BMW i8 Roadster LimeLight Edition makes its debut

This is the BMW i8 Roadster LimeLight Edition, a special one-off created by BMW Italia in partnership with Alcantara S.p.A. that was designed to “exude exclusivity and sustainability.”

The show car isn’t what you would call subtle, as it features a flashy paintjob that is contrasted by black wheels, which themselves are backed by yellow brake calipers. Given this is still an i8 Roadster, there’s still an electric fabric roof that can be lowered in 15 seconds and at speeds of up to 50 km/h.

Moving inside, you’ll find a cabin awash with Alcantara, with the material covering almost every surface the eye can see. This includes the two-tone sports seats, which feature yellow contrast stitching and inlays with laser cut holes that are designed to mimic the BMW roundel.

The latter is also seen on the door cards, and you also get carbon-fibre trim, blue ambient lighting, LimeLight Edition badging and more yellow accents on the steering wheel. BMW says Alcantara is a good fit for the i8 as the company making the material is the first in Italy to be certified carbon neutral by the TÜV SÜD organisation, which matches up nicely with BMW’s ambitions.

As for the mechanical parts of the car, the i8’s plug-in hybrid powertrain remains familiar as a normal i8 Roadster, consisting of a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine, an 11.6 kWh lithium-ion battery pack, a six-speed auto and an electric motor. This provides a combined output of 374 PS (369 hp), which is good for a century sprint time of 4.6 seconds, a top speed of 250 km/h, and 53 km of EV range.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Does it glow in the dark?

• Ali Rustam on Dec 05, 2019 at 11:41 am

I remember the Proton Iriz with this colour, then always they park at the EV bay that says, “Green Car only”

Aiyooo……I hope drivers learn their English lah

• English Teacher on Dec 05, 2019 at 1:59 pm

You better work on your English since you think like that.

• kek lapis on Dec 05, 2019 at 5:33 pm

At one glance from the side, looks like an Evora.