Audi introduces new Universal Traffic Recorder in Australia – coming to Malaysia in September 2017

Audi has launched an OEM dashcam system dubbed the Universal Traffic Recorder (UTR) in Australia, according to a report by CarAdvice. The UTR is part of the Audi Genuine Accessory product line-up, and fulfils the safety standards ADR 69/00, TRIAS 47, ECE-R94 and 96/79/EG.

Available as a single- (front) or dual-camera (front and rear) unit, the UTR can be installed on current A4, A6, A7, A8, Q3, Q5 and Q7 model ranges. Selected models from 2013 onwards are also able to have the system installed as a retrofit.

In terms of specifications, the UTR device is equipped with a full HD camera, radar, GPS and G-shock sensor. It also comes with three surveillance modes – Standard, Parking and Event – whereby the first begins recording when the engine is started, only stopping when the engine is turned off.

The video recordings are stored on a removable 8GB SD card, and should the maximum storage capacity be reached, the device will start recording over the oldest data. In Parking mode, the device is activated when the engine is turned off, continuing to record for more than 72 hours.

Lastly, Event mode will automatically begin recording in the event the accelerometer detects extreme braking, likely during situations when a collision is imminent. The device also features radar-based recording, which is triggered when motion is detected.

Smartphone connectivity is another feature of the UTR, accomplished via a dedicated app for both iOS and Android devices. Through the app, users can adjust various recording and camera settings as well as access the live view, video gallery and car finder function.

Prices (in Australia) start at AUD745 (RM2,380) for a single-camera unit, and AUD845 (RM2,700) for a dual-camera setup. Audi Malaysia has revealed that it plans to introduce the UTR later in September this year, although no official pricing has been disclosed for now.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Meh. TC alredi gips DVR in bog Almera.
    And how does it power during parking, eat from battery? Then it kong very fast!

• policeman on May 09, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Cukur moar kamera AES UTR DVR yadda yadda…

• seancorr (Member) on May 10, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Dude just stick to driving your Almera la since that’s all you can afford. Back to the topic, Audi’s dash cam one ups the BMW offered Advance Car Eye whereby its integrated into smartphones which is a neat feature. For BMW owners we have to access the camera manually via the front dash cam which is a hassle especially when we want to get the video footage but in saying that BMW’s offer is a lot cheaper at 1.4k+ for both front n rear camera plus installation but if u ask me I rather have Audi’s dash cam purely for convenience sake.

• Nenek Kau on May 09, 2017 at 12:56 pm

You can have the same functionality dash-cam for rm250 from mudah.my :)…..except the smartphone connectivity which is really good feature to have.

• Gaviny on May 09, 2017 at 1:14 pm

10 percent of your insurance premium price if your car is fitted with dash cam. Deregulated premium for the win.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 09, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Malaysian government should encourage Malaysians to have their cars installed with traffic recorder to encourage good driving behaviours. Insurance companies should also offer some incentives for having these devices

• If only MY pipu know the wonders of posting outrageous DVR videos on utube like vodkaland pipu. Sure every1 will want install DVR.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 09, 2017 at 8:44 pm

it will break down along with the car

• Ipohmali on May 11, 2017 at 12:39 pm

I just installed my with an app base for viewing purpose only cost me less than RM400. somemore with parking mode even I off my car….

• hondaman on May 11, 2017 at 6:00 pm

mine a yi dashcam (RM200)… got HD & WIFI connection to smartphone but no GPS. U can actually get those dashcam which have the same function as audi for less than RM500.