Peugeot Traveller MPV now in Malaysia – RM199,888

The Peugeot Traveller finally has a price tag, after being on preview earlier this year as part of a KL SEA Games fleet sponsorship programme. The eight-seater MPV is priced at RM199,888 OTR without insurance.

Under the hood is a 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine, producing 150 hp and 370 Nm of torque, driving the front wheels using a six-speed Aisin torque converter automatic transmission. The Traveller is built on a monocoque EMP2 chassis, and the one available in Malaysia is the Standard length version, which sits in between the Compact and Long versions available globally.

It’s quite a sizeable vehicle, measuring 4,956 mm long with a 3,275 mm wheelbase. It rides on 17-inch wheels wrapped with 215/60R17 tyres, and there’s a full-size spare mounted externally underneath the rear luggage area.

Our eight-seater model’s seats are installed in a 2-3-3 formation, and each of the six seats in rows two and three has its own three-point seatbelt and Isofix mounts for child seats, which provide for good flexibility in installation for families.

Both sliding doors are powered, but the tail gate is manual. The air conditioning system is dual zone, and there are vents for the second and third row mounted on the ceiling.

The equipment list is good – xenon headlamps, LED DRLs, auto headlamps and wipers, a reverse camera with a 180 degree top view function, a panoramic sunroof, cruise control, blind spot monitoring and sun blinds for the second row. The front seats are eight-way electrically adjustable. The audio system uses a seven-inch multi-function colour touchscreen.

In terms of safety, other than the six Isofix mounts for the second and third row, you also get six airbags which extend to the third row, and the complete assortment of ABS, EBD, hill start assist and stability control.

For those with kids, the child lock is electrically-operated, so you can turn it on and off with the touch of a button, and there’s a child mirror as well to go with the auto dimming rear view mirror.

From what we hear, a limited number of units used for the KL SEA Games are going for a promo price of RM169,888, which is RM30k off the list price.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:55 am

I hate to say bad about a Pug but this MPV is too boxy to be able to entice a price tag of RM 200k. Sorry Pug, the problem is there are a few MPV that cost less & looks better. I’m not going to name names here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • The hugely versatile Kia Carnival smashes most MPVs on specs and practicality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
  • James on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:07 am

Irrelevant brand in MY. Skip!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Golfer on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:08 am

Specs might be good but it looks like a cheap people mover vehicle like the Starex. What makes it worse is the badge which is not enticing too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • bobby on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:12 am

Had the chance to ride in one. Not bad at all. 200k is to pricey thou. 160k would the right price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:14 am

Rather poor output for a 2000 cc engine. Torque is respectable though.

• If they bring in the 180hp version, that would be perfect. This though…

• Nazee on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:15 am

The interior, especially the front dash, is essentially van-like. A diesel engine will do naught but enhance that perception. Sorry, at 200k most buyers won’t want a glorified van.

• Box-shaped never hurt the Alphard’s sales.. it’s in that segment btw…not the one you are imagining…

• john is otak batu on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:20 am

Naza is killing this brand with such pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Edward Hardy on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:23 am

Not worth it. with this amount rm199k , can consider Kia Carnival or Maxus G10 SE and you still have balance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Edward on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:25 am

not worth it. With this budget rm199k to buy MPV, you can choose Kia Carnival or Maxus G10 SE & still have balance .

• kyosho on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:31 am

who gonna buy this expensive ugly van?

• Looks nice with all the safety given including 6 airbags and esc compare to starex

• taweel on Oct 26, 2017 at 11:14 am

Can only fill EURO 5 diesel?

• Bernard on Oct 26, 2017 at 11:18 am

How much would i be able to buy this second hand in say 5 years time?

• I’m sorry pug. U kidding me. I’m just though u typo with your rm199k with rm99k. In facts at this price range, there’s a lot of choices lah pug.

• normal_user on Oct 26, 2017 at 11:47 am

saw a lot of this boxy van as commercial vehicles for small business & petty traders in the streets of europe, alongside the ford Transit. Common just like the Vanette here.

suddenly in Malaysia, it becomes a luxury thing.

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 26, 2017 at 11:50 am

Good Luck Peug…

• reality on Oct 26, 2017 at 11:53 am

Probably all units are for SEA Games :D
    Euro 5 diesel only, not bad though.
    Torquey and fuel saving.

• Vincent on Oct 26, 2017 at 1:20 pm

This is a losing money model!!! You won’t sell more than 100 unit in a year! It will probably set another new record as the most depreciated model in Peugeot!

• Ben Yap on Oct 26, 2017 at 1:39 pm

it reminds me of buying a overpriced MPV that is similar design to the Ford Transit.

• sohhai on Oct 26, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Everything about the car’s design, both interior and exterior, except the head lights are so Korean

• peugeot fan on Oct 26, 2017 at 3:52 pm

to be fair, this price is very cheap if compare to Toyota rival. Brand new Alphard could easily double the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • oh mak lu on Oct 26, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Sell it RM100K now also no one will buy. let us not say 200k!

• Elon Melon on Oct 26, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Forking out 200K for a bus-like MPV?…….Thanks but no thanks…French or not french, I am still not buying it,

• Isaac Sri on Oct 26, 2017 at 7:32 pm

The interior is simplistic and very purposeful. Little touches like a rotary gear selector is a nice touch. And love the fact that its a diesel!

• parthaofseventh on Oct 26, 2017 at 7:39 pm

What’s the point of buying recon alphard and vellfire nanti kena CON pula! Better spend on a diesel car like this with full warranty! Peugeot got good track record with the diesel, like the 508 GT!

• Stefan on Oct 27, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Those recon alphard and velfire is also sold by Naza! If kena con buying recon, it is possible for you to kena con buying this peugeot too

• polla on Oct 26, 2017 at 11:44 pm

mesia ni mcm dh jd high income nation konon…pickup truck 400k, van 200k…aduh

• george on May 24, 2023 at 8:45 am

the car itself is nice and i’d consider to buy if the price would be more reasonable – such as 150k