Chery Malaysia issues statement on Omoda 5 brake issue – in contact with customer, courtesy car offered

Chery Malaysia has issued an official statement regarding a brake issue faced by an Omoda 5 customer, which recently went viral. According to the company, “we are taking this matter very seriously”, they have reached out to the customer and a courtesy car has been offered.

“We want to emphasise that Chery Malaysia is committed to providing safe and reliable transportation solutions, and we are dedicated to ensuring that all our vehicles meet the highest safety standards,” said Chery Malaysia VP Lee Wen Hsiang.

“Should customers face any issues with their vehicle, please do not hesitate to contact Chery Malaysia at +603 2771 7070 or reach out to us via email at [email protected],” he added.

Here’s some context. The affected customer shared a video on Facebook saying that her Omoda 5 “just got out of service centre now and suddenly no brake on the highway”. In the video – which was shot in the driver’s seat as the car was on the side of a highway – the customer sounded emotional and said that her two-month old SUV has been in and out of the service centre a few times.

Below is the statement by Chery Malaysia verbatim.

Statement on OMODA 5 issue by Chery Malaysia Vice President Lee Wen Hsiang
7 April 2024

Chery Malaysia received a complaint by a customer involving her OMODA 5, we would like to assure our customers and the public that we are taking this matter very seriously.

The safety of our customers is our utmost priority. We have been in contact with the customer involved since Saturday (6 April 2024) to address her concern and subsequently, a courtesy vehicle has been offered to her.

We want to emphasise that Chery Malaysia is committed to providing safe and reliable transportation solutions, and we are dedicated to ensuring that all our vehicles meet the highest safety standards.

Should customers face any issues with their vehicle, please do not hesitate to contact Chery Malaysia at +603 2771 7070 or reach out to us via email at [email protected]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Salesman proton on Apr 08, 2024 at 10:09 am

Eat cherry meet your maker faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • yusrykru on Apr 08, 2024 at 10:18 am

class act

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Even Mercedes Malaysia also don’t provide courtesy car! Cherry is serious in doing business!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 22
  • CHERRY sold over 6,000.000 cars to date in malaysia on Apr 08, 2024 at 1:47 pm

Anyone died yet? WHAT she didnt tell you after the video went viral. The BRAKe function better than fresh out of Factory

Over 6000 vs 1 ktards driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
  • That video also complained about rude and dismissive aftersales despite the safety issue which makes you wonder if Chery is a credible brand in Malaysia. Doesn’t matter how good the car is, consumers shouldn’t settle for lack of aftersales and being rudely treated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Well guess Chery is doing the Proton style of the past 30 years biasalah Bang/Cik macam itulah CKD di Malaysia mesti ada sedikit sana sini tak cantik masa kami test ia cantik sungguh saja.

• Dugong on Apr 08, 2024 at 3:06 pm

Stupid young generation only know how to cry and viral. People give you courtesy car take lar…why want to be so karen want myvi.

Any car also will have issues. Just report and fix it lar. Sigh the young generation nowadays…only know how to tik tok and viral and cry baby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 49
    • Oh My Dugong on Apr 08, 2024 at 3:45 pm

The courtesy car came after the video went viral. It was not provided when she made her complaint to the service center when it went back to check on the brake issue.

Its better to viral and have the car company take action to investigate rather than wait till when some die in an accident due to the very same issue.

What msian can do under such circumstances in which complaining directly to the car company does not rectify the issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Dumb Dugong on Apr 08, 2024 at 10:40 pm

Complaining didn’t have any effect. Only after going viral then action is taken. Reminds me of the Bezza sugar incident. After viral only take action. So viral works.

Next time such things happen to you better keep quiet. Don’t let me see you crying and complaining.

• ok boomer

• Next Level Dugong on Apr 09, 2024 at 2:53 pm

Walao eh dugong, if your car facing issued and manufacturer don’t want layan you, what you can do? Hug the car to sleep every night? put pillow up high hope next day salesman contact you say “dugong come now I help you repair immediately?”.

• Where are the cherry supporters telling better than other cars

• TehBeng on Apr 08, 2024 at 4:55 pm

CCP haven’t sent them today’s 50¢ payment yet.
      Don’t worry, later all will come out like cockroaches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • China win win but now lose lose haahahhaa

• HOW about? on Apr 08, 2024 at 5:10 pm

SHE sits ontop of Omoda 5 bonnet and cry about it with her legs pushing the floor? buy china cars should copy china style,
    Cherry CHINA will come sea her.

Is 6000 cherry owners gonna died soon?

the techicians need to attend an internal enquiry with CHERRY MSIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Mechanic Malaysian. Service advisor Malaysian. It was Malaysians that have tidak apa attitude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • CBLover on Apr 08, 2024 at 8:18 pm

Boikot the kereta cina

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • CCP fanbois will tell you Tesla and Honda also got problems.

• Ah Kong Dugong on Apr 09, 2024 at 9:34 am

People who are mature and sensible wont go viral like this cry baby. Only gila viral, self centred will viral even for small shit or tik tok what she had for breakfast.

Any problem can be resolved with proper communications to the right people. In my line of businesses with different cultures, any hiccups can always be resolved if you channel it to the right person. Not crying and viral. Stupid strawberry generation.

• Omoda 5 Recall In Australia in Feb on Apr 09, 2024 at 4:05 pm

There was a recall in Australia in February for the Chery Omoda 5 model. The recall was issued due to brake failure caused by leaks. While it’s unfortunate that defects can occur, it’s concerning that Chery Malaysia is still selling this car despite being aware of the recall in Australia.

It’s not enough that Chery Malaysia is offering a courtesy car to affected customers. They should take more responsibility for their customers’ safety and recall all the Omoda 5 cars sold in Malaysia for reinspections.

Unfortunately, it seems that many companies prioritize profits over consumer safety these days. It’s important for us as consumers to be vigilant and hold companies accountable for their actions.

• https://www.drive.com.au/news/2022-23-chery-omoda-5-recalled-brake-fluid/?fbclid=IwAR2LRUOlmzq8G0M8skZipQYUYz349kPhllFHrTRVPX_0qhbf4LgVoxiOc0g

When is Malaysia? Or our CKD is so good that we are escaped from this incident?