Geely moves assembly plant plans to Indonesia

geelymerielogo.jpgAccording to a report by China Knowledge, Geely Automobile Holdings Ltd has scrapped it’s plans to set up an automotive assembly plant in Malaysia. Previously it applied to start assembling cars in the 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre range here in Malaysia together with it’s local partner Information Gateway Corp Sdn Bhd (IGC) at a plant in Kuantan. Assembly was expected to begin in October 2006 with the Geely CK sedan. Total investment was expected to be in the RM100 million range.

First they were faced with a 20:80 local distribution to export ratio, and recently the government decided to only approve assembly of cars with 1.6 litres of displacement and above. I suppose when you are faced with so much problems even before you put your money in, anyone would just walk away – Geely has decided to take it’s business elsewhere and has decided to set up an assembly plant in Indonesia instead.

As for Cam Soh’s Information Gateway Corp Sdn Bhd (IGC), they will begin importing Geely cars in from Indonesia for sale shortly. 1.6 litre models and above will be assembled locally in Oriental Assemblers Sdn Bhd’s plant in Johor Bahru by year-end.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pw (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 1:28 am

Well thats what happens when you are being picky…

There goes FDI a 100mil biz… congrats Miti for succesfully chasing biz away from Malaysia… keep it up …

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 2:16 am

This 20:80 ratio is the most ridiculous conditions ever imposed by MITI for the sake of P1. It is a blatant abuse of even crappy NAP that never mentioned expressly on this conditions. Look like MITI killed this FDI's goose that laying golden egg in order to let the crocs, P1 and AP King continue to leeach the consumer.

P1 even phobia in facing low cost low quality car manufacturer from China? Sad thing to see since there are Protonian out there always claim P1 improving ………

This FDI RM 100 million means deny perhaps a thousand job opportunity and vendors/supplier to supply local component to Geely. This is just the tip of iceberg in auto industry that we lost and the economy cost is enormous. Good luck to Indon got this bounty opportunity that suppose go to Bolehland. But big NO good luck to AP King, crocs and P1 that you still can manipulating and sucking the rakyat………

• iosis (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 2:57 am

What's on the mind of the International Trade and Industry Ministry? These foreign investors are doing you a favor. Dang, the ministry is a total dimwit. If the situation in Malaysia became not conducive from an investment point of view, companies would start to look at more competitive or undeveloped countries to move their operations to. So much for making Malaysia business destination of choice. What's with the 20:80 local distribution to export ratio and the decision to only approve assembly of cars with 1.6 liters of displacement and above? Too much for PROTON to handle? PROTON Holdings Bhd believes it will be ready for a level playing field with local and foreign competitors in two years, says its MD. What a crap. What PROTON knows is just to ask for more time and more confidence. Geely established in 1997 to date manufactures better quality and more marketable cars than PROTON which established in 1983. A word of advice PROTON, step up or f*ck up…

• hazremi (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 3:37 am

actually the govt policy is not for P1 only,its for the sake of P2 also,for the sake of naza also

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 4:00 am

can thank NAP for that

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 4:18 am

Maybe thats why our economy is not going up.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 5:32 am

guess i still need to drive my old faithfull cute little kelisa.. NAP? thanks for converting my Mini One into mini kelisa.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 5:51 am

Very good, thanks for making the few involved in Proton and Naza getting very very very very RICH, and make the rest of Malaysians poor, and living a miserable life. Thank you Barisan Nasional, thank you so much. And befor eyou bashers bash me, shut up, this is what that is going on out there.

• Dogster (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 7:30 am

THANK YOU STUPID PROTON! GOV LOVES U TOO MUCH, WE WILL HATE U TILL U DIE!

• Lexus-IS (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 9:53 am

Dogster i agree what u said …..

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 1:22 pm

one word… PATHETIC… big investment going away…. no wonder Malaysia's economic is getting worse… sending investors away to protect own sh*t…

• J (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 5:36 pm

again… satisfying a small number of people and sacrifying the whole of Malaysia..

• layman (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 6:27 pm

If I were the Malaysia government, I will make the same decision – to chase them away for my own interest……er sorry…. for Malaysia interest.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 8:09 pm

layman, this is not for Malaysian interest, but for crocs, P1, AP King, MITI selfish interest as mentioned by jtshin and J ……… likely that your are one of Protonian, or someone associate with the like that leeching rakyat to the "last drop of blood"……

• DAN (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 9:26 pm

last JIHAT!!… for proton!!.. to safe proton!!.

that what we r?.

stupid policy just to save a minority that nice looking.

• tariq_ve (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 2:21 am

Joe Ooi. did you not notice the sarcasm in layman's post?

• ckengyo (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 2:32 am

i think the problem malaysia g have is, they think the whole world will stop progress & wait 4 every aspect of malaysia 2 improve 2 international class. sorry, the reality is not so. no 1 would stop down & wait 4 u 2 grow. please b sober.

• szw (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 6:12 am

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 5:24 pm

Geely.. don't worry… malaysia don't love you but others will love you.

I don't know what the fxxx our government is thinking………. no more BN and Proton… totally dissappointed..

• whatsoever (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 5:39 pm

"Kalau tak suka, KELUAR!!!"

• handsfree (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 5:58 pm

Maybe our governemnt DONT NEED THIS INVESTMENT.. RATHER GIVE THIS ANG PO to some 1….

Stupid rule…. bila nak bagun….???

• Xoomie (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 7:24 pm

Terima kasih to NAP, MITI for protecting STEWPID PLOTONG, BLOOD SUCKING P2 & PATHETIC NAZZA

• Whopper (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 12:05 am

Distrubing news indeed. A Malaysian businessman denied by the Government to develop Malaysia into a Automotive hub. This move by MITI discourages FDI. The biggest losers is actually Malaysia herself. Had Geely been able to set up a plant in Malaysia, it would have definitely provide more job opportunites as well as business opportunities for the existing car parts vendors.

The other miss opportunity is the transfer of technology by the Chinese. This is obviously a missed opportunity by the Malaysian Government.

• iceman (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 2:34 am

As a Country representative say this kind of words- "Kalau tak suka, Keluar"

Shame! Even any company CEO also not dare to say this kind of things. Dont know how to make money, some more want to chase away Business.(Very Angry!) Malaysia have loss a lot of business opportunities….(just to protect a tree , lost a forrest. smart!) . Hear a lot of foreign factory shifted to others country as well. Asume that Malaysia might face high unemploy. rate.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 7:08 am

yeah, recently JVC, Intel and Sony gave VSS to thousands of their malaysian employees..

• armandd (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 7:09 am

thanks to pak lah's 'dasar pertanian'..

• oranglulu (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 8:07 am

think we should all start learn how to tap rubber,plant padi,cultivate oilpalm,rear chicken,goats,cows,back to the good old days,agriculture as our main ricebowl,closed down miti,since we no more going towards industrialization.is an insult that we are the biggest saloon cars market in the region,and yet you see toyota,honda manufacture in thailand,now geely in indonesia!so many industry had relocate from our shore to our neighbors just because our miti introduce fuzzy rules and regulations and think thats they had an upper hands on this.!!!!! next election the citizen should relocate this bunch of lawmaker for good!!!

• proton12vauto (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 6:21 pm

armandd…let go tanam sayur…

• domoteka (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:09 am

That's why, pak lah is unable to control his ministers, let them run wild to ruin malaysia………bagus lah pak lah, keep up the good work…… your rafidah has already chased away FDI 100Million. "You tak suka, you boleh keluar….."?

Bodoh, bodoh……

thats why we need new government to have any changes for the better of the auto industry, the welfare of malaysians, the basic rights to an affordable but good quality means of transport and the survival of Bolehlah land…….

• bebe (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 3:38 am

Hmmm.. i am not surprised as all u guys must understand that our ruling goverment has the mentality of a group of kindergarden kids.. & also its a " GREY " area issue . U would not want to offend " some " officials for doing the RIGHT thing.. This is called the MALAYSIA BOLEH spirit. Hey dun play play we can actually climb the Everest Mountain. " BIG Acomplishment " Dun play play ah… MALAYSIA BOLEH

• Geely car seem very good !

Any comments regarding the speed, after sales service and etc.

Thanks.