WiMAX is in Malaysia!

Months ago I received an invitation from AirZed to submit an application if my company was interested in a new broadband service which they would be offering soon. I presumed it would be a wireless broadband service as it’s AirZed’s forte. But I’ve wondered what tech platform they would base their wireless broadband service on.

AirZed has always been part of the WiMAX forum as they display the logo so prominently and proudly on their website. It appears AirZed’s new wireless broadband service is using WiMAX. As far as I know, it should be the first WiMAX service in Malaysia. Wireless broadband is not the same as a wireless hotspot service though, for those who are confused. Wireless broadband like the services offered by Timenet Webbit, Maxis Wireless Broadband and Jaring My015 cover a much much wider range than a wireless hotspot service typically found at coffee outlets and cafes.

WiMAX, or 802.16 allows a much further reach than Wi-Fi (802.11a/b/g). Coverage zone is up to a 50km range.

Currently AirZed’s WiMAX service covers Mid Valley, Damansara, Petaling Jaya and Shah Alam. Service coverage over the areas of Subang, Puchong, Cheras, Ampang and Kota Damansara is coming soon. I’m actually very suprised to see that Cheras is planned to be covered in the near future and not just “sometime soon, maybe in the next decade” unlike other Wi-Fi providers. I live in Cheras and it is pretty choice-deprived in terms of broadband! The edges of Cheras near the Ampang side have been covered by Jaring though. I also wonder how come Subang isn’t covered immediately… it’s usually one of the first places to be covered.

Will it burn a hole in your pocket? Prices start at RM188 a month for the Home package which offers 1Mbps download and 128kbps upload with a dynamic IP. The SOHO package is RM288 a month and it offers 1Mbps download and 384kbps upload, but with dynamic IP as well. The Business package is RM468 a month offering 1Mbps download and 512kbps upload. It also comes with a fixed IP and 6 free Airzed Wi-fi Hotspot accounts. Currently only the Business package is available as the service is not really that mature yet I guess.

Nasioncom is also planning to offer WiMAX wireless broadband services soon.

I think WiMAX is the better choice than other technologies like SOMAport because it’s an open standard and that will drive the cost of the equipment required to enable WiMAX reception to more affordable levels. I am sure adoption of Jaring, Maxis and Timenet’s proprietary wireless broadband has been affected by the high cost of the hardware and also the inability for wireless devices for one provider to work with the other. With WiMAX however, a person using AirZed’s broadband could change to Nasioncom’s or other provider’s easily.

Let’s see whether AirZed can give hurt TMNet’s broadband monopoly.

Related: Read about my experience with Airzed WiMAX.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mamatd on Jun 26, 2005 at 6:18 am

If only this company has the courage to offer an equal rate as what TM-Nut is charging for their broadband service, I guess each and every current TM-Nut would be willing to ditch their current provider.

My challenge to them to lower their rate. They'll get greater number of subscriber, hence more return to their investment.

• doubleukay on Jun 26, 2005 at 7:33 am

At those announced prices, they sure aren't going to attract any home users in the broadband-saturated zones they're covering.

• I think they are targetting people on the go.

• auyongtc on Jun 26, 2005 at 7:58 pm

Well, at least they're bringing the latest in new technology to our shore. And that's something good to begin with… w00t! :p

• karheng on Jun 26, 2005 at 8:25 pm

does that mean that if i stay in subang i can use it anywhere in subang with the same account?

• I wondered why Digi's EDGE/GPRS was not mentioned here. It may not be offering the same speed as other broadband providers, however, it gives the convenience to dial-up with the GPRS mobile cell phone (e.g. Nokia 6220) and 016 nationwide coverage.

With RM99/month you can unlimited Internet access, isn't it a good alternative?

• es: not within the same league… edge is too slow. roughly 128kbps only. yes, it's convenient, but i was comparing wireless broadband with real broadband speeds, not data over cellular network.

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jun 27, 2005 at 10:32 pm

wah new kind of 'band' ah? and is not cheap 'jaring' charge half the price monthly aithought my place don't have wireless. May be this company give more coverage at small town…

• If Airzed comes here (Bandar Tun Hussein Onn) earlier than Jaring's wireless broadband service, I will subscribe to them. Its expensive but in the long run I think it would be worth it and eventually, they will certainly have to lower their prices.

– MENJ

• jonahdiary on Jun 28, 2005 at 2:50 am

don't u realise it? streamyx is gila gila promoting every corner of KL right now…coz the new rival is coming!!!

• jonahdiary: i also noticed tmnet streamyx google ads

• Sylvester on Jun 28, 2005 at 5:54 am

My Opinion is even though a lots of complaint for TM-N"e"t. They still provide the biggest coverage for broadband. It is not easy to turn all users into broadband with just one click. Thinks about the cost and other factors that cause the implementation to slowdown.

Just like our telecommunication project. 3G "Is this a latest technology or we are outdated". Think…..

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 10, 2005 at 9:08 am

to add more:last time TM Net promoting their wireless but now why it SLEEP…. can any one explain to me???????????

• Eugene on Aug 09, 2005 at 7:44 pm

Too expensive lah.

Do a quick search. Broadband prices in europe/us is so cheap and so fast.

If WiMax tech is cheaper, then why not give consumers say RM20/month? If i live and work in UK, i could get broad band at UK15/month

• move to UK then.

this is malaysia. everything is more expensive one way or another.

i still waiting for the WiMAX PC Card… darn, this is taking too long.

• left out on Nov 24, 2005 at 7:23 pm

why do you want to provide coverage to the already saturated area? don't you think it's worth spending the money elsewhre?

• left out: Mid Valley Boulevard's wiremen did job very badly. the phone lines there have very high static levels, leaving Streamyx ununsable. Wireless is a popular choice here.

• chris on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:20 am

Why are all the isps offering only 1mbps downloads? How many more years to wait b4 they increase the speed? Why can't they give us choices in faster speeds? That's why the broadband penetration rate is below 1%. How shameful. Who wants to subscribe if the speed is slow and the service is lousy. Singapore is already offering 25mbps and 30 mbps downloads. Hongkong is offering 100mbps and 1 gbps. others are all offering adsl 2 at 24mbps. But we poor Malaysians with Cyberjaya are stuck with 1mbps. I hope Lim Keng Yaik will tell us how he is going to give us really fast braodband at low prices soon.

• rawrico (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 7:55 pm

well i wanna ask that,i heard that the wimax are failed cause of astro frequency,is it true???

well,i agree what chris said,tmnet still holding down the speed line for what pepose actually?

is this still call cyber in cyberjaya???

• linitari (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 1:39 am

Good news… Wimax monthly charges is down to RM20/month

Bad news … for terengganu users only ..

Source Berita Harian29 January 2007 front page.

• mirexastan (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:43 pm

Hi, been waiting soooo long for this thing called wimax and chance
    upon this page. But the last comments is soooo outdated too.
    Yeah, if the service ever come around to my area, (i…poh) will give
    this present service the boot asap…( must check the wallet 1st
    of course!) This slowband is what we gonna git so take it
    or leave it sort of mentality belongs to yesterday. Hope this wimax
    will show itself soooon or else won’t get to have a taste of it b4
    the bucket comes a-calling…..And thanks paultan for this bit of
    space to voice out………

• MadMax on Nov 09, 2009 at 4:09 pm

It's a shame that Malaysia initially come up with MultiMedia Super Corridor and we are now in the back door of this technology.

• kelantan_boy on Mar 27, 2010 at 11:01 am

i wonder wimax coverage reach kelantan or not……

• Jerry on Jul 04, 2011 at 11:43 am

the ones that is in 4G according to the new 4G standard is P14G. That one has high speed and now includes voice. Now that Malaysia has reviewed the standard of 4G, P1 is rightly 4G wit stable and fast internet connection compared to other broadband providers.