W212 E-Class revealed on Autobild cover!

Click image to view E-Class spyshot gallery from Autobild

This week’s Autobild magazine carries the W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class on its over. The W211 that it replaces was rather curvy when it first came out but with the facelift you could already have a preview of the route Mercedes-Benz was taking its E-Class – it started having sharper edges and was more in your face rather than subtle and classy.

The new W212 E-Class has a very large and prominent angular 4-louvre grille up front. The twin headlamp design remains but instead of the classic round eyed design they are now square, much like the Lexus GS300.

Look at the spyshot gallery by Autobild linked above for an idea of how the rest of the car looks like. There are spyshots of the side and rear angles of the car to be seen. As for scans of the contents of the W212 issue, check this page.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:04 am

i totally love mercedes' new look… especially with the sedans, really great blend of classic and modern cues… with the exception of the new sl, i love the look of them all..

• mahs (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 9:11 am

more sporty now

young ppl apple it when the spec will come out?

• freeze (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:09 am

Front view a bit odd. Like sporty + old fashion.

The rear just NOT like a Mercedes. Soooo Japanese. ie Toyota camry

Practically the same, bootlid curve, bumper curve, chrome garnish…

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:49 am

the exterior certainly looks more elegant than ever, and definately more modern and sleek design

however, IMO, the single shot of the interior, the meter gauges still look very boring and "old fashioned"..

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 12:39 pm

This is a front cover of the German magazine Auto Bild. I wonder why they get to see the new E-class first before all other mags in the world.

Anyhow, the car looks stuperndously good. Like the quad-lamps.

But it remains to be seen HOW good the car will be like in the flesh. Proportions is the mystery element.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Man that's seriously sexy… I had my doubts over the front design from spyshots, but this official photo shows they nailed it well. That is rather sexy man :)

• abtm (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 4:23 pm

they don't have to try very hard, it's very hard to make a merc not look good

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 5:05 pm

The W210 E-Class is kinda horrendous. And so is the R-Class. So its not really hard to design a bad-looking Merc, contrary to what you think.

• shianghorng (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 5:17 pm

OMG! Influenced by the Japs perhaps?

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 5:52 pm

Front looks like Lexus GS300. Is Merc taking design cue from Lexus?????

• jehutyz (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 6:03 pm

Look young and sexy.

No longer Uncle looking style….

After the C and S-class, Merc changing their design already.

I prefer the front that rear. Maybe never see Merc have such a long rear lamp in previous model.

In the end, E-Class still will be a favourite car for business executive.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 6:28 pm

The Terenganu govt. is gonna be itchy again….

• bummerboy (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 6:57 pm

looks like a bastard child of lexus gs and the new citroen c5

• zanggief (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 8:13 pm

Looks like the Lexus……

• masuzu (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 8:38 pm

my SA said,next year wil launch new Merc E-Class..cheers :)

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 10:03 pm

huhu… the front looks aggressive… i like it! haha perhaps other states gov oso got itchy in their arses…

• David9988 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 11:19 pm

the front is amazing….. Back is rather disappointing.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 12:10 am

Hahahaha lol @ Roti Naan…

Yeah man… later we'll see this car on the news real soon xD

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 1:50 am

the look has continued from the new S class to the new C class and now the E class looks like this..

NICE!!!!

can't wait to see how the next CLS will look like.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 3:12 am

I don't like it. Rear reminds me of KIa/Hyundai car which looks like the Accord in front.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 3:26 am

nice, but still can't beat the CLS….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 3:55 am

the new a6 looks better

• zaff1984 (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 6:44 am

totally hot….

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 6:46 am

At first i though it was LEXUS GS300.

Then those emblem realise me that its a Merc. Gosh!

Hmm..Merc seems to get a bit into Japanese 'zen' designs lately.. :)

Which is ain't bad to be honest.

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 7:20 am

Looks pretty cool to me – typical mercedes panache

• csv (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 8:17 am

well, at least now it doesn't look like an AH PEK car anymore.

love how the hood curves to the headlights.

but looks more japanese now, and the japanese looks more german.

crossing over?

• torque (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 9:09 pm

Hmm…seems these days Mercedes is getting better and better! First, they nail it with the CLS, then the S-Class, then the C-Class and now this…the E-Class! Not to mention the marvelous SLR and the new SL. Man, this is a very handsome and muscular car indeed. Love the design look of the front although it does look like the GS Lexus model. Great job Mercedes!

Roti Naan,

Nice post! Next time we might hear that the Terengganu Exco will change their current E-Class to this with reason their current E-Class looks OLD! :-)