2010 Suzuki Kizashi officially revealed! Hybrid model coming soon

Suzuki has officially revealed the 2010 Kizashi mid-sized sedan, that is offered in both front wheel drive and all wheel drive forms. Based on the Kizashi Concept that was previewed two years ago, the mid-size sedan is treated to a large prominent grille up front with curvaceous design lines under the projector beam headlights, which is also evident at the rear end. There are two exhaust tailpipes as well, on each side. The Kizashi also sits on the ground with 18-inch alloy wheels, treated to a multi-spoke design.

Inside, you can choose between cloth or premium leather seats. With the latter, you will get three-stage heating and memory function. Both material options are finished with French seams, hard cover rears and low fatigue foam. More features include, key-less entry (with start/stop button), iPod connectivity, Bluetooth (optional) and a 425-watt Rockford Fosgate audio system (optional). There is also a three-spoke steering wheel, in front of a two-gauge (with chrome outline and light blue lighting) instrument panel, with an LCD display.

Now to what is under the hood. Before I can continue, I must say that Suzuki has neglected to mention official performance figures of the Kizashi, along with the engine output numbers as well. We do know that it is powered by a 2.4-litre DOHC inline 4-cylinder, mated to either a 6 speed manual or a CVT transmission. With the CVT, buyers will get steering wheel mounted paddle shifters.

The engine includes an aluminum block and cylinder heads, aluminum pistons with low tensile force rings, dropped-forged connecting rods, rotating on a forged steel crankshaft and a balancer shaft that delivers improved engine balance and reduced noise, vibration and harshness (NVH).

Suspension wise, the Kizashi with a rigid steel unibody features MacPherson struts in the reinforced front suspension, while the rear is treated to a multi-link setup, which is constructed with embedded aluminum to improve handling. As mentioned earlier, the Kizashi is also offered with an all wheel drive system, which is Suzuki’s first for its sedan segment. The system’s torque split remains dependent on several factors, including wheel slippage and throttle input.

Safety wise, it comes with eight airbags, ESP, ABS with EBD and a tire pressure monitoring system. You can also go home with Suzuki’s synergetic vehicle dynamic control, which allows you to have more fun with the car, with minimal intrusion from the ESP. The auto maker also revealed that it is developing a hybrid variant of the Kizashi, and that it will be added into the line-up in the future. Expect the new sedan from Suzuki to hit US showrooms by December. Continue reading to view an image gallery and to watch a half-hour long video.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=408]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• aaronixx on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:13 pm

1st

• shahzane on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:15 pm

wow..this is an interesting car.could consider this.hope it does come to malaysia at the right price

• eisyam on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:17 pm

look like VW golf grill hehe……i think a lot of 'ahbeng' buyer will blackened the bumper same like BLM saga

anyway…it still look nice but not as fierce as the concept car

• Bye bye Accord & Camry..

• the back is not exactly ..erm aesthetic is it..

• Syafiq on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Hmm this could be a good alternative for camry and accord.

• faizal on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:32 pm

WOW… interesting

• bloom112233 on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Nice.

• afhstingray on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:34 pm

looks very tamed down compared to the concepts. pity

• Sexy looking beast..love the curves..

• droll on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:44 pm

paul, since you have to approve comments, may i suggest the next time you see someone posting "1st" or something useless like that that you reject that post. LOL!

i doubt this car will make it into m'sia. suzuki just doesn't have the presence in m'sia as a premium brand yet to be able to price this effectively.

• mockviper on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:45 pm

woww.. nice car.. been waiting for this car for years..

• Thomas on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:48 pm

Look like WV and Toyota Mark 2… Job well done Suzuki!

• SUZUKI KIZASHI the m on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:49 pm

waaaaahh… THIS IS CRAZY!!!

the design look like monster! I wonder how the engine look like..

MONSTER SUZUKI KIZASHI!!!!!!!!!!!

• Amir Mokhtar on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Kizashi 3 concept is really impressive but this one is a turn down.

• gosh…no word at tis moment

• dreckker on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:53 pm

I'd go for the 6 speed manual transmission…

• common sensor on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:07 pm

it looks like a compressed accord!

• Looks like an Audi, BMW and Merz merge together.

• Gajen on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:10 pm

Suzuki is trying too hard…the interior looks cheap and the exterior is kinda plain…interior is like a mixture of mazda 6 and camry…

but at least a company tht usually makes small cars is giving their shot at larger sedans…good effort from suzuki..

i hope proton is developing their new perdana as it is already 14 years old for gods sake..

• MycarMylife on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:18 pm

First real car from Suzuki , I thought they never grow up from making those mini compacts. Like I said earlier Asian cars getting larger and larger.

Good show Suzuki.

• mudtire on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:31 pm

wah, front like golf gti, back like Mark X….hope it has at least 240hp!!

• mitlanevo on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:50 pm

wow, nice car nice with nice name, two thumbs up!! :-)

• look like a VW passat/jetta to me. but how about the price?

• JimboCarFan on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:55 pm

I'm first? yeye.. the car looks good. all the car looks good..

• fromMyLaptop on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:56 pm

Wow….eheheh..when it will arrive on our shore?

• hengkem on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:05 am

Nice I would say..wonder when, if ever it is going to hit our shores..definitely would want to see it in the flesh…

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:07 am

ha.. I'm first ah.??

haha, no one like suzuki car.?

btw, any people driving swift? so far the car ok ma.?

• mystvearn on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:07 am

Very nice. Different than what is offered by others

• lambov12 on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:15 am

Kizashi is indeed a very good looking car .. hope to c it in malaysia ..

• not too bad looking except the butt looks a bit weird

• kimi_ on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:18 am

The front looks like SAGA BLM….

BTW, this looks great especially the rear design!!!

• normal_user on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:38 am

Its too much different from the original concept design. They totally changed it, from radical machoistic looks towards a subtle feminine car looks.

What a let down.

• Andy Lim on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:48 am

Impressive design. Concept much alike Volkswagen from the front

• beatnik on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:59 am

Nice! bold and muscular. Like the swift sport, this car is over-engineered! Lots of mods can be done to the engine!

But it will take some time for the public to accept suzuki as a 'big' car..

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:00 am

Good job Suzuki!! The Swift is FANTASTIC, and I bet this one will be much better!!! Yo SMA, bring this one in to our shore, hear me??

• rapide on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:11 am

i just hope it come with 6speed MT here

• BEAUTIFUL CAR BUT THE CONCEPT IS MORE BEAUTIFUL

• latpao on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:12 am

pretty lame… looks like a suzuki sx4,been expecting a macho and sporty like the concept.

• nicely rounded car…should give camry/accord a run for its money…also another wake up car for proton..where is the perdana replacement? malaysia mana boleh?? apala

• King Samurai on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:58 am

front and rear end resembles pre-facelift Honda Legend..suzuki running out of ideas??

• Good….. faster come in Malaysia

• nabil on Aug 01, 2009 at 2:29 am

nice bt it could be a brand issue for a luxury model , the rear looks alot like the Mark X , which make me feel that the 2.5cc engine is taken from the camry ??!!

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 01, 2009 at 2:34 am

Kizashi – Damn cool name

• They should've stay with the original concept.

• xmizanx on Aug 01, 2009 at 3:21 am

looks like this car in the first line….

still good to compare other luxury car

DRFTweblog

driftweblog.com/

• cmc80 on Aug 01, 2009 at 3:30 am

It face looks like Aveo+new Saga… it rear lamp looks like Subaru Impreza sedan…

what a mix baby… T.T

• armandd on Aug 01, 2009 at 3:34 am

not another fat car… the current trend of design that makes cars look 'fat' must be stopped!

• Tis thing shud come to malaysia at ….say 110k inclusive all stupid tax, I'll buy one

• tunomura on Aug 01, 2009 at 3:50 am

4c said,

July 31, 2009 @ 6:09 pm

Good….. faster come in Malaysia

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/31/2010-suzuk…
    ………………………………..

Yeah, it is awesome car but if it really come to Malaysia are you gonna buy it??dun juz talk rubbish…

Sorry for my word too harsh..

Japanese car get Japanese name, thats good…don't be just like T & H who prefer to name their car to other than Japanese..e.g..Toyota Passo (Italian) Honda Accord (English)

Peace…

• roti naan1 on Aug 01, 2009 at 3:52 am

suzuki has grown up…good work.

• looks like avante to me

• looks like avante

• alan6113 on Aug 01, 2009 at 4:50 am

Wira 1.8(A) DOHC said,

July 31, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

ha.. I’m first ah.??

haha, no one like suzuki car.?

btw, any people driving swift? so far the car ok ma.?

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/31/2010-suzuk…

if u go Miri, Sarawak , u will know it…….

a lot of swift there

• Korah on Aug 01, 2009 at 5:57 am

Must accept the fact that it look like saga BLM.

• why does it look like the sx4 sedan ah. too roundish for my liking.

• l3ryan on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:21 am

a D segment manual car… I wish I can have 1 but the possibility of it coming to Malaysia is next to zero.

nice looking car tho, a real breakaway from those boring offerings of camrys and accords.

• pokleh on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:27 am

overall a good lookin car. congrats suzuki!

• albagmane on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:32 am

i love the name… but it looks soft from wat i expect…

• waimak on Aug 01, 2009 at 7:15 am

I dont know but the design is kind of weird to me. Maybe I'm so used to German or Japanese design.. but then again, it's kind of not that executive- enough- mistaken elegance- and trying too hard kind of sporty look.. if you know what I mean.. nothing personal ok?

• Sexythang on Aug 01, 2009 at 8:05 am

would be ok if its kept to corolla prices or lower

• Mazda 3 MPS on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:11 am

very disappointing. especially the interior.

• apeng on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:27 am

not bad.. nice 18in rims…

• apeng on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:29 am

not bad….

nice 18in rims….

• CocoBear on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:34 am

I prefer the concept version. Somehow the pricing of Suzuki models have been very competitive. I really want to see how affordable this mid-size semi-lux car is.

BTW, the vice-president is a very good speaker. I love his delivery style.

• hitman on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:52 am

if suzuki is capable of building cars like this, good luck to proton.

• depan macam saga blm je..

• farid on Aug 01, 2009 at 4:32 pm

everything nice..xcept the errr..Badge…

• tikus on Aug 01, 2009 at 5:39 pm

It sure be xpensive.coz swift so small car that cost 70K,CKD lagi.Kizashi big car will cost around 160K.

• AD 1978 on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:30 pm

The exterior looks like sx4 sedan but bigger.

Can consider suzuki brand especially if it is a CBU unit from Japan. The built quality is definitely much better than locally and thai assembled H&T.

I owned a CBU vitara 6 months ago and gives me no problem at all.

maintainance costs is minimal though it's a CBU from Japan, unless the spare parts are required.

normal service with 6 liter of oil change costs less than RM200.

will consider getting this as second car if it comes with a competative price.

• the grille make it look too 'tame'…front looks similar to sx4 sedan

• howitzer on Aug 01, 2009 at 8:48 pm

cmon mr naza, ckd it…

• I want to see in Japan, M/T version.

Suzuki should take differentiating strategy by selling M/T model in JPN.

I am also waiting hybrid model.

• wow!! it is a nice looking car..it is a new age of suzuki design…i heard that the rearlamp and headlamp is produced in malaysia…so i think we as a malaysian shoud be proud of this…malaysia boleh!!whatever it is, i am so amaze with this model…

• jimbet on Aug 02, 2009 at 12:19 pm

Rockford "Fostage"

lol

p/s – i once saw rockfood fosgood too!

• Look like a blown SX4 sedan, nice rear end tho.

threat to camry n accord? very unlikely, they got strong fan based buyer here

• tamaki on Aug 03, 2009 at 3:23 am

omg it's glare!!

• Bugatti on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:18 am

Japanese vs German cars

Toyota = Mercedes

Honda = BMW

And The Audi's version goes to SUZUKI

• Ultranius (Member) on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:24 pm

T_T so sad it will launch soon next year but I also cannot wait either. I just bought a Suzuki SX4 Sedan not long ago and install full range rockford fostage punch series. Anyway, Kizashi should be hit around RM180K as what mazda 6 has. I am enjoy with my ride now ^_^

• touareg on Aug 06, 2009 at 8:30 pm

gileeeerrr…. cun ooooo.

• touareg on Aug 06, 2009 at 8:31 pm

mcm ni meriah la suzuki show room kat subang perdana…

• Timmy22 on Aug 20, 2009 at 11:03 pm

That's a really nice looking car! I had seen the concept car at an autoshow already. It was a real looker… very flashy and sleek, but maybe a bit too outlandish for an actual production model. Suzuki did a great job at toning it down while at the same time still leaving alot of the design elements intact. This car will age really well.

One thing that this article didn't mention though is all the engineering that went into this car. There is nothing else like the Kizashi in this catagory of car on the road today!

For starters show me another car in the segment that has: aluminum pistons with low tensile force rings, forged connecting rods, forged crankshaft, timing CHAIN (not a belt), balance shafts, hydraulic valve lifters AND coil-over ignition. There are none.

If you don't know what all that means, trust me, it means this car will be a great performer and is better engineered that anything in its catagory and price level. The prices are going to start around 19k, and go up to 25k for a totally loaded version complete with AWD! To get anything even close to this car you will have to spend ATLEAST 10k to 20K more that you will with Kizashi.

Suzuki tends to put it's money where you can't see it, unlike other brands that sell a fancy interior on a dinosaur chassis. Multi-link fully independent suspension too, no lame-o semi-trailing arms or torsion beams to be found on this car.

Combine all those features w/ the AWD option and there's plenty to differentiate this car from Honda's, Toyota's, VW's and Subaru's, etc.

• Micheal on Oct 18, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Bugatti said,

August 4, 2009 @ 11:18 pm

Japanese vs German cars

Toyota = Mercedes

Honda = BMW

And The Audi’s version goes to SUZUKI

——————————————————-

lexus=mercedes

mitsuoka=bmw

suzuki=opel