Airzed WiMAX Test

I previously blogged about AirZed introducing WiMAX broadband services here in Malaysia. The only package available right now is the Business package which provides 1mbps download and 512kbps upload with 1 fixed IP. It costs RM468 a month.

I had the opportunity to test out the service just now and I have to say I’m impressed. The picture you see on the left is the WiMAX antenna, which was positioned to face the base station not too far away. The WiMAX antenna can be put facing a window or outdoors. For outdoor usage, STP cables are used instead of normal UTP cables.

The antenna has a small display below it showing signal strength. Signal strength in our area was almost full bar.

The STP cable from the antenna goes to a little box which looks like a power brick. From there, a UTP cable goes to a server or router, or whatever you want to connect the service to.

I did a few tests and I managed to saturate the 1024/512 connection that the test connection had. Ping times to local ISPs had the typical wireless high latency but still pretty good. The main link was an NTT MSC ArcNet line which has a reputation of being a premium connection provider here in Malaysia, with excellent international links. I can understand why.

More information on Airzed’s WiMAX packages here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:19 am

not bad…..

but still need years to be a household Internet connection service….

• yhtan on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:29 am

wireless network?

wow…..is seem that is perform better than streamyx

• eMalaysian on Oct 26, 2005 at 1:01 am

Its still too expensive for home use. If they drop the price then ok.

• Lpost on Oct 26, 2005 at 1:25 am

Jaring has been providing this kind of services since last year.

and it is cheaper that airzed…one more advantages of using Jaring wireless broadband is that it use single device.And the antena is buit-in together with the terminal(small box)…

• auyongtc on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:34 am

Lpost,

Jaring's wireless broadband is using SOMA, not WiMAX. WiMAX is a newer technology :)

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:41 am

Chew , the Maxis Wireless oso provide the same like Jaring.

A small box (Antenna and Modem in 1) . 512/128k Speeds (At Max).

It's downloads speeds are acceptable. However it's connections with Streamyx users is horrible.. You can get VERY high latencies when you connect with Streamyx users or play an online game.

Conclusion : It sucks. Wireless has got to improve.

• HumanSanzz on Oct 26, 2005 at 5:04 am

LOLz………….eRis-Aeir4s, cannot play battlenet ar???hehe

• yhtan on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:25 am

so if compare to others,which one is the best?

• the wireless services are pretty differnet really. with the size of the wimax antenna, i would say its more of a fixed wireless service instead of maxis and jaring which are designed to be mobile wireless. though with the limited coverage zone right now you cant be very mobile.

• Lpost on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:52 pm

to auyongtc,

really, my mistake…thx 4 d infos.

• How's the latency like so far?

• MK84: about 60-80ms average

• Selipar on Oct 26, 2005 at 10:08 pm

what wimax got to do with automotive? anyway, since paul already posted the topic…let me share something..Wimax is considered an alternative to various existing broadband commercially available..

yes, for the time being, the coverage is limited up to 6 miles wirelessly as compared to 500m wi-fi outdoor (streamyx adsl cable is 5-6km radius, sdsl is farther a bit)

Wimax will provide fixed , nomadic, portable and, eventually, mobile wireless broadband connectivity without the need for direct line-of-sight with a base station. According to Intel, sooner every notebook & pc will be equipped with Wimax chipset to replace the centrino wi-fi. So the Edge & 3G would no longer become the mainstream in the future due to many advantages of Wimax.

So, hopefully it would contribute to technology advantage for automotive sector for a cheaper alternative car brodband internet which include GPS, email, video conference etc..bla..bla..

Expect it to become reality in a couple years ahead…

p/s: actually wimax was already in malaysia back in 2000 for testing/isolated usage (Gov) as i have some experience working/playing around with it back then.. :)

• Selipar on Oct 26, 2005 at 10:32 pm

you can check further the technology at : http://www.intel.com/netcomms/technologies/wimax/

• colbert on Oct 27, 2005 at 12:13 am

only 1MB ? you must be kidding ? we are so behing Spore. They already have 36MB packages for home users

• Justanothermalaysian on Oct 27, 2005 at 3:01 am

Has anyone test out the Wimax during rainy days? Some of the older wireless technology do have problems when it rains. From the look of the picture posted, I would think the antenna need to have a line-of-sight with the base station, what if another building blocking in front. Can anyone shed some light on this?

• Lpost on Oct 27, 2005 at 3:35 am

colbert,

this is wireless broadband not fixed. and this is a new tech…

• drugkill on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:19 am

i don't think that wimax got any interuption when it was raining …. and it aslo using OFDM where is that no need of LOS or Line of Side when installing the antena but surely there is a blind spot for this service … and for the RM468 i don't think that is so expensive …have u all check with streamy cooparate rate ? or maxis i-link rate .. i hope u can give us your review ( i mean pro and cons ) using wimax urself after 2 weeks using it . i mean interm of service and customer service relation… the down time … the latercy … the speed of connection … hihihihihi hi i want to test is but surely my area balakong is out of coverage … and hope that 802.16e will be in used then so we really can use it as a mobile internet service … yeeeehaaaaa at least there is an option to install it in car …. har har har har har har KL to much trafic jam lor … so we can JAM and SURF in the car ….

• eMalaysian on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:33 am

So why are we so behind singapore?

• drugkill on Oct 28, 2005 at 5:35 am

how big is singapore and how big is malaysia ???? and one more thing singapore is not one of the 3rd world country lor ….. we are ..to simply change the telecomunication infra in malaysia will take longger period and cost the gov more even it is handle by TM rite now but still there need funding by the govt it self …..why don't u move to singapore and then u can use the high tech there …. har har har har har har har har ….and one more thing the monopoly scheme is making it worst ….the motto is WE ARE THE BEST … but in reality WE BECAME THE BEST COZ WE ARE THE ONLY ONE … can u see that … har har har har har har har har …..

• eMalaysian on Oct 28, 2005 at 9:40 pm

No lah. Size has nothing to do with it. If we use your argument on size then Malaysia should ahead of the States.

• drugkill on Oct 29, 2005 at 7:40 am

eMalaysia … i know that size is not the matter … but … Malaysia would be infont of the state if the R&D is done here 1st not there or other country …. this is happen because of malaysia people always like to TALK and no action … like some of the people in here who is always do …. for example … u all always critic proton … and there is no single action is done from u guy … why don't u go there to the proton it self and talk to the people incharge or if u all great enough developt a company like proton and let us see if u can stand alone without any gov help and support .

• eMalaysian on Oct 30, 2005 at 11:48 pm

If I am a technical guy on automotive then I may go and say something and maybe do something. But I major in finance/economics and so even that contribution to R&D in my area on expertise gains me very low returns on investments or none at all. And besides that, who is going to fund R&D if there are no returns on investments? And therein lies the problem.

• drugkill on Oct 31, 2005 at 5:59 am

" who is going to fund R&D if there are no returns on investments? "

that why there is so few people doing R&D in Malaysia … hihihihihihi jgn mare ha nanti kena jual …. and that why also malaysia is so slow in term of technology … hihihiihihi the new company will not invest in new technology by thingking why should i introduce this technology there is similiar company providing the technology and the esisting provider think " why should i invest more in new technology … the old technology is still new ma …. " har har har har har it just a joke … don't know why i so merepek this time …. maybe it because lack of rest …. still got to work on sunday … erghhhhhhhh …. hihihihih

• eMalaysian on Oct 31, 2005 at 5:51 pm

drugkill, yes you are right.

Our work culture? How many want to improve and automate financial/admin/HR processes? the attitude is "Last time no need also can make money what"

drugkill,

Do you know why ppl complain and do nothing (including me)? This is something call the social mirror. Its what the society expects of us. If there is no critical mass then there is nothing 1 person or 10 persons or 100 persons can do.

Take for example singing. If you have a kid and he sings terrible. Everybody clap hands and say clever. Its expected. If he grows up and sings bad, he wont join a singing contest because ppl will boo at him. Why? Because he expects it. Other ppl will also boo because it is expected of them. This is called social mirror.

Same as R&D. People expect you to learn and have return on investemt. If you don't have ROI then bad. That's why, in malaysia, engineers courses are harder to get in and enginneer are higher in demand. In develop contries, science people are in demand and these are the people who spends time to learn about things like the bubble. Its up side down. Its what the society expects.

this is why when malaysians go overseas, we act like them but when we come back we become malaysians. Society and the social mirror is a strong force and there is nothing 1 person can do but this doesnt mean that single person cannot be a transition figure.

• drugkill on Nov 01, 2005 at 3:12 pm

i have to aggreed with u … hihihihihi ….

• You don’t really need STP, it’s work wit UTP. STP was used because it probably failed EMC testing….but, to comply with the law….it’s best to use STP.

What the brad of the device ? May be I tested and release this product into the market. Malaysian EMC engineer Boleh ! I work for a EMC test lab in Calif…tested many of these devices.

• casriena (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 1:24 am

Hi,

Just an updates on this WIMAX thingy. Airzed now launching their home user package for Desa Sri Hartamas and Mont Kiara area. Introductory price will be RM128 per month with 3 monts free… which is only RM96 per month! Contact them for details.

• suanie (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:12 am

wah so amazing -_-"