Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

List of AP Recipients Revealed

The recipients of APs have been revealed by the government despite the leaders insistence that it is not the government’s policy for the recipient list to be exposed.

The list was released this evening by the Prime Minister’s office.

The AP scheme was introduced by the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) as a method to help Bumiputra entrepreneurs in the automotive sector.

Naza boss Nasimuddin Amin, also known as “AP King” first appeared on the list in 1988 when he was given 3112 APs under his company Naza Konsortium Sdn Bhd.

There are also names of former MITI officers on the list and the two officers are some of the biggest recipients.

Click more for the list of the top 10 AP recipients

List of AP Recipients

1. Datuk Seri Syed Azman Syed Ibrahim, Datuk Mohd Haniff Abd Aziz, Datuk Azzuddin Ahmad (15,759 APs).
2. Tan Sri Nasimuddin SM Amin (12,524)
3. Berjaya Group Berhad, Sime Darby Berhad and Tan Sri Vincent Tan (8,573)
4. Datuk Ayob Saad, Datuk Dr Soh Thiam Hong and Soh Ah Gong (2,496)
5. DRB-Hicom Berhad (2,148)

6. Tunku Datuk Zainol Tengku Izham and Ramzia Arshad (2,025)
7. Zahari Jaffar, Muhammad Fadhil Ahmad (1,807)
8. Datuk Ilyas Mohamed and Zahran Ahmad (1,237)
9. Zahari Jaffar, Muhammad Fadhil Ahmad and Razak Al-Malique Hussain (1,080)
10. Muhammad Faizal Zainol, Zatizam Ghazali and Faridah Ghazali (1,026)

In case you are wondering who the two ex-officers of MITI are, their names are Datuk Seri Syed Azman Syed Ibrahim and Datuk Mohd Haniff Abd Aziz.

It’s interesting that although the government describes the AP scheme as a way to help Bumiputera entrepreneurs, there are people like Tan Sri Vincent Tan on the list.

I do not think this is the end of the AP saga. In other news, Deputy Information Minister Datuk Zainuddin Maidin has advised MITI Minister Rafidah Aziz to apologize to Tun Dr. Mahathir over some comments she made on the AP saga that had offended Tun Dr. Mahathir. No prizes for guessing what but it had to do with his son getting APs to import Porsches and Saabs through his company Auto Eurokars. Mokhzani Mahathir only received 95 APs in 2001, an extremely small number relative to the top 10 AP kings of Malaysia which numbers run in the thousands.

Source: Bernama.com

32 Comments »

1. Wingz said,

July 19, 2005 @ 1:25 am

hmmm .. i smells something is burning …..

2. wa sea hokkien lang too said,

July 19, 2005 @ 3:18 am

AP is alot but the car price still high only rich people can buy CBU 1
    we the less money one olny can buy proton proton proton
    but still kutuk that car…what to say that the only cay can buy

3. wa sea hokkien lang too said,

July 19, 2005 @ 3:19 am

also all bumi 1

4. AlexC said,

July 19, 2005 @ 9:04 am

AP to help bumi entrepreneurs… what a whole lot of crap this is… look at the number of recipients… if the statistic is right about what ku li said about 300% tax, imagine how much they have reapped out of the malaysians who bought non national cars… i’ve no comments further on our government… flawed system with flawed governance… i wonder how many issues ‘covered’ from the public about other flaws… sad… no transparency from our government…

5. A Curious Boy said,

July 19, 2005 @ 9:08 am

Does Rafidah have any connection with Naza Group? Last time i heard that the boss of NAza is the son-in-law of Rafidah, is it true???

6. kody said,

July 19, 2005 @ 9:37 am

Paul, is’t true, i heard from radio today they said majority only fall on 4 ‘datuk’ bumiputera. NAZA boss hold >9000 AP, but not the top one, top one >15000 AP in one hand… So, we can see how rich is the NAZA group.

7. Matt said,

July 19, 2005 @ 9:44 am

Tun Mahathir brought ppl’s attention to the AP issue (which was really surprising, maybe they stop paying him or something). PM department release the list two days before UMNO big meeting. Wonder where will Rafidah stand in the future…

8. December said,

July 19, 2005 @ 10:32 am

now, im feeling really dumb for not following this issue…whats AP btw

*malu*

9. harrun said,

July 19, 2005 @ 11:52 am

well, lets hope that pak lah political will against untransparency governance will change our beloved malaysia!!

10. James said,

July 19, 2005 @ 2:30 pm

feeling unfair as all the ap holders r bumi…

11. adam said,

July 19, 2005 @ 2:36 pm

Rafidah AZiz , when mahathir was resigning, you cried on his shoulder, now you are MITI and mahathir is down, you bang his balls. Who wants to be your friend ??

12. proton again said,

July 19, 2005 @ 3:59 pm

December…… were you sleeping ?? why the 8th to comment… :)

13. aR said,

July 19, 2005 @ 4:13 pm

Di Singapura pembelian kereta diuruskan melalui lelongan, siapa yang berminat dan mempunyai wang berhak membuka perniagaan kereta.
    Apa salahnya kerajaan Malaysia mengikut kaedah yang dilaksanakan Singapura?
    Penjualan secara lelong wajar dilakukan kerana ia lebih adil serta tidak mementingkan atau mengenal kroni sebaliknya semua orang berhak membeli kereta dengan syarat menghantar tender.
    Reformasi!

14. Michael said,

July 19, 2005 @ 5:37 pm

Yeah, wonder how come there are a few non-Bumis who got APs as well. Anybody got any idea?

The bidding system cannot work in Malaysia coz there are some people who cannot compete and begs for protection. Some politician recently got angry because claimed that meritocracy system is unfair… maybe they think only the tongkat system is fair. Macam mana negara mau maju.

Majority of the AP holders are already rich and connected. Thought AP is supposed to help develop Bumi entrepreneurs. But seems to me like helping the rich get richer. So naive am I. :-)

15. zongtwi said,

July 19, 2005 @ 6:41 pm

One thing that interests and suprises me is how powerful Tun Mahathir still is. I thought after his retirement, he would be considered just a normal citizen. I can’t believe that there are people in the government still trying to kiss his ass heheh. Tengku Mahaleel was not sacked because Tun Mahathir said so. The government changed the AP policy, allowing AP holders to be named, also because Tun Mahathir said so. The most unbelievable thing is that Rafidah was asked to write a letter of explanation to Tun Mahathir about this issue, and now there are even voices telling her to apologise!!! Such a weird place, our country. How can a ‘normal’ citizen be more powerful than a minister? If I was Rafidah, I’d be firing on all cylinders to try and protect my own image and dignity.

About the whole AP thing, if a proper auction were to be made, and AP’s were to be given to the highest bidder, I’d chop my own hand off if less than 95% of the AP’s were not won by a chinese businessman. It’s undeniable that they have the money to do so. But if all the APs, which are supposedly designed to help Bumiputra entrepreneurs, are only given to cronies of the government, even as a Malay, I’d be happy for the 1st option to be carried out. I’m sick and tired of the government, trying to help their own cronies, cover it all up with the lame excuse of ‘helping the Bumis’. I’m sorry, but it’s just a bunch of bullcrap.

16. woshye said,

July 19, 2005 @ 9:01 pm

The AP here clearly shows that the government interest in satisfying the “WANTS” of the rich people not the “NEEDS” of medium or lower wage earner people. Because of Proton and the AP, the rakyat have to pay so much for cars which is a “NEEDS” to many. Eradicate poverty in the country, I don’t think so.

17. karheng said,

July 19, 2005 @ 11:05 pm

any news on the prices of mitsubishi cars distributed by eon yet?

18. ManInGermany said,

July 20, 2005 @ 12:42 am

There is a fishy affair here, somewhere….(on the AP issue). Good that PAC would proceed on this too.

But this should not be the cover for poor quality products from Proton.

19. ABC said,

July 20, 2005 @ 1:04 am

AP system to help bumi?? the person (with AP) are so rich oledy, wana make them richer? the system only use to help certain group of people only, but not for other bumi and non bumi.

20. KiLLersHik said,

July 20, 2005 @ 2:33 am

karheng ,

u want the prices of mitsubishi cars thru eon?

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/article_258/page_m.asp

21. KiLLersHik said,

July 20, 2005 @ 2:46 am

zongtwi said,

I’d chop my own hand off if less than 95% of the AP’s were not won by a chinese businessman. It’s undeniable that they have the money to do so

only if the govt say so.

eg maybank has 10x capital compare to PublicBank, khazanah, and many more govt backed org and the malays make the rules. its still a tanah melayu, not ur disillusional malaysia for all.

i like the perception tht the chinese actually feed the malay in their land. the filthy rich chineses in whtever ventures they made pay most tax every year eg mr.lim, dato teh hong piao, besides, the chinese basically build everythg fr scratches; mosques for the malay, facilities, flyovers, klcc,sepang bla bla bla but the pro bumiputra policy of eating the profit fr mega prjts. probly tht cause the nkve flyover to collapse too. too much moeny-making blind the real importances tht matter.

its still a racist country at the end of the day, get into the road accident with a malay, and u know wht i mean.

theres a story regarding the real differences of races in msia but no offence pls.

UMNO - U Must Not Object
    MCA - Money Controls All
    MIC - Must I Come?

22. wa sea hokkien lang too said,

July 20, 2005 @ 3:03 am

ABC a agree what you say

23. FRUSTATED CAR OWNER said,

July 20, 2005 @ 4:17 am

buy proton pay taxes n get poor quality = money goes to government
    buy imported car get better quality n pay more taxes = money goes to govt.
    buy AP cars get good cars n pay to AP holders = money goes to govt.

watever car u buy government also make profit from taxes ( i think our govt. must protect PROTON coz this company is a TOOL for govt. to make profit from taxes when u buy other better quality car. if i was the MINISTER i will ask the PROTON to make a LOW QUALITY CAR - get wat i mean )

dun buy cars dun have a better transport system for U to use.

so all malaysian r force to buy cars coz they (govt)dunwan to develop a better transport system. wat the use to build a better transport system where the government PAY when u can get the CITIZEN PAY u when they buy cars.

24. AlexC said,

July 20, 2005 @ 10:13 am

Hi guys,

About this AP issues… Isnt one of mahathir’s son into this business as well??? If i’m not mistaken, got some shares in Naza too rite??? and what about KIA being recognized as national car??? apparently rumoured signed by mahathir hiimself when he was PM… and he claimed he didnt know what he signed or something… anyone heard of this rumours before???

*** Note the word rumours. Cant be too careful with words. Freedom of speech it is, but not malaysia ***

25. edw said,

July 20, 2005 @ 11:19 am

Dear KiLLersHik and all,

there is 2 thing I know that the government should not do or have. (but i will only mention one of the 2).

Business should be run by businessman, Politician should run the country.

The problem in Malaysia is that the Politician are running the business, that is why we have all this problem in the country, the politician are more concern on the government new policy effect their personal sale, rather than the country. A new policy approve by the cabinet, it is then design to benefit the business the government is running or the politician themselves, rather then the improvement of the country.

example, Proton. If this company is run by a businessman instead of politician, there will not need for all the “protection” and poor quality car.

example, RICE we eat everyday, it is now being monopoly by Bernas, politically link company, they is why the price of rice is very very very very HIGH.

example, motorcycle price is increasing, why? It is making the rich richer by robbing the poor.

Malaysia WILL not grow when politician run the business.

26. maestro said,

July 20, 2005 @ 12:04 pm

alright… now its about pak lah’s anti corruption drive… its clear and simple.. rafidah should go down.. she should resign or be sacked… her datukship should be withdrawn… she should not be allowed to run for any governmental positions from now onwards…

why trust her the second time, when it is obvious she is prone to abuse her position as a givernment official and representative to the people…

why bring in the quran to show you are telling the truth….?… that is so pathetic… rafidah is making a mockery of the religion… keep it separated from your work…

only the guilty would make such a desperate statement… as the minister of international trade (miti), she should be held responsible… for the uneven distribution of APs… investigation should be done on how APs were issued… (if at all it is necessary for one… it is pretty clear by any standards… that she did it for corrupt reasons…)

The investigation is straight forward… hardly rocker science material… get access to their files… incoming.. outgoing… the trails should be there… if she is guilty without a doubt…

….then I would like her to swear over the quran again…. because i think rafidah is guilty… and i think her outburst and swearing in public involving the quran… is distasteful and should also be used against her…

27. adam said,

July 20, 2005 @ 2:38 pm

is it new economy policy? i think it should be OLD CRONY ADMINISTRATION…..

only love no hate… slap me left and i let you right..

28. KiLLersHik said,

July 20, 2005 @ 8:21 pm

there were cases in several countries i remember eg singapore, hk, their minister failed because sthg wrong happened in their division/department (regardless due to their own direct action or not) , they straight away resigned witout much excuses being done.

at least i respect them for such move and shown integrity because they wronged, one way or another, but as a leader shld take the responsibility. as a leader, shld take the blame even if his subordinate failed. thts the ttrue leader. but tis malaysia, show alot of talking than action. whts worst, all the actions are also not going anywhere.

myb its time the opposition hav their share. i know mahathir as PM was not perfect but at least, wht he did on the surface seem to fill our needs, both bumis or non bumi. i know there wont be a perfect pm so give n take.

honestly, i miss him

29. KiLLersHik said,

July 20, 2005 @ 8:25 pm

did u guys hear abt the rumor the govt gonna propose compulsory batik wear for all msians , apparently to promote batik (which im sure many ways than tis one weird desperate means) and hv to exclusively purhcase fr tis one ministry or wht.

well, only informed wht i heard thru grapevine.

i dono, lately there seem many funny ideas fr the govt as if theyre so free brainstorming sthg thts not even helpful to run the country. proper/better use of time, money and effort cld hv gone a long way for the multiracial country. like clean my backyard than proposal all teachers to wear a bullet proof vest. gosh….

30. ManInGermany said,

July 21, 2005 @ 4:36 am

AlexC, if memory serves me right one of his son was the Chairman of one of companies (can’t remember which) under the Naza Group. It was somewhere around 2002 or 2003 that I read the article printed.

Correct me if I’m wrong, anyone?

31. DAN said,

July 21, 2005 @ 8:49 pm

what all there doing r killing our country n feeding the bangau!. if u feeding the bangau how the bangau know how to do business!! only spoon feeding n get easy money ha ….ha. no wonder Malaysia always behind Singapore cause there only protect their minority n only 1 their people to do business n that clear s we can see all of them r spoon feeding type of people! government not helping the rakyat by only pointing to their near own kind ! n give to them.
    Their r doing a stupid governing like there own kind.
    where got this thing happening in this world restrict there own country people doing business whit fair n equal. is like we doing business not paying a TEX.

32. abu said,

July 26, 2005 @ 2:24 pm

KiLLersHik said,

there were cases in several countries i remember eg singapore, hk, their minister failed because sthg wrong happened in their division/department (regardless due to their own direct action or not) , they straight away resigned witout much excuses being done.

Sorry Rafida still at place, Sami Vellu still sitting comfortably at his seat blaming the sky for all the thing, Nazmi still hanging around his department challenging BPR (Anti Corruption) to investigate him….That will never happen here unless 1 place….my dream ~~~

previous post: Myvi Sales Skyrocket!
next post: AP Permit Figures

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!