Honda Malaysia introduces Ultra Body Coating service

Honda Malaysia is expanding the care aspect for Honda vehicles beyond that of the usual after-sales service with the introduction of a new Ultra Body Coating. It’s a paint protection application to help maintain the exterior finish of any Honda model, and the neat part about this one is that it can be done without any concerns of voiding the vehicle’s paint warranty, because it’s fully authorised by the company.

Tested and approved by Honda Access, an authorised brand for Honda accessories in Japan, the Ultra Body Coating is a glass-based coating that has a 9H hardness rating – that’s good enough to protect the paint and colour on car body surfaces from the effects of heat, UV rays, iron dust, bird droppings, tar and even small stones, the company says. For a good while too, because one application of the coating is said to be good enough to provide a shine lasting up to three years.

Honda Malaysia is offering the Ultra Body Coating at a discounted price of RM2,880, inclusive of labour and GST. The package is covered by a three-year warranty and includes two free maintenance sessions, carried out in six month intervals over the first year. Charges will only apply if any further maintenance is necessary beyond that (terms and conditions apply).

Honda customers who are interested can bring their cars to the nearest authorised panel for coating or seek out Honda dealers, who will be able to assist in making the necessary arrangements. The Ultra Body Coating is available nationwide, except in Langkawi, Labuan, Miri, Sibu and Bintulu.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• James Lev on Oct 17, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Coating is a scam. Its just a layer of oil above the paint of the car. Completely overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • ryder0707 on Oct 17, 2017 at 6:27 pm

What you mean scam? Mine after 1 year still glossy shine and super easy to wash. Every time after normal wash is like polish. Clearly u talk rubbish and never try before. U just need find a good auto detailer without paying too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
      • triton on Oct 18, 2017 at 7:04 am

where did u do coating? how much?

• Malaysia Got Free Parking on Oct 18, 2017 at 3:23 pm

buy your own wax and do it yourself. No need RM2888

RM100 also cukup

• Kevlar singh on Oct 18, 2017 at 7:19 pm

MY pipu so much money. RM2888 so cheap!

• Zlatan on Oct 18, 2017 at 11:53 am

agreed. Mine is now on the third year. With 6 monthly maintenance coating my car is still in superb condition.

• Gaviny on Oct 17, 2017 at 7:45 pm

I can’t agree more. It reminds me of 1997 in every shopping mall there is a demonstrator bonnet for waxes , old crt tv showing grainy video of the wax resisting anything out on it. Real paint protection is a paint protection film . Dirt we can wash but scratches and stone chips will never go away

• It is just too expensive here. You can actually coat it yourself for about RM200 but most companies sell you to coat between Rm2000 to RM6000 with 2 to 5 year warranty. Must go every year to top up and also pay a few hundred ringgit to maintain their so called warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Nerozero on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:52 pm

What? $200 tell me where to buy. First and foremost, you need to have a sound swirl free surface before applying. Also you need to be hands on by applying within controlled temperature and removing it before fully cured. Do it wrongly and you’ll need to strip it and repaint the whole area. Talking is easy. Try doing it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • Repaint?? Dude it is not painting la, just apply some chemical on the body only.
          Boss won’t sell bottle, so get the name of supplier from the worker and buy direct.

Don’t be stupid believing all the techno babble the shop boss feed you….go spy on how they really apply these coatings after all the customers are away.

• Nerozero on Oct 19, 2017 at 12:28 pm

I’m selling the coating to big manufacturers myself. And it is people like you that we refrain from selling. Once the coating dries and I fetch it is “installed” wrongly, you’ll need to compound or polish it away. If you’ve applied it correctly ( and removing the excess ) compounding it is easy. 3-4 passes of coarse grade will remove it. But if it is done by people like you, it’ll take longer.
            You don’t know what it is you’ll just mention it as chemical. Aboviouly you know nothing. If the customers are away and they do it differently, please you’ve patronized a wrong shop. Or you’re getting what you’re paying. If you can’t pay people to do it, and you don’t have the money to spend on it, just do your conventional wax and polish system. Or your car is too worthless for glass/ silica coating to begin with.

• HM knows this thick margin, the SA side income kena sapu…lol

• Altisse on Oct 17, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Toyota Mazda’s Aqua-tech Paint System won many accolades in creating sophisticated design colours such as their signature Soul Red.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • aziz ibrahim on Oct 17, 2017 at 6:38 pm

I want to have my BMW 528i (F10) coated. Is to possible?

• Big cars like the 5 series command premium pricing. If you have time, better to do polishing and waxing yourself every 6 months. Takes only 6 hours on a Sunday.

• MusangKing on Oct 17, 2017 at 6:55 pm

RM2880 treatment? Can tahan our Mesia super duper scorching hot weather ka?? where dashboard oso can warp and melt wor…..

• Driver's Choice on Oct 17, 2017 at 9:02 pm

Actually a real hard coating is done by spraying by car painting shop & “PARROT” brand is normally a recommended one. This kind of coating can withstand stone chips for a few yrs. The so called “coating” by Honda is just a kind of hard waxing layer which unable to withstand any stone chips. It’s just to reduce number of times to wax but need to do “topping up” every 6 months to maintain the shinning of the wax. This hard waxing can be DIY for just a few hundreds ringgits with using Japan products also.

• Jeremey Clarksun on Oct 18, 2017 at 1:44 am

Lol, no need to coating lorr.. Just keep your car under the garage and never used it xp

• David on Oct 18, 2017 at 3:12 am

AMZ selling this for US$15.

• LoverboyMan on Oct 18, 2017 at 9:41 am

Just buy some premium car product and DIY every month. Exercise and sweat it out, at the same time….

• I hve done 3 PPS coating for my cars and its wonderful. Needless to go for over the hill coating offers in the market. 2k and above sounds like a scam and i doubt their workmanship.. 5hrs of coating process for new cars per my past exp. 6months servicing isnt compulsory if u dont expose the cars under torrid sun all the long. Additionally, I waxed the cars quaterly using carnauba wax.

• Ben Yap on Oct 18, 2017 at 10:21 pm

RM2880 is way too expensive. You can get RM1500 for 5 years warranty and free re-coating if got accident.

• sohhai on Oct 19, 2017 at 11:13 am

Why pay RM2880 for coating? It only protect against minor stone chipping or scratches but not the hard ones. Save up the money and do a body paint spray on the affected areas every few years.