can come from it.

• Kinte mental masalah club on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Some basher Alson bash 8 times a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Redidiot on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Can you actually back up your claim with solid facts and evidence, or are you just spilling out baseless accusation for political reasons?

• Redidiot on Apr 19, 2017 at 3:15 am

You know what, why don’t you start your very car company. According to you, some people are just genetically better so let’s put it to the test. That is if you’ve the balls.

• passion on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Also the A45 that puts out 381hp/475nm from a 2.0 Turbo. Awesome.

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Beautiful car. Powerful engine. Sexy especially in RED. Awesome growl from the 4-pot, Smooth 8-speed automatic Transmission. Firm but solid suspension.

Did I miss anything ??! Oh, the price. Don’t bother 2 ask bcos if U ask, it also mean U can’t afford. People who buy this usually say – When can U deliver the Car !?

• Redidiot on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:16 pm

And those who can afford them wouldn’t bother with a lame 4 pot, charged 8 motor is the default choice.

• Keman on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:31 pm

This should cost less than a porsche cayman 2.0 in malaysia

• pagan one on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:54 am

Sorry I won’t buy an Indian car