Keep a fire extinguisher in your car, urges the Bomba

Like insurance, a fire extinguisher is something you don’t figure you’ll need, until when you actually need it. The Terengganu Fire and Rescue Department (JBPM) has advised vehicle owners to make fire extinguishers “a compulsory accessory” in their car, Bernama reports.

JBPM operations assistant director Khir Amir Ahmad pointed out that many were still not aware that a fire extinguisher is a crucial facility which could greatly reduce vehicle damage in the event of a fire. “They rather put expensive accessories in their cars compared to a fire extinguisher which costs only RM60 per kg,” he said.

“When a fire breaks out in a car, the quickest and most effective tool is the fire extinguisher before the fire engine arrives,” he told reporters in Kuala Terengganu yesterday, adding that a fire can spread very fast, in just five to six seconds.

This is a good reminder, and I will be adding “fire extinguisher” to my to-buy list. Maybe you should also get one for the long drive home this holiday season.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh. on Feb 15, 2018 at 4:02 pm

Rm11+- can get fire extinguisher at Mr DIY.

There really shouldn’t be an excuse anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Disgruntled Iriz Driver on Feb 15, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Indeed. They can be easily procured anywhere.

That said though, it’s far from able to enforced as a necessity for any of us. I figured the normal mental faculty would make most of the people just stop at the side of the road and run away from the vehicles if things gone awry, rather than trying to put the fire out in whatever and however they can.

Just take a look at a car that broke down at the side of the road! No hassle, just take out your phone, call the towing service/relatives/parents/grandparents and be a damn nuisance for everyone else! smh

• Cayden on Feb 15, 2018 at 11:10 pm

dont share any wrong info here if you not familiar with fire extinguisher. Did you know that FE type you recommend here might caused explosion if expose to heat/hot sun!

• Kelvin Koh on Feb 16, 2018 at 8:03 am

Besides car, I advice people also to put a few at home also.

Don’t become like EPF building that use illegal cladding. Amazing how Government building also can use illegal stuff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Cayden on Feb 15, 2018 at 11:10 pm

dont share any wrong info here if you not familiar with fire extinguisher. Did you know that FE type you recommend here might caused explosion if expose to heat/hot sun!

• unsure on Feb 22, 2018 at 7:51 am

bro, i am looking to get a fire extinguer for my car. may i know how to choose it if i want to put it in side the car?

• Is it good? I’m looking to buy 1 and so far I found a trusted brand cost about rm99 per small tank.

• Bernard on Feb 15, 2018 at 4:15 pm

Is it safe to leave a fire extinguisher in your car under the heat?

• They put it in racecars so I’m guessing it should be fine, idk any fire extinguisher experts here care to chime in? lol

• Alihms on Feb 15, 2018 at 6:27 pm

I have a fire extinguisher in my car. It has been there for more than 5 years (expired already). Anyway, at my workplace, I have to park my car under hot sun everyday. Sometimes its so hot that you can barely touch the extinguisher for more than a split second. So far nothing happen. So nothing to worry, it’s safe.

• potato on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:52 am

the problem is if you buy proper extinguisher, can you refill it easily like at a Bomba station at affordable price?

because proper extinguisher are expensive and if you can’t refill or refill at affordable cost most people won’t buy it or just leave it expired.

who knows if it still works when time comes?

if gomen themselves don’t promote got what use?

build a fireextinguisher station at every petrol station like tyre pumps?

• Cayden on Feb 15, 2018 at 11:12 pm

Yes but only certain of FE you can put in car. im a FE supplier here.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 15, 2018 at 11:27 pm

I was wondering the same too. But since have not read anything on exploding extinguishers, I guess it’s safe.

• All car company here in My should provide it for free for every new car bought by customer. Ditch out all the crap unnecessary item such as useless body kits and channel the cost for fire extinguisher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • Entitled on Feb 16, 2018 at 3:27 am

And here comes another self-entitled prick who could spend 50k buying a car, but can’t spend 50 bucks to buy a fire extinguisher.

why not ask the gov to give you free insurance the moment you come out from your mother’s vjj?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • tokmoh. on Feb 17, 2018 at 9:30 am

It’s not about being entitled, it’s about doing the right thing for consumers, prioritizing safety above crappy bodykits. Instead of wasting thousands on gear up bodykit, people should use that same money on child seats, fire extinguisher, portable tyre pump, jumper cables, etc.

• Entitled on Feb 16, 2018 at 3:28 am

tsk tsk

• komarad on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:16 am

it’ll add up another RM1k to the car price in MY…

• CGtrashtalk on Feb 15, 2018 at 6:13 pm

unless there is fire extinguisher that can be used as baseball bat, people won’t buy and put it in car ;)

• “Like insurance, a fire extinguisher is something you don’t figure you’ll need, until when you actually need it.”
    Wait, that something similar i advocated for active safety. But most prefer badge image and mythical hi RV to save them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Sam 'john' Loo on Feb 15, 2018 at 10:26 pm

Yes, same like water temperature gauge where carbuyers or car manufacturers (esp. Poodua) think it is not needed/redundant, that’s why their dumbf**k engineers/manufacturers cut corner and remove it (eg. new Myvi 3rd gen). Until the car really overheat and it went unnoticeable due to missing gauge causing the engine smoking out or burn, it’s already too late.

Of course it’s always good to have fire extinguisher kept inside if you really love your car, but a proper guideline to store the fire extinguisher is absolutely needed.

• vVivi Zurianti on Feb 16, 2018 at 1:20 pm

even having an extinguisher in the car, make sure the person knows how to use it…..like donno how to operate, aim, shoot, etc. If not, its just a useless red coloured paper-weight.

• transformer on Feb 16, 2018 at 2:13 pm

is Rm77 Fire Extinguisher safe to keep inside car for years??? high temp and pressure won’t cause it to explode???? BOMBA and SIRIM should check and certified those in car Fire Extinguisher before to sell on market…..

• fanofthisite on Feb 16, 2018 at 6:18 pm

where can i dispose of my old extinguisher?

• Ben Yap on Feb 17, 2018 at 10:54 am

Civic fc turbo don’t easily get burnt because it has very good built quality. No worries… other manufacturers I don’t know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Now this is something that Ive been contemplating since i first bought my own car. There are pros and cons.

Firstly, you need to ensure that the FE is kept secured under your seat or in the trunk. Securing it does require some sort of harness which is abit more complicated under the seat. It is easier in the trunk where you usually have hooks or exposed trim. BUT if we are generally talking about locally produced cars that are a majority on our roads, e.g. Persona, having it in the trunk where you require a release tab INSIDE the car or the use of your keys to unlock can cause additional havoc and in cases of fire, you are likely to just run out forgetting to unlock.

Secondly, there are many cheap FEs out there that may NOT be SIRIM approved, which, could infact cause it to blow if there is no pressure release valve. The problem is, with our mentality, why spend hundreds on something we may never use… so this mentality we need to change.
    And whether or not it would explode in extreme heat, it could, but not likely. Its a FIRE extinguisher and it should be used in areas of high heat.

Third, I have come across many articles from many sources saying it is not recommended to have a FE as this would make you, as the owner, think you have the chance to save your vehicle in a fire. A fire is unpredictably fast, it can engulf your car in seconds. Yes, there are fires that are small and can save u $$$ when theres minimal damage, BUT, it can spread to your fuel tank and explode in seconds. Having someone in normal wear, slippers trying to fight off a fire using a small FE just because he/she has one and then the car explodes with shrapnel projecting in every direction? Not the best outcome.

Because car fires are not like house fires. House fires can cause explosion after a certain time IF it reaches any gas leaks/tanks, and can be controlled by the handler/owner. But a car with fuel lines from front to back, gas tanks, NGVs maybe, may not be worth the save. Just my 2 cents.

In the end, i do not have a FE in my car.

• Why ask me to spend more? Gov shud give free la. If dap in power sure one wud give free.

• please on Feb 20, 2018 at 5:19 am

can u guys please do a local comparison of fire extinguishers suitable to put in our cars? most of the comparisons out there are not based on what’s available in our market

• Leonardo on Feb 20, 2018 at 11:00 am

I go off road quite often and I will always have a fire extinguisher in my 4×4. If your vehicle or your friend’s vehicle catches fire in the jungle, you cannot call the BOMBA to extinguish the fire!

• mike chong on Feb 20, 2018 at 5:39 pm

It’s interesting to have read most of the comments.
    Allow me to share what I know a little about Fire Extinguishers (FE).
    For those who are worried coz you park under the sun, the FE will not explode coz it is Nitrogen pressurized. Nitrogen does not react to heat and will not expand, hence no risk of explosion. However, there could be a possibility for pressure expansion or pressure built up due to cross contamination of the quality of dry powder used. That’s why it’s safer to invest in a FE that has a pressure gauge.
    IMHO, I wouldn’t risk buying the real cheap one for the simple reason of QC, not that I’m saying cheap stuff is bad.
    Also, please have it placed where the driver can reach, otherwise it may not be that useful if you are driving alone and require to use it.
    Hope this little input helps…. Safe & Happy driving :)