Is this the new Proton BLM?

Proton BLM Spyshot

What’s this now? Reader Chris sent in these photos of a new Proton sedan spotted on the North South Expressway. We assume it is a Proton because the Proton GEN2 CPS 1.6 hatchback in the post right before this was travelling along with it, and the trade plates are just one number apart.

It is a sedan, and at first glance I thought it was a Proton GEN2 Sedan on test together with it’s faster, CPS-equipped hatchback siblings. Then I noticed the disguise was a little different on this one, it was much more covered up than the usual GEN2 Sedans we’ve already seen driving around. It was also missing the beesting antenna that was on the earlier Proton GEN2 Sedan spyshots.

It looks smaller – the GEN2 Sedan’s boot is much longer. This looks more like a new B-Segment car, which matches the profile of Proton’s upcoming BLM model replacement for the Proton Saga or Proton Iswara, depending on which generation you want to refer to it as. Some call it a Savvy sedan.

There is another photo of the front after the jump, however nothing much is revealed as the disguise is pretty thick. You do get to see some of the headlamp detail though, but it’s very minimal. Nevertheless, I expect the headlamp design to be stunning as with all the new generation Proton cars.

Thank you very much Chris, for sending these photos in!

Proton BLM Spyshot

Proton_BLM_New_Spyshot_1.jpg

Proton_GEN2_CPS_Spyshot_2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• infinity (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:47 am

i've been waiting very very very long for this..

hope to see more spyshots of the BLM…

• infinity (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:50 am

btw..from the 3rd pic, the width is near savvy's width..the grill looks like mistu evo..hhaha

• El Goodoo (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:06 am

could it be a savvy sedan? anyway this is the first time i'm seeing this..

• nmh (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:35 am

wierd bodyline

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:37 am

fantastically covered ! not even a hint to be given away…the side looks more square n lacks any buldge or slop….which is wat the savvy like….bt i do rememebr that the BLM is to be based on an extended savvy platform..how true im nt sure….looks like it has very good headroom …taller that the gen2…and as paul said…recentl protons have very appealing designs…

• maru (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:55 am

the bodyline reminds me of savvy + it does bear savvy's side mirror[i think so]

and the grille looks like skyline ot it's just me

• azrai (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 3:13 pm

What BLM stand for…actually?

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 3:46 pm

The rear lights are one piece tall headlight, like the Optra, Elantra & Sentra. The front lights look like a 'kemek' old Civic EK. I can't figure it, because the disguise is quite heavy, some more have the 'kemek' effect. Good job.

But the nose job doesn't look good. Looks like a standard wira evo-wannabe. I think the objective of this car is much on the practical side, compared to cosmetic appeal. Just like the Honda City, Vios and Aveo sedan. All look unproportionate, ugly & ikan buntal on wheels, but are very practical nonetheless.

• happymeal (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:39 pm

i tot proton tried to have the little quarter glass in the C pillar like a waja. not a good idea to include that for a cheap car. upon a longer examination, its just stickers :P

Basic Line Model?

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:45 pm

it was base line model guys.. hmm,…. as usual.. anything about proton will get so many shit comments.. wat a typical m'sian…….

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:46 pm

Aiyahhh no matter what there will be selling alot of these because it's soooooo easy to get loan. Anyway frint looks like wiralution and the rear looks like a Deawoo. Cabin looks like honda City

• harleyd (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:47 pm

aiya. too many kutuk2…………..

'only malaysian kutuk2 its local products'

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:47 pm

one more thing.. it will equip with new 1.3 campro engine which is operate by variable valve timing (variable inlet manifold)..VIM..

• moha774 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:09 pm

It got that Savvy mid bodyline and the windows and side mirror reflected a Savvy part…but with a redesigned (longer/bigger engine bay) and of course the re-designed back portion…anyway, they do leave us with huge questionmark on the final look of the car…good..

• farghmee (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:15 pm

So..it's true..

A resource in proton's subsidiaries said that they're ordering much of roll steel, matches the one used in TUV-proven Savvy. If there is AMT..hm~:-)

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:18 pm

Is the VIM the same as I saw at SMIDEC exhibition early this year in KLCC? It was a cast iron module with cutouts to show the internals. Plastics would be the for production I guess. It had a Bosch thingy on it. So I thought it was near production stage. It sits where existing Air Filter box is.

The Edge (newspaper not U2 band mmember) says it is based on the Savvy. But then nowadays Edge is a bit iffy.

• proton.com (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:21 pm

Well done P1!

This should be car that everyone need. Extended platform meaning more leg room. Affordable price ~30k maybe. 1.3 with VIM. What else do you want? Look like a complete package to me.

• khimfoh (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:30 pm

From the the looks of the BLM, I reckon it's based on the Savvy platform. I could be wrong but from the 2nd pic, A pillar does bear an uncanny resemblance to the Savvy.

A Saga/Iswara replacement perhaps ?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:51 pm

yeah i heard its the rumored proton saga replacement model, thats why they are clearing the saga at real fast price, it will be due in december, lol

• demio121 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:02 pm

if this is suppose to replace Iswara/Saga, i hope the price is less then RM30K. no point selling the replacement car at RM40k when the old car is selling at RM27k now.

• freeze (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:18 pm

It really looks like a Wira sedan, headlamps, taillamps. Front like Satria Neo.

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:49 pm

Doesn't look too nice; has a tall, short and thin profile just like the Honda City, it's easily believable as a Savvy sedan.

• happymeal (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:51 pm

if it is on a savvy platform, shouldnt be too shabby. simple struts in front and beam axle behind to cut cost. plus a 1300cc engine. this might just make the savvy the lowest priced proton! which is already pricey for what is a rather lethargic straight line performance… doesnt seem to look good in terms of where this vehicle will slot in….

please dont whack the renault 1100cc engine into this car though :P

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:20 pm

Well, cool models coming your way from PROTON. Let us keep the fingers close and hope these models will change PROTON image, reputation and perseption from some people out there about this car manufacturer.

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:24 pm

but the unicons.. the important thing,, proton have to enhance the quality.. no matter wat car produce if without quality e'thing done is nothing.. so i pray this time no more complaint about quality… amin

• arcana (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:29 pm

if its campro that is going in this car….should be a 1.3 but a problem with pricing….40k+ ppl complain its too expensive for BLM.

but if its 30k+….it kills the savvy which is only a 1.2 and also other 1.3 makes like gen2 1.3 and wira will just die off completely….

their products clash too much and very close in terms of pricing.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:33 pm

yes. mr.proton. In my few previous topic I did mention about the quality of Proton hopefully they can fixed it and no more doing the same mistake again.

Cheers

• proton.com (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:37 pm

All car manufacturer esp P2 should be scared…New competitor in 30~40k price market.

• moha774 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:47 pm

There's nothing wrong with having the same engine for various type of models…even Peugeot is doing it for their 1.6L lines…same engine, same power output…but remember not the same power to weight ratio…and by the look of that engine bay, I doubt it will be powered by Renault D4F engine…and with 1.3 Campro(without CPS) already producing 94p.s to me its good enough if the gearing is the same as on Neo.

• thecrash (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:01 pm

According to proton tech, there will be current gen2 using CAMPRO with CPS and gen2 sedan CAMPRO without CPS. For BLM using CAMPRO 1.3. So proton will slowly reduce buying engine from mitsu.

There will be WAJA MC3 with new gearbox. So stay tuned….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:01 pm

What i heard the 1.3L campro will only fitted with VIM not CPS?!? If the savvy want to cut cost, it can use the 1.3L campro which it can be cheaper then the renault engine due to royalty issue.. I think this car is a bit like wira front, savvy middle & chevy optra back?!? The entry may be 1.3L campro like gen.2.. But i doubt that the 1.3L campro will be fitted with CPS.. it is expensive the technology compare to VIM… Anywayz hopping this model will replace the old SAGA..

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:03 pm

arcana.. all 1.3 models will be phase out b4 this model launch… dun worry about it kills aother market

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:04 pm

thecrash said,

June 21, 2007 @ 12:01 pm

According to proton tech, there will be current gen2 using CAMPRO with CPS and gen2 sedan CAMPRO without CPS. For BLM using CAMPRO 1.3. So proton will slowly reduce buying engine from mitsu.

There will be WAJA MC3 with new gearbox. So stay tuned….

———————————————————–

The gearbox is what? AMT or tiptronic like the old porsche technology used before? If they came out DSG or CVT wow! I will clap hands for P1… They should at least came out with 6-speed manual or 5-speed auto nowadays..

• moha774 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:17 pm

Dont anybody realise that AMT on Savvy is actually a 5 speed auto …(if the driver lazy enough to shift he gear by themself)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:20 pm

LOL! Really?!? 5-speed AMT?!? WOW! but why i last time drive Savvy only got 4 speed only.. the fifth is i no open the overdrive? LOL! Anywayz hopping really have a real 5-speed AMT!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:23 pm

Looks like a Savvy Sedan. Now picturing the Savvy Sedan rendering done by one of our readers. Won't be surprise as they are doing the same as Gen2. Now the big question is price. If it is right, it can kill off Viva in terms of pricing (I hope).

• happymeal (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:24 pm

i dont agree with having all these fancy expensive gearbox. its just an entry level car for goodness sake. better spend money in enhancing the gearbox shift quality and linkages than to spend more steel and machining for another cog. u will be constantly shifting gears in our congestion packed roads with such short gearing. im not sure, but i dont remember any sub 1500cc japanese engine thats mated to a 6speed stickshifter.

the newly launch mazda2 1500cc also using the industry norm 5s man. and 4s auto… so i really dont see how will it benefit to put an extra cog, and the bloody weight into a small compact car. weight and price is the objective, not fancy smancy technology.

MC3 means millennium challenger #3 perhaps :P … MME coming mar :P

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:26 pm

little fire.. why dont u go to the proton showroom n test drive the savvy amt.. use the auto when u accelaraTE.. Then when u got in to 100mph u flick the gear to the left n the indicator will turn to 5 which means u on the 5th gear.. that means savvy amt the only one comes with 5 speed auto compare to other auto.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:33 pm

Hmm… Fiat, VW polo, Seat, skoda… Europe entry car all listed with at least 6-speed manual, and now even 6-speed DSG.. Well Japaneses, look at Honda City n Jazz got CVT with 7-gear leh! Even good! LOL!

Anywayz Mr.Proton thx! I will go and drive the test drive again! Anywayz i tot the left is reverse…

• drM (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:35 pm

see…they are moving now.

i have read some people are expecting a 20 years young (interm of car production, 20 years is consider young) proton to come out with DSG/ tiptronic or whatever 7 or 8 speed auto tranny.

that is ridicilious.

but, its good to see Proton going somewhere.

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:35 pm

if u want to reverse u hav to flick it to right n pull it back then u can reverse. to free gear juz tap to right.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:42 pm

hmm…..congratulations p1, so much talking about this model even before launching. hahahaha…..wait n see the real car, with price tag will be good.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:49 pm

why japanese is fast.. have u learn from them? My friend working in Honda tell me that the CVT tehcnology is worked with almost all the japanese manufacturer.. including toyota n mitsu. That why they all share and cheap to produce.. but P1 sekarang belum sendiri bikin atau beli dari orang lain.. Oleh itu gearbox mahal dan pruduction also mahal.. oleh itu P1 need to work with a bigger company like VW to obtain the technology in a cheaper way.. If the Savvy AMT is 5-speed then consider very good compare to the louzy 4-speed auto used in Gen.2 & Waja..

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:52 pm

alas, a good looking car from P1, but still too much being hidden with that cover.

paul, do u have more on front view? a bit like wira?

• arcana (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:03 pm

well moha774….u are right about that….its nothing wrong, thats if you have a big market to serve….in japan u see models clash with each other, same displacement engines on multiple sedans or MPV or watever…..and prices are so close with each other….but it doesnt matter, they still can sell few thousand of each model every month due to the market size.

in malaysia or rather south east asia our markets are not huge and malaysia is biggest in terms of sales that also not exceeding more than 600k units. if u clash with models and no differentiation….1 model will survive while another will die and u get huge losses after so much R&D and production on it.

thats why u see non national makes choose certain models and displacement to offer in our market so that it does not clash with each other and complicate issues.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:06 pm

Hi Paul, nice pic..hopefully P1 ppl can read this all +ve talk on this blog..

Hopefully the "Savvy Sedan" could be the BLM, and i'm preferred that P1 will focus on this "Savvy" to be launched than G2 CPS:) it bcoz the CPS not have big different between the old model G2, except with this "Savvy"…

this big Savvy will attract rakyat to buy it,it worth for rakyat…

mmm…in my thought,if the old Savvy was produced with same size as Suzuki Swift..P1 can left this Plan B(BLM) and stay with ur Plan A:)

anyway, it's good to hear this BLM, keep on P1..

But P1,make sure hah…there's no more manual side mirror ok,prefered the auto 1;)

Best wish to P1…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:52 pm

Hi Dj_VaniLLa, for me I don't really mind if Proton still come out with manual side mirror for their cars (these few upcoming models). Most importantly is the quality and put in better safety than the current models including Satria Neo. Received at least 4 Star in EuroNCAP.

• moha774 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:53 pm

arcana said,

June 21, 2007 @ 1:03 pm

well moha774….u are right about that….its nothing wrong, thats if you have a big market to serve….in japan u see models clash with each other, same displacement engines on multiple sedans or MPV or watever…..and prices are so close with each other….but it doesnt matter, they still can sell few thousand of each model every month due to the market size.

in malaysia or rather south east asia our markets are not huge and malaysia is biggest in terms of sales that also not exceeding more than 600k units. if u clash with models and no differentiation….1 model will survive while another will die and u get huge losses after so much R&D and production on it.

thats why u see non national makes choose certain models and displacement to offer in our market so that it does not clash with each other and complicate issues.

Well I think Proton will just have to stick with what they have right now, that is 1.3 and 1.6 Campro engine which they can use without paying any royalty to the supplier which will then, willreduced the cost of the car and eventually reduced the cost of producing the engine in the first place (more models will be using it ie. economic of scale) and more so that so called SENG project with Lotus is without any news, which suppose to produce new generation of small engine to Proton ie. 1.8L and above..

• owaief (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:08 pm

arrrghhhh…this proton is just a waste of my time….not because i hate protons(i like protons)it's because now i just cant stop staring at the pictures guessing what is underneath the camouflage

• zanggief (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:32 pm

after two decade of long wait now we can obtain a saga replacement model, that why the lose so many market share! keep going proton…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:32 pm

maru said,

June 21, 2007 @ 2:55 am

the bodyline reminds me of savvy + it does bear savvy’s side mirror[i think so]

and the grille looks like skyline ot it’s just me

me too…the grill really looks like skyline's one….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:59 pm

i wonder they…if they also testdrive the car in other countrys…like the neo…..

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 11:38 pm

Hi unicon..

Absolutely quality is very important on each car, n it's the 1st spec that all car shoud have…

so,what am i talking about is how to attract the customer to buy P1 products..

fit in the electronic stuff is the another way how to put a P1 as great car..

so, auto side mirror is a basic spec shoud all car needed..

look at P2,P2 give the option to their precious kancil ..it produce with n without auto side mirror,so..it give the customer to choosing..

that's how the P2 can stand still better the P1 then + with new charming model..

also remember what Pak Lah said, we need to thing about nex 50years..

• moha774 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 12:02 am

I think this car got a future…with current 1.3 campro producing around 94p.s…and let say the weight to be less than 1000kg…further tweaking with aftermarket open pod air filter, sport muffler + extractor, which usually manufacturer claim to increase h.p between 3-5 ponies, it will be, let say on average 8hp gain..it can come to nearly 100bhp/tonne….I think it will be fun..just imagine if R3 come up with its Zero Kit for this one (I can imagine a "goal post" at the back)..hehhehheh…I'm just hallucinating….but anyway I'm in the market for mini MPV…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 12:41 am

got future indeed……i wonder what it will be named…….same old SAGA name? or SAGA NEO…wakaka!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 12:45 am

littlefire, you are totally wrong on the AMT gearbox. It is a Manual in terms of construction, plain and simple. It is similar to what you have in the bmws with SMG, and Selespeed in the Alfa's and also similar to what you find in Ferraris.

It is a 100% 5speed manual gearbox, with a hydraulic actuated clutch. They include the automatic shift programmes so that you have the option of driving in "auto" mode. But it is not an automatic in the traditional sense with torque convertors and such…

in terms of CVT gearboxes, the japanese are actually slow. The europeans began using them in the 50's. and i think today, on the market, there are more european cars using CVT than japanese.

Also, to support proton a little.. yes, the saga has been around for 20 years, but proton only started building their own cars just over 6 years ago. So we technically have to look back 6 years ago to consider proton as a full fledged car manufacturer. before that? they were practically assemblers and i believe they learned almost nothing from mitsubishi.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 1:00 am

AMT – automated manual system, have the frugality of a manual but wth the benefit of an auto, ROBOTISED CLUTCH TAKES OVER THE NORMAL MANUAL CLUTCH……..It takes a few days to get use to it………

• bpkid (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 1:55 am

What's BLM stands for?

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 1:58 am

mmm..SAGA SAVVIER maybe:)

• maru (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 2:03 am

maybe saggy…wakakaka that makes me wanna vomit. 'SAGGY'

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 2:48 am

wait till the car come out,see who will be vomit bcoz of this true unbelivable design from P1..vomit bcoz wanna get this car maybe..ahaks..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 3:05 am

BLM = "Barang Lagi Mahal"

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 3:09 am

eh…wrong la…BeLuM keluar mah:)

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 3:52 am

As you can see Dj_VaniLLa, I do like the Perodua Viva's auto side mirror but some basher out there for sure will say it will fail, doesn't function or brake to 2 pieces in no time. You know what I mean. Nothing to bash…. until codenamed BLM also want to bash.

BLM = Boleh Lama Memandunya

BLM = Bermutu Lagi Murah

How about that Dj_VaniLLa. Did I help you there to fight "crime"? WAKAKAKAKA…. Please talk something more logic and not talking nonsense.

• ilmondo (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:06 am

does really look like savvy.. booted savvy gua..

hope proton gets it right dis time.. n isnt tat gen2 nice?

• ilmondo (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:07 am

oh ya.. cant wait 4 new waja too..

• peYno (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:49 am

owaief said,

June 21, 2007 @ 2:08 pm

arrrghhhh…this proton is just a waste of my time….not because i hate protons(i like protons)it’s because now i just cant stop staring at the pictures guessing what is underneath the camouflage

============

Actually, this is the best part of proton car as the car design is totally new and never seen in market..

not like perodua new car.(rebadge car). even b4 launching, ppl can guess , how does the car looks like

• peYno (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:59 am

If this SAVVY SEDAN comes with 1.3cc campro engine..

i guess, the price range RM45k~55k (55k with CVT)..and will be viva premium,myvi SE.killer

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:59 am

I tot BLM=Bukan lagi mutu… Belum lagi mati… Booo lagi Malaysia.. Just kidding…

Hmm… a multiple cut and paste car? Hmm… maybe when come out then we know.. Savvy sedan?

• peYno (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:05 am

good handling and rigid body like savvy

spacious cabin like waja

big boot space like wira

yes, This car has a future indeed

• peYno (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:11 am

LittleFire85 said,

June 21, 2007 @ 8:59 pm

Hmm… a multiple cut and paste car? Hmm… maybe when come out then we know..

==================

r u referring to perodua VIVA??? cut and compressed AVANZA???

prrrfthhh

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:22 am

This car can actually be very good. Now proton must not forget to make seats which can fold for extra space. Also put more sound damping material

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:48 am

BLM – BASE LINE MODEL

get it? donno meh?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:51 am

mystvearn said,

June 21, 2007 @ 9:22 pm

This car can actually be very good. Now proton must not forget to make seats which can fold for extra space. Also put more sound damping material

—————————————————————-

if they dont, they dont make their homework……..so stupid of them IF they dont put those essentials…..

• BW (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:59 am

Do you guys think the head looks a bit like Satria Neo? Maybe It's Satria Neo sedan lol… Just like gen2 sedan, i always tot theo somthing something just draw that gen2 sedan for fun but who knows one day really got….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:03 am

BW, theophilus chin lar… he created the design meh, or maybe its a leaked image from the p1R&D center……..i dont think dat its what he designed…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:15 am

hey here is the news about this SRM……

http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,29.45/to…

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:37 am

exhaust pointing downward, like mercedes

• toyowira (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:10 am

I saw this car today at changkat jering toll , about 2.30pm follow by a marron

satria neo. the front and back was cover by black tape and the side view look like the roof is taller than neo or GEN2 with short boot.

• king (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:55 am

littlefire85,

4 speed auto lousy? its cost cutting….even latest toyota camry at RM 140k uses 4 speed auto.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:27 am

paul, could this be a possible rendering for the BLM , i think u posted this back a while ago

http://img76.imageshack.us/my.php?image=blmfr4.jp…

thanks to chaku of lowyat.net forums for pointing out

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=47617…

• maru (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 1:22 pm

kevin lee.im chaku…i've deleted the pic at lowyat's forum d[because of certain reason]…

the rendering i made was originaly a savvy sedan..but upon seeing the spyshot…i did a minor changes to fit the spyshot…

• BW (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:10 pm

kei9, hehe his name so long and strange 1 le… anyway i also don think is he design 1… Coz impossible he design until so identical from the one spotted on the road 1 ma… I have a feeling this one have Satria Neo's head… Or maybe i'm wrong

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:20 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

June 21, 2007 @ 4:45 pm

littlefire, you are totally wrong on the AMT gearbox. It is a Manual in terms of construction, plain and simple. It is similar to what you have in the bmws with SMG, and Selespeed in the Alfa’s and also similar to what you find in Ferraris.

It is a 100% 5speed manual gearbox, with a hydraulic actuated clutch. They include the automatic shift programmes so that you have the option of driving in “auto” mode. But it is not an automatic in the traditional sense with torque convertors and such…

in terms of CVT gearboxes, the japanese are actually slow. The europeans began using them in the 50’s. and i think today, on the market, there are more european cars using CVT than japanese.

————————————————————–

What u say me wrong? I no say the AMT gearbox is bad? Infect i like it compare to normal manual and i even drive a boxer alfa romeo 1.7L before so don't judge me.. Anywayz the CVT is in fact a long time history but until now they can only perfected it, but why P1 only use it on it's gen.2 EVE only? If the CVT is very long time technology, why P1 dont want to use it? Should be cheap? This is becoz the cars who use CVT must be high in torque and easy pickup.. And CVT is eventually more cheap, simpler and easy to fix compare to old 4-speed auto! Why only a few use it ah? Reason simple:

European use it on their Small segment cars.. They dont use it on high range coz CVT is sometime sluggish for some user coz of high end torque at low RPM and sacrifice hign end HP.. That why SMG & DSG came out but still in term of technology, Anyways AMT is available since 1914 in the le mans competition… It better P1 to move forward with new transmission.. bored with 4-speed auto & 5 speed manual… But with the savvy AMT, bravo!

• thecrash (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Paul, try to check with dacia logan.. then u will find almost same body line. Logan is B-segment and use clio platform also. This BLM also using same platform with savvy and savvy is based on clio 'plant'.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:02 pm

hey guys,there is an article on local news saying that AMT that fit in Savvy was same standard with Merc car..so,no need to bash..just be proud of it..

and to unicon, i'm not type of guy that keep doing bashing this bashing that..

there's no need to bashing even now our automotive industries are getting better and better…

and the issue of BLM name from me,is just a joke to making this blog more happening..

ok gang…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:21 pm

I'm not saying you Dj_VaniLLa. other you bashed the name. Your oklah. not bad one.

Misundertanding…. hahaha… no worries

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:30 pm

I tot u pointing on me..no wonder lah:)

i'm getting xcited u know,wondering when will this car to be launch..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:08 pm

Well Dj_VaniLLa, I hope Proton doesn't mess up again from now onwards. Just make sure everything is up to standard and not only nice on their drawing board before launch. I'm also excited too, as usual when a particular car manufacturer getting ready to launch their new model.

Cheers Dj_VaniLLa and to all.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:27 pm

BW said,

June 22, 2007 @ 10:10 am

kei9, hehe his name so long and strange 1 le… anyway i also don think is he design 1… Coz impossible he design until so identical from the one spotted on the road 1 ma… I have a feeling this one have Satria Neo’s head… Or maybe i’m wrong

———————————–

u said it ur self…hehehe

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:04 pm

yeah..yeah…big thumb for P1..

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:10 pm

Btw the front shape really looks like the mitsu lancer IX…….saying only lar.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:25 am

i would say grile same as new skyline….on second tot..yala looks like evo X too

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:53 am

I noticed that the A-pillar is so damn thick like my Savvy's. However, i do hope that it comes with 1.3 CPS engine. I don't want Campro. Good thing bout this car is i think it's designed for practicality, just like the Perodua models (e.g: tall headroom). C'mon Proton, u can do this…. Don't screw it up ok.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:10 am

don't mind about how the looks..but hopefully, no more difference between local car and overseas car…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:52 am

These few days, Proton becomes a hot topic with lots of spy shots

Car lovers / mania are here and some basher out there too. Transformers is showing on 28 June, so hopefully Proton can transform to…. better one. oo….oo….oo….ak….ak….ak.. (something like that when they transform)…. hahaha….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:23 am

The Unicons said,

June 22, 2007 @ 8:52 pm

These few days, Proton becomes a hot topic with lots of spy shots

Car lovers / mania are here and some basher out there too. Transformers is showing on 28 June, so hopefully Proton can transform to…. better one. oo….oo….oo….ak….ak….ak.. (something like that when they transform)…. hahaha….

—————————————————————

transformers…cannot wait!!!

PROTECT (P1 LOVERS)

DESTROY (BASHERS)

THEIR WAR OUR WORLD………..

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:39 am

This BLM has Dual Airbags and ABS or not?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:53 am

hey anyone have some info??? but i really respect p1 if they put those……

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 9:07 am

I think Autobots bumblebee or jazz also dont want to transform into a P1 car LOL! Later a lot of things will fall off.. and 1 hit from megatron, the whole door gone… LOL! Just imagine P1 SAGA car turn into transformer and went for battle mode, LOL! Fight with the Decepticon Blackout already both dead..

• azrai (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:41 pm

It looks like the front headlamp is Wira's bigger headlamp. The back portion look like a hybrid between Arena and Latio's Sedan rear.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:28 pm

To nizam80 and kei9. I think Proton will put it as optional accessories or only high line model as usual as ABS and SRS airbags cost more. Many other car manufaturers do the same.

Sorry if I'm wrong. Just my opinion. Just like upcoming Toyota Vios (based on Toyota Yaris) comes with 3 variants mainly J, E and G. J is the base line model, E for medium line model and G for high line model.

If anyone got more info about Proton BLM, please let all the readers know. TQ. Cheers….Transform….oooo akakakak

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:29 pm

About Toyota Vios…. based on Toyota Yaris Sedan. Sorry forgot to type in sedan. hahah….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 10:14 pm

The Unicons said,

June 23, 2007 @ 11:28 am

To nizam80 and kei9. I think Proton will put it as optional accessories or only high line model as usual as ABS and SRS airbags cost more. Many other car manufaturers do the same.

Sorry if I’m wrong. Just my opinion. Just like upcoming Toyota Vios (based on Toyota Yaris) comes with 3 variants mainly J, E and G. J is the base line model, E for medium line model and G for high line model.

If anyone got more info about Proton BLM, please let all the readers know. TQ. Cheers….Transform….oooo akakakak

—————————————————

i think it will be like that too….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 11:12 pm

I tot all the Vios range got ABS standart! Only the difference is the rear disk, 2 or 1 air bags and the interior material… check the toyota singapore and see.. www.toyota.com.sg

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 11:21 pm

ABS nowadays are cheap coz already so wide the production by Bosch..

Air bags also same, that why more and more air bags can be put in 1 car! I think better all new cars in Malaysia should be standard on ABS and at least 1 air bags.. U see our country is the worst accident country in the whole world.. and a lot of ppl die loo, thx to the low safety issue.. Even China have it's own test crash module now… why not ours? Since most Europe country must have ABS & Air bags vehicle to sell why not do it in ours? Expensive is not an issue! But the G is the one who is controlling the tax price, if they can lower it the car may even cheaper! think laa.. Extra ABS, 2Air bags RM4k, after 100% tax 4k turn 8k sure expensive laa! These technology is Cheap now! Just some stupid ppl think it is expensive!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:30 am

Well LittleFire85, that day nizam80 was asking whether the BLM comes with dual airbags and ABS. So I just give my opinion that it will cost more. Perhaps might have few variants? with or without airbags, 1 or 2 airbags, with or without ABS. That's what I'm trying to tell him.

I know now the airbag and ABS are more cheaper than before. As you know, Proton cars and some other car makers still using single stage airbag (cheaper). BMW, Merz and many others already using Dual stage. Next will be the airbag systems that can hear the impact / crash. The airbags will deploy faster than normal impact (30KM/h).

As you said, China got its own test crash module. However, you can see the Jiangling Landwind and Chery QQ (2 examples) crash test results. Terrible. Proton does test their Waja, Gen.2, Savvy, and Satria Neo intenally but based on AustralianNCAP, EuroNCAP (to name 2) requirements. Anyway, only Waja had officially test by EuroNCAP in public. I've checked EuroNCAP doesn't conduct all models from each car manufacturer, only selected model by the organisations. That's why Toyota and Honda for example also test the cars internally as well.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:34 am

In addition LittleFire85, I do want Proton to equip ABS and airbags as standard. Plus optional side airbags, EBD, BAS or even traction control / stability control system on the list too…. hahaha….

If they have the quality cars, people will buy even though more expensive.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:52 am

Yup.. if proton is good in quality, safety and good FC, even if it is extra RM10k i will buy it also.. But if the quality sucks give me 50% discount i also dont want buy it!

• normalcardriver (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 5:58 am

I heard from my friend at Proton that LM is the code for saga.So BLM is the code fpr the new Saga which is LM Baru but the B is put in front of the saga code.Anyway LM means Lambat Mati.(that was the joke in the plant).So perhaps BLM means Banyak lambat Mati?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 6:30 am

is it like LMST?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 7:58 am

LMST – Lagi Masih Sakit Tenat

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:49 am

wats the point with the camouflage. everyone knows its going to be a dissapointing toy anyway.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 9:54 pm

who knows? am i right? maybe its better than the viva? we dont know yet….

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 11:48 pm

True kei9. No matter what we just wait and see. For sure, better than the old generations of Proton cars based on Mitsubishi and old Waja. The Gen.2 proved to be better a bit and then Savvy (except rear design weird) & Satria Neo much more like it. Well, just my two cents.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:50 pm

this blog is blessed by the presence of many who can see the future ;) who can evaluate and review cars without actually seeing the real thing, or even driving the car.

can sone of you here please review the top secret bmwZ10? i can't wait to find out if it will be a good car, or a waste of time by bmw.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:22 pm

hmm…….just saw it yesterday lunch time at ipoh city centre. look like savvy with a boot. overall is quite tall and small or compact. funny little car. hahaha.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:39 am

huh!? is it my eye or you juz said dat iys looking like a savvy with a boot?! i dun wan it like dat lar! but tec96248…izzit full oftape juz like this one??

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:45 pm

kei9 said,

June 25, 2007 @ 9:39 pm

huh!? is it my eye or you juz said dat iys looking like a savvy with a boot?! i dun wan it like dat lar! but tec96248…izzit full oftape juz like this one??

==hahaha, said because of following from behind til overtake it in ipoh city centre. yes the same car in size and tapes all round. funny little car, that why i said. hahaha.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 11:05 pm

i wan to see the lancer IX front! and non of the silly savvy rear design!!

• crackho (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 11:59 pm

Bila proton mau bikin station wagon?… I'll buy one for sure

• jedkoh (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 4:44 am

Seen a yellow version of this car along Jalan USJ 14 near the Sekolah Wawasan and the Petronas Station, was driving around with 4 ppl inside, I think they rae testing normal road usage as they were speeding along the road with a lot of speed bumps.

I think the roof is kinda low as I can see the space between back passengers head and the roof at the back seats are kinda small.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 5:54 am

YELLOW COLOUR? R U SERIOUS?! MAYBE THE PAINT IS TAKEN FRONT THE A1 MALAYSIA COLOUR……..HEHEHE…

• jedkoh (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:33 am

Well. I dun really know what is the yellow like for Malaysian A1 team. (I mean, c'mon, who gives a fxxx abt A1?) but it looks like the Satria Special Edition Yellow.

The whole size of the car reminds me of the 2nd Generation Hyundai Elantra.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 11:24 pm

colour of an A1 car…….

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/11/24/proton-sat…

• jedkoh (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 3:13 am

Nice find Kei9,

Yup, that's the yellow colour. Saw the same car pumping petrol at Petronas which is near the Center of Excellence.

• davidmu (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 3:50 am

Could wait until this "P"RANSFORMER release, I want to buy!!

Important point, I think the price will sell like the Iswara before discounts.

RM35000-40000

no matter how, this chassic is based on savvy!!

• davidmu (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 3:53 am

Look nice, front look really like evo

• mushpop (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 12:41 am

emm..ugly la…from the shape i can guess. what da…:D come on la potong designers…make a GOOD LOOKING car!!!!!

• VINCENT (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 2:52 pm

guys wat is BLM?can explain for me pls?

• bpkid (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 10:36 pm

For your info VINCENT, BLM stands for Base Line Model. I’m not sure whether it’s a new car from Proton or a replacement for one of Proton’s model.

• afkar (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:34 pm

proton blm=improved and sedan satria neo?

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 7:07 pm

looks like renault logan..(wondering)

because before this..waja is using renault engine before he uses campro..savvy AMT is using renault quickshift5 technology..savvy’s body looks like renault clio..maybe for the BLM, proton will use renault logan..

• Xylan (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 1:18 pm

i saw the proton saga replacement model . it looks cool. price estimated rm 28k and launch date jan 2008

• Xylan (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 1:30 pm

proton new saga replacement does look cool

• DinoKch (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:08 pm

white coler so nice. i liek

• yInG_yInG (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 5:54 pm

any one hv interest about tis car …
    for further info ..
    can contact 0162068373..william …

sure give u a discount price n best price … ^^