2018 Shelby Mustang Super Snake debuts with 800 hp

This is the new Shelby Mustang Super Snake, which is now based on the latest Ford Mustang currently on sale in the United States. If you felt the stock car was a little too lethargic in terms of performance, here’s the solution.

Prices start at US$113,445, which includes a base Mustang GT coupe as well. For the money, a supercharger is slapped onto the 5.0 litre V8 so it now makes 710 hp. However, if you’re willing to pay a little more, you’ll get a Whipple unit along with a polish finish for the engine, bringing the figure to over 800 hp. In this configuration, the 0-96 km/h sprint (0-60 mph) takes just 3.5 seconds,

The big jump in power (+340 hp) requires other components to be upgraded as well, so there’s a new cooling system that includes a radiator, aluminium tank and heat exchanger. Performance half shafts are also included along with a one-piece drive shaft for cars with a manual transmission – a short throw shifter is thrown (pun) in too. Cars ordered with an automatic gearbox will get a transmission cooler instead.

On the handling side of things, a Brembo brake system (six piston front, four piston rear), performance tyres and a Ford Performance track handling pack are added. The last item can be replaced with an optional Penske track suspension system.

Visually, Shelby engineered body components ensure that the people around you know what you have. The package includes a new front fascia assembly, hood, grille, rockers, front splitter, rear spoiler, rear tail panel and diffuser. Pay a little more and you can add on a wide body kit along with more painted stripes. The wheels are 20-inch forged aluminium units that are available in two finishes.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hopefully can come to KLIMS 18, just like its predecessor.

• Mohd Azwan on Jun 06, 2018 at 9:26 am

Now cleaner Government, many good things will come to Malaysia. No more songlap, no more dedak. And no more red tape also

• Price at more than US$100K, how can the poor buy it?

Ini mesti salah new MY

• stastasta on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:12 pm

this is affordable for the middle class in USA. if you earn 9k per year after taxes its only 12 months salary.

• Iliveintexas on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:11 am

Dude, this is not a middle class level car. This is for high income earners. And you mean 9k per month? That’s a heck lot, and you have to take into account which state you live in. 100k USD is NOT the equivalent of 100k myr.

• Afeeq Hasan the MalaysianAmericano on Jun 05, 2018 at 2:39 pm

800 horsepower?! GOD DAM

• 12yrsold john on Jun 05, 2018 at 2:48 pm

In the US, most American prefer to buy a Japanese sports car & one even have hybrid power to boot at lower cost not to mention faster to 0-96 km/h sprint.

I’m not going to mention names(brand) here as I presume most reader here are Motor fans who probably know more than me.

• iliveintexas on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:53 pm

Wow, where are you getting your sales values from that you can state what most Americans prefer to buy?