Petronas Dagangan plans for 100 EV charging stations

Petronas Dagangan (PDB) will be expanding its electric vehicle (EV) charging station network, which it began implementing a year ago, from an initial 66 stations to 100.

The company made this announcement at the 8th International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition & Conference Malaysia (IGEM 2017), where it signed a tripartite partnership agreement with Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) and Tenaga Nasional Berhad Energy Services (TNBES), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Tenaga Nasional.

Through the partnership, PDB will commit to install 100 ChargEV charging points at its stations nationwide by 2018. It added that it will explore the possibility of increasing the number of ChargEV locations gradually, in tandem with market demand.

The company will also look into making the energy used to power the ChargEV points fully renewable and completely carbon-free by installing solar photovoltaic (PV) panels at the stations offering the charging facilities.

In addition, the partnership will also look at transforming the selected 100 stations into Energy Efficient Stations (E2S) with the use of energy efficient lighting and air-conditioners as well as with the integration of an energy management system.

The partnership is an extension from that signed between PDB and GreenTech Malaysia last year to install 66 ChargEV stations. To date, 55 stations have been installed at Petronas stations nationwide. Existing ChargeEV points at the Petronas stations are New Motion three-phase 32A, 400 volt 22 kW units. The fast charger is IP54 rated, making it suitable for outdoor use.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• NIZZAN on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:13 am

Hopefully no need to wait long queue like the NGV

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 13, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Petronas is doing this but our 2 national car companies have to plans or clue about EV, PHEV or even 10 year old Hybrid technology.

Proton and Perodua should sync themselves with Petronas into promoting EV. How long do you want to sleep Proton and Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Anonymous on Oct 13, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Proton have been experimenting with EVs for quite a while. The latest iteration, the Iriz EV was introduced not long ago and could go 300km. It looked very much like a production ready unit despite being a prototype. There is also the Geely Emgrand, currently in production in China and has a range of around 300km as well. So when they are planning on putting an EV into production, Proton won’t be starting from zero.

• Tido oh tido on Oct 13, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Got EV concept ady, how long do you want to sleep?

• What a waste on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:56 am

EV charging stations @ Petrol Station is such a stupid idea.

2 hours for a full charge (20-30km real world usage) for most PHEV, what are we supposed to do at petrol stations for 2 hours? Not to mention most Petronas EV stations spots are always occupied by non-EV cars anyway, bad enforcement.

Better to have more of these at more malls/shopping area where there are things to actually do while waiting.

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:47 am

You can go get a cup of coffee & eat some snacks.

Shell’s petrol station are getting a makeover to make it more comfortable to lepak in. Petronas should also consider making over their stations as well.

• You gonna lepak for 4-5 hours at a petrol station? I mean I don’t even spend more than 20 minutes at R&Rs…

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 13, 2017 at 11:17 am

These are additional charging ports for the convenience of EV cars. The charging ports are already installed in most shopping centers & commercial buildings around major towns if you are not aware.

• PHEV Driver on Oct 13, 2017 at 2:18 pm

I know some malls and buildings already have them. But the installation of them at petrol stations is a waste of resources/infrastructure that could be used to be installed at more offices/malls/destinations.

• kepala sakit on Oct 13, 2017 at 11:27 am

what’s wrong with you, implement salah, tak implement salah, of course Petronas don’t have the power to implement in the shopping mall, and to setup charging station outside their territory is expensive. So they did it at their own territory

• Nothing wrong. on Oct 13, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Nothing wrong. You on the other hand, please think properly.

My statement is that it is a stupid idea to put them at petrol stations.

It takes 2 hours for a full charge on current PHEVs, providing only 20-30 km real world range. So you’re happy with spending 2 hours at a petrol station for that additional 20-30km?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Anonymous on Oct 14, 2017 at 7:34 pm

It’s a prep for the near future. Fast charging tech has improved and still continuing to improve. We are now seeing times in terms of minutes for a quarter of full charge, or around 50-60km average for a sedan EV. Toshiba has made a breakthrough that allows a 300km range for under 10 minutes of charging for a hatchback. These are charging for EVs, not the smaller batteries of PHEVs. We might not be seeing these fast charging cars on our roads in the next 10 years, but that doesn’t mean we should wait 10 years to start building our infrastructure.

• Anonymous on Oct 13, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Toshiba is closing in on a battery technology that allows a 32kWh battery to be charged in 6 minutes. Batteries and charging technology are speeding up in development. Now is the right time to do this.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 13, 2017 at 4:16 pm

why cant u just charge at ur house? charge full at home.. charge at charging station when needed. Other country do just like that.

• What if it was solar panel? on Oct 15, 2017 at 12:23 am

Even better solution is use solar panel on roof to charge on the go IF the solar are able to fast charge as the smartphone does…

• Nurman on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:16 am

EV charging stations will be time consuming. How long will it take to charge adequately a car and how long will it take to WAIT for another customer to finish charging? ChargeEV Fast charger takes 1 hour to charge. Got 2 cars in front of you, better sleep for 2 hours first. Total waste of time.

Better to make valet parking with charging ports while having meeting or shopping rather than waiting for hours at petrol station.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:23 am

Good move for Petronas. A step in the right direction to become the greenest fuel station, pun intended.

2 problems though.
    1) When can we buy affordable EV cars?
    2) When can we stop other cars from using the EV lots. I’ve seen these Charging station on several Petronas stations, all with normal cars in the lots.

Now with Shell buying up New Motion, I wonder if Petronas will still get the New Motion chargers.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 13, 2017 at 11:14 am

Unless I’m wrong, these charging port is only limited to those who least EV cars from ONE company. It cannot be used to charge other private EV cars or EV bikes. At least open up the service & let users pay using touch & go cards.

• 12yrsold on Oct 13, 2017 at 12:33 pm

M’sia have almost 365 days of sunshine. By installing solar photovoltaic (PV) panels as charging facilities is a smart move.

My question is why not install at All petrol stations regardless of brand?! By doing so, we will have more charging stations & may stake our claim as a developed nation.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 13, 2017 at 4:22 pm

because other brand still not have plan to install EV charging station.

• As usual the spot will be occupied by a non ev car. Nothing new there.

• Who cares la on Oct 13, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Charged wat??? Handphones laptops?? Wat..wat has gone wrong here…

• You need TNB on Oct 23, 2017 at 5:02 pm

you need TNB , Genarotor and power bank. Solar also can, not petronas

• Ambik itu on May 04, 2018 at 1:14 am

You can’t charge an electric car using portable solar panels. It simply doesn’t provide enough power. For example, a 12 volt battery must be recharged by a power source that offer at least 12.9 volts. A portable solar panel that can fit on the rooftop of a car does not have this much power. Even if you buy some electrical products that allow you to increase the voltage and allow you to charge the battery (I’m not sure such device exist, but please correct, professional electricians), it will take at least a week to charge a car like Tesla.

According to here https://www.solarquotes.com.au/blog/charging-electric-cars/ the surface area of the solar panels would have to be 8.1 meters. That’s 2 meters wide and 4 meters long. Not gonna fit on the roof of your car. You also wouldn’t want to carry that kind of bulk in your trunk everywhere.

• steady la on Jul 14, 2018 at 8:10 pm

come lets quarrel about this