Fuel prices are UP again

Fuel prices went up again, effected 12:00AM 31st July 2005. Petrol is up 10 cents, diesel up 20 cents and Liquified Petroleum Gas is up 5 cents.

Premium petrol (RON97) in Peninsular Malaysia is now RM1.62 per litre, normal petrol (RON 92) RM1.58 per litre, diesel RM1.281 per litre and LPG RM1.45 per kilogram. Shell V-Power should be RM1.72 per litre now.

My humble Satria which has a fuel tank that can hold 45 litres should cost RM72.90 for a full tank now for RON97, RM71.10 for RON92 and RM77.40 for Shell V-Power. And this is only a Satria/Wira/Putra fuel tank size.

The last price increase was in May.

This is an effort to reduce government fuel-subsidy “burden”.

*cough*

Why not ask Syed Azman to pay for it?

I bet the rakyat will welcome any gas-electric hybrid vehicles from Proton.

Source: Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• neurra on Jul 31, 2005 at 10:08 am

ehlo paul.. u got spell error there.. supposed to be subsidy rite..

anyway.. this hike is gonna kill every driver.. >.

• oops. corrected.

• gowin on Jul 31, 2005 at 10:29 am

it will burden whose lower income people in long term n rich people will become richer !!! so pity…….

• jimmy on Jul 31, 2005 at 11:13 am

wah, my saga also coming up to 60 for an almost full tank.

• dando on Jul 31, 2005 at 3:53 pm

now i will get less 2 liter when i fill rm60 worth of petrol… fuh, now really have to tone down on revving man..

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 31, 2005 at 4:34 pm

Let's ask AP kings to pay for it. They should stop using the Helicopters and subsidy the different for Malaysian.

• Apai Mau on Jul 31, 2005 at 5:03 pm

The petrol stations will get the profit, the poor commoners will suffer.

Sooner or later we will witness a public unrest here…

• Jo-NUT on Jul 31, 2005 at 5:07 pm

Bring out the bicycles folks…Malaysians respects nature and will not burden nature with their poisonous vehicle fumes anymore…The only petrol we need is food…Which Malaysia has plenty…Cycle all the way folks…Dr.Tan don't 'nipiskan' the ozone layer…Cycle or walk OK…

• Harry on Jul 31, 2005 at 6:08 pm

after all these we will still vote BN with thumping majority :) we will still hear about BN government lavish spending like renovation for PM's palace, EXCOs luxury homes, luxury cruise… bla bla bla

• PeNNyPupZ on Jul 31, 2005 at 6:27 pm

aihs.. sadsad.. in uk it's like almost £1 for a litre. that's gila ok ;p

• daniel on Jul 31, 2005 at 6:40 pm

fuctup is what this is all about.. very fuct up.. i didnt know anything about a rise in fuel prices.. till when i got home from subang last nite, went to isi minyak at precint 9, and the line of cars was.. well. what's the word for it? outrageous? hoi.. must wait for like half an hour to get petrol.. then when finally got my turn, the price was already 1.62.. damnit.. now almost rm87 for a really full tank.. wtf? like as if my car a 2.0litre car.. damn it.. now really wish can go back to being a kid.. no car, no petrol, no worries.. just bring the bike out to go play soccer every other evening.. damn it

• Pentan Sakua... on Jul 31, 2005 at 8:47 pm

Actually I don't mind paying more for petrol for as long as the SHIT tax on cars and lowered….Then we can enjoy drving a BMW or at least better cars than PROTON….Say at least about 30% lower? What do you guys think????

Can we do a survey on this?

• Apai Mau on Jul 31, 2005 at 8:50 pm

Time for local car manufacturers to try experimenting with hybrid vehicles. Like the toyota prius.

Or we can have a healthy lifestyle using bicycles. No more haze in the urban jungle.

• daffy on Aug 01, 2005 at 12:07 am

In UK it is 89.7 p per litre. Currently there. If you convert yes it is expensive

but if you are earning there (I am not just here for a short project)

It is not expensive.

Because for every RM earning 1.62 is for petrol but in UK every pound earning

you pay 89.7 per litre. Cheap.

That's why I don't trust the gomen which convert and say we are cheaper that other countries. Please lah, if I am earning USD or Pounds yes that you can

say it is dirty cheap. But the common malaysian is earning RM only…….

I hate this stupid comparison and the gomen thinks we will buy it. Please lah….

Surprisingly, if you compare dollar to dollar (not conversion) it is cheap to

buy things in the UK. Like paying 19 pounds for a pair of sounds. If convert expensive but somebody earning it pounds it is ok.

Trying and take RM 19 and see what pair of shoes you can buy ?

Our Malaysian quality of life is seriously being erroded

just my two cents

• hamdi on Aug 01, 2005 at 12:55 am

The hike in oil price also will hurt the automobile industry i think, not just the consumer…. But the thing is, in Malaysia, especially KL, the public transport is very unreliable, except for the LRT, PUTRA and MONORAIL, that also because they are running on rail….. If the gorverment thingking of having another hike in oil prices in the future, please do something about the public transport first, so rakyat cango to work by bus or taxi or train easier…. no need to drive….

• neurra on Aug 01, 2005 at 12:58 am

so as such cars are super cheap to them.. the burden to pay a mercedes there is like buying a honda here..

• patrick on Aug 01, 2005 at 1:02 am

Relative to our earning power, the economic equivalent for owning a car is so expensive here. Road taxes and tolls should correspondingly be reduced. After increasing the petrol prices, the govt has the gall to ask people not to profiteer!! Sigh!

• Who Noone on Aug 01, 2005 at 1:06 am

daffy; why don't you do the same calculation in Indonesian rupiah and see what you get?

In Europe there's so much tax on petrol that a change in the price of crude doesn't make such a big difference % wise to petrol.

When you do the calculations, the price of petrol is not such a large part of running a car compared to interest, depreciation, etc. especially when you have to take a second mortagage to buy a car!

• daffy on Aug 01, 2005 at 1:23 am

sorry resend because I just read my bad english and making corrections

In UK it is 89.7 p per litre. Currently there. If you convert yes it is expensive

but if you are earning there (I am not just here for a short project)

It is not expensive.

Because for every RM earned 1.62 is for petrol but in UK every pound earned

you pay 89.7 per litre. Cheaper.

That’s why I don’t trust the gomen which convert and say we are cheaper that other countries. Please lah, if I am earning USD or Pounds yes that you can

say it is dirty cheap. But the common malaysian is earning RM only…….

I hate this stupid comparison and the gomen thinks we will buy it. Please lah….

Surprisingly, if you compare dollar to dollar (no conversion) it is cheap to

buy things in the UK. Like paying 19 pounds for a pair of shoes. If we convert it is expensive but somebody earning it pounds it is ok.

Trying and take RM 19 and see what pair of shoes you can buy ?

Our Malaysian quality of life is seriously being erroded

just my two cents

• woshye on Aug 01, 2005 at 4:21 am

The government never thinks of the dominos effects cause by increasing the fuel prices. Now that the price have increase so much that people are already starting to tighten their spending and spend less because of their salary still remain the same. So when people spend less all business sales will also go down thus affecting the economic of Malaysia. So when economic do not grow there will be less jobs offers and blah blah so on with all the negative effects. There many ways so solve problems and this is not the correct way. I personally sense that the future of Malaysia economic won’t be good due to the hike of fuel price, the AP issues & related.

• KiLLersHik on Aug 01, 2005 at 6:39 am

the rakyat is suffering eventho we may be nosiy over the seemingly meagre hike of 10cents while some ministers are bulding helipads for their choppers or myb their own personal underground bulletrrain but luckily Mahathir bust them out. if not,dono how long rakyats' money will be cheated for their ridiculously blown out lifestyle. is it fair? i think its not unreasonable to ask these filthy rich ministers to pay for our fuel price hike.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 01, 2005 at 9:32 am

ha.. ha.. now some of you say we must have a hybrid tech in malaysia. i already say in my previous comment we need that tech… some more feul cellare alterletive feul source… when oil price up you all think this tech,,, but then it fade………..for now i think we had to bringit up steam engine back….

to heat the water we use your car bateri-lor…..

cycling is good … but think of those unlucky 1 like lose 1 leg, hand cannot walk paralize… aiyahh disable people like me… we cannot ride bike…. we had to take transport… or drive a car …. we had no choice….. man

and Harry said we still vote BN after what they done to us .that's why we must had 10% in parliment seat must sit by indepentdent…

• AlexC on Aug 01, 2005 at 10:02 am

Well, talking about domino effect, wouldnt it be more prudent for the government to remove the subsidy once and for all??? Prices for every basic goods are increasing as the price for petrol is increased… if its increased once, they would at most increase it once as well… the money for the petrol subsidy could have been used for better purposes such as education, health and many more… if the lorry drivers or whatever association laments, reduce the road tax la, they dont earn as much as they fork out for the subsidy anyway… the petrol subsidy creates a false sense of economic stability at the expense of us citizens… imagine how much would we benefit if the billions of dollars are used for better purpose… the rise of petrol would be less significant to us users compared to government if 10cents a barrel would make a difference of millions… just my two cents thought…

• AlexC: you seem strangely optimistic that the government would use the money saved from removing petrol subsidy for something BENEFICIAL, and not something like renovating minister's houses and building posh mansions in Shah Alam for them.

• Michael Lee on Aug 01, 2005 at 6:11 pm

… and don't forget Killers underground bullet train … hope it causes a Tsunami in their swimming pools !

• I just bring out my motorbike to work today.

The price increase did not effect the automobile industry only, the roti canai guy will increase 10sen too. This price increase will effect the whole country.

THE ONLY THING THAT DO NOT INCREASE IS OUR salary.

• blur-2 on Aug 01, 2005 at 6:49 pm

why not use the billion of billion of ringgit that the government saved with the withdrawal of 10 sen subsidy and abolished the toll collection !!!!! it will saved and helped us ALOT !!! instead of constructing the biggest and tallest building.

• Accord Kia on Aug 01, 2005 at 7:11 pm

i absolutely agreed with daffy opinion, the case for corruption sure increase.

shit, i thinking to sell off my honda accord 2.4 litre

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 01, 2005 at 8:00 pm

Hei Kawan! I can feel that you all started to change the "TAK APA LAH" culture to "TALK APA LAH" way. What can we do? If we all only TALK2 saja finally you will only take "TAK APA LAH" action at the end.

We have lost a plate of nasi lemak every week from now! Next maybe lost Teh tarik soon……not end yet it will continue……How? Helps! Anyone out there can Suggest any ideas! (Paul please do something, water level already reach my nose!)

• justanothermsian on Aug 01, 2005 at 9:13 pm

What is an advantage of living in a country which export more oil than import? None! is it because our ex-PM is still having full control of the black gold mine of the country and refuse to "subsidize" the govt on the crude oil price hike. If Petronas is "manufacuring" their own "oil" and refuse to benefit the people, that is fine. But, they are digging the oil out from Msian's soil, owned by Msian citizen! Another question, will the govt reduce the petrol price if the crude oil price drops? I don't think SO!!!

• hmm…a good tactic to drive your people's attention to fuel from AP….

• justanothermsian said,

August 1, 2005 @ 1:13 pm

is it because our ex-PM is still having full control of the black gold mine of the country and refuse to “subsidize” the govt on the crude oil price hike

—> Can you DIG it??? Sucka ~~~!!

• AlexC on Aug 02, 2005 at 3:31 pm

Paul,

we wont know how much of the money would benefit the them and how much it would go to the public… since neither could be helped, i think we could do well with the opposition… vote them a few more seats in the parliament, make it like about 60% 40% ratio, i'm sure they could come out with something… DAP or keadilan would be a good choice i think… :)

• in the newspaper,

JOHOR BARU: Individual lorry operators at Pasir Gudang here have stopped providing services from yesterday in support of their demand for an increase transportation rates by 50%.

More than 100 drivers gathered at a food court in Pasir Gudang to announce that they would stop services indefinitely until the rates are revised.

They claimed that agents who hire their vehicles did so at a very low rate and refused to increase payment despite the rising fuel prices.

What is next, vegetable stall owner have to increase the price of vege, and the chain reaction continue. FINALLY, ARE OUR SALARY INCREASING ?

• MORE MEWS,

PETALING JAYA: Bus operators have again urged the Government to allow them to increase fares following the latest round of fuel price rise.

Pan Malaysian Bus Operators Association president Datuk Mohamad Ashfar Ali, pointing out that bus operators were now operating at a higher cost, said stage buses should be immediately allowed to impose a fuel surcharge of 10 sen per ticket while express buses should be allowed to impose a 5% surcharge.

“Alternatively, the Government could subsidise stage bus operators for operating their routes based on the number of kilometres operated by each bus,” he said.

STUPID, why only subsidise stage bus operators, then I also want subsidise, because I have to travel by car for distance travel over 10km, because the road is poor condition, and poor trafic control, too many trafic light that are not coordinated.

• more news………..

PETALING JAYA: The increase in petrol and diesel prices is likely to push up prices of other goods and services, according to those interviewed.

Consumers Association of Penang president S.M. Idris said that every time fuel prices increased, businesses would follow suit and raise prices of their goods or services.

“As a consumer group, we are disturbed over the frequent increases in the price of fuel,” he added.

we worker, wage earner must start a strike…. employer must provide transport for employee to come to work, example the factory bus.

• Seputeh MP Teresa Kok said that while petrol prices had gone up several times, salaries had remained the same.

anyone did not agree with Seputeh MP Teresa Kok..

:)

• hokkien lang. on Aug 03, 2005 at 7:04 am

while we 'bising' the iol up we forgot that our neibor country are stealing our oil benefit… NO FAIR MAN…NO FAIR!!!!!!…….. that is our oil…. why our goverment still let these people come to our country to fill their tanks…. they are legal crook… you know….

i wish and hope to be done that our goverment stop these people coming to our country to sucks our oil………..

my suggestion are ….. vehicles from thailand… and indonesia(sabah and sarawak) coming to our country MUST,MUST in full tank our 3/4 full.

this method are using by singapore…….

• non-bumi on Aug 04, 2005 at 8:59 am

i think the govt likes to come up wit many excuses abt the subsidy, if dont want to subsidy, js straight say la….putar belit….all money go somewhere indecent im sure. why i see singapore has no oil natural resources yet progress thousand miles ahead of malaysia? why why why? because they dont hv the stupid policies of helping the bumis to progress thru the stupid not-working pro bumi policies. in spore, racism is out the window. in msia.

• All the subsidy is bullshit… we are the one who subsidize the government… don't you realize it…? We pay toll… we pay road tax… we pay income tax… we pay cukai pintu… we pay cukai tanah… we pay zakat… we pay service charge… we pay tandas awam… we pay the petrol hike too… bloody hell…

Malaysia have Petronas… why should the fuel price so high (sohai)? Brunei's fuel is cheaper and rakyat don't have to pay income tax some more. You know why? Brunei don't ever think of building somekind like KLCC, F1 Team (dah 11 tahun, tak pernah menang pun) and Sepang International Circuit… we are happy to have it right? So we have to pay for it… there is where government money gone to… not only that… everything has been privatized (pengswastaan)… government should have more money but what we can see right now is "menang sorak kampung tergadai"…