Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

2008 Proton GEN2 Facelift with CPS launched!

Proton GEN2 Facelift

The facelifted Proton GEN2 which was revealed in Thailand earlier has finally arrived on Malaysian shores. The GEN2 is an important mark in Proton history as it was the first Proton car with the new Proton Campro engine, and with this facelift it gets a new series of engines based on the Campro. Read more details after the jump.

Proton GEN2 Facelift

The new facelifted 2008 Proton GEN2 comes in medium line and high line versions. The medium line version features a new Proton Campro 1.6 IAFM engine, the larger sibling to the 1.3 IAFM Campro found in the recently launched Proton Saga. The IAFM system solves the infamous torque dip of the barebones Campro engine, and should be alot better to drive around the city now, as you do not need to rev very high to get sufficient torque for acceleration. The Proton GEN2 mid line with the IAFM Campro 1.6 delivers produces 110 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. Torque at an engine speed of 3,000rpm is 139Nm, while the barebones Campro only delivered 128Nm of torque at that engine speed.

The high line version has the Proton Campro CPS engine, which also comes in 1.6 liter displacement. This engine made its Malaysian debut with the Proton Waja Premium CPS recently. It produces 125 horsepower at 6,500rpm, and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm, while also making at least 139Nm from 3,000rpm onwards.

Proton GEN2 Facelift

The interior gets a redesign, adopting the Persona’s interior featuring a redesigned dashboard without the odd clock in the middle and gaining a glovebox. The door trim is all-new, also from the Persona, and features power window switches on the door arm rest instead of in the middle of the two front seats. The highline version gets leather seats and an interior with some black and red trim. It also gets Dual SRS Airbags, ABS brakes, and EBD, while the medium line version only gets a driver’s airbag. Something new for the GEN2 and cars in this segment is Automatic Cruise Control, available on the high-line version.

Proton GEN2 Facelift

As previously explained, the new CPS engine uses two technologies to achieve the new higher output and torque levels. One is CPS, a camshaft profile switching system which changes over at 3,800rpm and enables a higher valve lift. The other is VIM, which stands for Variable Intake Manifold. A longer intake manifold is used at low RPMs to achieve slower air flow; this promotes better mixing with fuel. The short intake manifold allows more air in faster, which is beneficial at high RPMs. More info here.

Proton GEN2 FaceliftWith the extra power and torque, its only natural that the engine would produce more heat, so Proton has installed an additional water-cooled oil cooler. This can be seen installed next to the oil filter. You can see a cylindrical object with heat sink fins.

The Proton Campro 1.6 IAFM engine produces the same peak torque and horsepower as the barebones Campro, but also has had its low to mid range torque boosted to eliminate the torque dip. The IAFM engine has a variable intake manifold system that produces similiar results to the Campro CPS’s VIM system, using a long runner and a short runner. It also has a coil on plug ignition system which eliminates spark plug cable losses, something that even the CPS engine does not have.

The new Proton GEN2 facelift comes in 4 colours - Nanbu Black, Hibiscus Tea, Metal Grey and Iridescent white. I like the last 2. Hibiscus Tea is kinda strange but unique. The high line version will be available on the 5th of March onwards, and the mid line will come later on the 25th.

Prices:
Proton GEN2 1.6 CPS High Line Auto - RM60,488
Proton GEN2 1.6 CPS High Line Manual - RM57,488
Proton GEN2 1.6 IAFM Medium Line Auto - RM56,488
Proton GEN2 1.6 IAFM Medium Line Manual - RM53,488

Test drive report coming up soon in the next few weeks or months, depending on when the press fleet is available.

In the meanwhile, enjoy more photos of the Proton GEN2 Facelift.

Proton Waja Campro 1.6 Premium CPS Details - More technical info on the CPS engine

Proton GEN2 Facelift
Click to enlarge - Specifications List

VIDEO: 2008 Proton GEN2 Facelift TV Commercial

VIDEO: Proton Campro CPS Engine Cut-away

Proton GEN2 Facelift

Click to enlarge - Hibiscus Tea

Proton GEN2 Facelift
Click to enlarge - Iridescent White

Proton GEN2 Facelift

236 Comments »

1. zidane said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:11 pm

i dig the interior….

2. mrleehb said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:12 pm

bila CPS nak pasang dalam NEO…….????

3. twom said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:13 pm

rear still look the same!

4. farghmee said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:13 pm

E X C i T i N G !

i really want to drive this :)
    & make a comparison with my mother’s Gen2 Camxpro 1.6 HL.

will persona come with cps?

5. rojak said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:15 pm

impressive !!!! can’t wait the yr test drive report.

6. proton GL said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:29 pm

beautiful

7. proton GL said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:33 pm

now i d say the car is in ‘one piece’

8. aki_zz said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:34 pm

zidane said,

i dig the interior….

i dig with you too! now the car can really ‘cucuk angin’ some german cars

9. khonglo2n said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:35 pm

hmmm…. not so convinced yet….Paul, wait for your test drive report first…haha…

10. aki_zz said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:36 pm

cucuk angin i mean drafting…

11. budaklipas said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:38 pm

this is wat i m waiting for.. CPS GEN2!! whoaa!! nice nice.. proton! u rock!!

12. pju_3 said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:47 pm

More prettier…
    The leather seats is only for front seats?
    How autocruise function for M/T version?

Paul Tan says: leather for all seats on the highline. autocruise for MT too, like normal lah. just activate it on 5th gear. my old satria 1.6 manual had autocruise too.

13. altimi said,

March 3, 2008 @ 6:48 pm

Great looking interior….

14. Bebelon said,

March 3, 2008 @ 7:03 pm

no suprise. still the same but higher price.

15. ppp said,

March 3, 2008 @ 7:09 pm

paul, yesterday i saw in CBT a full page advert by Proton on Persona IAFM Campro… still no mention of it in your blog? ;)

Paul Tan says: no press release by proton on the persona IAFM, nothing. i can only assume they are only interested in letting readers of CBT know and not any other mediums.

16. albagmane said,

March 3, 2008 @ 7:29 pm

i pity the previous Gen2 drivers since they are using a less performable engine while the new Gen2 seems to have a better engine… aiksss!

17. proton GL said,

March 3, 2008 @ 7:29 pm

right side whats your name,
    got time singgah singgah Saujana Impian,

18. The Unicons said,

March 3, 2008 @ 7:39 pm

Finally it’s here! Based on the photos above, I’m quite impressive with the latest facelift. Besides, we get Campro 1.6 IAFM and Campro CPS+VIM engines on the same model. More choices for buyer who look for new Gen.2.

Paul, do you have any information about this new Campro CPS+VIM either it is still made from cast iron block and alloy head or totally made from aluminum? Do you have any idea? I would be appreciate if you can let me know. Thanks.

The meter also look so cool. If I want to get a new car right now, this newly launched Gen.2 will be on my shopping lists.

Umm…. I’m going to test drive both engines which equipped in this car.

All the best to Proton!

Paul Tan says: same block as the Campro

19. voyager86 said,

March 3, 2008 @ 8:04 pm

great job proton!!
    look forward to the test drive report….

20. GTI said,

March 3, 2008 @ 8:05 pm

awesome!… beutifulllllllll……

great job proton..

21. chap_de_x said,

March 3, 2008 @ 8:28 pm

my gosh this is a beauty ma….with those leather trim…cool engine….nice fl…u r looking at the complete gen2 of a proton…nice work man…hope this silence some people that always said p1 dont have ABS la EBD la…no power la….and window cannot wind down completely la…at those price i said it worth to buy…but if you dont think so go buy vios or city…this car is complete man…now hope everyone can see one p1 can do…its just a matter of time our national pride will show its true potential…just hoping that the quality issues of their models is solve quickly and reduce…good luck p1…if i have the money i will book one tommorow…

22. corolla_KE70 said,

March 3, 2008 @ 8:31 pm

nice.. its as googd as what we are expecting……….

23. painsama said,

March 3, 2008 @ 8:34 pm

the leather seats ok great

24. sxe10r said,

March 3, 2008 @ 8:34 pm

all looks ok only the steering wheel ~ looks like saga

25. hyundai said,

March 3, 2008 @ 9:13 pm

This is too much expensive!

26. fastcx said,

March 3, 2008 @ 9:14 pm

sxe10r…which part of it is like saga? im amazed that ppl cant differentiate shapes…saga’s steering wheel design is like neo’s,but neo’s isnt the same as gen2’s. can’t differentiate? gen2’s steering wheel design havent change since the day it born! and neo’s steering wheel is definitely not the same as gen2’s!

27. fastcx said,

March 3, 2008 @ 9:20 pm

er hyundai, compare this to current accent, which is better? test drove both b4? tho i like new 2008 accent’s interior, but the ride is just not firm, even steering response of accent is slow. interior quality of both fl gen2 n hyundai accent definitely improved alot, for family, accent might be suitable, but for sportiness, gen2 win hands down.

and im sure later some1 will say they rather get vios/city, but for me, accent,vios,n city are for family, gen2 is sportier w/o much mod needed to try and make it looks aggressive. different target of people.

28. White Jack said,

March 3, 2008 @ 9:39 pm

Everything is looking good now… except, I wish Proton can upgrade the steering wheel. Not sure how the door handle pull now. Previously it is very rough when openning the door.

29. MyviKiller said,

March 3, 2008 @ 9:47 pm

Looks like a toy car, still prefer the old one. Chuck the engine off, install EVO4 engine, 18-inch Enkei wheels, CCFL headlamps, LED rear lamps, Brembo 6-pot brakes (8-pot if possible), adjustable semi-racing suspension, a coat of chromoflare paint, Fuza desgn bodykits with enlarged wheel arches and the list goes on.

30. nanashisan said,

March 3, 2008 @ 9:55 pm

last time, somebody did mentioned about recommending proton to honda marketing strategy. honda idsi and honda vtec. now proton too following honda trend. proton cps (honda vtec), proton iafm (honda idsi).

from now on, this kind of marketing will be the trend setter for all proton model equipped with campro engine. i think.

31. proton GL said,

March 3, 2008 @ 10:05 pm

people who understand car, who understand proton-lotus in its development and style, will have no problem with the design of the steering wheel, the instrument layout,
    its inherit the image of an engagging sportiness of lotus,

same as the uniquely design rear light cluter, its specially a proton that fit the theme of overall design in harmony,

32. ferruccio said,

March 3, 2008 @ 10:10 pm

I was at the launch today as well. Saw the video on how CPS works. It’s not a cam-phasing device like most systems. This one’s a valve lift system. From the video the systems looks incredibly similar to Porsche’s VarioCam Plus found on their top of the line models like 911 Turbo, GT2, GT3 etc. Call it coincidence but did you guys know that Variocam Plus is actually licensed from Lotus? ie. Porsche paid Lotus for the use of the system, and calling it Variocam Plus. So your CAMPRO CPS share genes with Porsche! Wow

33. DrJackal said,

March 3, 2008 @ 10:34 pm

Hi Paul,

I suspect the transmission is unchanged by looking at the max speed and comparing it to Waja CPS’s acceleration time. It would be a big sad news if it’s true ; fuel economy is definitely more or less the same….

34. marvel said,

March 3, 2008 @ 10:54 pm

MyviKiller said,
    March 3, 2008 @ 9:47 pm

Looks like a toy car, still prefer the old one. Chuck the engine off, install EVO4 engine, 18-inch Enkei wheels, CCFL headlamps, LED rear lamps, Brembo 6-pot brakes (8-pot if possible), adjustable semi-racing suspension, a coat of chromoflare paint, Fuza desgn bodykits with enlarged wheel arches and the list goes on.
    =============================================
    well, if you have so much cash , why not go for continentals,a used Bmw, say e36,will cost lower than 50k,the ultimate driving machine…actually do you own a car?

35. BW said,

March 3, 2008 @ 10:58 pm

this gen2 better be good…

36. sunsilk said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:05 pm

like the interior especially the meter and gear knob…but the exterior view not much different la..facelifted again…

37. kei9 said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:07 pm

damn..for a car at this kinda price..considering the interior specs..im diggin’ this..and sick front facelift. :) but i’d rather have the back have sorta some new elements instead for those spoilers.. :(

38. libralcl said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:07 pm

Paul,

Is this Gen2 CPS comes with electric control side mirror and UV protection mirror?

Thanks.

Paul Tan says: I am not sure about the UV protection mirror, but there are electric side mirrors. you can view in this photo

39. nh149 said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:12 pm

how about the real seat?
    more comfortable@same as the old one?
    anyway good job p1
    i’m among of p1 fan……..
    go go go p1
    proud 2 be malaysian

40. trustgtr said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:12 pm

the gen 2 is finally ready!!..it shld be like this from the beginning..maybe with a bit lower price tag would be nice..he3

41. Cyberkayu said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:22 pm

new transmission?

42. tokmoh said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:26 pm

Hey Paul, upload the ads pls!! I just saw it on TV3, looks very nice!! It’s almost like the Petronas’ F1 ads a few years ago, showing parts assembling together.

It has gotten a bit more expensive, bt still cheaper than the Waja CPS. So it’s pretty good then, pricing wise.

43. mokh997 said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:27 pm

orang tak keji kalau bagus
    orang tak puji kalau teruk
    tahniah teruskan proton mencari identiti sendiri
    jadikan proton berjiwa asia dan malaysia
    rakyat malaysia akan terus menyokong selagi proton menepati citarasa malaysia
    kurangkan vendor
    kerana vendor yang banyak menyebabkan kualiti part teruk
    proton berniaga bukan hanya sekadar ade
    jadi kalau nak meniaga meniaga betul2 kalau stakat ade baik tutup dari merugikan negara
    ayuh proton kualiti dan khidmat lepas jualan adalah kunci kejayaan dalam pembuatan kereta

44. mitlanevo said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:30 pm

the new front bumper is very nice!!

45. mystvearn said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:33 pm

I really like the front skirting. Looks also low profile

46. fastcx said,

March 3, 2008 @ 11:58 pm

hehe can i get that meter for my neo? love the red ring

47. huckerz said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:19 am

Good Improvements. Dato Zainal has made a lot of changes! However yaa the back shud be new facelift as well, hmm they may have reason for that… cost maybe… everything is related to cost.. well… i hope tht the performance is gud, the quality of door is better and no minor or major propblem within 2-3 years like suspension prob,lights,power window etc. Im really really wait for the neo CPS. faster!!!!!

48. Proton-Saja said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:31 am

How about the 1.3 version, Paul. Do they give any info? They will phase out or leave the engine be plain like now?

49. kerelbort said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:34 am

niiceeee… this should take my mind of the election for a while…

kudos for the new Gen2 advert… now u are ready to face the world.. go go go!

50. scudz said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:42 am

Certainly looks promising!!!

51. b4nd3r said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:49 am

Congrats proton ! you have improved a lot. I just want to add on ergonomic factor (based on the pictures):

Button on the steering, better make it bigger.
    Handbrake, too simple.

Other than that, outside and inside are competitive enough for the price tag.

Bravo !

52. proton GL said,

March 4, 2008 @ 1:27 am

before saying good night,,

—————–
    Proton Exploring Next Generation 1.8 And 2.0 Engines
    KUALA LUMPUR, March 3 (Bernama) — National car manufacturer, Proton Holdings Bhd is looking at exploring the next generation 1.8 and 2.0 litre engines and a diesel-powered vehicle as part of its five-year project, managing director, Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir said
    (bernama)

53. infinity said,

March 4, 2008 @ 1:33 am

“The New Gen2-The Facelift Towards Perfection”
    a very good tag line from proton…

it’s good tat they finally introduce the cps and iafm in the campro..interior improved, exterior subjective, but i liked it…the dark head lamps looks good…
    good job proton!

54. 707 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 1:42 am

wow i love the interior

55. ProtonSaja said,

March 4, 2008 @ 2:16 am

So new engine? Good job.

56. xenith said,

March 4, 2008 @ 2:16 am

Yay…
    I want one….

57. libralcl said,

March 4, 2008 @ 2:58 am

Sorry Paul, my statement earlier might have misleading.

What I meant in my last statement was the side mirror have the electric control foldable function?

58. Bbingbong said,

March 4, 2008 @ 3:22 am

Paul, i have some question, how about the turning radius of this gen2 cps? is it till same like the old gen2 camxpro which is short turning radius or proton already have improve it,coz my fren say gen2 turning radius far more shorter than other proton model..

59. GTI said,

March 4, 2008 @ 3:45 am

where did the girls go?… sudah hilang ke…>?

60. cbljkkj said,

March 4, 2008 @ 4:48 am

Not too shabby Proton, not too shabby. Keep this up and it may win some more hearts over. Dig the interior. Hope it’s not just photo-retouching at work. Hope to see more.

61. Poxxue2 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 6:57 am

Pretty nice touch….!..U guys r indeed getting better..the interior looks good..d trims and all..and the seats…r hot!..slap with a 16 inch wheel or 17 (hehe)…its good to go…Syabas Proton!..SHABASH!…

62. azrai said,

March 4, 2008 @ 7:04 am

I like the new bumper, the new headlamp, and the new interior. But it is still the old low head clearnce Gen-2 at the back right. i really hope Proton will rename this car to Persona Aeroback or even Persona S for sport). For Persona owners, now you have choice to chop2 and mix and match your cars with Gen2 new bumper and headlamp. Just like what the Kancil’s and Wira’s owner did with their stepsister parts a.k.a Daihatsu and Mitsubishi. The price is quite attractive due to the new line of engine.

63. abtm said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:13 am

Proton’s just teasing us, you’d think that they could have just launched the Neo and Persona with CPS together with this Gen2, since they’re all the same car…

64. tHe CuLpRit said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:31 am

Nice steering, i hope that’s leather wrapped.

Again i dont get Proton’s pricing/equipment stratergy. For the manual tranny, the difference between the IAFM and CPS is just 4k, yet you lose a more powerful engine and crucially, an airbag and ABS.

A single airbag is acceptable, but why punish someone that want a less powerful engine (maybe don’t need the power but want better fuel consumption) by removing ABS?

I know alot will go on saying you don’t need those, that the driver shld drive responsibly bla bla bla…. but ABS is important, and you’ll rue not having it when you’re braking hard in the wet and realise your front wheel has locked and you’re closing in on the front car… heh.

Btw, are the IAFM and CPS going to be made available on Neo? Any ideas?

65. mohdjiman said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:37 am

CPS+VIM is more powerful than CPS+IAFM? any comment. New Gen-2 have press release on Berita harian today. furthermore proton will develop 1.8, 2.0 and diesel engines for 5 years future plan. hmmm…. engines for MPV maybe?

66. tHe CuLpRit said,

And the rear light, for crying out loud, tukar la Proton!

Haha… I sound like a freaking basher, tho I’m not, just constructive criticism :-P

67. weewitt said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:38 am

for me..the rest is okay..nice
    BUT..still the same OLD rear bumper & NOT sooo good looking steering wheel.. :( yucks!

68. tech.titan said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:51 am

it’s good that campro 1.6 come in two version IAFM and CPS. but i’m still curious to know whether current campro owners can upgrade their engine? Upgrading to campro cps is totally out of question unless you swap everything (you might as well buy a new campro cps car). What about IAFM? I know a lot of current campro owners that will benefit from it.

69. 707 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:00 am

i wonder why proton didnt come up with items like these earlier?

70. raptorclans said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:05 am

Sweet… I like hibiscus tea… sounds sweet…

But I can’t get over them taking out the clock… it was one of the nicer things in the car… and the GEN.2’s nice dash graphics are gone :(

71. Mb_321 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:13 am

Sweet..! when is the turn for neo?

72. Mayonaise said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:32 am

Finally, a Gen2 that I actually don’t mind considering to own…

73. sxe10r said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:34 am

fastcx said,
    March 3, 2008 @ 9:14 pm

if i buy this car i will changing the ugly steering 1st ~

and im sure later some1 will say they rather get vios/city, but for me, accent,vios,n city are for family, gen2 is sportier w/o much mod needed to try and make it looks aggressive. different target of people

friend in the end which one value will be good ?? don’t mix japanese/korean car with malaysia made that one can’t compare !! u think it can’t sell well if the import car no tax ??! dreaming la …

74. chanel said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:43 am

mohdjiman said,

CPS+VIM is more powerful than CPS+IAFM? any comment. New Gen-2 have press release on Berita harian today. furthermore proton will develop 1.8, 2.0 and diesel engines for 5 years future plan. hmmm…. engines for MPV maybe?

=============================

Mohd,

CPS+VIM are a set of tools, they only work with each other to get the performance……CPS can’t be pair with IAFM…..it’s totally a different world…..

FYI, IAFM= Integrated Air Fuel Module……..meaning it’s a box housed inside are electronic controlled air intake(short or long runner) as well as the throttle body….

75. razor_clawzz said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:45 am

Yes…..now waiting for Neo’s turn

76. mukhri88 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:51 am

Hello ladies.. Wah, congrats Proton! Finally a complete product and 100% Proton. The H-line looks goood! Now we can really sell the car in the UK and Australia and not have motoring journos bash us in for obscure quality. If I were looking for a car, the H line would be it.

Sad to say that standard safety features not in across the range. It’s like you don’t love Malaysians. Let the poorer ones suffer.

Would Porsche be fuming if Proton uses a similar system that they liscensed from Lotus? My guess is that the CPS is nothing similar to Porsche’s.

Now how bout turning the rear light cluster into a proper LED extreme makeover.

77. najibxs said,

March 4, 2008 @ 10:15 am

nice car….,better than first edition of Gen2..

78. mohdjiman said,

March 4, 2008 @ 10:20 am

i will go and see it today.thanks for the explaination chanel :)

79. ferruccio said,

March 4, 2008 @ 10:21 am

Mukhri888,

Porsche’s Variocam Plus Valve Lift system and the CPS valve lift works in very similar fashion. A pin inside the bucket tappets, driven by hydraulic pressure locks to engage a different cam profile.

Of course Porsche has it together with continuous cam-phasing and resonance intake

80. mukhri88 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 10:29 am

So signor, my concern is, will it raise any er legal consequences or backlash due to the similarity of the system, especially if the source is the same, although we OWN Lotus? anyone?

And if it is similar, would a, for example 3.8litre V8 Campro produce the same amount of power as a 3.8litre V8 Porsche GT engine? Example oni ar..

81. venomie said,

March 4, 2008 @ 10:53 am

Sedih..i own the old Gen2 manual..hutang kat bank banyak lagi..nak trade in tak laku…yang ni is better..

82. sagaKNIGHT said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:16 am

after waja cps…
    here gen2 cps…
    after that?…
    in 1 year only,proton introduces many fl model…
    anyway,syabas proton 4 u gen2 fl…
    :)
    nice look…but rear look same as previous model…
    wit spoiler we know is gen2 fl or previous
    paul,what the rheostat dimmer?…

83. sagaKNIGHT said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:20 am

i notice at headlamp have proton logo…
    thats mean proton produce headlamp in their factory?…
    nor vendor supply it?…
    correct me if i wrong….

84. Realeyes said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:31 am

I want the interior, engine and front end into Persona, and that’ll be a perfect car for me..

85. tHe CuLpRit said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:37 am

venomie said,
    March 4, 2008 @ 10:53 am

Sedih..i own the old Gen2 manual..hutang kat bank banyak lagi..nak trade in tak laku…yang ni is better

————————————-

Aiyoh…. not worth trading in for man, just continue using it for now. If want to upgrade, mk sure its to a better car or make ;-)

Btw an article from James May of TopGear fame on automobiles “facelifts”….. http://www.topgear.com/content/features/stories/2007/12/stories/15/1.html

86. ferruccio said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:38 am

Mukhri888

I doubt that there would be any legal consequence. Proton’s legal dept would have ensured it is legal to use. In any case the system has been in use for many years which makes it a ‘less sensitive’ technology. Porsche might have asked for exclusive use for a few years. They’ve been using it at least since 2001. Long time.

As for will it make the same power if the engine had the same displacement as POrsche engines, I don’t think so. Porsche’s high power output is due to it’s overall ‘package’ Valve lift is just one feature out of many found in POrsche engines.

Apart from Variocam Plus Valve lift, other features in porsche engines include Variocam continuous cam phasing, resonance intake, resonance exhaust, direct injection and many many more. Features which would have either been developed inhouse or sourced from other technology partners other than Lotus Engineering.

87. ThienWu said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:48 am

Paul…
    still cannot get Campro CPS test drive unit ke?? can’t wait for your test drive review la…

88. bmpower said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:04 pm

VarioCamâ„¢ is Trade mark by the Porsche. But the tech (dont know the name ) is licensed by lotus.

Variocam and CPS is similiar.. but the CPS is the downgraded version, and cheaper.. if totally use variocam in Gen2 / waja.. Then waja/gen2 fuel consumption will be the same as Porsche.. hehe.. then proton kena bash againlah.. :D

I still hate to look the rear bumper and lamp.. why no new one? .. after market one to be sell by R3 later? the nicer one?

Satria neo CPS? .. no need la.. launch the Satria neo GTi lah..

89. kenneth1985 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:24 pm

Where is the keyhole to open the trunk?
    The signal and wiper levers still on the opposite direction?

90. mukhri88 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:32 pm

Of course la Neo CPS Gti, wonder if Neo with CPS can dip below 10 secs for 0 - 100 pickup test. And how deep is the dip.., you know la, city driving.. and could this be the first ever production stock Proton to go below 10?

Grazie tanto signor ferruccio for the explanation.. and vielen dank to herr bmpower too..

91. car_craze said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:49 pm

SagaKnight, i don’t think there is any car manufacturer which produces their headlamps in house due to costs. This would include Proton as well. It is better to get headlamp vendors like Bosch to do it because they have all the expertise. The Proton logo, i think is to show it is a genuine part designed for Proton. Should you need to replace it later you will know if it is the same parts and not get conned by some workshops who will charge you for the genuine parts price but giving you some unknown manufacturer replacements.

92. sagaKNIGHT said,

March 4, 2008 @ 12:57 pm

i see…
    thanks car_craze

93. Xoomie said,

March 4, 2008 @ 1:04 pm

Paul,
    Any info on FC? Proton should have shouted on these issues to boast sales…
    Has it improved?

94. tokmoh said,

March 4, 2008 @ 1:10 pm

@the culprit
    Sadly though, when doin studies, they found out Msians prefer airbags to ABS.

95. ferruccio said,

March 4, 2008 @ 2:29 pm

bmpower,

Just to share. Porsche introduced ‘Variocam’ first. Variocam is cam ‘de-phasing’ control. Meaning it alters ‘when’ the valves open and close.

They later introduced ‘Variocam PLUS’ which adds 2 stage valve lift control. Which means in addition to feature above it now controls ‘how much’ the valve is opened. It is this ‘how much’ mechanism that is similar to CPS. Don’t know where Porsche got the ‘when to open’ technology.

Even before Variocam and Variocam Plus, Porsche was already featuring ‘VarioRam’ which is their multi stage resonance intake system. Probably designed inhouse because their ‘boxer’ engine’s intake manifold arrangement is not common to other manufacturers. My guess.

96. edperdana said,

March 4, 2008 @ 2:33 pm

Paul

Did Proton solve the jerky downshift problem with the auto box? Even the slightest incline will downshift the auto down two gears and send the engine screaming like a banshee..

This is a major irritant of ownership. Could you check with them whether they can flash the TCU for us existing G2 owners with a updated programme to address this problem?

TQ

97. ferruccio said,

March 4, 2008 @ 2:35 pm

As for why CPS not yet in NEO, news is that it did not FIT!

Not enough clearance in the NEO engine bay to have the CPS engine which has slightly different brackets etc. So I think the CPS will be introduced later inline with facelift exercise as altering engine bay for production line = $$$$

98. kei9 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 3:12 pm

the TVC is awesome!..anyone agree?

99. ferruccio said,

March 4, 2008 @ 3:46 pm

eperdana,

I know that beginning with the Persona the TCU was upgraded to address the exact problem you mentioned. Expect the upgrade in the Gen2 CPS as well.

I’ve noticed that Proton is now continually making improvements. For instance with the Persona, though using the non-CPS Campro the power curve was improved and improvements were made in both ECU and TCU. The Persona actually makes slightly better power than previous Campro variant, even without CPS and VIM.

For the SAGA they introduced IAFM and coil over plug ignition. During SAGA launch I spoke to the engineer responsible for developing the ECU and he admitted they are continually making improvements which will likely appear in new models as they go along.

100. mukhri88 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 4:00 pm

Does this mean they designed the Neo’s engine bay without calculating future upgrades like CPS?

101. tyang said,

March 4, 2008 @ 4:04 pm

Cool!
    Placing the power window and electric side mirror buttons at the door, that’s better. Are they gonna put one more cupholder there? :P
    And no more steadler-norris pencil style for the interior door locks, I like! And it got glovebox cover now. :)
    But i still love the old meter style with odd numbers.

102. ferruccio said,

March 4, 2008 @ 4:08 pm

Mukhri88,

Thats the soalan ‘cepu mas’ as they say. Do bear in mind that models previous to Persona were developed under previous management.

Persona onwards saw marked attention to interior ergonomics and build quality feel.

103. proton12vauto said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:02 pm

#
    edperdana said,

Paul

Did Proton solve the jerky downshift problem with the auto box? Even the slightest incline will downshift the auto down two gears and send the engine screaming like a banshee..

This is a major irritant of ownership. Could you check with them whether they can flash the TCU for us existing G2 owners with a updated programme to address this problem?

TQ

it’s called engine braking..

104. mohdjiman said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:17 pm

proton12vauto said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:02 pm

#
    edperdana said,

Paul

TQ

it’s called engine braking..

—————————————————————-

i think Persona’s model already solve this problem right?

105. mukhri88 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:24 pm

Yeah it was a glaringly obvious and irritating question for Proton execs isn’t it… seemed like a good idea at the time to openly ask the obvious.

106. ezralimm said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:30 pm

Fold-down leather seats!

nice.

107. wong said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:38 pm

Much better now,the current Neo 1.6 manual,does lack low torque,which makes the car feel ‘heavy and sluggish’ at slow speed but no problem at higher speed,even stable at 180km/h, so maybe the IAFM will solve this problem for the newer model, no need facelift, some interior changes will be good….I like the new Gen2 interior

108. waimak said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:39 pm

One of the best designs from Proton, interior and exterior. Neat, sporty and looks upmarket too. I can live with the same rear lights. Foglight looks fresh. Front grill almost german look alike but unmistakenly Malaysian made. Black interior and some red stip and stcihes here and there are icing on the cake!

The only let down I foresee is that the owners of the 1st bacth of Gen 2s might feel cheated and frustrated from this exercise.

109. ferruccio said,

March 4, 2008 @ 6:26 pm

I think it’s quite fair for Proton to facelift the Gen2 now. Everything will be facelifted/upgraded at some point. No model would remain stagnant

110. proton GL said,

March 4, 2008 @ 6:37 pm

well some with NORMAL campro may want to improve lower end a bit,
    might want to use adjustable cam gear, or mod its oem cam gear for abit ‘advanced’

why advanced a it a bit?
    as a result, valve closure earlier before the dead bottom intake stroke, hence the mixture sucked in and have to sneaks through valve and seat at some velocity when the valve is about to completely closed while the piston still in action moving toward its dead bottom, hence greater air fuel mixture swirl graetely for supreme combustion and at lower engine speed. hence the torque gained

BUT higher end is sacrificed, due to pumping loss,
    during rapid higher rpm the momentum of incoming air/fuel doesnt fill the chamber to the fullest as valve closure a bit early,

top end sacrifice mean lower top speed,

111. rt said,

March 4, 2008 @ 7:02 pm

Guys,
    Last week I travelled from Temerloh to Maran at East Coast highway.
    I “tested” the Persona for few minutes from Temerloh to Chenor Plaza at 170-180 km/h and at 110-120km/h for the rest of the journey .
    Suprisingly,
    The fuel gauge shows 3/4 when I reached Maran, even though I just refuel at Temerloh rest area. Temerloh to Chenor only 15km, and to Maran I think only, 50km.
    high consumption at higth speed is normal. I did the same using Waja and Wira 1.6 before. but I do think the fuel usage for Persona at high speed is quite excessive. (or my gauge is fooling me)

Can somebody verify this!.

RT

112. mrleehb said,

March 4, 2008 @ 7:26 pm

u mean that, lambat lagi la nak tunggu Neo CPS in market…….

plz bang, plz………………. i want NEO CPS…

113. snailhill78 said,

March 4, 2008 @ 7:35 pm

Congratulations PROTON..
    Now malaysians locals automotive really can survive the world!!
    i’ve saw many gen2’s in Iran.. thats nice!!

114. GTI said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:01 pm

i think.. every body already see the different … now there they have clear view about proton vision… great job proton.. every body now proud to be Malaysian…. n proud with proton…

GTI..

115. szw said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:12 pm

good job proton…

116. irvingctl said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:51 pm

is that a multi information display among the gauges?

117. ezralimm said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:55 pm

fuel gauges are not linear…

What does the digital meter say?

118. chap_de_x said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:02 pm

Paul, when u gonna test drive the car….this new gen2 and waja cps… very anxious to read your review…hope 2 read the FC is reduce and torque drop is gone and good handling for both car…guys i wonder what proton will do on next half of this year since for 3 straight month they introduce new and facelifted product…could it be the neo gti will come true and savvy get its facelifted with more cooler transmission from Renault Clio like 6 speed AMT with 1.3 iafm campro engine if its can be fitted into it…savvy is a good car in my opinion….at some angle its a nice Europe stylish good performance car…and neo gti will be tune by lotus like the old satria gti…lets hope so…this year is very good year for us and p1 i think….

119. MyviKiller said,

March 4, 2008 @ 9:10 pm

marvel said,

well, if you have so much cash , why not go for continentals,a used Bmw, say e36,will cost lower than 50k,the ultimate driving machine…actually do you own a car?
    —————————————————————-

If I have the money, I would have bought a garage not only full of cars, but also full of trucks and buses. By the way, if you like modifying cars then it’s worth spending RM 50k on it, because you are doing what you loved doing it, and it’s not against the law, unless you rob a bank then I have no comments lah…

120. KF said,

March 4, 2008 @ 10:10 pm

Gen 2 face-lift looks kinda nice especially the front grill and the smoked headlights. The red lining on the seats of the CPS version looks….ummm…well…kinda tacky..

But I just don’t understand why can’t Proton come out with one CAMPRO engine version..the CAMPRO CPS. Coming out with two versions of the CAMPRO..i.e CPS and IAFM may confuse consumers.

121. MyviKiller said,

March 4, 2008 @ 10:41 pm

tHe CuLpRit said,

And the rear light, for crying out loud, tukar la Proton!

Haha… I sound like a freaking basher, tho I’m not, just constructive criticism
    —————————————————————-

No, you are a culprit in this forum.
    ————

Hahahaha, just kidding.

122. kinwawa said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:05 pm

does the previous Gen2 also have the multi link rear suspension???? never thought they would have that for this price range of cars

123. marvel said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:11 pm

MyviKiller said,
    March 4, 2008 @ 9:10 pm
    If I have the money, I would have bought a garage not only full of cars, but also full of trucks and buses. By the way, if you like modifying cars then it’s worth spending RM 50k on it, because you are doing what you loved doing it, and it’s not against the law, unless you rob a bank then I have no comments lah
    =============================================
    Very true, happy driving then..cheers!!!

124. paxter said,

March 4, 2008 @ 11:53 pm

That will look sick in black. The interior will look so good with an black exterior and slightly tinted windows…. wah thats it this is my next car.!

125. yippi33 said,

March 5, 2008 @ 1:54 am

good job proton!!keep it coming..like every inch of this car

just to confirm though..is the logo still in colour or black n white like the new saga ?? well, since the CPS is a “special” engine, it would be great if it is given a special coloured logo (like type R) eg. red background (since the interior theme is also red) or gold outline with black background…u know,just to distinguish it from other variants..haha

by the way..the TVC reminded me of the TVC for honda accord euro..and whats the title of the background song??really suits the TVC..creative!!

126. DrA said,

March 5, 2008 @ 6:23 am

this is actualy quite nice… definitely better than any KIAs, NAZAs. (apart from CEED)

127. sxe10r said,

March 5, 2008 @ 8:36 am

Paul i still don;t understand the CPS / IAFM it gone ?? can explaine to me the meaning of CPS / IAFM ?? it is same with VVTI / VTEC ?? Campro ++ ??

128. scirocco said,

March 5, 2008 @ 9:36 am

sxe10r

there is no cps/iafm. there is just the campro iafm and the campro cps (incorporating VIM). 2 different engines.
    iafm is a standalone module, whereas the VIM has to go together with CPS. both iafm and vim are variations of the variable intake manifold concept, differing only in how its activated. it is not the same as vvti or vtec. the closest example would probably be the variable intake manifold adopted on the honda R series engines as part of its iVTEC.
    CPS is a valve lift system as far as we know, so yes, it is comparable to the original VTEC.

129. bmpower said,

March 5, 2008 @ 9:46 am

go search in this PT.org lah sxe10r!
    already detailed by Paul before and read all the related post.. haiyaa..
    so lazy..

130. farghmee said,

March 5, 2008 @ 9:49 am

from the graph above:

torque at 3000rpm:
    1.campro cps & campro iafm’s curves, both at the same position,
    2.normal campro’s curve is at lower level than cps’ & iafm’s.
    this means the torque ditch at 3000rpm of normal campro has been solved by cps&iafm.

power at 5000rpm:
    1.campro’s & iafm’s curves are at lower level than cps’.
    2.campro cps is higher than normal campro & iafm’s,
    this means the cps starting at 5000rpm onwards got more power than normal campro & iafm.

if i not mistaken, please do correct me if i make mistake:
    iafm is some sort of air intake.
    cps is some sort of valve opening(movement of cam).

at a glance,
    1.cps for power at higher rpm.
    2.cps & iafm correct the torque problem of normal campro at 3000rpm.

it is good to know that:
    1.torque availability at lower rpm is really useful.
    2.diesel-cycle engine gives the high torque at low rpm.

TQ :)

131. jethrope88 said,

March 5, 2008 @ 10:52 am

on paper its a major improvement compared to the old one
    but hv 2 wait for the test drive to c how good it is

very nice interior, but the red colour finish on the steering wheel is out of place.. for me la.. wud be nicer if the steering wheel is all black.. and it wud oso b nicer if proton offers some options for the interior, like a black + silver interior,etc.. but that depends on proton la.. im just giving my opinion

regardless of that, all i can say is way to go proton..!!

132. narrowband said,

March 5, 2008 @ 1:05 pm

The front bumper looks abit funny from the side - doesn’t go very well with the skirts at the side of the car. I think the front bumper is abit too low. Anyway I don’t dig Gen-2s.

133. tokmoh said,

March 5, 2008 @ 1:15 pm

waimak said,

The only let down I foresee is that the owners of the 1st bacth of Gen 2s might feel cheated and frustrated from this exercise.
    ————–
    >>>Isn’t that what most other car owners felt when a new model just launched? That includes James May, who’d go on to write his frustration for all these facelifts.

134. kingbrutal said,

March 5, 2008 @ 1:44 pm

hi guys & girls…

just got my Waja CPS last week… been testing it for this couple of days… what can I say… the engine really feels better and much more powerful… but I have yet to test the max speed or acceleration… haven’t reached the magical 1000km yet. But for a car as heavy as Waja, it feels lite on the move. If I’m not mistaken, Gen-2 is lighter so you can expect a better performance there too. One thing I must mention is when the engine is pushed, it will emit a growling sound like a race car. That always bring a smile to me… :) So don’t wait any longer… book yours today… ciao.. safe driving to all…

135. juanbeibei said,

March 5, 2008 @ 2:41 pm

its a smiling gen2! =) haha.. looking good!^^ interior might look better if they provide white-black interior~ haha.. red also not bad..^^

136. kei9 said,

March 5, 2008 @ 3:46 pm

juanbeibei said,

March 5, 2008 @ 2:41 pm

its a smiling gen2! =) haha.. looking good!^^ interior might look better if they provide white-black interior~ haha.. red also not bad..^^

—————————————————

dude! ur abselutely right! smiling gen2 lol it might say “im better come get me” LOL

137. mukhri88 said,

March 5, 2008 @ 4:06 pm

well, once Naza brings in Naza ‘ceed and pro_ceed, probably maybe Proton execs will be scrambling again to meet the standards, but that’s a long time coming…

138. normaluser said,

March 5, 2008 @ 4:42 pm

The ad is very nice! If I bumped into it somewhere other than this site, I might thought that the ad was made by other established carmaker. I can say that its the best TV ad for proton.

The ad reminds me of the Honda Accord Euro Wagon (UK) TV commercial.

139. waimak said,

March 5, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

waimak said,

————–
    Tokmoh said,

>>>Isn’t that what most other car owners felt when a new model just launched? That includes James May, who’d go on to write his frustration for all these facelifts.
    ———————————————–
    Tokmoh, the level of frustration may be different from a mere facelift than a facelift that involves new engine, performance and much much better built quality, right.

But then again, that’s business!

140. Cire said,

March 5, 2008 @ 5:55 pm

A very easy lot to satisfy indeed.
    Some cosmetic changes and modified engine, bingo! A success story?

There’s a lot of talk about not having EBD,ABS etc etc..but what the use-lah.
    Basic safety items equipped like seat belts also tak pakai?! What talk abt msian life being cheapo and p1 doesn’t care ecetera ecetera…

This is highly mentioned, about the HP and torque etc., but handling macam mana?
    You need to combine this 2 together and then make your judgement whether this car is good or not.
    Overall, its just another Gen2 with 90s tech. No big deal.

141. scirocco said,

March 5, 2008 @ 6:00 pm

that’s how it is. car manufacturers do it all the time.
    good example is the bmw 318i e46. debuted in 99 with the 8v 1.9 engine making ard 115hp if not mistaken. facelifted in 2002 with the 16v dbl vanos valvetronic alloy 2.0 making 143hp. did that make anyone pissed off? i’m sure it did, upgrades always do.
    if u want a better car/computer/etc then u have to wait. but its a never ending wait, so u just end up buying what is available then and live with it.

142. mohdwahidi said,

March 5, 2008 @ 6:59 pm

rt said,

March 4, 2008 @ 7:02 pm

Guys,
    Last week I travelled from Temerloh to Maran at East Coast highway.
    I “tested” the Persona for few minutes from Temerloh to Chenor Plaza at 170-180 km/h and at 110-120km/h for the rest of the journey .
    Suprisingly,
    The fuel gauge shows 3/4 when I reached Maran, even though I just refuel at Temerloh rest area. Temerloh to Chenor only 15km, and to Maran I think only, 50km.
    high consumption at higth speed is normal. I did the same using Waja and Wira 1.6 before. but I do think the fuel usage for Persona at high speed is quite excessive. (or my gauge is fooling me)

Can somebody verify this!.

RT
    ———————————————————

Hello…

You don’t have to worry about the fuel gauge behaving that way. IMHO and my experience using my car (Civic 1.8), the fuel gauge moves quicker from the full bar until the middle of the gauge. So, what I have always experienced is that, my car fuel gauge will show lose the first bar of fuel just after I get back from work the next. My work place is just 5 minute drive.

But, when the fuel gauge past the middle, it starts to get slower. Sometimes, the last three bar can last up to 5 days until it became completely empty(the fuel bar, not the gas).

Hope that gives you a little bit of information..

143. nmh said,

March 5, 2008 @ 11:43 pm

one problem……GATE SHIFTER IS MISSING
    overall BRAVO
    but how bout the resale value of current gen2….rasa nak trade in my old gen2…replace with NEO CPS