Honda Malaysia celebrates sale of 300,000th City in Malaysia – secures number one spot in B-segment

The Honda City has always been a popular choice among car buyers here in Malaysia, and today, Honda Malaysia announced a new milestone for the B-segment sedan model with the sale of the 300,000th unit.

The path to the historic moment began with the second-generation City that was launched here in 2001, which sold more than 61,000 units, followed by the third-generation model with more than 85,000 units delivered.

Honda Malaysia later introduced the fourth-generation City in 2014, which notched up over 155,300 units sold, including units of the refreshed model that made its debut in March 2017. According to the company, 48,900 units of the facelifted City was sold from its launch till August 2018.

Suffice to say, the City is a very important model in the company’s line-up, and focusing on its sales data for 2018 further reinforces that notion. Between January and August this year, the City accounted for 30% of overall sales for Honda Malaysia. More importantly, its popularity is further cemented as it represented 51% of the market share in its segment.

Of all the available variants, the E variant was revealed to be the preferred choice among customers, contributing to 44% of City units sold during the January-August 2018 period, while coming in second place is the V variant with 33%. – the remainder being the S and Hybrid variants.

From a regional perspective, the Central region was the highest contributor to the model’s sales figures with 49%, followed by the Southern region with 20% and Northern region at 19%.

“We are delighted to mark this milestone of surpassing the 300,000 unit sales for the City within a span of 17 years since it was first introduced in Malaysia. This has proven the success of the City in Malaysia,” said managing director and CEO of Honda Malaysia, Toichi Ishiyama.

“The fourth-generation City is the best-selling model in Honda and the model continues to lead in the B-segment. This outstanding record achievement would not have been possible without the support from our customers. I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and thankfulness to Malaysians for their support and belief in our brand, and for making City their vehicle of choice,” he added.

GALLERY: Honda City 1.5L V

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Honda Salesman Crying on Oct 04, 2018 at 11:43 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Honda now and their arrogant Honda salesmen. Nobody is touching Honda now. Honda Salesmen all crying. Honda Malaysia is known as Honda – The Power of Sucks. Bad luck to buy their cars. Lets talk about bad Service Quality in Honda Malaysia, Bad Assembly Quality in Honda Malaysia and Terrible Design for Upcoming Honda Models including Current Honda Civic

Firstly, after Honda Assemblypeople in Malaysia finish assembling install the Honda parts for Honda models, they didn’t even bother to check whether it has been secured or not. Or either, Honda Assemblypeople in Malaysia always use the fake parts to install for Honda models as many people complain that got many problems for Honda models after they bought for several months.

Secondly, after people service their Honda models, they felt that it is wasting times and money of servicing their Honda models as Honda service people in Malaysia either Honda service people in Malaysia didn’t service their Honda models properly or Honda service people in Malaysia didn’t even bother to service their Honda models.

Thirdly, upcoming Honda models front bumper design all copying from Current Honda Civic design, upcoming Honda models have no proportional at all. Also, Honda models rear bumper looks damn terrible. Aiyoo, I don’t know what kind current Honda designer are making.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai, Toyota, Proton, Kia, BMW Mercedes, Volkswagen, Peugeot, Mazda, Renault, Mitsubishi, Nissan and even other carmakers. Malaysians also already know that Honda Malaysia regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Honda – The Power of Dreams should be named as Honda – The Power of Sucks because Honda Service Quality in Malaysia and Honda Assembly Quality in Malaysia is so teruk.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know Honda Malaysia are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How Honda Malaysia? Still giving bad service and bad quality for Honda Malaysia Car Assembly?

Our lives not important Honda Malaysia?

The Honda Malaysia is a hugest failure. No need to write good comments a lot about Honda for upcoming Honda articles in paultan.org website. We as smart people said that Proton, Kia, Toyota, BMW, Mercedes, Volvo, Mazda, Hyundai, Nissan, Peugoet, Renault and even other carmakers for service quality and assembly quality are much better than Honda Malaysia, even the apek jual ikan also said that too. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Ben Yap and other Honda salesmen are also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and Firstly, Ben Yap say that He got Civic who compares other carmakers and he also wanted Honda Malaysia to be top no.2 and top no.1. Besides that, Other Honda Salesmen also said that Honda Service Malaysia have good quality. Honda Salesmen are talking all the fake comments, especially for Ben Yap. Nobody is going to buy rubbish Honda in Malaysia. Even now, their Honda Malaysia Sales is always cheated and very biased as Honda Service Quality in Malaysia and Honda Assembly Quality in Malaysia is very terrible.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 50
    • Champion on Oct 04, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Amazing …just one Honda model killed the market. Will Boyue do the same ?

• Transporter on Oct 04, 2018 at 4:02 pm

Honda is a car for most people. Not too exciting not too bored, not too expensive not too cheap, not too high tech not low tech, not too comfy not too discomfort… Safe-zone for RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
        • Graduan Bijak on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:27 pm

from own a Iriz to Honda City, a major stepup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • Nope, city is just 1.5l, iriz 1.6l, handling wise iriz wayyyyy better

• Mario and Bros on Oct 04, 2018 at 10:27 pm

Aiyoo even Honda service quality in Malaysia and Honda assembly quality in Malaysia is so teruk, also Honda RV is not even safe at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Honda Malaysia Japanese MD on Oct 04, 2018 at 1:58 pm

Honda Klang Valley and Johor dealerships controlled by a few super dealers. That is why the after sales is suffering.. these dealers only want to sell and priority not on service. Many customers very unhappy with what is happening in Honda Malaysia . Because of Honda Malaysia ” method ” of appointing dealers… Honda Malaysia is controlled by these super dealers now. The Japanese MD and the top management is in denial. But best to find out from middle management from their HQ at CP tower…. The master becomes the toothless tiger to these dealers now. Exactly what happened to Proton before their fall from top

• Honda Boss on Oct 04, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Yes I hear that too.. talk of town about the “new” Honda dealer in Jalan Bangsar- 1S only in small house. Conflict Honda said all dealership must be 3S minimum. But this super dealer given special treatment. Once in Malaysia, Japanese are not so Japanese management after all – Bad Influenced

• No matter what u trying to say trying to condem, Honda still top selling and beat toyota, nissan, mazda, proton…etc. good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Another Guy on Oct 04, 2018 at 2:36 pm

Stop spamming every post with your bullshit copy & paste article la. Get a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • Geely Support on Oct 04, 2018 at 2:38 pm

I will buy Geely … I love Geely …I love Proton

• Ben Yap on Oct 04, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Stats don’t lie, bro. Honda has always been taking the top spot. Other car makers can try but they will always be followers. Following the almighty Civic design is a smart move. as not everyone can afford a civic, they get a city with the front grille looks like a civic, they are also contented.

So i guess the crying ones are Toyota, Proton, Perodua, Nissan and Mazda. Tell me where are the Vios, Persona, Myvi, Almera and Mazda2. Even the VW vento is not even close to be listed. Probably number 1 from behind.

Honda salesman are crying… yes they are, crying with joy as they are raking more commissions than any other car manufacturer can give.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
      • Eh, go join your friends at the playground lah. And I will tell your mom not to lend her ipad for you to bring to kindie so you can type nonsense online.

• myvipower on Oct 04, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Myvi has top seller, it can smoke your city for breakfast lunch dinner

• pengomel on Oct 04, 2018 at 3:39 pm

i bet this spammer dont even own honda. or maybe own low spec jazz or city, and modified everything to look premium..pathetic. one thing i know, the REAL conti car owner (bmw, mb, audi) will never underestimate or despise other car’s brand. they dont even care and notice what car are you driving otr. especially your kia picanto and proton pesona. congratulations~ most like u got from proton/p2 boifan who cant afford to buy even zero dp low spec jazz/city, but always condemning people who own one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • Mario and Bros on Oct 04, 2018 at 11:46 am

As I told you, only fool people will buy lousy Honda quality with Honda models designs look like donkey design and Honda models designs looks like outdated and ugly as well as Honda service quality is very terrible and even Honda assembly quality is very terrible too for all Honda models. Only smart and clever people will buy Proton, Mazda, BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Kia and Volvo with Proton design, Mazda design, BMW design, Mercedes design, Toyota design, Kia design and Volvo design looks beautiful, well-designed, more attractive, more fashionable, more stylish and more elegant as well as Service quality and assembly quality for Proton, Mazda, BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Kia and Volvo is improving, well progressed and well maintained

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 27
    • newme on Oct 04, 2018 at 3:54 pm

Wow,… these Proton clowns never cease to amaze you. Remember the time they were with Honda, praise Honda up sky high. Now divorce condemn kaw kaw. What a sore loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Amzarr on Oct 04, 2018 at 11:57 am

1. PROTON PERSONA
    2. TOYOTA VIOS
    3. HONDA CITY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
  • heyheyman123 on Oct 04, 2018 at 11:58 am

When people buy Honda, including when Honda salesman and Honda fans upgrade their newer Honda models. All carmakers fans in Malaysia are laughing at Honda Salesman and Honda malaysia fans. Also All carmakers fans in Malaysia think that Honda malaysia fans and Honda salesman are really stupid

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 12
    • EHonda on Oct 04, 2018 at 1:16 pm

Should lower MY pipu income, so honda sell less car. And pipu will go for safer proton cars..

• Ahmad Amin Abdul Wahid on Oct 04, 2018 at 12:03 pm

The good about City

Very fuel efficient I must say, one tank (40L) can go up to 870KM for long distance driving (typical avg 600km), as I’m using it as Uber/Grab car for 3 years until now…City driving can last up to 580km with avg. 70~80kmh speed (Caltex RON95 Regular user)

L15Z1 i-VTEC with 118hp & 146Nm of torque, coupled with responsive CVT box, easily reach up to 200kmh of top speed at h/way..80kmh@1,500rpm, 110kmh@2,000rpm & 200kmh@5,000rpm

Good power to weight ratio, 109bhp per ton, the kerb weight itself is not more than 1280kg

CVT servicing maintenance is much cheaper than Proton Saga CVT due to less items/part to replace (Torque converter type vs clutch type CVT)

large boot space 536L, ample legroom space for rear passenger + rear air conditioning blower

The bad about City:

The suspensions is hard + torsion beam setup, but the plus side is decent good handling & cornering

Wish the City got rear disc brake like the Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • pokmang on Oct 04, 2018 at 12:21 pm

fully loaded spec V city compared to my spec V BRV…missed the paddle shifter, auto cruise and 6 airbags

• Honda City Gen1 actually already started selling in msia in the 90s

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 04, 2018 at 12:46 pm

Kudos to HM for their success. Sincerely hope they will concentrate more on their B segment vehicles with more kit ala the City and HRV coz that’s what most Malaysians can currently afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • Susukotak on Oct 04, 2018 at 12:54 pm

dah tu bg la servis free 3 bulan kpd semua City

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 04, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Mr Toichi Ishiyama pls look into service team as well… Honda service quality very poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • City need engine upgrade on Oct 04, 2018 at 12:59 pm

Please update your dinosaur engine and gearbox for the petrol version…

• Abesla on Oct 04, 2018 at 1:52 pm

Abesla Vios. Godcar have been dethroned!

• Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 04, 2018 at 1:53 pm

Most lower level ah bengs prefer Vios while lalamoi choose Citi…and most Vios drivers (esp those older modela)are more reckless vs Citi drivers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Toyota Vios cry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
  • Honestly, their cars are good but service centers are poor. Have to improve this

• Yeah sure Honda Malaysia is number 1 non-national brand but at what cost? I have a 2017 Accord 2.4. I am very disappointed with the quality. Changed my rear LED taillights twice for dim LED bars. Steering wheel has been misaligned from the first day and Honda cannot fix this at all. Squeaks and rattles everywhere from dashboard to doors to pillars to seats…everywhere! Honda customer service people….are they real people or farm animals? Because they are so useless in addressing all the above issues.

The number one unreliable LED DRLs in the market belong to Honda Accords due to non-existent QC.

So did I buy a Honda or a baoteng? Everyday feels like its just a perdana with a H badge. Baik aku beli boring-old Toyota Camry!

• U shud have bought Perdana2. Saves u money and u get Honda reliability

• toyotamacai on Oct 04, 2018 at 10:02 pm

Serve you right, buy camry the epitome for those who made it in city, you can show it off to villagers

• All things considered it is the best car for the city, hence its name. But my god its so slow, I end up driving it at 100% throttle all the time just to get it to move.