Toyota’s Kinto One car-subscription service debuts in Malaysia – prices start from RM1,678 a month for Yaris

UMW Toyota Motor and Toyota Capital Malaysia (TCM) have announced the introduction of the automaker’s Kinto car subscription-based service in the country. The mobility services brand was established by Toyota in 2019 to operate and manage car-subscription programmes globally, the idea being to offer consumers an alternative path to vehicle ownership.

Making its local debut under the Kinto One label, the programme offers consumers the chance to drive a car without the hassles associated with the traditional hire purchase facility. As is the case with similar services, Kinto One works under an all-inclusive, fixed monthly payment, car subscription plan.

The fixed monthly subscription covers registration of the vehicle, its annual comprehensive insurance and road tax, periodic as well as preventive maintenance, with items such tyres and battery replacement as well as 24-gour emergency assistance covered under the plan. The duration of a subscription is either two or three years.

Once the subscription period is completed, all the customer has to do is return the car to the company, which will handle the rest. Essentially, the programme removes the worry of residual value of the car and the issue of selling it off after years of usage.

Click to enlarge.

Subscription to the service is available online via the Kinto One website. Here, customers can view the car models available, decide on a subscription plan that suits them and apply online. Currently, the website lists eight Toyota models (Vios, Yaris, Corolla, Camry, Innova, Avanza, Fortuner and Rush) and four Lexus models (the UX, NX, ES and RX) as being available for subscription.

Prices start from RM1,678 per month for a Yaris 1.5J on a 36-month tenure, and selecting a 1.5G variant will increase that to RM1,928 a month. Meanwhile, a Corolla 1.8E will cost RM3,018 a month, while the 1.8G route adds on a bit more to the monthly payment, which is RM3,248.

As for Lexus, prices start from RM7,658 for the UX 200 Luxury Urban, increasing to RM8,658 for the Luxury and RM9,068 if you opt for the F-Sport version of the SUV. Selecting a shorter 24-month subscription doesn’t really hike the monthly repayments by much – in the case of the UX 200 Urban, the monthly payment is RM7,848 per month on a 24-month tenure, which is RM190 more than that in a 36-month plan.

Click to enlarge the images.

The initial payment for all Kinto One plans consists of one month’s subscription fees and a refundable deposit (amounting to a month’s fees for the particular vehicle) as well as stamp duty. From there, subscribers will just have to follow on with the subsequent monthly charges, of which payment will be for the next 35 months in a three-year plan, and 23 months in a two-year plan.

According to TCM president Thomas Chai, the service is aimed at companies and corporations wanting to be light in their assets but still require mobility for their personnel, and also at individual customers who are looking to use a vehicle without actually owning it. “Kinto One is a distinctly curated plan for the new generation seeking mobility. It is about the shift of consumer behavior from car ownership to car usership,” he said.

For more info on the Kinto One programme and its subscription plans as well as pricing for individual model variants, visit the Kinto One website.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• longjaafar on Jan 18, 2021 at 2:48 pm

Toyota cars have good RV. alwiz better to buy,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • 10 years ago good RV, now no more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • Not really. In the past, toyota used to be bad RV but now RV is getting better bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 18, 2021 at 6:57 pm

Pay 55-70% of the car’s value within 3-years

• Chow Wei Zhen on Jan 18, 2021 at 10:11 pm

Toyota RV won’t drop a lot after 3 years, if you buy last 3 years Vios unlike the one with 4AT, yes Vios 4AT RV will drop a lot.

• Ool Mas (Iro) on Jan 19, 2021 at 10:34 am

actually the reason for sudden drop is because the cars are more than 12 years old. Banks dont give loans anymore. all cars suffer from same issue.

thats what you see in the market for vios dugong aka NCP93 MY07, 08 and 09.

• Celup King on Jan 18, 2021 at 5:33 pm

In this case, the subscription service will fail right? If buyers no need worry on RV, why subscribe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Chris on Jan 18, 2021 at 3:26 pm

Wow…total rip off… let’s take example, if KINTO ONE is going to to give us YARIS for from RM1678for 3 yrs subscription, that makes RM1678 x 36 = RM60408 including insurance, maintenance, road tax etc. They would have covered the cost of the car plus some profit for them to take in the condition and either refurbish or sell of as a used car to add more profit. End of the day, the subscriber is left with nothing but a memory.
    On the other side of the coin, if you were to purchase through financing, the Yaris starts from RM70,940.00! excluding interest, insurance, road tax, maintenance…But end of the hire purchase, the car is yours and for you to decide to use it free from installment or to trade in for another car with a small value.

Kinto One is raking in money like nobody’s bussiness.

Please be wise if you want to subscript a car from KINTO. And please do your maths!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 57
    • DemakATM on Jan 18, 2021 at 4:00 pm

Why not.. U save money from insurance.. Maintenance.. Every 3 year got chance to use new car.. If u don’t want to continue the plan.. No need to renew it.. It give u an option to drive a new good car without the need to have one.. Some will appreciate that.. Car is just an unnecessary liability after all.. If they can extend the distance from 30k to 50k.. It will be more value on money spend..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • seancorr (Member) on Jan 18, 2021 at 6:19 pm

Better read the fine print about getting a new car all the time. Renault used to offer that then along they say they change their T&C so now when you sign up for one, very high chance you get a refurbished car from the previous lease. So now you calculate a used vehicle against your subscription price… suddenly ur no longer getting a good bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
      • Buy new car, you get some free service anyway. A good RM600 a set of yaris tyre will last you atleast 50k easily, which equivalent to almost 2 Yr lease here, brakes 40k. Insurance is not much for yaris if you have NCD. After you payoff your loan, you will have your own commute free from any repayment. Owning and maintaining a car will gain you valuable knowledge and experience in detecting problem early. I see no gain at all other than the ridiculous subscription fee. Get it from car rental may be cheaper and more flexible.

• Can somebody do actual calculation for 3 years cost? As service manual. Including RV if buy.

• M & B on Jan 18, 2021 at 3:58 pm

Nice

• ali ah chong dan muthu on Jan 18, 2021 at 4:32 pm

to buy or not to buy….. that is a car

• dong gor on Jan 18, 2021 at 5:31 pm

At first glance, it’s ridiculous! Then after doing some maths, it’s still bad but it’s just the truth how much Malaysians are paying to own cars. Time to think twice before signing up for another car loan folks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Yeah it’s sad, and it’s because of our archaic excise duty calculation all to protect Proton. Now that our national car manufacturers are supposedly self sustaining and selling like hot cakes, perhaps government should do away with this and start taxing by horsepower or some other metric?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Avenger on Jan 19, 2021 at 11:16 am

Archaic taxation is to protect Perodua, not Proton. Proton had long ago welcomed the do away of unfair taxation on non-national cars. It was Perodua that protested everytime a do away is proposed.

• Jia Ren on Jan 18, 2021 at 5:31 pm

Bring it on

• Venza on Jan 18, 2021 at 5:37 pm

Impressive

• combo meals on Jan 18, 2021 at 6:27 pm

What if you are paying over 1.5 for Yaris or Vios , thinking that you might got a better paying job in near future or job promotion after 2 years time.

Somehow, you are struggling to safe extra for the rainy days in the process. After 1.5 years, economy crisis hit, you have nether money nor financial ability to pay the subscription, caused you are laid off. So you could resort to public transport services , like public buses, trains… How pathetic…

When you have jobs interview later, potential employer ask, do you have a car? You said no, then you are turned down by them, cause applying for sales executive.

So, this subscription services is adding extra burden to people, comon la, if you have the money, would you dump all in to your car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • very nice

• Subscription plan more towards corporate car fleet or foreigner with contract and don’t want to be burden with hire purchase rather than personal use.

• Simple maths that I did (correct me if I am wrong):

With Kinto – monthly is 4524, 3 years total to 162864. After that, nothing but memory
    With conventional financing – car price is 196k, 10% downpayment of 19.6k, 3 years loan with 2.35%, monthly is slightly more at 4545. But the car will STILL be yours after 3 years when loan is done. The additional outlay is approximately 43k (assuming 10% downpayment of 19.6k + 3 years roadtax of 2625 + 3 years insurance of about 17k + service of 3.6k which 1.2k/yr).

Purely taking loan amount alone, you would have paid about the same, but eventually the car goes back to Toyota. With your additional outlay of 43k instead you still own the car, which definitely is still worth more than 100k after 3 years.

That’s how much Toyota is making from you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • if only they have for shorter period,
    then is worth the lease

• Kelvin Yap on Jan 21, 2021 at 12:12 pm

simple math, this is not worth it at all, if u can afford a brand new car, you own it for life and you can resell. or you can buy a good second hand car. not sure whos their target customer for this. starting price RM1,678 is already too much for most ppl.