VIDEO: Baby killed in car that was knocked off North-South Highway, child seat not properly secured

A tragic accident happened on the North-South Highway yesterday that claimed a young life. Bernama reports that a three-month old baby boy died after the car that he was in was knocked-off the road by a stray vehicle at KM433.8 northbound near Kuala Kubu Baru.

The baby, named Aril Rizqin Redza Shahril, was confirmed dead at the Sungai Buloh Hospital. The car was driven by his father Shahril Salleh. The victim’s father, mother and two brothers – aged 4 and 11 – sustained minor injuries.

The footage above is from the dashcam of Kugan Kathegesen, who was just behind when the accident occurred. It shows the white hatchback minding its own business in the slow lane when a black sedan from the middle lane slowly veered to the left.

It initially nudged the white car, before bouncing back for a full shoulder barge that knocked it off the road and into the drain. The offending car, driven by one S. Nishanty according to Hulu Selangor police, then spun into the divider.

Eyewitness Kugan stopped to help the extricate the baby, who was trapped in the car. The young victim was removed from the vehicle bloody and motionless, according to the kind soul. PLUS’ highway patrol called for the ambulance, which arrived 30 minutes later.

It fills us with sadness and anger to learn about this incident and to see how it happened – a completely innocent family now mourns their loss child. The victim’s parents did invest in a child seat, but as seen in other images, it was found outside of the car and Kugan did not notice a child seat when lending help. As the rest of the family escaped with minor injuries, a properly installed child seat might have made a difference.

It’s a reminder for parents with young children – remember to provide the right type of child seats and ensure that the seats are correctly installed for maximum protection. Then, the child must be strapped in properly. The most common mistakes include:

• Child seat installed incorrectly or too loose – very common.
  • Inappropriate car seat for the child’s age, height and weight, i.e. three-year-old in an infant carrier, or in a booster seat.
  • Child seat installed, but child not bucked in or very loosely harnessed – either because child complained it’s too tight, or child unbuckled themselves.
  • Child harnessed, but seat not installed – parents thinking as long as the child is buckled in, they’re safe.
  • Incorrect harness slot used – certain seats require harness slot changes as the child grows.
  • Using damaged or expired car seats.

Remember to tick the above checklist before setting off, even for short journeys. Make sure both the child seat and the child are properly harnessed. The video above shows you what to look out for, and how it’s done. Let’s make it a habit.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Again the back passenger compartment appears smashed in. Could the baby seat have really saved the baby? Or is it the car’s poor safety standards which could have actually killed an innocent child?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 20
    • AES No Use on May 29, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Speed don’t kills. Silly driver does.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 3
      • s.h.tsu on May 30, 2017 at 9:18 am

from cam does not look like speeding.driver of black car should have her phone check if she was texting , from camera it looks like a momentary not focus on road

• Sama L00 on May 30, 2017 at 11:44 am

If it is a Saga, a lot more damage will be found. By the way, safer Proton (Suprima S, Perdana, Preve) all are in showroom, not on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • nosushi on May 30, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Why? Axia got VSC kah?

• Sama L00 on May 30, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Your Saga also no VSC. 99.99% Proton on the road (Wira, Waja, Gen2, Persona, Iswara, Satria, Arena, Tiara, Juara, Perdana, Saga) have no VSC too.
            I said already safer Proton (Suprima S, Perdana, Preve) all are in showroom, not on the road. No one want to buy so what?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • kakaka on May 30, 2017 at 9:08 pm

99 % ? You count using eyes kah? More and more preve persona iriz on road la, pity you still stay in cave

Kahkahkah

• Dashcam saves lives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • Faiz Roslan on May 29, 2017 at 3:32 pm

Belasungkawa to the deceased. Tragedies like these will be a thing of the past with Proton having successfully acquired Volvo DNA. Always rakyat first. Terima kasih Malaysia. – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 61
      • pak atan on May 29, 2017 at 4:10 pm

This idiot, completely insensitive as theStar frontpage.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
        • Pak Dil on May 29, 2017 at 8:20 pm

this Faiz Roslan…wait until it happen to your child..really insensitive… no empathy at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • jack sepang on May 30, 2017 at 8:47 am

ape la hang bro faiz komen tak tengok kiri kanan.. mana simpati hang… nasik dah jadi bubur.. komen main balun aje.. dah kereta hitam tu himpit kereta axia malang tu.. takziah pada keluarga si mati.

• Amran on May 30, 2017 at 11:04 am

The proton persona steering lock.. malfunction and killed innocent people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • The baby would have a higher chance to live if he was in a childseat. HIGHER CHANCE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Compare to a flying baby on the road?
      Yes, definitely, not saying guarantee safe, but definitely higher chances

• There have been worst accidents with child seat properly installed saved the baby. Although you can never know, but try to minimize risk and follow the proper way to install the car seat. Using a car seat is always better then non at all. :)

• I had a 6 cars pile ups when my first child was 1.5 years old. The child seat i installed saved her life. That was 20 years ago, today my first child is already an adult. Child seats are expensive, inconvenient, uncomfortable and trouble some to install and strap down properly, but it save lifes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 2
  • Looking at the video clip above, the driver of the other car which caused the accident and loss of life was probably on the mobile fone, sleeping or drunk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 3
    • Krishna on May 29, 2017 at 1:40 pm

That my thoughts too. I think the driver was asleep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • TontoChic on May 29, 2017 at 2:06 pm

Highway rest areas exist for obvious reasons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
        • tokmoh. on May 29, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Unfortunately, many will continue to overestimate their fitness to drive.

Pretty common to hear auditors, doctors, etc slept on wheels and crashed. After long hours at work, the body is just too fatigued, but many will say “nothing la, everyday drive ok la, can la, just short drive only”. Some people refuse to believe they’re too tired to drive.

This Persona driver among the luckier ones to survive, but sadly, the baby became the victim. RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
          • For those fatigued after extreme-long hours of work, please, please ride with Uber or Grab and do not drive and harm other drivers on the road.

• tokmoh. on May 29, 2017 at 11:23 pm

Easier said than done. After over 24 hours working, sometimes no sleep at all, they just wanna get back ASAP. The car key is in their pocket, walking to car is faster than taking out phone click click call uber/grab.

It’s pretty common to hear them sometimes say they can’t remember the drive at all. They can only remember they get into car, and suddenly they’re home, totally forgetting the entire thing happened in between.

In hindsight, easy to say “in that situation, take uber/grab for ur safety”, but when thrown in that situation, that is not the obvious choice.

The only cure is to get to the heart of the problem : Malaysian ugly working culture.

Auditors usually work late cuz while their deadline don’t change, clients always procrastinate. With tighter timeline, it’s literally industry norm for auditors to work very long hours. This culture needs to a massive shake up.

What I cannot understand meanwhile is what’s happening in medical industry. Sekejap say now got too many doctors, then next thing I see is doctors go on-call for stupid long hours. If there’s too many doctors, why not spread shift more equally so that no need to concentrate looong hours at a time? We got too much doctor or not?

Just within last year, I’ve at least read 3 news of doctors/(I suspect)auditors killed due to driving in fatigue and crashing into toll booths la, trees la. Some people laugh those accident happen at 3am, assume must be mabuk, padan muka die, but you’ll never know the real truth.

If you’re in this line, tough life. If you’re not, cukurlah you got better work-life balance. No sarcasm.

• That car didnt have EBD, ABS,apa2 tu.. sbb tgk dia tarik ke kanan terus melayang lepas langgar axia tu… dan axia tu model basic.. mmg takde jgk semua safety tu… tu sbb murah.. perodua, menang kat marketing je dan harga murah.. safety penumpang tak da…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
      • Mokmok on May 29, 2017 at 3:23 pm

So judging from a dashcam video you can conclude everything..not even tire marks, collition angle, road surface etc to be count on? And from the video i think it’s a Standard G car which has ABS..read more bro! Its an article about the importance of child car seat not the car itself, pay millions also if the accidents happened with high speed collition can’t do nothing except pray for God Fosaken!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Ulkamikup on May 29, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Shhhh..dont talk about drunk lor. Where got benefit alcoholic drink? Tell me. Nanti got people butt hurt. Hahahahahah

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 133
  • IdiotDriver on May 29, 2017 at 12:57 pm

I don’t know what the idiot driver doing ? He/she must be using the phone or sleeping while driving ! He/she should be charge for homicide !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • Diana on May 29, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Car seat has an expiry date? Thats new knowledge to me. Thanks, will read up more on it!

• The Civic driver seemed like he/she dozed off on the wheel

• Misleading title like the star on May 29, 2017 at 1:07 pm

Please paultan team, please at least have a little bit humanity in you. I agree that the proper child seat is essential. But that poor baby died because of the Proton’s driver in the first place. And your title in this article is like blame the axia family car. Please la, have a heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 78
    • Author did not blame the victim. Accidents happen, which is why we wear seatbelts and we invest in child seats. The accident could not have been prevented by the victim, but the devastating outcome of an unforeseen circumstances such as this would have likely been minimised had the child been properly strapped in. The key point here is doing what you can to the best that you can especially when it comes to safety whilst driving.

The offending driver could have had a multitude of circumstances resulting in the loss of control of the car other than irresponsibility. Shall we still cover our ears and our eyes refusing to accept an ounce of responsibility should we lose life in an accident caused by for example, aquaplaning, because we had failed to strap a child to his seat? Or would you still blame the puddle of water on the road?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • nope. no sympathy for parents/guardians who doesnt care.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/mom-says-rear-facing-car-seat-saved-her-son-in-a-horrific-crash_us_56a10106e4b0404eb8f0702b

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • Joachim on May 29, 2017 at 8:05 pm

My sympathies to the parents. The parents did at the least place the child in a child seat as you may have read. Have some compassion!! Used it correctly or now we do not know. Who are we to judge!!
        Bad enough that their child was killed but what makes it unacceptable is remarks that BASTARDS like this makes. If you wish to make a difference in society, do something, educate those who know less. Donate and educate others who can’t afford car seats.

• unifiedguy on May 29, 2017 at 1:09 pm

an accident as bad as this, dont think it would have been much of a help
    (not saying child seats are useless, just saying, in this particular case…. well)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • iRobot on May 29, 2017 at 1:12 pm

Volvo autonomous driving & LaneWatch technology. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Firdaus on May 29, 2017 at 1:40 pm

$$$$$$$$$

Period

• paparadzi (Member) on May 29, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Taxes that makes all those technologies unaffordable. Period.

• Its unafordable anywhere cuz volvo autonomous tech still in R&D. Wanna hentam, get ur facts right.

• paparadzi (Member) on May 29, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Lane watch technologies existed for most of the marques in the world. Unfortunately they are usually deleted for Malaysian-spec vehicles to keep cost down. Compare, for example, what we have in a Malaysian version of the latest Audi A4 compared to what is available in the model for more sophisticated markets.

• Hyundai here can gip BLIS that even topkek Accord dun have. Why ah?

• Very true

Exorbitant duties killed the safety specs & pipu

• kzm (Member) on May 29, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Pretty much ASEAN country not oni bolehland..

• Atifjeelan on May 30, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Try Hyundai Ioniq. This car got lane keeping assist and semi autonomous system installed. Price start from RM114k. But sadly this is the cheapest car with that technology.

• pengayuhbasikal on May 29, 2017 at 1:14 pm

probably…the mother was breastfeeding her baby …3 months old baby….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Did you choose not to read the story before commenting? The baby was in a child seat that wasn’t properly secured and was thrown out of the car during the accident

• SHAH REZA on May 29, 2017 at 1:21 pm

Very commendable of Mr.Kugan of 2 obvious deeds, the evidence he recorded and the help he initiated.
    Malaysia motorists ought to have camcorder in the car so what actually happened can be taken as legal material.
    My sympathy to the family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Leafable on May 29, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Doesn’t matter how safe you drive. Thats always someone else will hit you. Both car don’t have ESP and lack of airbags. And getting a proper car seat and utilise it properly. Money is not everything. Spend it if you have it don’t save it. Life is more important than money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on May 29, 2017 at 2:09 pm

In that situation ESP will not help..it might not even activated

• Lanekeep Assist wud have helped. But only hyundai car makes it affordable level.

• Atifjeelan on May 30, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Please people, road in Malaysia is dangerous. Invest in car with safety features.

• Mikey on May 29, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Bravo & Kudos to Mr Kugan. U have shown that there is hope to emulate U for the sake of M’sia.

It is sad that despite um-teem reminder & warning by our authority, there is still people holding their baby/toddler in front of the seat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Haahahaha on May 29, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Jail the father?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • ESP Pro on May 29, 2017 at 2:08 pm

The problem all starts with those cars are not equipped with ESP. That’s it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 29, 2017 at 2:14 pm

30 minutes for the ambulance to arrive?
    And then another 20 minutes to the hospital

People just stand there doing nothing, bring the baby and victims straight to the hospital la.
    Plus Ronda Polis also kayu, just bring them straight to the hospital.
    The accident scene can wait later, saving lives comes first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Mikey on May 29, 2017 at 6:40 pm

I would like to think that U are a kind man who like to help people in distress but I don’t think U are in a position to judge those people bcos U are not there. In this case, let their maker be the judge.

It is better to let a professional/Dr/Nurse to do the job bcos U don’t want to get blamed or sued for “helping” unless U really know what U are doing.

That is why U must always “shout” out – Is there a Dr here or can someone please call an Ambulance. Sometime U can actually aggravate the situation/injury further when U help but ended up making the injury worst. No pun or malice intended here bro. Thanks for your concern.

• 4 lanes.... on May 29, 2017 at 2:44 pm

With speed limits of just 110 km/h for these long wide roads, one must wonder how alert drivers can be.

Sadly, had either the black car or the white car “kept left unless overtaking”, the unnecessary life taken could have been spared.

RIP.. just need to stay alert on the road and always be aware of your mirrors/surrounding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Dude, the white car was on the most left lane, and doesn’t overtake anyone. The black car should be aware.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • 4 lanes.... on May 30, 2017 at 11:39 am

Watch the video closely and clearly again please. With 20 likes on your comment, I am worried with how many people are blind and do not agree on the “Keep left unless overtaking” ruling.

There are clearly 4 lanes on the freeway.

The white car was in lane number 2, with the 1st lane empty. The black car was in lane number 3 and slowly swerved into lane number 2 before colliding into the white car and stopping at lane number 4.

• For those who do not know. on May 31, 2017 at 8:42 am

Keep left unless overtaking means that, regardless of how fast you’re driving, you are to be on the far most left lane. The only time you ever go to any of the lanes on the right is when you need to overtake someone.

So 4 lanes is right that if either one of the drivers followed that rule on that day, this fatality would have been prevented.

If the black car was on lane 1, it would have just crept into the emergency lane.

If the white care was on lane 1, the black car would have crept into an empty lane 2.

• CCB black car driver, drive slow slow also kena hit.

• aimran on May 29, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Cantik Bukan Lagi Fantasy

• LimPek on May 29, 2017 at 3:13 pm

Mahathir should put to the blame.
    He increased car price 200-300% after Proton.
    Now, good quality car is beyond our reach.
    Average people can afford poor quality car only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
  • MaluSayaMalaysian on May 29, 2017 at 4:25 pm

I think some of our drivers sometimes…..really dont deserve a license, or obtained from kopi-0 ones…..
    Really auto and their driving skill, courtesy suck.

Sad to say this, but its true…..

• Solve on May 29, 2017 at 5:06 pm

One innitiative, Gov should force car manufacturer include child seat package into car loan. Not just new cars, also for used car purchase. So, buyer can opt to purchase 1,2,3 child seat include into auto puchasing loan..this will solve a lot of things. The reason people dont want to buy child seat because its expensive. Easy for someone who have many digits in their accounts. But for family who only just have enough penny to pay for installment and petrol?? Even to renew insuran wait bonus hujung tahun…pity them. But they still need small hb car like axia to make sure their children so they can commute easily.

• Aero (Member) on May 29, 2017 at 5:16 pm

This is very sad and tragic news… my condolences to the victims family.

At the end of the video, it was nice to see a few people stopping to help. No doubt, these people saved the victims lives.

As a precaution, everyone should maintain basic situational awareness while driving. It is good practice to keep an eye on any nearby cars and motorbikes.

Another thing which could have prevented this accident is electronic stability control (ESC). It looks like the driver of the black car was in a GEN2 / CM Persona, which doesn’t have ESC. If ESC doesn’t prevent it altogether, at least it would have softened the impact on the white Axia driver.

Drive safely guys.

• ESC can help in this situation but Lanekeep Assist can. However watching the video, the black car driver probably got shocked at seeing Dr V on the billboard and swerved the car. Lols

• Firdaus on May 29, 2017 at 5:31 pm

we should put mahathir behind bars for this….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • ahmad on May 29, 2017 at 8:05 pm

itu preve ejen towtruck. cuma kali ini sudah silap dia sekali sangkut. LPT banyak kereta mcm ni saga tonggek, wira etc selalu terfikir mengapa kereta boleh masuk longkang padahal jalan lurus? inilah sebabnya. driver preve mesti kenal ramai towtruck/workshop.

• Busy read or replying messages probably??

• Andy Kow on May 29, 2017 at 9:11 pm

“initially nudged the white car, before bouncing back for a full shoulder barge”

From the video there was no initial contact. Either the driver was dozing off or distracted. Very sad that Malaysian drivers aren’t​ educated with the proper driving techniques. Condolences to the family.

• I am glad that now people are aware of the importance of infant car seats after 10 years, I have been promote and educate parents to use it.

• AHMAD ZAHAR A W on May 29, 2017 at 11:36 pm

Its the habitual driving mentality of many Malaysian motorist. To purposely give other drivers near misses to show off their more expensive and branded cars I.e.intentional bullying and this time it went wrong at a cost of an innocent child. Its sheer many motorists arrogance.

• TheDean on May 30, 2017 at 9:03 am

What could possibly be a factor here is the probability that the lady driver was looking at her mobile phone, realized that she was veering too closely, over compensated when swerving to the right, and when became aware of that fact she accelerated instead of braking and swerved even more to the left ending up in the front of the white car. Police should check her mobile device to see if it was used during the subjected time period.

• s.h.tsu on May 30, 2017 at 9:40 am

should have the phones check if using at time of accident.texting?reading?

• JackTen37 on May 30, 2017 at 10:43 am

It’s quite obvious the driver of the black vehicle was either
    A) texting or
    B)Dozing off at the wheel.
    First impact was unforeseen, followed by panicked reaction, loss of control and involuntary final slam into white car.

• Vincent Ang on May 30, 2017 at 12:00 pm

How tragic. The baby has gone to meet A!!ah.

• rosdi on May 30, 2017 at 10:54 pm

With the back of the Perodua Axia crushed like that… would a child seat help?

• Maynard James Keenan on May 31, 2017 at 12:01 am

If the driver who caused the accident was drunk, I propose that alcohol is banned in the country. Too many stupid drunkards causing fatal accidents. Anyway, let us wait for the final report and pray that the grieving family is okay and justice is served.

• Don’t blame the father. They are the victim. The careless lady driver who suspected texting while driving should take the responsible. Why put on the father for not buying a safe car seat. Do you think an expensive car seat can safe the baby?..look closely how the impact..

• Condolences to the family for their loss.

Road users out there, have more awareness while driving / ridding. It might not be your fault, but with little more awareness thing can be avoided.

Over the years, the roads had been a lethal zone. Use it with pure consciousness of your safety as well as other.