Volvo XC90 V8

Volvo has a new XC90 out with a naturally aspirated 4.4 litre V8 engine inside. Marketed as the best V8 for the planet, the engine has ultra low emissions and it is the most powerful Volvo to date.

The 4.4 V8 was necessary to compete against the BMW X5 4.4i. Before this, Volvo only had 2.5 litre 5 cylinder light pressure turbo and 2.9 litre 6 cylinder twin turbo engine options available for the XC90.

Exterior outlook looks about the same, except with a nice shiny V8 badge on the front nose grill and on the back. This naturally aspirated V8 engine brings the Volvo XC90’s power up to 331 horsepower at 5850rpm and 325Nm of torque at 3900rpm. A 6-speed automatic transmission with Geartronic drives power to the wheels and added safety is provided through all-wheel drive.

For the full specs, go here. No news yet whether Volvo Malaysia will bring the XC90 V8 into Malaysia to compete against the BMW X5 4.4i.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• no money for volvo la. Don want to give that monotonous 'very nice looking'. but what else can i say..

• daniel on Jun 21, 2005 at 5:14 pm

331 hp? u sure ah? fuel consumption? sure like crazy one la.. every 2 days full tank.. can tahan ah? but very nice car.. if i had the dough, definitely would pick one up.. 331 hp.. damn~

• Dear adam,

me too, cannot afford the car NOW !

but I am working to get such car hopefully in 3 to 5 years time.

• kahping on Jun 22, 2005 at 8:38 am

paul, adam & edw

How many k need to earn in order to drive that within 2 yrs? ?

• i bet it will be a lot K…

• bangau on Jun 26, 2005 at 6:53 am

yup..lots of Kay….kayap.

• Does anyonw know the firing order for the xc90 V8???