Malaysian vehicles with unpaid fines may be barred from entering Singapore – enforcement from April 1

Singapore has announced that starting from April 1, foreign vehicles with outstanding summonses for traffic offences could be denied entry into the country. This will also apply to parking or vehicular emissions offences, The Straits Times reports. The move comes as authorities revealed that there were about 400,000 outstanding fines accumulated by foreign vehicles, amounting to S$32 million (RM96.8 million) in uncollected revenue.

In a collective statement issued by five government agencies, including the police and the land transport authority, the authorities said that all foreign motorists who enter Singapore must abide by the country’s laws and settle any outstanding fines for any vehicle-related offences, and that it took a dim view of those who did not and continue to disregard outstanding fines.

“To further deter such behaviour and more effectively enforce against those who fail to settle their fines, foreign vehicles with a number of outstanding fines for vehicle-related offences may be denied entry into Singapore from April 1, 2019,” the statement said. The agencies added that foreign motorists should check if they have any outstanding fines online through the AXS website and settle them promptly.

In related news, Bernama reports that Malaysia is aware of the new ruling, but says it will hold further discussions with Singapore on the matter. According to deputy foreign minister Datuk Marzuki Yahya, the subject will be brought up during an upcoming bilateral meeting.

“We understand the ban has been issued effective April 1, 2019. We are in the process of discussion with Singapore further on the matter. We have our own method to discuss this matter with Singapore, and this will be conducted simultaneously with the bilateral meeting with the republic later,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dr Strange on Feb 04, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Strange…. one wonders, if they are barred from entering then how would the owners enter Singapore to pay the fine? If they can find another mode of transport, would they still care to pay since it doesn’t bother them? Isn’t that a Catch-22 situation?

And aren’t they already practicing barring from leaving if unpaid summons? Doesn’t seem to make any sense at all this new rule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • thedukun on Feb 04, 2019 at 12:50 pm

Those foreign vehicles with unpaid summons are mostly from Brunei, Indo and Thailand ,

• Anonymous on Feb 04, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Weeiiiii… Minister Anthony Loke…! What is the progress of SG-JB RTS…? Nothing is moving. Why ARE you not doing your job..??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2019 at 1:03 pm

Singapore is very clever. 30 years ago they did this…..if you did an offence in Singapore, you cannot leave the country without paying the fine.

But Malaysia still trying to figure out what to do with Singapore vehicles not paying fines in Malaysia. Still cracking their head what to do.

Infact Singapore cars with fines in Malaysia can come in and out of Malaysia anytime.

I dont know why JPJ cannot link up to Immigresyen like how Singapore did 30 years ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Agree bro. Drivers from Thai n Sing come here become pelesit becoz enforcement so poor. If we go to Thai, really afraid driving there.
      We should let them come in BUT cannot go back before paying any summonses. Too long being mr nice guy, now they pijak kepala laa..

• RicoT on Feb 04, 2019 at 1:32 pm

Reciprocate the same to Singkieland cars & bikes, settle fines before entering/exiting the borders. We welcome good drivers, not crazy Singkieland who view our roads as racing circuit.

• GiMamLu on Feb 04, 2019 at 1:57 pm

kutip je lah temasik kalau ada denda.. Sembang apa 8055kuRR

• Change no. plate before enter SG.

• Julee on Feb 07, 2019 at 12:26 pm

Ah, Msian typical response. Syabas. Your parents brought you up well.

• Why bar them from entering? Let them entry and then seize their cars. Then see if they will pay

• Ben Yap on Feb 05, 2019 at 4:50 pm

keyword “may be barred”. it means it’s not definite yet. no need to pay fine until the keyword states “will be barred”.