KL open car parks to be abolished in 20 years – report

Open car parks in Kuala Lumpur will gradually make way for green areas with micro housing and pocket parks or urban jungles in 20 years, Bernama reports. According to the director of knowledge management and advisory of Urban Wellbeing Centre of Excellence (Urbanice) Malaysia, Dr Azmizam Abdul Rashid, 30% of the city are set to be green areas with the green innovation plan.

“In an effort to realise (the plan), we will impose high parking charges in a move to encourage city folks to use public transportation, and to avoid the open parking areas being left idle, they will be developed with micro-housing,” Azmizam said.

“This is apt, because the population in Kuala Lumpur is expected to increase by about 70%, and we do not want these parking lots to be used for the development of multi-storey buildings,” he told the national news agency.

The development of micro-housing – which is proposed to take over the current open parking spaces – is an alternative solution to challenges faced by urban housing, and Azmizam expressed hope that the model units exhibited at the recent 9th World Urban Forum in Kuala Lumpur will give the public an idea of what micro-housing is all about.

“However, we are still in the planning stage to build micro houses in parking lots and the developer is still identifying the locations, which will probably be in large parking areas. We are also working with Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) on the pocket parks which will include a network of pedestrian walkways in the city,” he said. Your thoughts on this, dear readers?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• firdausfpso on Feb 15, 2018 at 12:03 pm

Most Malaysian drivers and bikers are hardly to respect pedestrian when crossing road; to more specified- zebra crossing. When we stop for them, driver at the back will horn to us for causing delay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • I agree i got banked by a lady on the rear of the car and she accused me of stopping at a zebra crossing. her argument was that there was no red light for me to stop. Wonder where she took her license!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • LoveMyCar on Feb 15, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Pls build more multi storey parkings as most of the areas have insufficient parking lots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Agreed. Single level open car park in KL CBD is a waste of premium priced spaces. Better idea is to limit incoming cars and forcing pipu to park further and use public transports.

• Ben Yap on Feb 15, 2018 at 12:22 pm

make more bicycle lanes and allow bikes to bring on the train any time of the day. also allow e-scooters in the city as it is foldable and easy to bring around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • Lets ask DBKL staff to perform an experiment. Get all staff, including mayor, to use public transport. Don’t allow any staff to get season parking. This way, DBKL staff can lead ways to improve public transport.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • The mayor alredi uses public transports to go to work. LRT stesen is just around DBKL HQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • heybadigol (Member) on Feb 15, 2018 at 1:06 pm

The best way is not to have your office in KL city centre and build malls away from there as well. If there is no need to come into KL city centre, won’t the traffic problem go away? Then you can demolish all the roads and carparks (cos nobody will need them) in KL and turn them into green lung. Don’t understand why people must have office in KL. There are areas on the outskirts of KL with cheaper rent for office and commerce. And let’s face it, houses in KL are expensive. Most people can only afford houses outside KL. So won’t it make sense to have your office nearer to home?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • Susukotak on Feb 15, 2018 at 1:30 pm

ada la 1.5 tahun x masuk kl

• Than perhaps you don’t understand the concept of a City either. City exist because people decided to settle in a single place to do business, and Businesses today usually involves multiple companies coming together in a sort of symbiotic relationship. Now this natural web tend to grow until a city is form, a perfect epicentre where one business is adjacent to its partner/factory/warehouse/production. Where I work, a HQ, is only kilometers to our respective associates and assets.

Now if you move your company away to…say, Seremban, where housing is cheaper, traffic is smoother(?) than if you’re doing business with an associate or having meetings or making transaction or doing inspection etc will be at least an hour away from that. So you sacrifice an more travel time now to a business/work place and if your partner business also decide to follow you, than you’re increasing the distance and decreasing efficiency. And yes, Skype and online communication have improved significantly, but after a 2 hour Whatsapp group conversation with your supplier, you start to understand why on-the spot communication is still better.

Most Japanese companies that does production, have their companies HQ at least an hour away from the production floor, its why most Lexus production is still in Japan . And why Tesla refuse to move from US production to a more profit-advantageous China, because Tesla (and Lexus) focus on-spot innovation, changes are brought and seen by top company executives to the factory floor, almost immediately.

Supply and demand, the 3 richest countries have more than 90% of its population in Urban area while the 3 poorest have below 50%. Go check Wendover production channel on YouTube on why cities exist, you’ll learn alot there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • MenteriPasola101 on Feb 15, 2018 at 6:07 pm

For the sake of profit , I don’t think DBKL want to share it to any greater other Klang valley Bandaraya :lol:

• Bernard on Feb 15, 2018 at 1:47 pm

The population in kl is already at its breaking point, hence allowing it to increase is madness!

The govt must find ways to transfer businesses and employment out of kl to less dense areas so that there would be a balance etc…

Also, all open areas like car parks etc must be converted to green lung areas, parks, lakes, cycle trails, nature parks etc.

Think Norway not Bangkok!

• “Think Norway not Bangkok!”

No, you just physically can’t think Norway! Oslo, capitol of Norway, has a population of only 1.03million inhabitants and a density of 3300people/SqKM within the confines of its Metropolitan area. Compared to the massive Klang Valley we have, which houses nearly 7.2million humans of diverse races, you’re looking at an area twice the density of Oslo standing (KL city center) at 6900people/SqKM, according to worldpopulationreview

You can’t compare it to economy either as Oslo earns (2006) close to 165billion in GSP while Wilayah Kuala Lumpur figuratively earns RM114billion in 2012, give or take through 6 years of inflation, thats around 50% less, for a bigger population. You can’t compare to in transportation infrastructure, Oslo weather permits walking and cycling outdoors, unfeasible in the near 38degC of Kuala Lumpur that are also prone to unpredictable monsoon rain, alot heavier than the drizzle that Oslo may get. Oslo’s public transportation also stands as the world’s most extensive metro per resident, with six lines serving 101 stations.

Geography, Weather and just out of physical size, KL have to look at similar cities like our southern neighbour. Part of the ‘Big 7’, Singapore’s public transportation easily handles their 5.07million inhabitants (which is less than Klang Valley), even with weather and even culture similar to that of Malaysia. They also start to forbid / discourage private vehicle ownership to reduce congestion and pollution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • old horse on Feb 15, 2018 at 2:02 pm

the red taxis are clogging many lanes!!!

• Aero (Member) on Feb 15, 2018 at 5:19 pm

All of these self-proclaimed ‘green companies’ and government/city/municipal agencies like to talk big, but they can’t even get the little things right. They are trying to give off an ‘eco-friendly’ image… but their actions speak otherwise. They hate cars, they want people to use public transport, but the services are not consistent enough to be taken as a serious alternative to driving. Because of this, people take public transport in Klang Valley cities because they have no other choice, very few do so willingly.

All of these self-proclaimed ‘green companies’ and government/city/municipal agencies should start small and be more realistic and pragmatic. They can do many little things which will altogether make a huge difference.

The first thing they should do RIGHT NOW is to ban every single cancerous ancient diesel bus in KL. Whenever I visit KL, I prefer to walk around instead of drive, but the amount of BLACK exhaust pollutants from the buses in KL is overwhelming. Paired with the heat and humidity, it is too much to bear. I feel very ashamed for the tourists who visit KL, they came here for a holiday, not to contract cancer. Now they have bicycle lanes in KL… for what ? So that people can ride around KL and inhale even more exhaust pollutants ?

There are also those motorcycles, trucks, lorries and taxis in KL which emit BLUE or WHITE exhaust smoke (burning engine oil/coolant due to worn out engine after 200,000 km + mileage). They should ban these vehicles too. Although, I suspect this will be harder to execute, but it is still necessary.

Last year I visited Penang island, one thing which surprised me most was how ‘green’ it was. There were trees everywhere. Not only was it good for the environment, but the trees also give natural shade from the hot sun and reduce flooding. Meanwhile, in KL, there are hardly any trees around. Even in Subang Jaya, and PJ, there’s too few trees. Planting trees is much easier than building a so-called ‘eco city’. This is the kind of simple thing which all of these self-proclaimed ‘green companies’ and government/city/municipal agencies can do. But most have not, judging by the state of KL today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Ahmadjr on Feb 16, 2018 at 3:15 am

100% agree with you. Motor rxz dan suzuki sport keluar asap macam haram tak kena saman, tinted gelap dan nombor plat yang dorang sibuk nak saman

• Sputjam on Feb 15, 2018 at 10:14 pm

Micro housing in open air car parks? Depend on the owner surely.dbkl has plenty of land but they are giving it away to developers when they should be building the “micro housing” themselves

• The next 20 years will be used to fix the poor planning of the last 20 years.

• If they want to encourage people to take public transport, why don’t they fix a few reasons people don’t take public transport?
    1. The public transport is slow. Causing us to be late for meetings and work.
    2. The lack of seating. The insufficient spaces cause people to squish in a bus or train which causes discomfort
    3. Inconvenience. The accessibility to public transport is limited.
    Fix the issues before imposing high charges.

• Harold on Feb 18, 2018 at 10:35 am

I think alot has been said here already by readers on improving KL. I would just like to add that KL is still polluted with garbage and litter which include housing areas as well. Business premises are bad at cleanliness. Compare our shops back alleys to Singapore’s. Truly shameful sight. Drainage are filthy, old furnitures being thrown etc. Please be strict!

• Sure,
    But before that plan takes place, more efficient and wholesome public transportation is a must.
    Current level of public transportation doesn’t cut it yet, and the fact that most “NEW” public transportation modes doesn’t reach everywhere yet.

I’d say, have a look at Tokyo,Japan.
    I’m not an expert in City planning but how the heck did they manage to build train stations every 200m give or take?