UberEATS food delivery service now in Kuala Lumpur

Uber has launched its UberEATS food delivery service in Malaysia. For now, the service is limited to Kuala Lumpur neighbourhoods such as the central business districts, Bangsar and Damansara Heights, the Malay Mail Online reports. UberEATS is already available in 27 countries across over 100 cities worldwide.

“At Uber, we’re always looking for ways to bring Malaysians more choices at the touch of a button. This time, we are bringing consumers, restaurant-partners, and delivery-partners together in a digital marketplace celebrating Malaysia’s great cuisine and love of food. Using the power of Uber’s technology, we are going to help Malaysians enjoy the right food they want, right now — at the touch of a button,” said UberEATS GM for Malaysia and Singapore Shri Chakravarthy Gopalakrishnan.

The service is available from today and Uber says there are over 200 restaurants offering everything from local favourites to Western cuisine. The average order takes 35 minutes from start to finish, and UberEATS is available from 9am till midnight. Payment can be made via credit/debit card, and delivery charges start from RM5 with no minimum order.

We downloaded the UberEATS app (it’s a separate app from Uber, available on the App Store and Google Play) and found a wide variety of choices, from the neighbourhood mamak and banana leaf restaurants to cafes and atas food. I’ll skip the lunch parking woes and try the service out sometime next week!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wow my chikuteh meal arriving.

• Ruslan Bahari on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Just like any other food service delivery aggregator, I will avoid this. The food is handled after pickup by a third party i.e the service provider. I really don’t know the hygiene level they maintain.

• Terence Tee on Oct 01, 2017 at 1:51 pm

After years of living in Malaysia, finally there’s UberEATS. This is great! However, I live in PJ, hopefully they’ll expand soon. Curious to see if the service will be as efficient as it is in the UK :/