AP Cheaters Identified

The Customs and Excise department is imposing a Profit and General Expenses charge on the 34 models of 6 makes of vehicles which the government believes have been underdeclared in the past.

The makes are:

1. Kia. Distributed by Naza Kia Sdn Bhd whose AP King is Nasimuddin.
  2. Chevrolet. Distributed by Auto Pacific Star. AP Kings involved are Syed Azman Syed Ibrahim and Mohd Haniff Abd Aziz.
  3. Hyundai. Distributed by Hyumal Sime-Darby.
  4. Chery. Distributed by Alado Bumi Automobile.
  5. Fiat. Distributed by Torino Motors Industries.
  6. Mahindra. Distributed by DRB-Hicom.

The PGE charges would be around 30 percent for vehicles below 1.6 litres and 38 percent for vehicles above 1.6 litres.

Association of Malay Importers and Traders of Motor Vehicles president Datuk Abdul Hamid Ibrahim says this move would make the makes concerned have virtually zero chance to survive in the market.

The charge came into effect yesterday.

Source: NST 1, NST 2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lee Wye Jon on Jul 24, 2005 at 8:48 am

wow… yippee ka yay… now if Korean car prices go up up up will it make Malaysians sound up about down down down with AP?

Should mean better second hand prices for Korean cars though.

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jul 24, 2005 at 9:51 am

Who knows…?

But I do prefer Japan Imports. =)

• HATE ->F*king LAT on Jul 25, 2005 at 2:34 pm

Fu***k U, LATOK LAH FE DAH you should resigned now! YOU R a stupid Idiot IRON BAR not IRON Women. Liar BIG LIAR! I have no power to ask you for resign but I know HOW to VOTE next ELECTION HA HA! SEE Macam mana lah!

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 25, 2005 at 2:43 pm

DOG THE WAN again,

YEAH Rakyat must buy POTONG LAH! You only have this choice now! HA HA HA cheers! LATOK RA FE DAH good jobs, She is IRON BAR (not Women) and are working very hard (I think use my azzzs??). Printing the money at home is faster lah! Macam SKIM CEPAT KAYA!

I bought her no tear AP shampoo is works fine last night, SANKQQ for your Recommendation. MalaksseR BOLEH!

……(The comment above has a NEGATIVE/Terbalik meaning folks….Enjoy!)……

• so, guys know what to do next election, other parties ok. fxxk AP policies…

• sigh sigh….. DO NOT BUY proton…

GO BUY PERODUA CARS….. MyVi, Kenari, kelisa, kancil. worth the $$

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 26, 2005 at 3:58 am

Eeh Kawan edw,

Janganlah macam tu! Nampak macam PARO2 salesman pu…la?

Tak beli POTONG beli PARO2 pun sama. Use your BAS ELEVEN lah! …JALAN KAKI, helps the environment and fight for Oil price up too Kawan. Comment dibuat oleh DOG THE WAN.

• hahahah.. jual kereta mesti ambik kesempatannyer…

• yessssss…… go go go…. up the korean car prices!!!!!!!!! hidop KIA!!!!

• tommy on Jul 28, 2005 at 7:35 am

because of Lah Fe Dah we get some cheaper imported cars. Now we get much expensive ones because they have to declare the full value of the cars. he he he.

• Siren on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:36 pm

Hmm. Looks like they really are getting moving on working something comprehensive out. I guess that's a good thing to have come out of this dirty laundry after all.

Hope the increased price on foreign marques doesn't make people feel they are more prestigious… that would have a pretty negative impact on the national cars.