DBKL to remove cycling lane separators immediately

In a meeting today to address the issue at City Hall (DBKL), the cycling lane separators paultan.org mentioned in an earlier report will be removed with immediate effect. The decision was taken during a meeting, convened by DBKL with project stakeholders Urbanice, an NGO under the Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government, town planners AJM Planning and Urban Design Group (APUDG), Cycling Kuala Lumpur, Bicycle Map Project, and bike share provider oBike.

In a statement to Utusan, Datuk Mahadi Che Ngah, project management executive directorfor DBKL said the action was taken after the lane separators were said to pose a danger to road users, especially motorcyclists. “DBKL will study the issue after receiving objections from road users,” he said.

Speaking separately to paultan.org, Jeffrey Lim, project coordinator for Cycling Kuala Lumpur, Bicycle Map Project, said problems like these were teething problems and to be expected, and remained positive that a suitable outcome would be found. “Advocacy is a life-long process and it never ends. Everything changes. It’s about how we adapt and collaborate, working towards a positive outcome. The key message here is trust,” said Lim.

The cycling lanes were created ahead of the ninth World Urban Forum to be held on February 7 to 13 for the use of delegates attending the conference, and thereafter remain part of the road infrastructure to be used by cyclists in the central business district. Controversy over the lane separators and painted lanes arose after photos on Facebook emerged showing a motorcyclist allegedly having suffered a spill after encountering the painted lane during wet weather.

Planned as a legacy project to be utilised by future users, the KL cycling lane is the first phase of the Kuala Lumpur Pedestrian and Bicycle Master Plan. The plan is proposed to run across a five-year period and aims to increase the number of pedestrians and cyclists in the city centre, thereby reducing congestion.

Up to 4 million vehicles enter the city every day. A study conducted by Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) found that less than 10% of city inhabitants walk and less than 0.1% cycle.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• DBKL shud just raise the separators into dividers which will disallow motors and cars from misusing the bicycle lane which caused them to complain about this in the 1st place. Why shud DBKL listen to lawbreakers?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 6
    • Yep. Fix the lawbreakers, Declare downtown KL as NO motors and cars zone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Remove the entire bike lanes too, waste of space and a cause of traffic jam. Freeloading cyclist do not need a special lane for them. Ask them to pay a road tax or a toll to use the cycling lane. These modern day spoilt-brats want everything free and not pay for them like the rest of us do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
      • thepolygonal on Jan 23, 2018 at 3:30 pm

http://paultan.org/2017/01/16/kuala-lumpur-to-ban-kapchais-from-entering-city/

• Richard Lam on Jan 22, 2018 at 11:34 pm

DBKL oh DBKL. Spend berpuluh millions to do this. But got no feasibility study nor any research and planning done.

This is typical Malaysian style of doing things. Waste tax payers money left right and center.

In the first place, you should have got proper consultants to advice you how this is being done.

I am fairly certain DBKL must have sent a huge rombongan sambil belajar to Europe to study how bike lanes have been implemented in Europe. As usual, fly Business Class and stay in posh hotels. But….until now, still don’t know how to do things proper.

DBKL oh DBKL pls save money and learn how to plan your expenditure. Remember it is the rakyat’s money you are wasting.

Now back to square one. There will be hundreds of meetings but nothing much will come out of it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 10
    • Remove cycling lane separators, Remove DBKL too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Donno on Jan 23, 2018 at 11:45 am

I suggest Datuk Mahadi Che Ngah, project management executive director for DBKL, and all DBKL executives to cycle every day to work to set an example for all KL city dwellers to follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Richard Lam on Jan 23, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Will they do it? Overseas, got many mayors who have given up their fancy limo and drivers.

• MenteriPasola101 on Jan 23, 2018 at 12:11 pm

This is “on job” feasibility lah

• No la on Jan 23, 2018 at 1:33 pm

Nope.. DBKL did not spend berpuluh2 million to do this. It was MBPP who spent 30 million to paint bike lane for 12km.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
    • Not Toyota Fan on Jan 23, 2018 at 3:16 pm

There goes my Cukai Tanah & Cukai Pintu, wasted again. Terima kasih DBKL.

• Richard Lam on Jan 22, 2018 at 11:39 pm

Most important also, pls get our Ministers to cycle to work. This is to show an example to the rakyat to follow.

In the UK, Ministers actually travel by London Underground packed like Sardine. They go by tube to Parliament DAILY. Yes, Daily. They have no limo, they have no escorts and they have no bodyguards

Compare this to Malaysia. Limo, Bodyguards and Outriders. Plus the Minister will have about 10 car entourage to follow him wherever he goes. Don’t forget the PDRM officers also.

Our leaders need to show by example. I hope our Menteri also start using bike lanes and also MRT and LRT

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • dolloh tapah on Jan 23, 2018 at 2:00 pm

The key message here is trust. Malaysia will be a high income country in 2020. So all Rakyat must behave like a civilized society, country leaders must lead and adopt high income attitudes.

• Another few hundred thousands if not millions wasted. Already installed now have to remove. Wondering with so many so called advocates in the committee no one ever thought of the consequences during decision making process. Now tried to justify the action by giving excuses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Perfect utilisation of taxpayers’ money.

• Antibullshit on Jan 23, 2018 at 1:24 am

. “Advocacy is a life-long process and it never ends. Everything changes. It’s about how we adapt and collaborate, working towards a positive outcome. The key message here is trust,” said Lim. Wrong decision, money wasted. Stop your bullshit.

• For cycling to succeed in KL you need to provide aircon and shade along the route. The heat is too crazy to consider cycling as an option other than for exercise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Actman on Jan 23, 2018 at 2:17 am

This is what we called a ‘third world mentality’. I’ve seen this (side walk/bicycle lane) 15 years ago in Singapore and Australia. I have almost forgotten that my calendar reads 2018 presently!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • erwinkarim on Jan 23, 2018 at 6:12 am

suppose to be for bicyclist. i guarantee it will only be used by motorcyclist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Safety 1st on Jan 23, 2018 at 6:31 am

Dear DBKL,MPAJ, and JKR, another bain to road users are the thick yellow and red metal/painted speed reducer stripes that you conveniently put on every possible spots on the roads with intention to make sure all road users to slow down. For example the one on MEX highway heading to KL after the Putrajaya toll plaza and many spots on MRR2 and AKLEH. Yes we get it that you want to ensure all road user to slow down but this method will damage the car suspension regardless if you drive slow or fast. To add to already shitty road conditions, in other developed countries they install a speed cam on spots like this to ensure road user abide the law. Now you the local council and jkr manage to add another burdan to us by accelerating our cars wear and tear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Arthur Lee on Jan 23, 2018 at 6:45 am

DBKL need to learn from Selangor. Selangor is clever. Look at their free electric busses….they managed to reduce jams substantially.

See, this alone shows you how SelangorKu has progressed by leaps and bounds and KL is still like YOYO. Millions down the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 26
    • I only see Selangor free bus being almost empty all the time due to long waiting time & inconvinient routes so much so that pipu rather PAY for RapidKL buses. Selangor free bus a truly waste of money and harming environment. No route planning at all and no synergy to Rapid and other public transports. In another words, a shiok sendri projek that waste taxpayer money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 36
  • lolpanda on Jan 23, 2018 at 7:29 am

Typical 3.85 G response. Lol

• Ryan Pereira on Jan 23, 2018 at 8:10 am

What a waste of money. Hope they will use the lane separators for another project and not leave it to rot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Amriji on Jan 23, 2018 at 1:15 pm

They should not have removed them. Motorcyclist has no business encroaching bicycle lanes!!!

• azrai on Jan 23, 2018 at 8:22 am

So who at first get the contract, installed it, and now getting a new contract to uninstall it, and take home the divider. RM RM RM terbang melayang…Next project. Nets at PPR. Install and uninstall.

• safety 1st on Jan 23, 2018 at 8:34 am

If the motorcylist abide by the town speed limit and ride politely, they will not skid of the cyclist lane. Remember the speed limit in the city is 30km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • the driver on Jan 23, 2018 at 8:34 am

A tip for administrators like DBKL – test products before committing to purchases. Don’t believe the hype that sales people tell you until it is proven in actual – local – conditions. Now DBKL has a room full of this used but still new separators and probably a few RM100k poorer taken from tax payers.

• Simon on Jan 23, 2018 at 8:58 am

U-turn, reverse, gostan gostan… waste of immense taxpayers money again

• Cannot even control the motorcyclists in town. Go and do bicycle lane for what???

• What a disgrace!

Was there any Safety Management System, Feasibility Study or Due Diligence done prior to …
    1. Selecting the lanes.
    2. Painting the lanes.
    3. Installing those Lane Separators?

If there was, then it was poorly managed. If there wasn’t, then it was VERY poorly managed!

Designated bicycle lanes are a good idea, per se, however there is a LOT OF PLANNING beforehand required to make it a success. Not only where those lanes will be placed but a completely new mindset by those motorists and motorbike riders who currently use the roads. I genuinely fear for the safety of those who use those lanes, particularly after this upcoming event.

This could be like playing Russian Roulette for those willing to use those lanes.

Malaysian drivers wont even stop at designated pedestrian crossings, so what chance have we got when they encounter a “blue lane”?

There is absolutely no way I’d be brave enough to attempt to use those lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Ur not a cyclist, that why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 30
      • John,

What’s that smart assed comment meant to mean?!

This is peoples lives that they are playing with and should merit very serious discussion. Not the nonsense you have just put up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
        • Do read the entire articles pertaining to this matter b4 starting to bash. DBKL has GOT expert feedback from bike users and those bike share companies. Surely its their own interest to ensure this is properly done, no? This isnt like in some island where bike lane makes a bend around a tree!

And the issue is not lane planning, but misuse by those who shudnt use it in the 1st place! And these numbskulls had the cheek to complain about it! It wasnt bike users that complain, understand? So think again whats the issue, what u written and what i replied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
          • John,

You really need to read my original post on this subject, as I don’t think you understand my meaning.

A thorough due diligence report would have thrown up any issues and saved a heap of taxpayers money been chucked down the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • That means u dun understand the issue at hand. It wasnt the planning done inappropriately. Its just a bunch of aholes that misused the lanes then complain about it. DBKLs only fault was being reactive and removing the separators. I wud they rather replace the separators with road dividers.

• Amriji on Jan 23, 2018 at 1:18 pm

Yes. I agree. They should not have removed the separators. Motorcyclist have no business to even encroach on the bicycle lanes … perangai “mencilok” harus di kikis!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • John,

You said… ” I wud they rather replace the separators with road dividers.” Finally you are understanding it!!

That’s my whole point in my replies to you. A thorough study should have highlighted the SAFEST way to go ahead with this bike lane project. Road dividers would be far more suitable and safer than these things that have been installed. You really need to have some type of “obstacle” to separate the traffic from the cyclist, and there are quite a few options available. What they chose was not anywhere near the best option….in my humble opinion.

Glad to see that you now understand one of the main issues with this project.

Have a good day.

• What they chosen was recommended by those experts. These separators isnt custom built but its common in other countries. Just that these other countries have more civilised pipu and not jerks that misuse the lanes then have gall to complain about it. Sometimes MY pipu just dun deserve gud things. This case is aprime example.

• Pls read whats been reported. DBKL made this after consulting with various bicycle experts and advocates. Deswai u dun see cyclist complain about this. Only those who misused it. And those who misuse the bicycle lane really shudnt have the right to complain about it. Thats the problem.
          I dun see why DBKL must acquiescence to lawbreakers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
      • MenteriPasola101 on Jan 23, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Having a bicycle collecting dust doesn’t make u a cyclist as well
        LoL

• I am excited. Even though more work needs to be done, it is without doubt a positive step forward. By doing so, it slowly starts laying the foundation for city planning in the future with bike lanes taken into consideration,

• C.P. MOHAN on Jan 23, 2018 at 11:37 am

Cycling must seen as an encouragement for people to exercise more and not as a mode of transport.

• Cyclist on Jan 23, 2018 at 12:07 pm

Is a good start, at least now have more better bicycle land and more safety blue indicator to the driver or motorcyclist. I have a suggestion to improve in future, just take a reference from Montreal, Canada, how their make cyclist in safe and implement more people take a bicycle compare to drive to town in busy day.

• Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2018 at 12:08 pm

skills that the cyclist needs to learn are like track standing, wheelie, bunny hop and cycling with 1 hand or no hands on the handle bar.

this is essential for their safety.

• Concerned Consumer on Jan 23, 2018 at 12:42 pm

Malaysia is a all year long, hot n humid country. Everyo e knows that cycling isnt a suitable or practical mode of transport. Except for very short distance travel. And that need an extensive and probably expensive bike sharing infra to be in place.

Rather than have bicycle lanes that almost no one use, try think and implement something for the safety and benefits of millions of actual, real life, daily motorcyclists plying the city roads will you?

That is what you actually need to do.. dbkl.

• They did that in north island despite their infamously narrow roads. Ur complain about that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • vVivi Zurianti on Jan 23, 2018 at 7:12 pm

Some Malaysia bike riders are like Sakai. Ride bike on pedestrian walkway, ride bikes along 5-footpath, block corridor with their motorbikes, take-up car park lot with their bikes…..

DBKL with their usual antics….buat kerja syoik sendiri, makes lots of white elephants, waste tax payer money at the finest, poor maintenance, low quality repair works, etc.

Just go visit Botanic Garden at KL. Lots of potholes, drain covers missing, dead trees in the park, poorly repaired railing, missing handrail, missing timber planks on deck, useless toilets, broken signboards, mosquito breed ground at waterfeature……Malaysia boleh, huh?

• Botanic Gardens is private property. Take up ur case with their management not DBKL. Reading boleh, huh?

• Have they started to remove those separators yet?

Has there been any public statements made yet as to how much this project has cost?

Thanks.