New Toyota Vios J Spec Manual and Auto
UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd has added the new Toyota Vios 1.5J to their model range. The new Toyota Vios 1.5J comes with both a manual and automatic transmission and costs RM69,800.00 or RM73,500.00 respectively, OTR with insurance.
Mechanically, the Vios J spec is similiar to its higher spec brethren, featuring the same 109 PS 1.5 liter VVT-i engine mated to a 4-speed Super ECT gearbox. As for equipment levels, it comes with 14 inch steel wheels wrapped with 175/65R14 tyres, manual wing mirrors, a bumper with no foglamps, dark grey fabric seats, a 1-DIN CD player, 4 speakers, and power windows for all four doors.
There are no SRS airbags in this car, but the anti-lock brakes and EBD remain, with ventilated disc brake at the front and drum brakes at the rear. For those who are interested, the 5-speed manual gearbox’s ratios are: 1st: 3.525, 2nd: 1.904, 3rd: 1.310, 4th: 0.969, 5th: 0.815, reverse: 3.250.
UMW Toyota Motor is also currently running a Merdeka Meriah promo for the Vios from the 1st of July until the 31st of August 2008 where buyers will get a downpayment rebate or a petrol card.
Toyota Vios 1.5J (Manual) - RM69,800.00
Toyota Vios 1.5J (Auto) - RM73,500.00
For photos of the car snapped back in late May 2008, view the related posts below:
Toyota Vios J with manual transmission spotted!

July 1, 2008 @ 6:59 pm
Yeah… I am the 1st to comment - 1 word : Nice
July 1, 2008 @ 7:00 pm
There is also ABS and EBD
July 1, 2008 @ 7:12 pm
reduced spec “dugong”…
July 1, 2008 @ 7:17 pm
desmodeci said,
July 1, 2008 @ 7:12 pm
reduced spec “dugong”…
———————————————————————
No……. It is more variety of Very Inteligent Outstanding Sedan
July 1, 2008 @ 7:18 pm
Currently the model in progress assemble inside factory…
July 1, 2008 @ 8:36 pm
I’ll laugh loudly at the stupid Malaysians getting this J spec just for the sake of driving a Toyota. What a rubbish
July 1, 2008 @ 8:54 pm
so true. people will buy it just because its a toyota. the rear still looks as ugly as ever.
July 1, 2008 @ 10:04 pm
70k for a 1.5cc manual car still consider quite expensive.this car dont have airbag and with manual wing mirrors.so we can know the car is in very low spec.if u add on some 12k, you can get the nissan latio with bette built quality.anyway it is still a good buy compare with hyundai accent and naza bestari both in 1.4cc. i mean in terms of engine technology, reliability, spare part, service centre, and second hand value.
July 1, 2008 @ 10:24 pm
My Toyota Corolla AE85 gear ratio is 1st 3.545, 2nd 1.905, 3rd 1.310, 4th 0.970 5th, 0.816, rev 3.250… didnt change much since 1983…
July 1, 2008 @ 11:13 pm
waiting for the new city, then this car can balik kampung already
July 1, 2008 @ 11:14 pm
watch out proton!, coz here comes a waja killer. either they’re are very desperate to hit the targeted sales or they really give what the people demanded.
I would say the spec has a slight reduction, but it’s still a good car despite those reduction and yeah like what ncm6151 said.
July 1, 2008 @ 11:17 pm
Would love to see how this thing snakes around Karak highway. People would be surprised how the manual drives since they are so used to autos. But the suspension would be the killer though. If the previous versions couldn’t tackle it, I doubt this one could even with more power available. With the auto, you would never get 6000rpm would you?. Single DIN is great coz you get the chance to drop in some really nice aftermarket stuff instead of being stuck with stock setup.
Nope, I’d buy the manual 206 if I wanted cheap and cheerful.
July 1, 2008 @ 11:56 pm
haha…Toyota branding. Even KE70 is still demanding a good price nowadays.
July 2, 2008 @ 12:19 am
from what i read in foreign car mag..this manual version got a decent pick up due to the gear ratio..the 2nd gear is quite long so that u can get 0-100kmh in less than 10sec.
July 2, 2008 @ 2:23 am
grey fabric seats is more sporty, 4 speakers and 4 power windows… good stuff…
ABS and EBD… even better… i love ABS…
of coz with that price we cant expect airbags…
but nvm the manual wing mirrors, no foglamps, steel rims, rear drum brakes… i can live without them as the car is fine without them if i can save 15k…
the cd player can be replaced with good ICE and 4 speakers is adequate enuff… sport rims can be changed as well becoz the stock rubber sucks anyway…
this is a good solution to those in this difficult times when fuel is expensive… of coz until new honda city is out end of this year…
hope honda msia is working hard on this… it will be the most anticipated model from honda to claim the throne from toyota in the entry level…
July 2, 2008 @ 7:13 am
Dugong or Belon VIOS. Still not the best effort to reduced the price. Toyota take advantage of their T badge cars. Cekik darah. Expensive.
July 2, 2008 @ 7:57 am
It is SAD that Toyota choose to release a budget model WITHOUT airbags. Our legislation only recently call for mandatory rear seatbelt use - when will we put safety first?
All cars should come with airbags by default - if people cannot afford to drive a car with full safety features, then it is not “fair” to entice them with a lower spec model that skimps on such essentials like airbags….
July 2, 2008 @ 8:24 am
Toyota should reproduce KE70 and sell at RM70k in Malaysia. I am sure Toyota fans will still buy in numbers….Toyota maarrr….
July 2, 2008 @ 8:28 am
Well, I’m quite sure there will be a few turbo charged units running around town after this. Even the old MK1 have spawned a few turbo units with manual boxes sourced from the Toyota Yaris/Vitz from Japan.
Yes, i agree that the price is still relatively expensive but people are willing to pay for a Toyota these days, more so when the built quality of the Nissans and Honda are seriously not on par. Some of you maybe very satified with your respective Hondas and Nissans but in the long run, Toyotas have got that little edge over the others in the sense they just don’t simply breakdown and disintegrate like the others. Look at those 20 year old Corolla SEGs that are still running around town. These cars are still in pretty good condition with average care and maintenece.
July 2, 2008 @ 9:53 am
i welcome a manual, but to cut cost, why not introduce a 1.3?
July 2, 2008 @ 10:14 am
kington…
20years old corolla is old car…
cars of 80’s and earlier all tend to less breakdown…
due to less part and electronic item, more simple and easy to care…
regardless of which car manufacturer they are….
i can even see 1st Gen Honda Civic(small size 1) on the road….
the thing i see is…current gen car getting more and more tech into it, getting more complicated, and thus difficult to ensure its stability of functioning well throughout its lifecycle….
Toyota might doing it better from others, but the cause i see from it is….they make safe move, they don’t easily upgrade to new tech, stick with old and safe thing, that’s why they stable….compared to others like nissan and honda, who dare to venture into new tech…of coz if they didn’t work out nicely for consumers, new tech would turns out to nightmare….but they at least provided consumers chances to move in technology…
I am a techie….so i prefer Honda. at least for jap car, its my 1st choice.
July 2, 2008 @ 11:07 am
I agree with Dinozilla, while honda n nissan go for more high tech stuff, u always see toyota lagging behind in tech department,only their lexus can keep up, but those are just tech equipment, nothing related to engine or drive train.
If u think hybrid is high tech, its just a transition phase for petrol addicted people. pls dont mention how electric motor brings more harm to environment, there are many other ways to generate electricity. and ethanol is also 1 of the main cause for food insufficient.
back to topic, i would rather toyota offer a manual version of current line up. with all those reduction yet u see its a 70k vios, i rather keep those equipment or dont give at all like proton’s lite version
vios 1.3 manual is not bad at all as the weight isnt heavy either, not even over 1000kg with 1.3 n manual i bet its just around 900kg. light weight, manual, more fuel efficient.
as for using vios taking karak road? haha dont risk your life, even after u changed to aftermarket uprated suspension system, its still tall n torsion bar! means wavy ride on each corner
July 2, 2008 @ 11:40 am
People buy toyota because they are reliable. Of course, it carries a better imagine, but compared to Potong, u would probably vomit all ur internal organs out instead of just blood.
Besides, a badly built toyota will last longer than a well built proton. The only Proton that is still going strong are the ones with the Jap parts in them.
Anyway, this gives a genuine competition to this price band. The other car around this price band would be the Suzuki Swift and I think a Vios sedan would really be bad news for Suzuki.
Besides the Air-Bags, i think the rest of the acessories are over priced anyway. So what’s wrong with a blank canvass for modification and accessories? Also, I do agree that to cut costs they should use a 1.3 instead of keeping the 1.5 and ditch the air-bags. It will save fuel as well.
Anyway, it’s good that they are trying to bring their entry level that bit lower. Why complain when there is cheap stuff. Want more? Make more money la….
July 2, 2008 @ 1:41 pm
i dont think the 1.3l engine will be more fuel efficient than the 1.5l engine. the myvi with the 1.3l engine and kerb weight of slightly less than 50kg of the new vios is not very fuel efficient.
the 1.5 would be ideal as it has enough power to shift to a higher gear faster compared to a 1.3l engine. therefore it will be more fuel efficient as you will get more km/fuel as you travel faster at the same rpm.
July 2, 2008 @ 2:29 pm
Golly me…an entry level Vios or a Vios Lite
July 2, 2008 @ 5:37 pm
Toyota being low tech than hondas and nissans? I don’t think so. It is all due to market strategy. Do you guys think adding all those fancy stuffs can sell well in malaysia? Toyota is not trying to force “branded kaki” to buy its new vios. Government imposes tax on this and that for imported cars. You can say like Jeremy Clarkson that this car has no passion nothing..all plastic and then again I am very sure that all the japanese cars are good. I surely welcome the arrival of Manual Vios as mentality of Malaysians: Auto is better and easier to drive. That’s why most company abandoned the manuals. Be it with a empty basic Vios, I think it is worth it to pay 70 to toyota rather than 70k kia or hyundai.
July 2, 2008 @ 7:23 pm
THIS ONE SURELY WILL MAKE SELLS BUT TO BUY ONE IS A NO FOR ME.
LOVES MY SUZIE!!!!!!! (SWIFT SPORT)
HAHAHAHA
July 2, 2008 @ 8:47 pm
IsaacVky
I second that, i can afford to buy a high spec vios, but i still prefer cps proton…waiting 4 cps satria neo
July 2, 2008 @ 9:15 pm
For a 70k with a low spec like this. I would rather buy the Honda. Why don’t toyota reduce their SE unit to 70k. This should attract more attention..
July 3, 2008 @ 9:12 am
i think better buy waja cps auto premium..cheaper. with abs, good handling too.
July 3, 2008 @ 8:26 pm
Is there any difference of performance between manual and auto?
July 5, 2008 @ 6:07 pm
1NZFE said,
July 3, 2008 @ 8:26 pm
Is there any difference of performance between manual and auto?
———————————————————————
Sure manual have more power because it have 5 speed…. But also same got 1497 cc
July 5, 2008 @ 6:28 pm
1) If you want to buy Vios, buy G or S. No point to buy good car with low grade, unless to fit your budget.
2) It worth to pay 70k to buy Vios than other 70k cars… Other barand like Hyundai and Kia have no market value when you want to change your car next time. Even Honda market value also lower.. Thats why everyone rush to buy Toyota..
3) For those who like Waja CPS, I agree they have many feature with lower price, but do you think it is useable? Do you think Cps is tougher than Vios? Dont always think the price, think quality.
July 10, 2008 @ 9:51 pm
I just sold my Kia Carens at a heart ache for 36K (96K new). It is below 5 years old. The resale value is terrible although it is of the highest specs. Nobody take into consideration of this when buying second hand cars. I am going to buy the Vios Manual because it is the cheapest and will serve its purpose as a transporter. I am sure the resale will not vary very much from higher end specs in the future. With petrol prices so high and an expected 15% better mileage versus auto, I think I can accept the slight inconvenience. The lower specs is also not an issue, when I was using the Carens, I do not recall using the sun roof, less than 5 times adjusting the door mirror with the electric control and the leather seats can burn when parked in hot sun. Better to invest the extra money to beautify your home or save for future needs. Anyway the reason why I am buying a Toyota now is based on my previous experience with 2 models (LE and SE), did not recall any major problem and had never complained about high consumption. My Carens = 35 cents per KM (per litre rm2.70) so I only get 7.8km / litre.