Alfa Romeo returns to Formula 1 with Sauber in 2018

It’s been rumoured for years, and now it’s finally official – Alfa Romeo is making a return to Formula 1 racing in 2018 after more than 30 years away from the sport. The company signed a multi-year technical and commercial partnership agreement with Sauber, and will see the team race in Alfa Romeo colours and logos and with up-to-date 2018 Ferrari engines.

The Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team, as it will be called, will form a strategic, commercial and technological cooperation with the Milanese carmaker in all applicable areas of development, including access to engineering know-how and expertise of Alfa Romeo technical staff. There will be additional opportunities for the two companies in both Formula 1 and the automotive sector in general, says Alfa Romeo.

A new livery was revealed over the weekend on a 2013 Sauber C32, with a red and white colour scheme featuring large Alfa Romeo logos on the nose and engine cover. The team has also revealed that its current test driver Charles Leclerc, a Monégasque racer from the Ferrari Driver Academy who won this year’s Formula 2 championship, has been promoted to a full-time seat alongside Marcus Ericsson starting in 2018.

“This agreement with the Sauber F1 Team is a significant step in the reshaping of the Alfa Romeo brand, which will return to Formula 1 after an absence of more than 30 years,” said Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (FCA) and Alfa Romeo CEO Sergio Marchionne. “Alfa Romeo engineers and technicians, who have already demonstrated their capabilities with the newly-launched models, Giulia and Stelvio, will have the opportunity to make that experience available to the Sauber F1 Team.”

Sauber chairman Pascal Picci added, “Alfa Romeo has a long history of success in Grand Prix racing, and we are very proud that this internationally renowned company has chosen to work with us for its return to the pinnacle of motorsport. We are confident that together we can bring the Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team great success, and look forward to a long and successful partnership.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Alfa Romeo. Style come first, results second.

• Sauber went from a primary works team (BMW sauber) to junior works team now (Alfa Sauber), becoming feeder club to Felali.

• James on Dec 05, 2017 at 3:21 pm

They have been doing this long time ago.

• Not really. When under Peter Sauber control, he still has a lot of say, but when under partner team (ie BMW sauber), he lost all control. Now it went back to that era again.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 04, 2017 at 7:39 pm

Alfa …. sure banyak manja engine & always masuk worksyop. LOL

• Sanny on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:24 pm

Love alfa Romeo Best to drive

• 12yrsold on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:53 am

Agree Best to drive when its not sick. Sakit Kepala when Masuk Workshop. I use to own 2 Alfa. I’m speaking from experience. I still LOVED Alfa. Cheers…

• Lembu Jinni on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Only true on yesteryear 12 years old and above Alfa Romeo ancient models.

• Yeast Lump on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Have you owned and drives the 4C or Giulia QV or even the Giulietta? I am guessing yours are GM derived 159 or Brera right? Other than those models are too old already subjected to wear and tear my amigo!

• 12yrsold on Dec 06, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Gud question asked. Have U OWN or Driven a 4C or Giulia QV/Giulietta ??! I don’t own anymore Alfa.

Those who own a Giulia or Giulietta don’t bother to read/comment here bcos only the owner knows what is the REAL Problem.

As for the 4C, I can bet U NEVER own/driven one. Cheers… to Real Alfa owners.

• Rightwinger on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:58 am

The closest thing to Alfa Romeo’s sex appeal from the east currently is Mazda’s Kodo design language. The rest are just a bunch of techno clusterf*ck…

• Andrekua on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:52 pm

How many sister teams do they want? It seem like they are trying to control more teams in F1 for better bargaining power.

• shidi on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:32 pm

great news indeed!

• Who is the engine supplier?

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:16 am

Read First Paragraph, last line.

• Rightwinger on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:45 am

“…will see the team race in Alfa Romeo colours and logos and with up-to-date 2018 Ferrari engines.”

• M5 Super Sedan on Dec 05, 2017 at 6:09 am

Niceeeeee. But unfortunately it still remains a boring watch and the engines still sound like they went to Brothers And installed Ah Beng exhausts.

• Pascal Picci talked about history, but there’s No quadrifoglio at the side of the car.

• Rightwinger on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:54 am

Probably has something to do with the fact they’ve be involved in motor racing since 1911…or that Enzo Ferrari was their driver between 1920-1932…

• TheDean on Dec 05, 2017 at 9:14 am

The Alfa logo is a family crest that shows a serpent swallowing a colored person, strongly presumed to be a muslim. How this blatant racism can go unnoticed or held accountable is beyond me. It’s all over google.

• TheDean on Dec 05, 2017 at 9:16 am

The Alfa logo is a family crest that shows a serpent swallowing a colored person, strongly presumed to be a muslim. How this blatant racism can go unnoticed or held accountable is beyond me. It’s all over google.

• TheDean on Dec 05, 2017 at 9:26 am

The Alfa logo is a family crest that shows a serpent swallowing a colored person, strongly believed to be a muslim. The original works have the man colored brown. It is the crest of the Visconti family during their crusades against the moors from syria. However, Alfa says the snake is not swallowing a person but rather, giving birth. Obviously this is refuted by many experts. How this blatant racism can go unnoticed or held accountable is beyond me. It’s all over google.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:37 am

Will they use current Ferrari power unit or year old one? Or the old PU, modded by Alfa Romeo.

• Mervyn on Dec 05, 2017 at 11:01 am

I drive an Alfa and it’s just brilliant. Yes it’s stylish but god it performs. Fabulous engineering.

• 12yrsold on Dec 05, 2017 at 11:08 am

In short, Ferrari will always be the No1 sports car in Fiat Group. Alfa/Sauber will act as the supporting No2 in F1.

• Yeast Lump on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Incorrect my amigo! Positive categorised Ferrari is Hypercar, Masserati is Supercar, Alfa Romeo is Sports car, Lancia and Fiat are pizza/pasta-car…

• 12yrsold on Dec 06, 2017 at 12:17 pm

I’m speaking Metaphor: a figure of speech. What U are doing is called Splitting Hair. Who do not know your brother is a Man ie if U have one ! Adios Amigo !!

• fastest alfa EVER/one of the fastest cars ever