Nissan and Infiniti to introduce 6 new EVs over 5 years

Over the next five years, Nissan will introduce four new electric vehicles, while luxury division Infiniti will debut two EVs. This is according to a report by Automotive News, where it is revealed the six EVs will make up part of 12 EVs planned for the Renault-Nissan-Mitsubishi Alliance.

These vehicles will run solely on electricity, and are not hybrids like the Note and its e-Power range-extender system. Toshihiro Hirai, global director of the Alliance and corporate vice president of Nissan, confirmed the powertrain type, but declined to reveal what model types they will be featured in.

Rumours of an electric SUV for Nissan have been around for some time, and there’s the likelihood of an MPV in the mix as well. These models will join the all-new Leaf, which was revealed last year with a significantly revised design and increased powertrain performance. The hatchback is also destined for Malaysia some time in 2018.

On the Infiniti side of things, Nissan CEO Hiroto Saikawa had previously stated all new models will be either all-electric or feature the e-Power system. Infiniti is set to introduce its first all-electric vehicle in 2021, and expects more than half of its global sales to be comprised of electric vehicles by 2025.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Martin on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:32 am

Way to go ETCM! Renault Twizy EV in Malaysia RM72k only.

• Sri Jayaraman on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:15 pm

ETCM and Boon Siew in Malaysia give rakyat value for money. Cause they are not greedy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • 12yrsold on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:44 am

Hello Nissan, don’t la make P1 jealous. If U want to launched 3 or 6 or 9 EVs, just go ahead & do it la. Tak payah cerita panjang sebab MY benci Edaran Tan Chong tau ?!

• Correct. MY benci TC, deswai their sales drop 33.3%. 1/3 sales drop yo! Becuz they still sell ancient outdated dinosars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Sri Jayaraman on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:22 pm

According to your logic john, this means MY benci Proton so much too cause sales from 200,000 drop to 70,000

• Nope. Dropped within 10 years is not the same as dropped within 1 year.
        Oh, but the world truly hates ur toyota when it drop from 1st to 3rd within 1 year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • V-tec Fan on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:32 pm

just wondering, where r those electric car in Malaysia? few years ago, i still can see 1 Mitsubishi i-Miev in my taman, than saw few time nissan leaf at plus highway. and also renault twizy in some hotel area. But now I dont see anymore, even my taman is missing that i-Miev

• Battery kong. Too exp to replace. Throw EV car inside Sg Klang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11