JPJ makes HID illegal without approval

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has announced that it is illegal to install HID lights on vehicles without prior approval from the department.

Even luxury car importers must get approval from JPJ if their cars have HID installed straight from the factory.

How exactly do you get approval and what are the criteria are not mentioned.

HID lights are much brighter than normal lights and it helps the driver alot as visibility is much better. The xenon bulbs also use less energy, generate less heat and have a longer lifespan than halogen bulbs.

RTD technical department director Zahamail Omar cites the following rule as to why HID lights have been made illegal.

Any modifications made by the car owner that can cause accidents, interference or danger to other road users can be penalised under the Motor Vehicle Rules (Construction and Use) 1959

Blame all the people who have HIDs installed but have them intentionally pointed wrongly so that they appear extra bright. If the HID beam are pointed properly it would not blind oncoming drivers and would not cause so-called interference.

Notice the car with the HID lights has the beam pointed low and on the road. Instead of straight and onto incoming traffic. This is a responsible driver who has HID lights.

I travel along the Connaught highway from Mid Valley towards Cheras everyday and there is this long stretch near the Taman Desa bridge without any streetlights at all. As I work till late hours most of the time, when I pass that stretch I am in almost pitch darkness as there are not much other cars on the road so that I could make use of their headlamp light.

I have been thinking of getting HID lights at the end of this month but looks like now I can’t, unless I go through “procedures” to get them approved. Looks like the runners now have an additional source of income.

Resources:
Glare from Headlamps and other Front Mounted Lamps – National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, USA

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• when you drive at night on the Karak Highway to Genting in pitch blackness and those imported SUVs drive behind you with those HIDs, its very much blinding to the driver. Sometimes, master swithes off all the car lights to send a message to the driver BEHIND him. Then he speeds away to escape the blinding effect.

The problem reoccurs when the nutcase in the imported SUV catches us and the whole senario commences again.

• Even SUVs without HIDs are blinding because of the height.

• AsapMan on Sep 10, 2005 at 10:00 pm

i still think driving with HID from oncoming traffic and behind are a nuisance. It is really annoying.

If u drive late at night and cant see, then drive slowly with your halogen bulbs, i mean its not gonna be tht bad. You can still see, just drive slowly if it gets too dark.

• I added a photo of a properly adjusted HID beam to my blog post. A properly adjusted HID will not irritate other drivers.

• phillys on Sep 10, 2005 at 10:08 pm

Hey paul, this is my first time posting a comment and I find your blog very entertaining as well as educating(since I'm a new driver with a '02 Kenari). Can someone please explain to me what kind of 'procedures' are there? Thanks

• - archangel - on Sep 10, 2005 at 10:09 pm

in case some of you guys didn't know, other countries are recommending HIDs to the users cause it's proven to be more safe than usual halogen bulbs..but of course when you install them to a car without HIDs, they gotta be adjusted properly..

those HIDs that you see on malaysian roads now are those users with the thinking "aiya, install and jalan only la! who cares whether it's blinding to other users or not" those that are adjusted properly won't be blinding at ALL.

the malaysian government shouldn't make it illegal out of nowhere, they should advise those with HID sets to go adjust their headlights when they get them installed or maybe those who have already installed HIDs to go get them adjusted.

other countries are going forward with HIDs but malaysia? making them illegal proves that we're moving backward.

• I drive motor, ,my kap jai can install HID lights or not?

• michael lee on Sep 10, 2005 at 10:49 pm

Paul – need to check with our experts. About a year ago, I changed my S60 headlights to one of these HID sets at Brothers, Kelana Jaya. I drove for a few nights, but the funny thing was that I felt I was seeing even less ! Went back, and they readjusted the height – but still the same. I quitely changed back to the originals because the next thing would have been to change my old eyes.

• I'm agree with Paul. Headlight on every vehicle must be adjusted correctly. HID or not. But if that vehicle using HID than it’s become worst. JPJ should look into this when they do the roadblock.

• If you going HID, pls rethink before u do it..HID are meant for projector headlights only..if use on standard reflector it will only cause more blinding light than far output..without projector, what u get is blinding other people incoming or infront of you and shorter visibility..not recommended for people who just want to install HID to standard headlight..

• E-Nabill on Sep 10, 2005 at 11:41 pm

i tink it wil deter ppl frm buying new once since we all know it takes one whole day to get anyting processed at jpj,i assume thy wil let puspakom do it for thm,it is seriously dangerous at nite with unaligned hid lights,specially on thse ah bang cars,for show off rather than proper use,their beams are always in a straight line,wil never beam towards the road,bt knowing how how jpj works,thr will probably be a "way" to get aound the rule..i hope thy do it right…regarding to wat archangel said,thy didnt actually ban it,only to get approval for thos who buy at acc shop,dat doesn not include cars that has xenon lights as a standard acc or factory fited,bcos thy surly aligned already

• michael: what was the color temperature of the HIDs that you purchased? btw… Brothers? which brand of xenons did you get?

• E-Nabill: actually if you check the reference link I gave above by the NHTSA department of the USA, SUVs are the main problem. because of the height, the "correct angle" for the beam is actually the "wrong angle" for other drivers.

• Chapree Da Grande on Sep 11, 2005 at 12:40 am

Personally, i feel that move by JPJ is a bit absurd. What they need to do is define the correct angle of HID lights and caught pple that did not installed HID properly like stated in the defination. Instead of making it illegal without permission and thus giving trouble to those responsible-kind of consumer.

• michael lee on Sep 11, 2005 at 1:29 am

Huh !… color temperature ? … brand ? … dunno lah Paul … so long ago … and I think some people swiped them from the glove compartment already. Follow Asapman and drive slowly. Thanks.

• michael: i think you bought hid imitation halogen bulbs and not real HID sets. how much was it?

my car slow lah… how to drive fast? :P

• michael lee on Sep 11, 2005 at 1:52 am

I bought quite a few things at that time – but including the changing of some wires, attaching some small bits that came out of a box, I vaguely remember a figure of RM348.00 for the lights. The bottom is cardboard, and the top of the box was clear plastic so that you could see the bulbs. Did not see them stick them in as I went and bought a Rod & Line then went for a teh tarik / toseh across the road.

• ah. no wonder. those are not HIDs. those are just whiter halogen bulbs. they have very bad visibility when it rains. HIDs cost RM1200 (RM1800 for hi-lo beam) and above and a set requires more components than just new bulbs.

• sinleong on Sep 11, 2005 at 2:02 am

I was planning to buy one. Now save for other things.

• Anonymous on Sep 11, 2005 at 2:03 am

Its not just a matter have having the 'corrent' adjustment for the HID bulbs. Proper HID kits are premade for specific models of automobiles, as they come with more than just a ballast, bulbs and the transformer. In fact, there would be a new reflector or a reflector subset in order to 'throw' the light properly. Most of the HID kits available in Malaysia are koreans generic kits with no concern for this, and as such, even if you point the bulbs/reflector lower it'll still throw the light indescriminately.

Next time you pass a Beemer or a Toyota with HID bulbs notice that the light is actually 'cut-off' at the top-right in order to not blind on the opposite side of the road.

• michael lee on Sep 11, 2005 at 2:13 am

Thanks for the time Paul – like I said earlier, Asapman is going to have a lot of people following him. Hmmm … RM1800 !!! … new eyes maybe cheaper.

• foodcrazee on Sep 11, 2005 at 2:20 am

Thank god for it. Those HID are real nuisance. Its nice for the driver – bright as a day. For the rest is sure blinding. Hope they are banned.

• Anonymous: A focused beam of light without any scatter loss to the sides like what you mentioned is achievable with projector headlamps. Most new cars come with them already even if they are still using halogen bulbs. Even the Proton Savvy has them. There are limited stocks of projector headlamps for Wira/Satria/Putra on the market.

• kimberlycun on Sep 11, 2005 at 3:17 am

i welcome this. there are just too many idiots with the HID pointed the wrong way

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 11, 2005 at 3:47 am

HID or NOrmal or any types of lamps on the vehicle must be adjusted correctly this is a MUST, is driver BASIC responsibility although JPJ didn't say it as legal or illegal. …RIGHTS? It is a SAFETY issue!

Sometimes our head lamps adjustment might be changed due to Mechanical looseness or aging. Easy check, if you received unusual flash lights oftenly, it might caused by your lamps direction was pointing someone.

Therefore, even though you had not modify the lamps, you should check it every year by speciallist. Honestly I did that every year to ensure other driver on the road are safe!

I think JPJ did the rights thing! GOod jobs!

• aksMS on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:16 am

My friend just changed his so called "HID bulb" last month. I think his was the imitation sets. When he got back from Euro-Trip, I pick him up driving his car. Wahliao!! Cant see a thing! Damn lights! All the way back to Pahang, got so many beams. No wonder…

Its sure is a good move by JPJ as some users dont even know what is HID light (like me). They think it look s better because it's BLUE! Cheh! They don't know the annoyance they made to other road users. Made me wanted to be a road bully and hit the break hard so the car behind crash onto mine. Phew, thank god Im rational.

Good topic. Now, this is learning!

• aksMS on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:39 am

I forgot to mention. It was thunder storm and rains heavily. Had to depend on the tiny spot lights. Damn imitations!

• Jason on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:02 am

Wow, great news? I used to be a fan of HID until one day stupid Mercedes E class was driving behind me. It was a single lane road and i cant run off, coz winding, all i could do is point my rear mirror down.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:11 am

banyak macam lah these jpj people,hiya we can minimise these irresponsible driver but we cannot eradicate them all surely still got these irresponsible cars anyway,

neway the jpj at my place here they put up notice for those peope drive slow on fast lane fine rm 300,never see them catch pun,really piss me off when im in a rush,

some people are really busy and have a tight schedule these road hogs take their sweet time,stupid road hogs

anyway lets stick to the topic,once i drive my lancer and the car next to me suddenly was so bright white,it was the hilux a few tenth of a metre maybe 100 m behind who had these lights ,i was like wow that is some damn bright light,i was like poor driver beside me surely cannot see,haha even a few car in front of him also can be seen with a bit of the hilux light,

anyway are the jpj gonna hold night checks?

hehe maybe they just say nia,who so banyak masa wanna do ops at night

so i think this prog will be a failure until they do spot checks at night

hahhaa,unless they are smart enuff to stop u in the day and check ur lights with some light intensity machine or something like that

just my 2 cents,agree guys

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:41 am

i still believe HID is more save & better, accept those Ahbeng one…

• 2centstot on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:43 am

….due to my work i need to travel fom JB to KL on a regular basis..my car is fitted wt HID and to be honest they really help when driving at night espcially on the NS highway…it becomes blinding and dangerous only when the angles are not properly aligned…i've never been flash by on coming vehicles before..

….why are all the luxury models using HID?..because it works!…JPJ is just finding another excuss to get extra revenue….if you get what i mean…

• aksMS on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:45 am

Road hogs. Hmmm….I really hate those. Wish we have an Autobahn too. Those who drive under speed limits got penalised, HEAVILY!

By the way, I do think HID lights are just another issue. What about normal bulb that try to spot the stars? What I mean is, there are so many road users who couldn't care less about checking their vehicle's light alingment. Why those F**KING MORONS couldn't spot the difference on their light are beyond me. IDIOTS!! Tau bawak kereta je. Know nothing about looking after a car. RTD should also act on this! Kementerian Pengguna should also check how those accesory shops get to sell these HID imitation products. It's not safe, why let them import it in the first place?

Another example of Malaysian 'ASAL BOLEH' attitude.

• 2centstot on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:55 am

…here's an interesting acrticle on HID…

http://www.lrc.rpi.edu/resources/news/pressReleas…

• 2centstot on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:59 am

..here is the direct link to everything you need to know abt vehecle lighting..if you have the time to read…:)

http://www.lrc.rpi.edu/programs/transportation/ve…

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 11, 2005 at 7:13 am

add another one, i doubt JPJ read those U.S. NHTSA rule & regulation before making any new regulation… they just main sedap cakap je…

• HID or normal lights, many drivers obtained their driving licenses without knowing the difference between HIGH or LOW beams.

Sometimes they accidentally (or purposely) turned on the HIGH and drive happily along without realizing the danger they posed to others. When on HIGH, there is always a blue indicating light.

One unfailing guiding rule to check if you are on HIGH (or your HID is incorrectly adjusted) is when the reflective signboards are glaringly lighted up.

But the major culprits are the mechanics doing the installations and when a car has undergone a front smashed up, you would most likely have these glaring and blinding headlamps even when set to LOW beam as they used their “eye judgment” instead of a proper Headlight Beam Adjusting machine.

As for the SUV, Puspakom should put a model on a headlight beam tester (wonder if they have one) and determine once and for all whether their settings are suitable for our roads. The importers always claim they are set to international standards.

However, HID replacement kits or bulbs are NOT suitable for all vehicles and the beam adjusting screw should be used. Screw it IN (clockwise) for the left side (from driver seat) right screw to reduced the blinding aim and vice versa for the right side.

• SanzzSanzz on Sep 11, 2005 at 11:11 am

My Toyota installed HID b4.It cost RM800.Unfortunately 1 side of it had burn out.Haizz now use back the ori mia.But i found nothin special abt it other than it is blue white in colour and looks cool.This HID from germany sumore.Less than half year died off liao.Haizz.Tat installer told me that may be my car electronic box got a trip or dunno wat fu*k lar.But ur car really look cool wit the HID on it.

• SanzzSanzz on Sep 11, 2005 at 11:27 am

another benefit of this HID is everybody would give way to you as u r driving in highway.Dunno whether this is my HID fault or they scared it.But the HID set i installed was installed by a normal shop.I installed it becoz of my fren.He said very cheap and it is not imitation.I am sure.But i found that only luxury cars install this HID such as Merc or BMW.Damn!But when i was followed by those car,the lights of it really damn annoying.No choice but let it pass over me and i flash back to it with my normal halogen bulbs.Muahaha!!!!

• AlexC on Sep 12, 2005 at 1:59 am

JPJ Assholes!!! Shouldnt have banned the HID!!! Just direct the beams onto the ground la… damn ah bengs all forking showoff shine in people eyes for what… i've spent so much to take it off just because of some unscrupulous road users and some brainless jpj bastards… still, not going to remove them yet… seriously, the government are making all the more reasons for me to hate em… all no brainers…

• BARCODE on Sep 12, 2005 at 2:33 am

Hey, stop arguing out there, Those JPJ don't even any technical knowledge about what they are after? HID or Normal bulb with HID LOOK. Its just as simple as that; please ask those idiots (JPJ) come out with a specification with the correct height and light spread (distance) for all vehicles to follow rather than just making a statement " Illegal". To be frank I have been using HID for 2 years. I had setup it in such angle that it don't irritate on coming traffic. Also I have been comparing those OEM with my conversion kits. So far no deviation on mine. What's actually happening out there are those idiots who light to lowered their suspension for the LOOK find that HID are irritating

• Shaun on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:51 am

Here is some HID info i found on the net. It's very in-depth and i reckon it's worth a read.

http://www.intellexual.net/hid.html

Cheers

• aksMS on Sep 12, 2005 at 7:43 am

Barcode: You think JPJ's enforcer knows shit about vehicles? Hehe…don't assume la brother. Do you know that most of their enforcers are experienced mechanics? Some of them probably knows a lot more than you do. Even some of them swapped engine DIY. You people aarr…why are we (a lot of) Malaysian always judgemental?

• Aris Tee on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:15 am

i think they dun have an idea on what they're doing… hope they have a review soon and legalize HiD and ban the necessary (ahbeng china HiD lights… and cacat installers)

• uefa2k on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:03 pm

DOG THE WAN said, I agreed wit u totally. Safety come 1st. Imitation hid kit shd put blamed to car accesorries as they sell only w/out notifying consequences arise. It not a cheap to install. I came accross frens telling me tt cheap stuff hid causes blindness. U c light very bright but u cant c a thing like normal as de lights r blur. De better hid kit like Phillips r costing at least rm3k. De cheap stuff $ start frm rm800 & above. I wld say Phillips shd seek legal damages on those who imitate their invention. China always de culprit copying ppl stuff wit no QC. Just sell!

• mahagurusia on Sep 12, 2005 at 7:11 pm

Yipee! begone ahbeng and ahlian with HID

• xamel on Sep 12, 2005 at 7:35 pm

Saw a Gen-2 this morning at Hartamas with HID (Headlight and spotlight) turned on at 9:00 am! What the HELL??? Wanna show off ka?

• December on Sep 12, 2005 at 7:52 pm

HID stands for high intensity discharge, yes?

correct me if im wrong.

• this is the usual malaysian way again, jump to conclusions and start making open comments without any research.

• nuggyn on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:20 pm

just last night, i was blinded by one wira using HID on those after-market crystal light. It was really blinding.

not all of the headlamps are designed for HID bulb…the angle reflectors are not designed for HID bulbs. If you compare HID bulb with a halogen bulb (let's say H4), the length of the bulb is different…HID bulbs are longer, thus the distance of the light source will be different. Thus, when i install it on a headlamp designed for H4 bulbs, the angle will run and some reflectors, not matter how you adjust it, the light will still scattered and couldn't focus properly. This is why some cars using HID is blinding on-coming cars.

anyway, this Ops HID by JPJ will be another hangat2 tahi ayam case…wanna bet??

remember that Ops Tinting? all talk, no enforcement.

• nuggyn on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:34 pm

this is what i'm trying to say…..

Anonymous said,

September 10, 2005 @ 6:03 pm

Its not just a matter have having the ‘corrent’ adjustment for the HID bulbs. Proper HID kits are premade for specific models of automobiles, as they come with more than just a ballast, bulbs and the transformer. In fact, there would be a new reflector or a reflector subset in order to ‘throw’ the light properly. Most of the HID kits available in Malaysia are koreans generic kits with no concern for this, and as such, even if you point the bulbs/reflector lower it’ll still throw the light indescriminately.

Next time you pass a Beemer or a Toyota with HID bulbs notice that the light is actually ‘cut-off’ at the top-right in order to not blind on the opposite side of the road.

• Streamyx User on Sep 12, 2005 at 10:09 pm

Just ban this HID la better, I'm so forking annoyed these cars with HID think they own the road. It glares, and it's annoying.

• SEE FU on Sep 13, 2005 at 12:23 am

Maybe we all have to USE Special SUNGLASSES when you drive at nights!! Just to avoid SOMEONE car lights and you will LOOKS SMARTS too. Now I can UNDERSTAND why Arnold Schwarzenegger wearing Sunglasses at night!! BECAUSE at USA they had the same problems……..YAU MO KAU……CHOR!!!

• Sorry to say to all of you who dislike HID / Xenon lighting sytem it seems that most of you are not fimiliar with HID. I must say the recent move by the govt. to ban the more advance lighting system does reflect how good of a job are the govt doing wow good at responses of a few complaints. Is this how the govt. doing just some complaints and they ban the whole system. Have they done any studies in HID system, guess not. I've got to complain those with halogen lighting is the same with the height adjustment wrongly. Why not first we try issue warning to those who had not adjusted the light properly which causes blinding effect, this only shows how immature the govt. is handling such issue. Why complain from some menteri ke? HID is much more effective than halogen which improve road safety through visibility but of course those cars which is a nuisance is that they doesn't have a proper HID system which may fit the car model so why even imported models as such are required approval.

The inventor for HID doesn't spend so much time to invent something similiar to halogen, it is a much improve lighting not only in visibility but glare as well. As we can see from the blog pic at the top page. HID is more concentrated into a beam which doesn't generate glaring effects like the halogen notice the car with halogen. so in such a simple pics can tell it all but the govt. instead choose the easier way out, just ban. So is this for the safety or extra income in the procedures and waste more of the country funds.

I'm very displeased to have such news in the country newspaper for all the foreigner to laugh at us. No wonder Wawasan 2020 is going to be just a slogan. Well keep it up and we should go back and do farming. Another example of the tidak apa attitude. Sad to even say Malaysians lke us too is influence by news such as this can't we find out more facts on things before agreeing with the govt. no wonder we have been taken for a ride in everything thank you to true Malaysians spirit. Mesti boleh that is the govt slogan apa pun boleh kerana rakyat tidak apa attitude.. Malaysia Boleh!

• Couldn't help to put one more comment as the latest models will be in the future equip with HID's whether u like it or not so the Malaysian govt. will still be producing halogen lamp kit to fit this car. We will be a famous country which use halogen lamp like using oil lamp during the olden days while all other countries using fluoroscent lamp. Syabas kepada Malaysia in achieving an agriculture country go green that's the way as i see it thats what we good at cucuk tanam saja cukuplah

• check this link for more FAQ's

• Qwerty on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:03 pm

My new harrier comes with HID, how should I ensure that it does not glare at any oncoming vehicles or the vehicles in front of me? Is it possible that I'd be fined one random day if my HID lamps actually glare? Please advice, thanks!

• nuggyn on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:06 pm

I guess the main points are:

– HID lighting system is OK to use, PROVIDED the headlamps are aligned and adjusted properly so that it doesn't blind the on-coming road users from the glare.

– not all headlamps are designed for HID bulbs, especially when the OEM headlamps are designed to be used on Halogen bulbs due to the design of the reflectors.

– OEM HID systems are OK to use as the headlamp manufacturers have spent $$$$ on R&D on the headlamp to be used on a HID system.

• SaDdNesZ.jc on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:52 pm

So this is how the Government recoup the lost revenue from the roadtax discount. Good idea though… Take from the rich to benefit the poor.

Well done… Although there's still a lot of tolls to be paid, but still, at least on the top of things, JPJ will not be hunting down drivers for the smallest errors.

So, in the end, it should end well.

• weilun on Sep 13, 2005 at 10:05 pm

ah ha

agree with this jpj move !!!

ithat day a estima almost let me cannot see the road due to super bright HID

• vaxin on Sep 14, 2005 at 7:55 pm

First of all, the article posted on the Star (10.09.05) is inacurate. Here's my 2cents for those unfamiliar and still sitting on the fence.

1. HID is NOT 2 times as bright, but it is 3 times the luminance of normal halogen lights.

2. Lifespan on average whether imitation or of the better brands are at least 2000 -3000 hours (compared to halogen's avg lifespan of 400 hours)

3. HID is a more effective in terms of energy saving and also, provides lower operating temperature as opposed to halogens.

Now, luminance has nothing to do with 'glare'. Is JPJ making a claim that the 'SUN' is glaring? And we should BAN the sun because it will or may, cause accidents on the roads? OF COURSE IT IS GLARING!? ONLY IF YOU STARE AT IT!? OR WORSE, THE SUN IS POINTED RIGHT IN YOUR FACE!

For obvious reasons, and of course, in a country driven by… (coughs) festive seasons *rewards, it will be much easier to just say… ILLEGAL for all HIDs'. Looks like there will be some 'ops' for this coming Hari Raya. I guess, JPJ and the local authorities must have discovered some new information or technology that other manufacturers and safety enforces around the world could not.

Congratulations to Malaysia! We will be the first country to have HIDs officially banned! Honestly, I am truly amazed at HOW MALAYSIA MADE THE TRANSITION FROM OIL POWERED LAMPS TO HALOGEN LAMPS IN THE FIRST PLACE!

So now, except in Malaysia, here's what I predict will happen elsewhere in the world. 10 YEARS AGO, if you buy a car, it is alright if it doens't come with ABS or AirBags. Only those luxury models or super expensive marques come fitted with it. TODAY, even PROTON comes with ABS and AirBags as standard equipement (I wonder why they did not ban that!?). TODAY, HIDs are fitted on top specced models and the more expensive cars as a safety feature. TEN YEARS later, it will all be made as factory equipped ALL OVER THE WORLD. I guess PROTON if ever, were to fit them in, it would be in their EXPORT models because MALAYSIA IS ONLY SUPPORTIVE OF HALOGENS!

I truly believe that JPJ has to think before making anymore claims that will make our Country look like it belongs to the third wolrd. I am in favour of enforcing proper installation and applications of HID (as well as Halogens and all other modifications such as tinting or transplants). BUT PLEASE DON"T BE 'TIDAK APA' and approve of this. This is not about looking cool, or driving fast in the dark. I hope HID users read this and claim some responsibility. Get your lights realligned.

I am still goin to purchase my set of HIDs this week.

• jeditze on Sep 21, 2005 at 10:17 pm

Hi Paul ~ a few quetions…

• jeditze on Sep 21, 2005 at 10:41 pm

Hi Paul ~ a few quetions…

1. I'm using Perodua MyVi, can I install HID on my car?

2. 6000K crystal white is bright enough?

3. do i need approval from JPJ or Traffic (Police Department) ?

thanks in advance!

• EGgTarT on Sep 23, 2005 at 2:12 am

SIgh..im a HID user..i duno but i find that HID are more comfirtable to see from the inside and also from the outside if u not so sakai to go stare straight at it lor..and not only HID are annoying even some yellow lights sumtimes too are annoying when they shine to high..but anyway..the whole point JPJ is doing this is to get more xcuses for more revenue nia.when they block u…give them a good supper or tea meal nia mah gao tim lor if u know what i mean..so dats the whole point ler..govment aint paying them high dats why they have to do this lor…

• Guest on Sep 30, 2005 at 7:22 am

Hahaha… more side income for JPJ officers!

• Hi there, I'm a HID user for more than a year now, i had 3 sets of HID respectively being 8000k, 7000k and 4100k.

The problem i have with the 7000k and 8000k unit is that it is not as bright as the 4100k unit and it is not really white too. It's somewhat blue-ish… And the fact that you cannot see in the rain also pisses me off…….. The other thing about these lights is that since they are not as bright you'll have to adjust it so the beams are high enough for you to see properly at night which causes a lot of glare to other drivers.

I just fitted my 4100k unit yesterday. Not as good looking but definitely more functional.

• Check this URL to know more about HID Color Temperature (K) and brightness

http://www.brightheadlights-hid.com/forum/topic.a…

• Typical Malaysian attiude looking up to developed countries only for their technology advancement, but failed to emulate their good behavior such us driving slowly in the dark, give way at pedestrian crossing, stopping at red lights, parking in space provided, etc.

What matters most to us is to look cool in HID fitted cars..Still a long way to go to achieve develeloped country status…

• Niceguy on Jan 07, 2006 at 12:23 am

if the adjustment of HID pass the JPJ test, it should b okay. no worry for HID users, y piss off when u want to install HID, go pass several procedures from JPJ, pay some money and u r done, legal HID for ur car. I got HID on my EG6, Accord, W210 and EVO7, all got no problem with JPJ…:P

• patrickgan (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:42 pm

alright guys i am new in here, well as far as i am concerned you guys are all right in saying aftermarket HID are not installed properly… it cannot be in the first place. Factory fitted HID come with a mercury leveller in the centre of the car so that it does not daze incoming traffic in which ever angle you are in . that mean there is a self leveller. so no matter what position you set your bulb in it will somehow or rather daze incoming vehicles. but again i support the use of HID. I have fitted the Philips HID 4500K on my Waja. All the after market light bulb we see in the market or Brothers are 6000k or 8000k. they look very bright from the outside but on the inside you can still see but it worse than the normal 55W halogen bulb.

• 2centsworth (Member) on May 15, 2006 at 8:26 pm

It is certainly interesting to read the various comments on HID automobile lighting.

Unfortunately there seems to be a lot of people unaware of the massive and significant development taking place to further improve safety for ALL automobile users.

HID lights is just one of the safety benefits that is starting to filter down from initial luxury cars (BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Lexus etc) to more common everyday cars e.g. even a simple Mazda 3 – which is in the same category as Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla, Nissan Sentra class, now comes standard with it!

When safety belts were first introduced many years ago – there was a lot of similar complains, difficult to use, inconvenience, waste of time, cost more money, not necessary etc. Now we seldom ever hear anyone say that the introduction of safety belt was a waste of time.

Same for HID lights – it’s new, and with anything new those who don’t have it or cannot afford it will like to condemn while those who have benefited from it will tell you the difference is literally day and night!

Having had the fortunate pleasure to own a Honda Accord Euro overseas (and REALLY unfortunate that it is unavailable here in Malaysia except for the UGLY American BIG BODY version with low powered 2.0 or 2.4 litre engine!) which has self levelling HID as standard equipment besides 5 speed tip-tronic auto box, all sorts of safety features ABS, EBD, Traction control and a brilliant 2.4 litre engine that puts out 142KW (~190HP) and useable torque down low and surprisingly good fuel economy as well! The HID lights on the Accord Euro were brilliant!

I can say that HID lights when CORRECTLY installed are just fantastic – it shows up so much more of the road ahead WITHOUT blinding the other road user. The light BEAM/PATTERN has an accurate and well define cut-off point, which is significantly better than standard halogen lights – which I think most people are not aware off.

HID light design not ONLY improve visibility BUT also minimise headlight glare and nuisance light scattered that standard halogen headlamps can be!

Aftermarket HID systems when correctly installed poses no safety or nuisance to other road users – only the unfortunate Ah Bengs, Mat Alis etc that feel that they must have the BLUEST BRIGHTEST INCORRECTLY align head lights that poses an issue to other road uses – be it HID lights or other illegally installed 100/110Watt (standard legal is 55/65 Watts) lights. As mentioned by other comments as well a lot of "Kopi-O" licence drivers’ drives with High Beam ON all the time and blind everyone else, SUVs, MPVs, lorries and busses are much higher of the road so, standard lights when they are behind you can also be a nuisance! I rather have a properly installed/OEM HID light behind me than one of those vehicles!

It wont be long from now that more cars will come standard with HID lights as volume rises, prices comes down – eventually HID will be mandatory requirement rather than illegal.

JPJ (and even of numerous Politicians) as usual comes out with a knee jerk reaction will ban it and come up with a bunch of BS red tapes to get it approved – everybody want to “cari makan” as far as most of us is concern!

Well for ALL – properly design and installed HID lights are the future and are here to stay – better get use to it like it or not! Once more people have the chance to experience the eye opening detail afforded by HID lights they will never turn back!

• Euphoria (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Hey Paul, do you know wherecan i install the under car lights, like the one in the Need For Speed Underground game? and is it legal?

• nemesis-max (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 10:43 pm

hi everybody, my name is max from kota kinabalu, sabah. i'm new here. i was upset when the jpj announced HID is illegal. Anyway, i drive a wira, recently just changed my headlamp to what they called "angle eyes" projector. also equipped with HID. but i found out that when i swithced on my headlamp, the lights come out from the car is flat in the middle, however side is very high till i can see the signboard from far-far away. i tried adjust the headlamp lower but end up can't see far in front… can anyone tell me is projector headlamp's function is like this? thanks…

• malaysiabagus (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 4:52 pm

HID is legal in whatever color (K) you are using. Bear in mind that make sure you adjust the height correctly.

• frankaboo on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:14 am

hi paul.. im new user in ur blog.. and im using HID set for few days.. with 8000k and now is the problem is normally the police or jpj doing thier road block only they stop ? or when they are doing thier petron?

• ghunther on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:31 am

HID is better than standard.

• veryfastdude on Dec 28, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Is there actually a way to get the HID legally? Do we need to go for some inspection and get a sticker or something?

• Malaysian Citizen on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:39 am

@veryfastdude u should go for inspection and your light must not exceed 5000k or else tak payah lah nak pakai HiD if got money to pay can lah… peace!

• As a Korean, it is weird to see HID banned. I’ve used BMWs in Korea which has super HID installed brighter than normal HID and liked it. (BMW in Malaysia is 3 times expensive than that in Korea.) But the problem I’m seeing is the mindset of Malaysian or Singaporean car driver some of who likes to control the height of HID beam so that other driver get frightened. I think JPJ should educate drivers! Problem is caused by people, not by technology!